DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 13-17, 19, 21, 23-27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu US 20110196632 in view of Crymble et al US 20240288501 A1 herein after “Crymble”.
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a method, comprising:
measuring cell voltages of a plurality of N battery cells arranged in series with one another in a battery stack (para [0022] The battery pack 10 is constituted of a plurality of (120 or 240, for example) battery cells 11 connected in series. Para [0027] The cell monitoring circuits 30, which are provided for the respective blocks 12, performs detection of the cell voltages (the voltages of the battery cells 11), detection of the block voltage (the voltage of the block 12), detection of overcharge/over discharge of the battery cells 11, and equalization of the cell voltages of the battery cells 11. The cell monitoring circuits 30 may be implemented as an IC);
In Fig. 1 examiner views the battery each battery packs 10 or subsets has battery cells arranged in series. The cell voltages are measured by cell monitoring circuit 30.
arranging the plurality of N battery cells into subsets (in Fig. 1 examiner views the battery cells N are divided into each battery packs 10 or subsets;
Shimizu does not teach determining a metric across each of the subsets based on the measured cell voltages; comparing the metric of a subset to metrics across other subsets; and identifying a degraded or faulty battery cell of the subset based on the comparing.
Crymble teaches determining a metric across each of the subsets based on the measured cell voltages; comparing the metric of a subset to metrics across other subsets; (para [0227] Variations in behaviour between the same type of cells being exposed to the same stimulus can indicate that a fault arose at one or more such cells. For example, a rate of change of voltage measured at one cell or cell group being different from a rate of change of voltage measured at other cells or cell groups for the same stimulus (e.g., current, temperature, or both))
Examiner views the metric (or difference or change) of voltage at each cell or cell group (subset) is based on the measured cell voltages. And the rate of change of voltage (i.e., metric) at one group cell (i.e., subset) is compared to other group cell.
and
identifying a degraded or faulty battery cell of the subset based on the comparing (and considering the state of the respective cells or cell groups (e.g., a state of charge, a SoH, or internal resistance) can indicate a behavioral fault at the cell or cell group whose rate of change deviates from the others.).
Based on the comparison of the rate of change of voltage (i.e., metric) at one group cell (i.e., subset) to another group cell a fault in a cell of the cell group is determined.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Crymble into Shimizu for the purpose of determining a difference in voltage between the cell or cell subset and determine a fault in a cell of a cell subset, so that the components of the battery system and the vehicle can be prevented from damages.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, Shimizu teaches further comprising: arranging the N battery cells into subsets of two or three battery cells (In fig. 1 examiner views 4 cells in each 2 or three cell groups or subset).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, Shimizu teaches further comprising: arranging the N battery cells into subsets of battery cells similarly situated in the battery stack (In fig. 1 examiner views 4 cells in each 2 or three cell groups or subset are situated in series in the battery stack or battery pack.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 4, Crymble teaches further comprising: arranging battery cells exposed to similar external and/or environmental influences together in the subsets (para [0005] Safe use of a battery system therefore requires operating the battery system within its Safe Operating Area (SOA). [0129] As referenced throughout this disclosure, SOA may be defined as one or more conditions (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, pressure, or any other conditions described in this disclosure), or any combination thereof, within which cells of a battery system are expected to operate without becoming damaged or creating a hazard to the battery system's operator.).
Examiner views all the cells are exposed to similar or same SOA for temperature and pressure (i.e., similar external or environmental influences) conditions that influence together in the cell subsets.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Crymble into Shimizu for the purpose of exposing all the cells int battery stack to similar environmental condition for accurate determination of a difference in voltage between the cell or cell subset and determine a fault in a cell of a cell subset.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, Shimizu teaches further comprising: measuring the N cell voltages during operation of the battery stack to supply energy to a load (para [0022] The battery pack 10 is constituted of a plurality of (120 or 240, for example) battery cells 11 connected in series. The battery cells 11 are grouped into blocks 12 connected in series each including a predetermined number of (4, for example) the battery cells 11. The battery cell 11 may be a rechargeable lithium-ion battery. The battery pack 10 is mounted on an electric vehicle or a hybrid vehicle to be used as a power supply for supplying power to electrical loads including an inverter, a motor and electronic devices.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, Crymble teaches wherein the metric across each of the subsets comprises one or more of: a maximum across each subset; a minimum across each subset; a standard deviation across each subset; a difference between respective cells across each subset; a mean across each subset; a mode across each subset; and a median across each subset.
(para [0227] Variations in behaviour between the same type of cells being exposed to the same stimulus can indicate that a fault arose at one or more such cells. For example, a rate of change of voltage measured at one cell or cell group being different from a rate of change of voltage measured at other cells or cell groups for the same stimulus (e.g., current, temperature, or both))
Examiner views the metric (or difference or change) of voltage at each cell or cell group (subset) is based on the measured cell voltages. And the rate of change of voltage (i.e., metric) at one group cell (i.e., subset) is compared to other group cell.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Crymble into Shimizu for the purpose of determining a difference in voltage between the cell or cell subset and determine a fault in a cell of a cell subset, so that the components of the battery system and the vehicle can be prevented from damages.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: Crymble teaches detecting peaks that correspond to noise associated with actuation and/or recuperation of a load powered by the plurality of N battery cells (para [0188] The pulse time limit approach described with reference to FIG. 5C for current measurements can be also used to evaluate other types of measurements obtained at the monitored cells, such as voltage and temperature. Different types of measurements may have different pulse time limits for determining whether a cell experienced a fault. For example, a pulse time limit of a substantially shorter duration (e.g., 1 second) than for current measurements (e.g., 10 second) could be used to evaluate voltage measurements. The voltage pulse may be caused by an impulse of energy returned from a load or by an external electrical noise. A filter, as described with reference to other measurements, such as with reference to FIGS. 5A to 5N, may be applied before a fault is determined.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Crymble into Shimizu for the purpose of determining peak in voltage/current measurement curve of a battery as a noise, so that the fault source in the battery stack be accurately determined if the fault is created by the load powered by battery cells.
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected as claim 1 having same claim limitations.
Claims (13-17, 19) are rejected as claims 3-7, 9, having same claim limitations.
Claims (23-27, 29) are rejected as claims 3-7, 9, having same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 2, 12 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shimizu and Crymble in view of Park et al US 20190257889 A1 herein after “Park”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: the combination of Shimizu and Crymble does not teach calculating a moving average of data points for the measured cell voltages.
Park teaches calculating a moving average of data points for the measured cell voltages (para [0002] The present invention relates to an apparatus and a method for processing battery cell voltage data, and more particularly, to an apparatus and a method for processing battery cell voltage data, which calculate a moving average by assigning a weight to one or more voltage data acquired from the battery cell and reflect the acquired voltage data to the calculated moving average and use the voltage data to rapidly follow a sudden change of the voltage data applied from the battery cell.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Park into Shimizu for the purpose of determining a moving average of the cell voltages so that the rapid or sudden change voltage can be captured for future battery voltage or status prediction.
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected as claim 2 having same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 8, 18 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shimizu and Crymble in view of Osswald US 20150280476 A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: Crymble teaches calculating a derivative over time of the measured cell voltages (para [0157] Cell state data may also include measurements taken at the monitored cells when no fault was detected, derivatives of such measurements, or both, along with information indicating timing of when the measurements were received by FDS 420 or processor system 422 from sensor system 410);
Examiner views a derivative is calculated over time for the measurements (i.e., for voltages of cells).
The combination of Shimizu and Crymble does not teach detecting peaks in a current through the battery stack based of the derivative of each measured cell value.
Osswald teaches detecting peaks in a current through the battery stack based of the derivative of each measured cell value (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para [0032] Instead of a direct current measurement, in the present invention a level of charge current I is estimated at least via a change rate dU/dt of charge or rechargeable battery voltage U, or a charging process is influenced based on a characteristic feature of a behavior of this change rate dU/dt.
[0034] For an individual cell of a rechargeable battery 10, this change rate dU/dt is 1-2 mV/min to 200 mV/min. Converted to ten cells per rechargeable battery 10, this results in a change rate which may range between 10-20 mV/min and 2 V/min
Para [0036] Moreover, various change rates dU/dt, or a further derivation d.sup.2U/dt.sup.2, d.sup.3U/dt.sup.3, . . . thereof, may be applied for estimating the charge state of rechargeable battery 10, in particular in a range of a constant current charging phase (see FIG. 2). In particular inflection points in a curve of rechargeable battery voltage U during the constant current charging phase are to be evaluated.).
From Fig. 1, Fig. 2 examiner views a peak is detected in a range of current through battery stacks with multiple cells, the peak is detected based on derivative or change of voltage of each cell.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Osswald into Shimizu for the purpose of determining a current peak (s) through a battery stack with multiple cells using a derivative of voltage in each cell so that the measurement devices like current is not required for fault detection in the battery.
Claims 18 and 28 are rejected as claim 8 having same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 10, 20 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shimizu and Crymble in view of Loopik et al US 20250334641 A1 herein after “Loopik”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shimizu and Crymble teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: Crymble teaches determining the metric across each of the subsets based on the derivatives ((para [0227] Variations in behaviour between the same type of cells being exposed to the same stimulus can indicate that a fault arose at one or more such cells. For example, a rate of change of voltage measured at one cell or cell group being different from a rate of change of voltage measured at other cells or cell groups for the same stimulus (e.g., current, temperature, or both)
(para [0157] Cell state data may also include measurements taken at the monitored cells when no fault was detected, derivatives of such measurements, or both, along with information indicating timing of when the measurements were received by FDS 420 or processor system 422 from sensor system 410);
Examiner views the metric (or difference or change) of voltage at each cell or cell group (subset) is based on the measured cell voltages and its derivatives.
The combination of Shimizu and Crymble does not teach calculating derivatives over time of each the measured cell voltages as an approximation of impedance through of the plurality of N battery cells
Loopik teaches calculating derivatives over time of each the measured cell voltages as an approximation of impedance through of the plurality of N battery cells (para [0075] In an example, to determine a representation of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell includes to estimate a rate of change of the DC voltage across the electrochemical cell. This rate of change can include a linear rate of change (e.g., a slope), a quadratic rate of change (e.g., a slope term, a quadratic term, or both, as discussed above with respect to equations 1 and 2), or any other equation describing of a rate of change.
[0076] The processing circuitry can be configured to determine an EIS current at the specified EIS frequency, such as using the measured current through the electrochemical cell. The processing circuitry can also be configured to determine an EIS impedance of the electrochemical cell at the specified EIS frequency using the EIS voltage and the EIS current. This can include dividing the EIS voltage by the EIS current.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Loopik into Shimizu for the purpose of determining a an impedance of a battery cell by using derivative of voltage across the cell so that the battery degradation state can be determined without using metering or sensor devices.
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected as claim 10 having same claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kiuchi US 20120306506 A1 discuss monitoring battery cell using cell voltages.
Okada US 20130030596 A1 discuss monitoring battery cell in series for powering a vehicle.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857