DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 9/04/2025.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the arguments of the prior art not disclosing the newly amended subject matter in claims 1 and 11, see rejection below.
With regard to In re Aller not being applicable, the examiner would like to respectfully disagree. The ranges recited in the claims are merely preferred ranges and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Furthermore, looking into the specification, the ranges recited in the claim do not appear to produce any unexpected results. The prior art discloses a fuel injector having a ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour extending concentrically about the first circular contour similar to the present application (see fig. 1 of present application). See annotated figure below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP S63208664A (art submitted by applicant byway of IDS dated 4/16/2025).
Regarding claim 1, JP S63208664A discloses A fuel injector (fig. 1, 7) of an internal combustion engine configured to supply fuel to a combustion chamber of a cylinder (fig. 6) of the internal combustion engine, comprising: a main body (1); a first nozzle needle (3) moveably guidable in a first needle guide (fig. 1, 7); a first needle fuel chamber (2a) that interacts with the first nozzle needle (3) for a first liquid fuel, which can be coupled via first channels (14) to the combustion chamber (fig. 6) of the cylinder (fig. 6), wherein the first channels are connected to the first needle fuel chamber via first internal openings (fig. 1, 7); a second nozzle needle (8) moveably guided in a second needle guide (fig. 1, 7); and a second needle fuel chamber (7a) that interacts with the second nozzle needle (8) for a second liquid fuel, which can be coupled via second channels (15) to the combustion chamber of the cylinder (fig. 6), wherein the second channels (15) are connected to the second needle fuel chamber (7a) via second inner openings (fig. 1, 7); wherein the first internal openings are arranged on a first circular contour and the second inner openings on a second circular contour extending concentrically about the first circular contour (fig. 1, 7), wherein longitudinal centre axes of the first channels are offset from longitudinal centre axes of the second channels (fig. 1, 7).
JP S63208664A discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour is between 0.1 and 0.5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour as being between 0.1 and 0.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the second needle fuel chamber is arranged, at least in portions, concentrically about the first needle fuel chamber (see fig. 1, 7; right before disbursing into the fuel channels, chamber 7a is concentric about 2a near the tip portion).
Regarding claim 3, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the longitudinal centre axes of the first channels are substantially parallel to the longitudinal centre axes of the second channels within the injector and fluidically (see fig. 1, 7).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, JP S63208664A discloses the nozzle holes as being in parallel, the examiner is taking Official notice that it would have been an obvious design choice to having the nozzle hole spray direction as converging or diverging instead, in order to control the direction that the fuel is being injected.
Regarding claim 6, JP S63208664A discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour is between 0.2 and 0.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour as being between 0.2 and 0.3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the main body comprises a first recess, in which a first insert is arranged, wherein the first insert is configured as the first needle guide for the first nozzle needle, the first needle fuel chamber, and the first channels (fig. 1, 7).
Regarding claim 8, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the main body provides the second needle fuel chamber and the second channels (fig. 1, 7).
Regarding claim 9, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the main body comprises a second recess, in which a second insert is arranged, wherein the second insert is configured as the second needle guide for the second nozzle needle (fig. 1, 7).
Regarding claim 10, JP S63208664A further discloses wherein the first liquid fuel serves for igniting a second fuel (see at least Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, JP S63208664A discloses an internal combustion engine, comprising: a cylinder equipped for igniting (fig. 6), with a first fuel, a second fuel for combustion in the cylinder (figs. 1, 6, 7); and a fuel injector (1, fig. 1, 7) for the cylinder (fig. 6) comprising: a main body (1); a first nozzle needle (3) moveably guidable in a first needle guide (fig. 1, 7); a first needle fuel chamber (2a) that interacts with the first nozzle needle for a first liquid fuel, which can be coupled via first channels (14) to a combustion chamber of the cylinder (fig. 6), wherein the first channels (14) are connected to the first needle fuel chamber (2a) via first internal openings (fig. 1, 7); a second nozzle needle (8) moveably guided in a second needle guide (fig. 1, 7); and a second needle fuel chamber (7a) that interacts with the second nozzle needle (8) for a second liquid fuel, which can be coupled via second channels (15) to the combustion chamber of the cylinder (fig. 6), wherein the second channels (15) are connected to the second needle fuel chamber (7a) via second inner openings (fig. 1, 7); wherein the first internal openings are arranged on a first circular contour and the second inner openings on a second circular contour extending concentrically about the first circular contour (fig. 1, 7), wherein longitudinal centre axes of the first channels are offset from longitudinal centre axes of the second channels (fig. 1, 7).
JP S63208664A discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour is between 0.1 and 0.5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having the ratio (d1/d2) between a first diameter of the first circular contour and a second diameter of the second circular contour as being between 0.1 and 0.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAO EN MO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747