DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 27, 2026 have been fully considered.
The applicant has amended the drawings to include radial arrows. The examiner finds that the inclusion of arrows does show the claimed structure of claim 7 that has the capability of the shaft being radially adjustable. While the functionality may be depicted by the arrows, the claimed structure that is capable of such movement is not. Therefore, the drawing objection is maintained.
The claim objection of claim 2 is withdrawn based on the amendment.
The applicant argues with regard to the 35 U.S.C 112(a) rejections, that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make the radially adjustable shaft as claimed by a spring as an example. With regard to the written description rejection, the examiner still finds that the following portion of MPEP 2173.05(g) still applies:
“Unlimited functional claim limitations that extend to all means or methods of resolving a problem may not be adequately supported by the written description or may not be commensurate in scope with the enabling disclosure, both of which are required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. In re Hyatt, 708 F.2d 712, 714, 218 USPQ 195, 197 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1340, 94 USPQ2d at 1167. ”
While the applicant mentions a singular example of a spring, the specification has no discussion of a spring, and is by no means the only way of resolving the problem. The written description is found to be insufficient with the claimed scope.
With regard to the enablement rejection, the applicant’s example of a using a spring essentially argues that the level of ordinary skill in the art and quantity of experimentation needed to make the invention are such that it would be relatively easy for a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the invention because springs are off the shelf components and engineers understand how they work. The examiner finds this to be unpersuasive when viewed in the context of the entirety of the Wands factors and their corresponding analysis presented.
The examiner maintains both the written description and enablement rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(a).
The 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections of claims 1 and 5 are withdrawn based on the amendments.
The applicant argues with regard to the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection that claim 13 is definite as “master-master” is effectively a term of the art which means that each device is driven independently as opposed to a master-slave relationship. Paragraph [0038] of the instant application describes “a first activation device 15 and a second activation device 15 of a master-master adjustment system are schematically illustrated, the master-master adjustment system including two schematically illustrated actuators that are configured to adjust or set synchronization device 10.”
The examiner finds that the above paragraph and applicant’s definition is clear. Claim 13 however simply recites, “comprising an adjustment system, and the synchronization device being adjusted with the aid of the adjustment system, designed in a master-master configuration.” Without the context of a first actuation device and a second actuation device it is unclear if the adjustment system itself is in a master-master configuration or if the adjustment system and synchronization device are in a master-master configuration.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C 102 rejections, the applicant argues that Takaoka does not disclose bearings situated directly opposite each other on the synchronization device to radially support the synchronization device in a play-free manner. The examiner finds that a different mapping of the claims to the disclosure of Takaoka does disclose the claims. This is presented in the rejections below.
Any changes are necessitated by amendment, the rejections are therefore final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the structure associated with the limitation of claim 7 “the shaft is radially adjustable with respect to the synchronization device or to a rotational axis of the turbomachine” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites, “wherein the shaft is radially adjustable with respect to the synchronization device or to a rotational axis of the turbomachine”. There is no disclosure as to the structures of how this is achieved / implemented; the function is only stated in [0021] and [0040]. This is an unlimited functional limitation that extends to all device structures capable of performing the function, see MPEP 2173.05(g).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 7 recites, “wherein the shaft is radially adjustable with respect to the synchronization device or to a rotational axis of the turbomachine”. This is a functional limitation, see MPEP 2173.05(g). There is no disclosure as to the structures of how this is achieved / implemented; the function is only stated in [0021] and [0040].
With regard to the Wands factors the examiner finds:
(A) The breadth of the claims:
The breadth of the claim extends to any structure that would make the shaft radially adjustable, which is a wide variety of mechanical configurations.
(B) The nature of the invention:
The invention is a mechanical device.
(C) The state of the prior art:
The prior art has very limited examples of the shafts that support rollers being adjustable, therefore the claimed adjusting function is highly uncommon.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill:
A person of ordinary skill has mechanical engineering knowledge,
(E) The level of predictability in the art:
The art has a reasonable degree of predictability, although high temperature environments and various critical situations (blade out, foreign object debris, surge) create a variety of loading conditions and less predictability.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The inventor provides no direction.
(G) The existence of working examples:
There are no disclosed working examples.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
A person of ordinary skill in the art is left entirely to their own as the inventor provides no direction. The examiner therefore finds the entirety of the design to be upon a person of ordinary skill in the art (from initial sketches to prototypes, testing, etc).
The examiner finds that A, C, F, and G in particular weigh in favor of there being a lack of enablement. The other factors do not overcome the severity of the conditions of the factors listed directly above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites, “the synchronization device being adjusted with the aid of the adjustment system, designed in a master-master configuration”. Paragraph [0038] of the instant application describes “a first activation device 15 and a second activation device 15 of a master-master adjustment system are schematically illustrated, the master-master adjustment system including two schematically illustrated actuators that are configured to adjust or set synchronization device 10.” Without the context of a first actuation device and a second actuation device it is unclear if the adjustment system itself is in a master-master configuration or if the adjustment system and synchronization device are in a master-master configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takaoka et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20130216360) hereinafter Takaoka.
Regarding claim 1, Takaoka discloses:
A device for blade adjustment of a turbomachine {Figure 9 (30b) adjust the variable vanes; [0088]. Figure 9 is the third embodiment of the invention and is mapped to the claims. It is noted that description of this embodiment has been omitted based on [0087]. Therefore, references to the first and second embodiments will be used but are also applicable to the third embodiment of claim 9}, the device including:
a synchronization device for adjusting blades of the turbomachine {Figure 9 (31); [0054]/[0089]}; and
bearings situated directly opposite each other on the synchronization device to radially support the synchronization device in a play-free manner {Figure 9, (61b) and (51b) are considered oppositely situated as they are on left and right sides of the synchronization ring and support (31) in a play-free manner; [0074][0075]/[0096]},
so that the synchronization ring may thermally deform to assume an oval shape {Figure 9 (31) may thermally deform/expand to form an oval shape; [0074]/[0075]/[0096]. The claimed property/function is presumed inherent as the structure in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, see MPEP 2112.01}.
Regarding claim 2, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the oval shape is symmetrical {Figure 9, the oval shape is symmetric about a up/down axis in Figure 9. The claimed property/function is presumed inherent as the structure in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, see MPEP 2112.01}.
Regarding claim 3, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the bearings in each case include at least one roller configured to support the synchronization device {Figure 9, the (61b) and (51b) are rollers that support (31); [0074][0075]/[0096]}.
Regarding claim 8, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the roller includes a receptacle configured to accommodate the synchronization device {Figure 7 (62) forms a receptacle in the roller (61) to accommodate (36); [0069]}.
Regarding claim 9, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the receptacle is a groove {Figure 5 (62) forms a groove in the roller (61) to accommodate (36); [0069]}.
Regarding claim 12, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the bearing devices number exactly two {Figure 9, (61b) and (51b). These two instances are considered the only bearing devices. It is noted that the transitional phrase comprising is open-ended, see MPEP 2111.03. Therefore, a device that has 4 bearing devices also comprises exactly 2}.
Regarding claim 14, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the synchronization device is a synchronization ring {Figure 9 (31) is a synchronization ring; [0089]}.
Regarding claim 15, Takaoka further discloses:
A turbomachine comprising adjustable blades, and at least one device as recited in claim 1 for adjusting these blades {Figure 9 is part of a turbomachine for adjusting blades; [0087]-[0088], see also Figure 1}.
Regarding claim 16, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the synchronization device is a synchronization ring with an outer circumferential surface {Figure 9 (31) is a synchronization ring with an outer circumferential surface on the outside of the ring} and
the two bearing devices always contact the outer circumferential surface at 180 degrees from each other {Figure 9 (61) and (51) are fixed and only have a spinning roller, therefore they are always 180 degrees apart. (61b) and (51b) may contact the outer circumferential surface as described in [0091]}.
Regarding claim 17, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the bearing devices number exactly two {Figure 9, (61b) and (51b). These two instances are considered the only bearing devices. It is noted that the transitional phrase comprising is open-ended, see MPEP 2111.03. Therefore, a device that has 4 bearing devices also comprises exactly 2} and
no further bearing devices contact the synchronization device {Figure 9, (61b) and (51b). These two instances are considered the only bearing devices. It is noted that the transitional phrase comprising is open-ended, see MPEP 2111.03. Therefore, a device that has 4 bearing devices also comprises exactly 2. The remaining 2 bearings may be considered as not part of the device; therefore, no further bearing devices contact the synchronization device}.
Regarding claim 18, Takaoka further discloses:
wherein the blades are guide vanes {Figure 1 and 2, (16) are guide vanes; [0048]/[0052]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaoka et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20130216360) hereinafter Takaoka in view of Hashimoto et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20130108415) hereinafter Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 4, Takaoka discloses the device of claim 3, but is silent regarding the details of the roller / bearing. Takaoka is therefore silent regarding:
wherein the bearings each include at least one shaft with at least one roller bearing, the at least one roller situated on the roller bearing.
Hashimoto pertains to vane actuation. Hashimoto teaches:
wherein the bearings each include at least one shaft with at least one roller bearing, the at least one roller situated on the roller bearing {Figure 3 (45) is a shaft with roller bearing (42); roller (41o) is situated on the roller bearing (42); [0044]-[0045]}.
Since Takaoka is silent regarding details of the roller / bearing one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a roller / bearing structure as taught by Hashimoto for the roller and associated structure of Takaoka. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to have the synchronizing ring rotate as desired {Hashimoto [0044]-[0045]}.
Regarding claim 5, Takaoka discloses the device of claim 1, but is silent regarding the details of the roller / bearing. Takaoka is therefore silent regarding:
wherein the at least one roller bearing includes in a radial direction of the shaft, a first bearing situated on the shaft, and in the radial direction a second bearing situated on the first bearing.
Hashimoto pertains to vane actuation. Hashimoto teaches:
wherein the at least one roller bearing includes in a radial direction of the shaft, a first bearing situated on the shaft, and in the radial direction a second bearing situated on the first bearing {See 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection and interpretation above. Figure 3 (42) is a first bearing and (41O) is a second bearing; [0044]-[0045]}.
Since Takaoka is silent regarding details of the roller / bearing one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a roller / bearing structure as taught by Hashimoto for the roller and associated structure of Takaoka. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to be able to have the synchronizing ring rotate as desired {Hashimoto [0044]-[0045]}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Takaoka and Hashimoto further teaches:
wherein the shaft is fixedly connected to a housing of the bearing {Hashimoto Figure 3 (45) is fixedly connection to the inner housing of the bearing (42) that it contacts}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takaoka and Hashimoto further teaches:
wherein the shaft is radially adjustable with respect to the synchronization device or to a rotational axis of the turbomachine {Takaoka Figure 9, (51b) is one of the bearings. The shaft of (51) is radially adjustable with respect to the axis (Ar) based on (57); [0091]}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745