DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/12/2026 has been entered. Newly amended Claims 1-9 are pending in the application.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection over Iihama, applicant argues that the core of the new genus is distinct from the core of the Iihama compounds in that the central ring is 6-membered in Iihama and 5-membered in the instant application. This is a misunderstanding by applicant based on the curious arrangement and bond angles drawn in the Iihama structures. There are in fact 5 members on the core unsaturated ring component:
. However, applicant’s amendments overcome the rejection previously issued over Iihama because the compounds of Iihama no longer anticipate every limitation of Claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iihama (JPH06287187, published 1994, Google Patents English translation provided previously).
Iihama teaches the following pesticide (OG Doc: Page 18):
in which the following definitions of examined Chemical formula I apply: R is unsubstituted C1alkyl, Me; A is a substituted 6-membered heteroaryl, 2-methyl-pyridinyl; and B is an unsubstituted 10-membered heteroaryl, dihydroquinolinyl.
B is attached at a different saturated core carbon than that of the instant formula (I). However, compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, one seeking to form a pesticide would find it obvious to ring walk the heteroaryl substituent to a different saturated carbon to resemble the orientation of Chemical formula I before the effective filing date of the instant invention and expect success in doing so because the MPEP teaches the modification as routine.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11999718 (hereinafter referred to as Lee).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to formulae of pyrazole derivatives which encompass the same 161 compounds. Regarding the 161 compounds of Lee, "A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. In re Slayter, 276 F.2d 408, 411, 125 USPQ 345, 347 (CCPA 1960); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 10 USPQ2d 1614 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See MPEP 2131.02 (I).
Regarding the patented claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1). Lee teaches the treatment of diseases related to oxidative stress comprising administering the same compounds (Col 3, Lines 47-57).
Since both claim sets teach the same compounds encompassed by overlapping formulae and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Lee.
Regarding Claim 7, specifically, a rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 9 of copending Application No. 18150955. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627