Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US20240313391; hereinafter Lim) in view of Vesterinen et al. (US20080001822; hereinafter Vesterinen).
Regarding claim 1, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses “An antenna system comprising: a base chassis antenna component (351-352) contained within a base chassis (310) of an information handling system,; and, a display chassis parasitic element (361) contained within a display chassis of the information handing system, the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation ([0008]; According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, an portable communication device may include a flexible display; a wireless communication circuit; a switching circuit; and a housing including a first housing portion and a second housing portion, the first housing portion accommodating a first display portion of the flexible display, the second housing portion accommodating a second display portion of the flexible display and the switching circuit, a first lateral side of the first housing portion including a first conductive portion and a first non-conductive portion, the first conductive portion being electrically connected with the wireless communication circuit, a second lateral side of the second housing portion including a second conductive portion and a second non-conductive portion, the second conductive portion being configured to be at least partially aligned with the first conductive portion and the second non-conductive portion being configured to be at least partially aligned with the first non-conductive portion, when the housing is folded, and the second conductive portion being configured to be selectively electrically connected with a ground member via the switching circuit), the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (¶[0131]; FIG. 3C illustrates a second folded state of the electronic device 300. For example, the third folded state may represent a state in which the second housing 320 rotates about an axis A1 as a rotation axis to cover the third side 343 of the first housing 310. In the third folded state, the first display 311 of the first housing 310 and the second display 321 of the second housing 320 may be exposed in opposite directions)”.
Lim does not disclose “the base chassis antenna component including an antenna top trace, the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component”, “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component and a display chassis parasitic side trace”, or “a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “the base chassis antenna component (1) including an antenna top trace (50), the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component (fig. 1a)” and “the display chassis parasitic element (1) comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component (10) and a display chassis parasitic side trace (50)”. By making the simple substitution of antenna elements one would also arrive to the result of “a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (these traces (50) would be parallel when the device is folded)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system where the base chassis antenna component including an antenna top trace, the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component, the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component and a display chassis parasitic side trace, and a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 2, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 1 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace (50) is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component (10)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component, in order to improve reception/transmission of the parasitic element.
Regarding claim 3, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 2 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat (50 has an L-shaped section and is flat)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 4, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 2 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped (50 has an U-shaped section)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 5, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 4 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion (50 covers three sides of the substrate 10)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 6, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 5 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (these traces (50) would be parallel when the device is folded)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation, in order to better couple the components.
Regarding claim 7, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses “An information handling system comprising: a host portion (101), the host portion comprising a processor (120); and ,a data bus (110) coupled to the processor; and, an antenna system communicating with the host portion, the antenna system comprising: a base chassis antenna component (351-352) contained within a base chassis (310) of an information handling system,; and, a display chassis parasitic element (361) contained within a display chassis of the information handing system, the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation ([0008];), the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (¶[0131]; FIG. 3C illustrates a second folded state of the electronic device 300. For example, the third folded state may represent a state in which the second housing 320 rotates about an axis A1 as a rotation axis to cover the third side 343 of the first housing 310. In the third folded state, the first display 311 of the first housing 310 and the second display 321 of the second housing 320 may be exposed in opposite directions)”.
Lim does not disclose “the base chassis antenna component including an antenna top trace, the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component”, “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component and a display chassis parasitic side trace”, or “a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “the base chassis antenna component (1) including an antenna top trace (50), the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component (fig. 1a)” and “the display chassis parasitic element (1) comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component (10) and a display chassis parasitic side trace (50)”. By making the simple substitution of antenna elements one would also arrive to the result of “a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (these traces (50) would be parallel when the device is folded)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system where the base chassis antenna component including an antenna top trace, the antenna top trace being positioned along a top exterior wall of the base chassis antenna carrier component, the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component and a display chassis parasitic side trace, and a base of the parasitic side trace extending substantially parallel with the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 8, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 7 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace (50) is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component (10)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component, in order to improve reception/transmission of the parasitic element.
Regarding claim 9, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 8 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat (50 has an L-shaped section and is flat)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 10, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 8 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped (50 has an U-shaped section)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 11, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 10 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion (50 covers three sides of the substrate 10)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 12, Lim (figs. 4-5) discloses the antenna system of claim 11 as shown previously.
Lim does not disclose “wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation”.
However, Vesterinen teaches “wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (these traces (50) would be parallel when the device is folded)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Vesterinen and make Lim’s antenna system wherein: the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace extends substantially parallel to the antenna top trace of the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation, in order to better couple the components.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845