Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous prior art rejections of the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Bihan (US 2018/0045802).
Regarding claim 1, Le Bihan teaches a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured:
to obtain a plurality of diffusion weighted images including a plurality of first diffusion weighted images taken while a first Motion Probing Gradient (MPG) is applied in a plurality of directions and a plurality of second diffusion weighted images taken while a second MPG having a b value of a different magnitude from that of a b value calculated for the first MPG is applied in the plurality of directions [Abstract, ¶0032-0033. See also rest of reference which teaches b-values and MPGs.];
to calculate an attenuation rate (SLKb/SHKb) signal intensities with respect to each of the plurality of directions, from signal intensity (SLKb) of the diffusion weighted image taken while the first MPG is applied and signal intensity (SHKb) of the diffusion weighted image taken while the second MPG is applied [¶0017, ¶0031-0033, ¶0044, ¶0208, ¶0216.. See also rest of reference which teaches attenuation.]; and
to calculate a shear modulus respectively corresponding to each of the plurality of directions by using a relational expression which expresses a relation between an attenuation rate, a shear modulus and a calibration coefficient obtained on a basis of an experiment or experience, and substituting, with respect to each of the plurality of directions, the attenuation rate in the relational expression with the calculated attenuation rate [¶0017, ¶0031-0033, ¶0044, ¶0208, ¶0216. See also rest of reference which teaches shear modulus.].
Regarding claim 7, Le Bihan further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to further display, on a basis of the shear modulus calculated with respect to each of the plurality of directions, information indicating magnitudes and anisotropy of the shear moduli [Abstract, wherein signature indices are displayed. See SCdist signature index which depends on Cm which is dependent on anisotropy. Therefore, anisotropy is disclosed. See ¶0191, wherein images of shear stiffness are acquired. See also rest of reference which teaches shear.].
Regarding claim 15, the same reasons for rejection as claim 1 also apply to this claim. Claim 15 is merely the method version of apparatus claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Le Bihan, in view of Li (CN 115105049 A. For citations, see English translation provided by Espacenet attached to the previous office action office action.).
Regarding claim 8, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan further teaches shear moduli.
However, Le Bihan is silent in teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display information indicating, at a same time, both the magnitudes and the anisotropy of the elastic moduli.
Li, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display information indicating, at a same time, both the magnitudes and the anisotropy of the elastic moduli [n0032-0033, n0064, n0094-0095 and Fig. 2. Parametric maps show intensity values for anisotropy of the elasticity of the tissue, such as white matter. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Li because both references are in the field of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) and because Li teaches it is known in the art to display different MRE information to an operator of the MR device.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Le Bihan, in view of Abe (JP 2012143315 A. For citations, see English translation provided by Espacenet attached to the previous office action.).
Regarding claim 9, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display a map in which magnitudes of the absolute signature index are expressed with darkness levels [claim 13. See also rest of reference.].
However, Le Bihan is silent in teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display a color map in which magnitudes of the shear moduli are expressed with darkness levels of a color.
Abe, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display a color map in which magnitudes of the shear moduli are expressed with darkness levels of a color [¶0003, wherein shear information is obtained. ¶0032-0035, wherein color maps are disclosed. See Fig. 3. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Abe because both references are in the field of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) and because Abe teaches it is known in the art to use color maps [Abe - ¶0032-0035] and this feature would help differentiate different MRE values to a use.
Regarding claim 10, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
However, Le Bihan is silent in teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display a color map in which the anisotropy of the shear moduli is expressed by using different colors.
Abe, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches w wherein the processing circuitry is configured to display a color map in which the anisotropy of the shear moduli is expressed by using different colors [¶0003, wherein shear information is obtained. ¶0032-0035, wherein color maps are disclosed. ¶0009-0010, ¶0027-0028, ¶0034 disclose anisotropy values. See Fig. 3. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Abe because both references are in the field of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) because Abe teaches it is known in the art to use color maps [Abe - ¶0032-0035] and this feature would help differentiate different MRE values to a use.
Regarding claim 11, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan is silent in teaching the processing circuitry is configured to display information about the Shear moduli calculated in correspondence with the plurality of directions, so as to be superimposed together in a single image.
Abe, which also in the field of MRI, teaches the processing circuitry is configured to display information about the Shear moduli calculated in correspondence with the plurality of directions, so as to be superimposed together in a single image [¶0003, wherein shear information is obtained. ¶0030-0032 and equations 12-15. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Abe because both references are in the field of magnetic resonance elastography (MRE) because Abe teaches it is known in the art to use include all the elastic information in a single image [Abe - ¶0030-0032 and equations 12-15.], so as to be more efficient for a user viewing said image.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Le Bihan, in view of Sugiyama (US 2010/0106002).
Regarding claim 12, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan further teaches the magnitudes and the anisotropy of the shear moduli [Abstract, wherein signature indices are displayed. See SCdist signature index which depends on Cm which is dependent on anisotropy. Therefore, anisotropy is disclosed. See ¶0191, wherein images of shear stiffness are acquired. See also rest of reference which teaches shear.].
However, Li is silent in teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to switch, in accordance with an instruction from an operator, display between information indicating both the parameters at a same time and information indicating only one of the parameters.
Sugiyama, which is also in field of MRI, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to switch, in accordance with an instruction from an operator, display between information indicating both the parameters at a same time and information indicating only one of the parameters [See Fig. 9 and ¶0102, wherein one parameter can be displayed or can be superposed. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Sugiyama because both references are in the field of diffusion magnetic resonance imaging and because both references teach displaying images and Sugiyama teaches it is known in the art for the user to manipulate what information is displayed [Sugiyama – Fig. 9].
Regarding claim 13, Le Bihan teaches the limitation of claim 7, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan further teaches the magnitudes and the anisotropy of the shear moduli [Abstract, wherein signature indices are displayed. See SCdist signature index which depends on Cm which is dependent on anisotropy. Therefore, anisotropy is disclosed. See ¶0191, wherein images of shear stiffness are acquired. See also rest of reference which teaches shear.].
However, Li is silent in teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to segment and display the information indicating the parameters, in correspondence with compositions of biological tissue.
Sugiyama, which is also in field of MRI, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to segment and display the information indicating the parameters, in correspondence with compositions of biological tissue [See segmentation disclosed throughout reference. ¶0090-0091, ¶0105-0106. Fig. 10. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Le Bihan and Sugiyama because both references are in the field of diffusion magnetic resonance imaging and because both references teach displaying images and Sugiyama teaches it is known in the art for the user to manipulate what information is displayed [Sugiyama – Fig. 9-10].
Regarding claim 14, Le Bihan and Sugiyama teach the limitation of claim 13, which this claim depends from.
Le Bihan further teaches wherein the biological tissue is one of a muscle fiber, a tendon fiber, and a brain tissue [¶0026. See also rest of reference.].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896