DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should avoid using phases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns”, “The disclosure defined by this invention”, “This disclosure describes”, “is disclosed”, “are disclosed”, “the invention relates to” etc. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01 (b).
In this case, the present abstract contains the word “Disclosed” it should avoid using.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The spelling of INVENTION needs correction. It’s listed as BACKGROUND OF THE INVENSION (on page 1, paragraph 3).
Terms PTC and NTC were presented (starting on page 1, paragraph 3). several times before being defined (on page 6, paragraph 2), but much later in the disclosure. Please define at first use in the disclosure.
There are missing references. The words “Serial numbers”, “connect” and ”couple” are defined (on page 5, paragraph 1), but never used in the disclosure, so it is unclear if there are missing details or the document has improperly translated sections.
The following title is suggested: Infrared Heating Element and Heating Device.
Title of the application needs to reflect the description of the claim and disclosure. Currently, the application has a title “Infrared Heating Wire and Heating Device” however, used the word “wire” is not used throughout the disclosure, instead the word “element” is used. Please revise the Application Title to reflect “Infrared Heating Element and Heating Device” to be consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation“…a control circuit …” in line#1, should be changed “the control circuit” in order to have proper reference.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmann et al (US 20190176574) in view of Ou et al (CN201398245Y)
Regarding claim#1, Hofmann discloses
An infrared heating element (heating system 1, fig.1), comprising: an infrared heating body (radiant heating device 2, fig.1) configured to heat and emit infrared rays when being powered on [¶0048 cited: “…radiant heating device 2 is formed as an infrared surface radiator…”]; a PTC heating layer (heating element 22, fig.1) configured to heat when being powered on, to electrically connect with a control circuit ([0051] The control system 3 is used to supply the heating element 22 with electric power, [0052] In addition, the control system 3 is connected to the first and second temperature sensor 23, 24), and to transfer temperature information ([0053] As a normal operating mode, the control system 3 can perform temperature control of the heating surface in that, depending on a temperature value detected by one of the two temperature sensors 23, 24, the heat output supplied to the heating element 22 ) about the PTC heating layer (heating element 22) to the control circuit (control system 3);
an NTC temperature measuring layer (first temperature sensor 23, fig.1) configured to electrically connect with the control circuit (control system 3) [¶0049 cited: “…first temperature sensor can be formed as a heat-sensitive resistor, such as, for example, in the form of an NTC or PTC…”], to detect temperature information about the PTC heating layer (heating element 22) and the infrared heating body (radiant heating device 2), and to transfer the temperature information about the PTC heating layer (heating element 22) and the infrared heating body (radiant heating device 2) to the control circuit (control system 3); and
an outer cover (heating surface 21, fig.1) configured to wrap the infrared heating body (radiant heating device 2), the PTC heating layer (heating element 22) and the NTC temperature measuring layer (first temperature sensor 23).
Hofmann does not disclose that heating layer is a PTC heating layer.
However, Ou is analogous to Hofmann as both are in the same technical field of endeavor related to infrared heating elements, and Ou discloses the use of a (PTC) positive temperature coefficient heating layer. (¶0034 Fig 1 shows a schematic diagram of the structure of the far-infrared carbon fiber heating wire. The far-infrared carbon fiber heating wire of this utility model includes: far-infrared carbon fiber bundle 1, insulating fine wire 2, inner insulating material layer 3 with positive temperature characteristic of capacitance 3, metal wire layer 4 for protection and temperature control and insulating protective layer 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a heating layer of Hofmann, by using the PTC heating layer of Ou, in order to regulate the circuit and improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#2, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth in claim#1. Ou further discloses wherein the infrared heating body (carbon fiber electric, Fig 1) comprises a carbon fiber heater [¶0034 cited: …Fig. 1 is a structure schematic diagram of the structure of a far-infrared carbon fiber electric heating wire…,]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating body of Hofmann, by comprising a carbon fiber heater, as taught by Ou, in order to improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#3, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth above in claim#1.
Hofmann further discloses wherein the NTC temperature measuring layer (first temperature sensor 23, fig 1) wraps an outer surface (heating surface 21) of the infrared heating body (radiant heating device 2), and the PTC heating layer (heating element 22) is arranged on an outer surface of the NTC temperature measuring layer (first temperature sensor 23).
Hofmann does not disclose that the heating layer is a PTC heating layer.
However, Ou is analogous to Hofmann as both are in the same technical field of endeavor related to infrared heating elements, and Ou discloses the use of a (PTC) positive temperature coefficient heating layer. (¶0034 Fig 1 shows a schematic diagram of the structure of the far-infrared carbon fiber heating wire. The far-infrared carbon fiber heating wire of this utility model includes: far-infrared carbon fiber bundle 1, insulating fine wire 2, inner insulating material layer 3 with positive temperature characteristic of capacitance 3, metal wire layer 4 for protection and temperature control and insulating protective layer 5)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a heating layer of Hofmann, by using the PTC heating layer of Ou that is arranged on an outer surface of the NTC temperature measuring layer, in order to improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#4, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth above in claim#2.
Ou further discloses wherein the carbon fiber heater (carbon fiber electric wire 1, fig 1) comprises a plurality of carbon fiber heating wires interlaced with each other. [¶0034 cited: …. . a plurality of carbon fibre with far infrared function through fine insulated wire 2 around forming carbon fiber tow 1 …].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating body of Hofmann, by comprising a plurality of carbon fiber heating wires interlaced with each other, as taught by Ou, in order to improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#5 , Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth above in claim#3.
Ou further discloses wherein the PTC heating layer comprises a PTC heating wire (metal wire layer 4, fig 1) spirally surrounding the outer surface of the NTC temperature measuring layer (an insulating fine wire 2; [¶0034 cited: …. , an insulating fine wire 2, an inner insulating material layer 3 with a positive temperature characteristic of capacitance, a metal wire layer 4 for protection and temperature control, and an insulating protective layer 5. A plurality of carbon fiber wires with far-infrared function are wound into a carbon fiber bundle 1…]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating body of Hofmann, by comprising a PTC heating wire spirally surrounding the outer surface of the NTC measuring layer, as taught by Ou, in order to provide protection and temperature control.
Regarding claim#6, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth in claim#1, except: wherein Curie temperatures of the PTC heating layer and the NTC temperature measuring layer are a, which is ranged between 30℃ and 105℃
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating element of Hofmann, with Curie temperatures of the PTC heating layer and the NTC temperature measuring layer are a, which is ranged between 30℃ and 105℃, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to support functionality and improve heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#7, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth in claim#1.
Ou further discloses wherein a material of the outer cover (insulating material layer 3 & 5, fig 1) is one selected from polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene, fluoroplastic, polyamide plastic (¶0034 cited: …. insulating material layer can be made of insulating plastic that melts at 120°C to 160°C, and then a metal wire 4 with a temperature sensing and safety protection function is spirally wound on the inner insulating material layer 3, and the outermost layer is coated with an outer insulating layer 5.), polyurethane plastic, polypropylene, polystyrene, chlorinated polyethylene and ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating body of Hofmann, by comprising a material of the outer cover is one selected from polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene, fluoroplastic, polyamide plastic, polyurethane plastic, polypropylene, polystyrene, chlorinated polyethylene and ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer, as taught by Ou, in order to properly insulate the infrared heating element and to improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#8, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth above in claim#4, except wherein a number of the carbon fiber heating wires is 1K-48K.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating element of Hofmann, and have a number of the carbon fiber heating wires is 1K-48K, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to improve the heat conductivity.
Regarding claim#9, Hoffman in view of Ou discloses all the limitation as set forth in claim#1, except wherein a thickness of the outer cover is 0.1mm-1mm.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the infrared heating element of Hofmann, with thickness of the outer cover varying between 0.1mm-1mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to improve the heat conductivity
Regarding claim#10, Hoffman discloses
A heating device (radiant heating device 2, fig.1), comprising a control circuit (control system 3), and the infrared heating element (heating system 1, fig.1), according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim#1),
the control circuit (control system 3, ([0051] The control system 3 is used to supply the heating element 22 with electric power, [0052] In addition, the control system 3 is connected to the first and second temperature sensor 23, 24), being electrically connected with the infrared heating element (heating system 1, fig.1), so that the control circuit (control system 3), controls a heating temperature of the infrared heating element (heating system 1, fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. [US-20090283511-A1 Wang, Kezheng and US-20200015325-A1 Zhao et al]. Wang discloses a controllable electrothermal heating element, comprising of PTC layer but lacks a distinct NTC temperature sensor for regulation, lacks the use of an infrared heating element and does not reference carbon fiber as the heating element. Similarly, Zhao et al discloses heating assembly with PTC layer properties, self-regulated for temperature control, uses carbon fiber elements but lacks infrared heating properties and silent whether the carbon fibers are spirally wound.
/P.B.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761