The amendments filed 9/12/2025 have been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein said fixed walls are inserted into adjacent walls” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). For example, in fig. 3, walls 7D and 7G are only “inserted” into one wall 7P, and not into other adjacent walls 7S, 7R. Walls 7P and 7R are not shown inserted into any adjacent wall, therefore “some” of the walls are shown inserted into at least one other of the walls, but the drawings do not show “[all] of said walls are inserted into adjacent walls” as claimed. The drawings also fail to show the detail “inserting the walls into each other”, as no two adjacent walls are shown inserted into “each other”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: awkward grammar “some at least of the rails”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: awkward grammar “wherein the case outer dimensions: overall height…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "horizontal rails attached to inner sides of some walls from said fixed walls". It is unclear what is meant by “from said fixed walls”, whether the limitation refers to relative positioning of the attachment of the rails, or is intended to reference the “set of fixed insulating walls”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “horizontal rails attached to inner sides of some of the walls of the set of fixed insulating walls”.
The term “plate-shaped” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “plate-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "each side of the case". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitations "useful height”, “useful depth”, and “useful width". It is unclear what the scope of the term “useful” is in the claim, as it not clear if the term may or may not include the rails/blocks in the dimensions, or whether or a not a buffer area is required around a payload (i.e. the dimensions are claimed as tied to a use, and not necessarily the measured dimensions of the case itself).
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the door is articulated to a first insulated wall opposed to a second insulated wall”. It is unclear whether these are walls of the set of fixed insulating walls of claim 1, or new and additional walls separate to that of the insulating walls of claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “the door is articulated to a first insulating wall of the set of fixed insulating walls opposed to second insulating wall of the set of fixed insulating walls”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 10,661,969 (Pranadi et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 21 and 22, Pranadi et al. discloses: A parallelipipedic transport case (511/611) comprising: a set of fixed insulating walls (619, 621, 623) forming a front opening (see Fig. 21), an insulating door (at 17) hinged with said fixed walls to close said opening (see Fig. 21) and horizontal rails (641 and 643) attached to inner sides of some walls (See Fig. 22) from said fixed walls, said rails being arranged in order to removably slide eutectic blocks (627-1, 629-1) therein and to hold the blocks along respective walls, said blocks being plate-shaped (See Fig. 22), wherein said fixed walls are inserted into adjacent walls and attached together to ensure that a thermal insulation provided by the case is uniform (see figs. 20a-20i, sidewalls are shown inserted into the adjacent floor and upper wall) (inasmuch as can be interpreted by Applicant’s original disclosure, wherein some walls are inserted into others, by not all walls are inserted into adjacent walls, see drawing objection above).
[AltContent: textbox (Front Opening)][AltContent: arrow]
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the fixed walls have a substantially rectangular shape and comprise two vertical side walls (621, 623), a floor (615) and an upper wall (625), between which the opening is formed, and, opposite said opening, a rear vertical wall (619), some at least of the rails being attached to at least one of said side walls (See Fig. 22).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the rails are arranged to form three superimposed rows of blocks (see Fig. 24, blocks 715-2, 715-3, and 715-4 are arranged in rows).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein at least some of the rails are attached to the upper wall (See Fig. 9b).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein each rail has a U-shape having one upright attached to a respective wall, the other upright being designed to hold at least one block, two rails being arranged opposite each other to slide a row of at least one block therein (see figs. 8a-8b).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above and Figs. 7a-7b, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein at least one of the walls and the doors comprises insulating panels including an insulating layer (111) sandwiched between two skins (123, 125).
In re claim 7 with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. disclose the claimed invention including an angle (at pads 61/63 in Figs. 4c and 4d) to protect an edge formed by two adjacent panels (the pads protect the panel joint).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including a base (615, see Fig. 3b) arranged so that a lifting fork can be inserted on each side (e.g. left of center row of legs 33 and right of center row of legs 33) of the case (column 11, lines 10-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pranadi et al.
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including substantially the following inner dimensions: useful height greater than or equal to 1300 mm (51.1 inches); useful depth greater than or equal to 1200 mm (47.2 inches); useful width greater than or equal to 800 mm (31.5 inches) (Prandini et al. discloses containment of a payload of 48” length by 40-42” width by 45-46” height, column 3, lines 55-58), but not the exact claimed dimensions.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to slightly modified the inner dimensions of the case of Prandini et al., since it has been held that the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pranadi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2015/0143818 (Eckhoff et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention except a housing for a parameter recorder, formed in one of the walls, and a hole through said wall for a wire connecting the recorder to at least a temperature probe attached inside the case, the wire being sealed in the hole so that the hole does not create a thermal bridge.
However, with reference to Fig. 12, Eckhoff et al. discloses a temperature-controlled container system which utilizes a housing for a parameter recorder formed in one of the walls and a hole through said wall for a wire (1230) connecting the recorder to at least a temperature probe (1200) attached inside the case, the wire being sealed in the hole, so that the hole does not create a thermal bridge (i.e. no gap shown around wire, therefore the hole is considered sealed by the wire, and the only thermal bridge would be the wire and not the hole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified a wall of Pranadi et al. to have included a parameter recorder, wire, sensor, and passed the wire through the wall as taught by Eckhoff et al. for the purposes of monitoring the internal environment of the container to determine if the contents are stored properly or require intervention.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pranadi et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2018/0149191 (Spitzer hereinafter).
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Pranadi et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the insulating layer is made of a polyurethane foam, but wherein the foam having a shore A hardness of between 30 and 40.
However, Spitzer discloses a Shore A hardness of foam of 5 to approximately 100 rendering a plastic part well suited for thermal insulation (paragraph 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected a desirable Shore A hardness value/range for thermal insulation foam, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0008, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733