DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to claims 1-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1-12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims the drawings has been withdrawn.
The Remarks of 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below. The rejection of claims 1 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Phillips in view Lee is maintained. On page 6-7 of the remarks, applicant argues that display chassis parasitic element contained within a display chassis as disclosed and claimed is patentably distinct from the general disclosure of a capacitively coupled parasitic element of Phillips and the general disclosure of a lid closed mode of operation of Lee. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown previously, Phillips discloses an antenna and parasitic in a foldable electronic device and the use of the parasitic to improve antenna functions and Lee teaches using the foldable electronic device in a lid-closed mode of operation. Furthermore, Phillips discloses the antenna and parasitic element would be parallel to each other in a lid-closed mode of operation (see fig. 11 when closed 12 and 10 would be parallel to each other. The rejection of claims 1 and 7 as unpatentable over Phillips in view Lee is, therefore, maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Lee, further in view of Sadamori et al. (US20040252063; hereinafter Sadamori).
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses “An antenna system comprising: a base chassis antenna component (10) contained within a base chassis of an information handling system (col. 3 lines 45-50; FIG. 1 is a representation of a first, preferred embodiment of an antenna apparatus with a capacitively coupled parasitic element. In practice, the antenna structure is supported and encapsulated in nonconductive materials, as is known in the art. For example, dielectrics and plastics are commonly used to accomplish this purpose. These are not shown to simplify the figures); and, a display chassis parasitic element (12) contained within a display chassis of the information handing system (col. 3 lines 45-50), the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component (col. 2 lines 19-28; An efficient antenna structure is provided with a bandwidth large enough to cover the required cellular frequency bands of operation. This is accomplished by coupling an antenna element with an active, variably tuned parasitic element. In particular, the present invention uses at least one conductor located proximally to the antenna element. This parasitic conductor is electromagnetically coupled to tuning elements to expand the bandwidth of the antenna system by tuning the frequency band response of the antenna element across a wider spectral range. Bandwidth improvements of up to 6:1 have been achieved)”.
Phillips does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation” or “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation”.
However, Lee teaches that it is commonly known in the art to want to improve antenna efficiency while the system is in a “lid-closed” mode of operation (¶[0028]; Various aspects of the present disclosure include an appreciation that with certain portable information handling system usage, more and more users are using their portable information handling system in a closed mode of operation (i.e., a lid-closed mode) such as when the portable information handling system is positioned on a surface and then connected to either a display devise or attached to a dock such as a thunderbolt type dock).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lee and make Yang’s electronic device the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation, in order to improve antenna reception and transmission in a lid-closed mode.
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the known method of improving a hinged electronic device by placing a parasitic in the display chassis that will be disclosed near the antenna, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Phillips does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic element (13) comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component (11), the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation (Phillips already teaches the antenna and parasitic element parallel in a lid-closed mode of operation (see Phillips fig. 11), therefore the parasitic carrier component would also be parallel)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation, in order to support the antenna in the device.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Phillips discloses the antenna system of claim 1 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace (12) is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component, in order to support the antenna in the device.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Phillips discloses the antenna system of claim 2 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace (12) is substantially U-shaped (¶[0032]; Antenna element 12, which is a metallic thin plate, is formed into U shape in section through blanking and bending processes)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped, in order to get the desired radiation pattern and bandwidth.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Phillips discloses the antenna system of claim 4 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion (top of 12), a right side portion (right side 12C) and a left side portion (left side 12C)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion, in order to get the desired radiation pattern and bandwidth.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Phillips “The antenna system of claim 5 wherein: the base chassis antenna component (10) includes an antenna trace (is an antenna so would necessarily have an antenna trace); and the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace (would be a part of 12) extends substantially parallel to the antenna trace of the base chassis antenna component (10) when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (from fig. 11 we can see both 12 and 10 would be substantially parallel when the lid is closed)”.
Regarding claim 7, Phillips discloses “the antenna system comprising: a base chassis antenna component (10) contained within a base chassis of an information handling system (col. 3 lines 45-50; FIG. 1 is a representation of a first, preferred embodiment of an antenna apparatus with a capacitively coupled parasitic element. In practice, the antenna structure is supported and encapsulated in nonconductive materials, as is known in the art. For example, dielectrics and plastics are commonly used to accomplish this purpose. These are not shown to simplify the figures); and, a display chassis parasitic element (12) contained within a display chassis of the information handing system (col. 3 lines 45-50), the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component (col. 2 lines 19-28; An efficient antenna structure is provided with a bandwidth large enough to cover the required cellular frequency bands of operation. This is accomplished by coupling an antenna element with an active, variably tuned parasitic element. In particular, the present invention uses at least one conductor located proximally to the antenna element. This parasitic conductor is electromagnetically coupled to tuning elements to expand the bandwidth of the antenna system by tuning the frequency band response of the antenna element across a wider spectral range. Bandwidth improvements of up to 6:1 have been achieved)”.
Phillips does not disclose “An information handling system comprising: a host portion, the host portion comprising a processor; and, a data bus coupled to the processor; and, an antenna system communicating with the host portion”, “the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation”, or “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation”.
However, Lee teaches “An information handling system comprising: a host portion (fig. 1), the host portion comprising a processor (102); and, a data bus (108) coupled to the processor; and, an antenna system (120) communicating with the host portion”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lee and make Yang’s information handling system with an information handling system comprising: a host portion, the host portion comprising a processor; and, a data bus coupled to the processor; and, an antenna system communicating with the host portion, in order to control and process signals to and from the antenna.
Phillips does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation” or “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation”.
However, Lee teaches that it is commonly known in the art to want to improve antenna efficiency while the system is in a “lid-closed” mode of operation (¶[0028]; Various aspects of the present disclosure include an appreciation that with certain portable information handling system usage, more and more users are using their portable information handling system in a closed mode of operation (i.e., a lid-closed mode) such as when the portable information handling system is positioned on a surface and then connected to either a display devise or attached to a dock such as a thunderbolt type dock).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lee and make Yang’s electronic device the display chassis parasitic element being parasitically coupled with the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in a lid-closed mode of operation, in order to improve antenna reception and transmission in a lid-closed mode.
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply the known method of improving a hinged electronic device by placing a parasitic in the display chassis that will be disclosed near the antenna, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Phillips does not disclose “the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic element (13) comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component (11), the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation (Phillips already teaches the antenna and parasitic element parallel in a lid-closed mode of operation (see Phillips fig. 11), therefore the parasitic carrier component would also be parallel)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device the display chassis parasitic element comprises a display chassis parasitic carrier component, the display chassis parasitic carrier component extending substantially parallel to the base chassis antenna component when the information handing system is operating in the lid- closed mode of operation, in order to support the antenna in the device.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Phillips discloses the information handling system of claim 7 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace (12) is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component (fig. 1)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: a display chassis parasitic side trace is positioned along a side wall of the display chassis parasitic carrier component, in order to support the antenna in the device.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Phillips discloses the information handling system of claim 8 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace (12) is substantially U-shaped (¶[0032]; Antenna element 12, which is a metallic thin plate, is formed into U shape in section through blanking and bending processes)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s information handling system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace is substantially U-shaped, in order to get the desired radiation pattern and bandwidth.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Phillips discloses the information handling system of claim 10 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion”.
However, Sadamori teaches “wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion (top of 12), a right side portion (right side 12C) and a left side portion (left side 12C)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s information handling system wherein: the display chassis parasitic side trace comprises a base portion, a right side portion and a left side portion, in order to get the desired radiation pattern and bandwidth.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Phillips “The antenna system of claim 11 wherein: the base chassis antenna component (10) includes an antenna trace (is an antenna so would necessarily have an antenna trace); and the base portion of the display chassis parasitic side trace (would be a part of 12) extends substantially parallel to the antenna trace of the base chassis antenna component (10) when the information handing system is operating in the lid-closed mode of operation (from fig. 11 we can see both 12 and 10 would be substantially parallel when the lid is closed)”.
Claim 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips in view of Lee and Sadmori, further in view of Konishi et al. (US20020101382; hereinafter Konishi).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Phillips discloses the antenna system of claim 1 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat”.
However, Konishi teaches throughout its embodiments (figs. 1-14 and particularly fig. 14) that the shape of a carrier board for an antenna wrapped around a carrier board can be modified to many shapes dependent on the desired antenna pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat, in order to fit the carrier to the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Phillips discloses the information handling system of claim 8 as shown previously.
Phillips does not disclose “wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat”.
However, Konishi teaches throughout its embodiments (figs. 1-14 and particularly fig. 14) that the shape of a carrier board for an antenna wrapped around a carrier board can be modified to many shapes dependent on the desired antenna pattern.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sadamori and make Yang’s electronic device wherein: the display chassis parasitic carrier component is at least one of substantially L-shaped and substantially flat, in order to fit the carrier to the antenna pattern.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845