DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/644,431 filed 4/24/2024 which claims priority from CN202310484034.1 filed 4/28/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The amendment presented on 5/18/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 3-7, 9-14, and 19-20, and cancellation of claim 2, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3-21 are currently pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered, however, they are unpersuasive.
Applicant contends both Dann and Chang do not teach or suggest “in response to a sliding operation performed on the image of the image-text content, displaying the detail page of the content”. More specifically, Applicant contends that because paragraphs [0060] and [0063] of Dann explicitly recite examples of displaying a detail page being performed via “back button”, “tapping on or otherwise selecting the component”, or “voice command”, Dann does not teach or suggest displaying a detail page with a sliding operation.
However, the specific claim language in question, from now canceled claim 2, was previously rejected under the combination of Dann and Chang, and the Examiner maintains that the language is obvious over the combination of Dann and Chang.
Pertaining to Dann, it is notable that paragraphs [0060] and [0063] do recite that scrolling can be performed “by swiping or dragging his finger horizontally or vertically” and “transformation of a news feed from one orientation to another orientation may be triggered by any other user input to the computer system” (emphasis added). Further, paragraph [0061] describes that all components of a story (an entire post) can be interacted with initiate the transformation of orientation. Even further, Dann describes that “a user may view and scroll the news stories within his news feed both vertically as depicted in FIG. 4 and horizontally as depicted in FIG. 5” (emphasis added) in paragraph [0061]. If scrolling is performed by “by swiping or dragging his finger horizontally or vertically”, then Dann suggests that scrolling vertically with a vertical swipe gesture scrolls the feed as in Figure 4, and scrolling horizontally with a horizontal swipe gesture scrolls the feed horizontally, which as previously shown is a transformed display shows expanded views of posts.
While not explicitly relied on in the previous office action, and especially in view of the amendment, Chang is construable as suggesting displaying a detail page with a sliding operation. Chang describes “a two-finger drag” input to zoom in on the text display area (Chang, [0081], [0096]-[0098]). Dragging at least one finger across a touch screen is certainly construable as sliding the finger across the touch screen.
Therefore, the Examiner maintains the obviousness combination of Dann and Chang suggests “in response to a sliding operation performed on the image of the image-text content, displaying the detail page of the content” and the rejections are maintained. Applicant is also advised to review the Holland reference (US 11,347,388 B1) previously identified as pertinent prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 17, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann et al. (US 2014/0040776 A1, hereinafter “Dann”), and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2024/0248593 A1, with priority to PCT/CN2022/138446 filed 12/12/2022, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Dann teaches a display method for image-text content, comprising:
displaying image-text content in a feed, wherein the image-text content comprises an image and …text and …is a shortened version of … the image-text content. More specifically, a social networking system with scrollable references (posts including a combination of at least images and text in a feed), where when displayed at a first orientation and scrolled with vertical swiping, several components (which can include least a title or synopsis of the post) of the references can be omitted (Dann, abstract, [0008], [0034], [0049], [0052], [0056], [0058], [0059], Figures 2B, 3B, and 4, therefore, a posts are shortened versions of the posts).
receiving an operation performed by a user on the image of the image-text content displayed in the feed; and displaying a detail page of the image-text content in response to the operation performed by the user on the image of the image-text content being a specified operation, wherein the detail page comprises the image and the full … image-text content, …. More specifically, a user input applied to the user device may cause the news feed to be transformed from one orientation to another orientation (e.g., from a vertical orientation to a horizontal orientation) (Dann, [0049]). The horizontal orientation includes more components and a full screen display of each post compared to the vertical orientation (Dann, [0059]-[0062], claim 16, Figures 4-6, filled-display of a post is construed as a detail page).
Dann suggests…
the specified operation comprises a sliding operation
…because Dann discloses scrolling can be performed “by swiping or dragging his finger horizontally or vertically” and “transformation of a news feed from one orientation to another orientation may be triggered by any other user input to the computer system” (Dann, [0060]), as well as that all components of a story (an entire post) can be interacted with initiate the transformation of orientation, that “a user may view and scroll the news stories within his news feed both vertically as depicted in FIG. 4 and horizontally as depicted in FIG. 5” (emphasis added) in paragraph [0061]. If scrolling is performed by “by swiping or dragging his finger horizontally or vertically”, then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Dann suggests that scrolling vertically with a vertical swipe gesture scrolls the feed as in Figure 4, and scrolling horizontally with a horizontal swipe gesture scrolls the feed horizontally, which as previously shown is a transformed display showing expanded views of posts.
However, Dann may not explicitly teach or suggest every aspect of
[the image-text content in a feed includes] a truncated text, and the truncated text is a shortened version of a full text of the image-text content; [and]
[the detail page includes] the full text of the image-text content
Chang discloses display mode switching for posted content comprising text and images (Chang, abstract). Display of posted content in a first display mode is described as a combination of a plurality of images and text. The text is truncated if it does not fit in the text display area (Chang, [0060]-[0063], Figure 2). When switching to a second display mode, via a finger-touch operation with dragging components, the display of the posted content includes the images and full text (Chang, [0068]-[0070], [0081]). The figure touch operation includes a two-finger drag/slide operation (Chang, [0081], [0096]-[0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang that a method for displaying image-text content in a feed as a shortened version where a sliding operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having truncated text and the detail page with the image-text content having the full text. With both Dann and Chang disclosing displays of a post comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire post and changing to a second view displaying the full post via a touch-drag/sliding operation, with Dann disclosing that the first view of a shortened post with text and images is expanded to a full post responsive to a horizontal sliding operation, and with Chang additionally disclosing that a first view of the post has truncated text and the second view of the post displays the full text, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a feed as a shortened version where a sliding operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having truncated text and the detail page with the image-text content having the full text in order to provide a user as much context as possible in limited screen real-estate for determining whether to view a full post when you have a scrollable feed of many posts. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 3, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, wherein the sliding operation of the specified operation has different sliding information from a sliding operation for switching between different content in the feed, the sliding information comprising at least one of a sliding direction and a sliding distance. More specifically, smaller versioned posts in the feed are scrolled with vertical swiping, and horizontally swiping a post displays the post in full screen (Dann, [0059]-[0062], Figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 4, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, wherein the image-text content comprises a plurality of images, the plurality of images comprising the image, and the displaying the detail page of the image-text content in response to the operation performed by the user on the image of the image-text content being the specified operation comprises:
displaying the detail page of the image-text content in response to the sliding operation performed by the user on any one of the plurality of images. More specifically, a plurality of images can be part of the post (Dann, [0034]; Chang, [0060]), images are components of the post (Dann, [0051], [0056]), the changing to the full screen view can be by horizontal scrolling a particular post or a plurality of components/images in the post (Dann, [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying the image-text content in the feed in response to a return operation performed by the user on the detail page. More specifically, scrolling vertically transforms the full screen view of a post back the vertical feed with smaller versions (Dann, [0060]-[0062]). Additionally, several interactions can switch the post back from the view with full text to the view with truncated text (Chang, [0119]-[0124], Figure 14).
before the user switches to content other than the image-text content in the feed, not displaying the detail page in response to another sliding operation performed by the user on the image. More specifically, the images within the post with the view with truncated text can be switched with a swiping interaction which is a not entering the view with the full text (Chang, [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, wherein the specified operation further comprises a scaling operation. More specifically, switching the view can be performed with a two finger pinch gesture that zooms into the post (Chang, [0096]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 8, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, wherein the specified operation comprises a click operation. More specifically, selecting/tapping any component, which includes images, can switch the view to the full post (Dann, [0061], Figure 6). Additionally, switching the view can be performed with a click gesture that zooms into the post (Chang, [0081]).
Regarding claim 17, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, wherein the truncated text comprises a text of a target length and an identifier of the truncated text, wherein the identifier represents at least one of a prompt to view details of the truncated text, a length of a text in the full text other than the truncated text, or a reading time of the text in the full text other than the truncated text. More specifically, the truncated text has indications that its truncated from a larger text and displays as much as can fit in a size of the allocated area (Chang, Figure 2, [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 20, this claim recites a display apparatus that performs the steps of the display method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale or rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 21, this claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions for performing the steps of the display method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale or rejection is applicable.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann and Chang, and further in view of Tran et al. (US 2021/0326930 A1, hereinafter “Tran”).
Regarding claim 9, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the image-text content comprises a plurality of images comprising the image, and the displaying the image-text content in the feed comprises: in a case where an automatic playback of the image is enabled in the feed, stopping the automatic playback of the plurality of images in response to a sliding operation performed by the user.
Tran discloses a user interface for a scrollable list of content where content includes a combination of a plurality of images/videos and text. The images can be rotated with swipe gestures. An expanded view of the content can be displayed with a selection (Tran, [0011], Figure 1). The content can include dynamic images/video content where the it automatically plays when scrolled and centered in the display (Tran, [0033]). Figure 3 depicts a touch-slide gesture can scroll the list of content vertically. The automatic playback of the dynamic images/videos can be paused/manually controlled during the scroll event (Tran, [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang with Tran that a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having content that automatically plays within the content list and stops in response to a sliding operation performed by the user on the image. With Dann, Chang, and Tran disclosing displays of a content comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire content and a second view displaying the full content, and with Tran additionally disclosing that the image/video content in a content list can automatically play within the content list but stops during a sliding-scrolling input, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having content that automatically plays within the content list and stops in response to a sliding operation performed by the user on the image in order to provide features more engaging to a user within a feed and to allow the user more control over dynamic content in the feed. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 10, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the image-text content comprises a plurality of images, the plurality of images comprising the image, and an automatic playback state of the plurality of images in the detail page is the same as a last automatic playback state of the plurality of images before entering the detail page.
Tran discloses a user interface for a scrollable list of content where content includes a combination of a plurality of images/videos and text. The images can be rotated with swipe gestures. An expanded view of the content can be displayed with a selection (Tran, [0011], Figure 1). The content can include dynamic images/video content where the it automatically plays when scrolled and centered in the display (Tran, [0033]). Figure 3 depicts a touch-slide gesture can scroll the list of content vertically. The automatic playback of the dynamic images/videos can be paused/manually controlled during the scroll event. Additionally, when dynamic content is presented in the expanded window, a static image is presented (automatic playback state) for the content is described as an alternative function to continuing replay and loop the playback of the content in the expanded state (Tran, [0034]). Additionally described is the playback of the dynamic content can pause when the content is moved out of position but resume from the same point if the content moves back into position (Tran, [0092]). Additionally, described is the playback of content is continued in the expanded state from the last frame rendered before the expanded state (Tran, [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang with Tran that a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having content that automatically plays within the content list and maintains its playback state when displaying the detail page. With Dann, Chang, and Tran disclosing displays of a content comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire content and a second view displaying the full content, and with Tran additionally disclosing that the image/video content in a content list can automatically play within the content list and the playback state is maintained when entering the expanded view, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having content that automatically plays within the content list and maintains its playback state when displaying the detail page in order to provide features more engaging to a user within a feed and to allow the user more control over dynamic content in the feed. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 11, Dann and Chang with Tran teach the display method according to claim 10, wherein the displaying the detail page of the image-text content comprises: in a case where an automatic playback of the plurality of images is enabled in the detail page, stopping the automatic playback of the plurality of images in response to a sliding operation performed by the user on the image. More specifically, Figure 3 depicts a touch-slide gesture can scroll the list of content vertically. The automatic playback of the dynamic images/videos can be paused/manually controlled during the scroll event. Additionally, when dynamic content is presented in the expanded window, a static image is presented (automatic playback state) for the content is described as an alternative function to continuing replay and loop the playback of the content in the expanded state (Tran, [0034]). Additionally described is the playback of the dynamic content can pause when the content is moved out of position but resume from the same point if the content moves back into position (Tran, [0092]). Additionally, described is the playback of content is continued in the expanded state from the last frame rendered before the expanded state (Tran, [0096]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann and Chang with Tran, and further in view of Quirino et al. (US 2017/0177296 A1, hereinafter “Quirino”).
Regarding claim 12, Dann and Chang with Tran teach the display method according to claim 11, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the image-text content further comprises background music, the method further comprising: continuing playing the background music in response to stopping the automatic playback of the plurality of images in the detail page of the image-text content.
Quirino discloses receiving metadata for audio content associated with an audio content item for presentation in a news feed to be displayed on a screen of a computing device associated with a user. An input by the user for scrolling the news feed and the audio content item on the screen is received. A pop out player is presented in response to disappearance of the audio content item from the screen based on the scrolling (Quirino, abstract). Content items in a feed associated with music can have an associated full screen version. The full screen version can include a full tracklist of the album so that the user can navigate to, select, and play any playable audio content (e.g., a song) from the album (Quirino, [0055]). A full screen version of the audio content can appear to the user while the associated audio content continues to play. The full screen version can allow the user to interact with the audio content. In some embodiments, a swipe gesture in a selected direction (e.g., downward) on the audio content item in the full screen version can cause the audio content item to disappear from the screen and the news feed to reappear on the screen (Quirino, [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann, Chang, and Tran with Quirino that a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having audio content that plays within the content list and maintains its playback when displaying the detail page. With Dann, Chang, Tran, and Quirino disclosing displays of a content comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire content and a second view displaying the full content, with Tran and Quirino additionally disclosing that the content in a content list can play within the content list and the playback state is paused/maintained when entering the expanded view, and with Quirino additionally disclosing that the content includes audio content that continues to play when going from the view in a feed to an expanded full screen view, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include the shortened version of image-text content having audio content that plays within the content list and maintains its playback when displaying the detail page in order to provide features more engaging to a user within a feed and to allow the user more control over dynamic content in the feed. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann and Chang, and further in view of Karunakaran et al. (US 9,582,610 B2, hereinafter “Karunakaran”).
Regarding claim 13, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein an aspect ratio of the image in the image-text content is less than a ratio threshold, wherein the aspect ratio is a ratio of width to height.
Karunakaran discloses visual post builders including media for the topic, such as images, video, and/or text (Karunakaran, abstract, col 2, lines 12-26). Figures 1 and 10 depict a display of a social media feed. Figures 3-8 depict a collage template 314 (image container) that determines how to display the images of a post. When images are added to the post, that are either cropped or resized/expanded so that they fit within the aspect ratio of the grids of the collage template (Karunakaran, col 3, lines 44-58, col 7, lines 26-30, col 11, lines 10-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang with Karunakaran that a method for displaying image-text content in a feed would include the image content having an aspect ratio less than a threshold. With Dann, Chang, and Karunakaran disclosing displays of posted content comprising image and text content, and with Karunakaran additionally disclosing image-text content in a feed where images are required to fit within aspect ratios of a collage template, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a feed would include the image content having an aspect ratio less than a threshold in order to present the posted content having a cleaner look than if image sizes were not controlled in posts. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 14, Dann and Chang with Karunakaran teach the display method according to claim 13, wherein an image having an aspect ratio greater than the ratio threshold is cropped to obtain the image in the image-text content and then displayed, wherein the cropped image has an aspect ratio of the ratio threshold. More specifically, when images are added to the post, that are either cropped or resized/expanded so that they fit within the aspect ratio of the grids of the collage template (Karunakaran, col 3, lines 44-58, col 7, lines 26-30, col 11, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 15, Dann and Chang with Karunakaran teach the display method according to claim 13, wherein an image container used to carry the image has an aspect ratio equal to the ratio threshold, and the image in the image container is displayed after performing adaptive scaling on the image. More specifically, when images are added to the post, that are either cropped or resized/expanded (scaling) so that they fit within the aspect ratio of the grids of the collage template (image container) (Karunakaran, col 3, lines 44-58, col 7, lines 26-30, col 11, lines 10-15).
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann and Chang, and further in view of Migos et al. (US 2016/0357366 A1, hereinafter “Migos”).
Regarding claim 16, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 1, including that image element 204 of a post is on the upper half of the post (Dann, Figure 2), and, at least Figures 3 and 4 depict the images aligned with the upper side of the interface (Chang, Figures 3 and 4).
However, Dann and Chang may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein an image container used to carry the image is arranged as a sticky element on an upper side of an interface of the feed.
Migos discloses a user interface for displaying a news feed of content items which can include posts (Migos, [0058]). The content items are summaries of a larger view and include images and textual excerpts from the full text of the content (Migos, [0064]). Figure 9 depicts a display of the feed where content items are made to fit within specified aspect ratios. The length textual excerpts are made to fit within the associated aspect ratios including the images (Migos, Figure 9, [0111], [0121]). Selecting a content item results in a display of a full view of the text and images (Migos, [0116]). Also suggested is that the content items include a sticky point such that they can stop scrolling automatically at the top of the display of the feed (Migos, [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang with Migos that a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version with truncated text where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include an image container is arranged as a sticky element on an upper side of the feed. With Dann, Chang, and Migos disclosing displays of a content items comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire content, and can be aligned with the upper portion of the display, and a second view displaying the full content, and with Migos additionally disclosing that the content items in a content list can include a sticky element such that content items can stick to the top of the feed during scrolling, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version with truncated text where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include an image container is arranged as a sticky element on an upper side of the feed in order to ensure that a user does not miss content items that could be important to the user during scrolling. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 18, Dann and Chang teach the display method according to claim 17, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the target length is determined from an aspect ratio of the image.
Migos discloses a user interface for displaying a news feed of content items which can include posts (Migos, [0058]). The content items are summaries of a larger view and include images and textual excerpts from the full text of the content (Migos, [0064]). Figure 9 depicts a display of the feed where content items are made to fit (cropped) within specified aspect ratios. The length textual excerpts are made to fit within the associated aspect ratios including the images (Migos, Figure 9, [0111], [0121], this is construed as the length of the excerpts are determined from the aspect ratio of the content item with the image). Selecting a content item results in a display of a full view of the text and images (Migos, [0116]). Also suggested is that the content items include a sticky point such that they can stop scrolling automatically at the top of the display of the feed (Migos, [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dann and Chang with Migos that a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version with truncated text where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include that the length of the truncated text is determined from the aspect ratio of the image. With Dann, Chang, and Migos disclosing displays of a content items comprising image and text content with a first view displaying less than the entire content, and a second view displaying the full content, and with Migos additionally disclosing that the content items in a content list are presented such that the length of the rows of text is determined from the aspect ratio assigned to the content item with images, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying image-text content in a content list as a shortened version with truncated text where an operation will cause display of a detail page of the full version of the image-text content would include that the length of the truncated text is determined from the aspect ratio of the image in order to create a clean look with a sharp layout when presenting content items with images and truncated text. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying image-text content in a feed.
Regarding claim 19, Dann, Chang, and Migos teach the display method according to claim 18, wherein: the target length is a first length in response to an aspect ratio of at least one image of the image-text content being greater than a ratio threshold, wherein the at least one image of the image-text content comprises, and the aspect ratio is a ratio of width to height; and the target length is a second length that is no greater than the first length in response to the aspect ratio of the at least one image of the image-text content being not greater than the ratio threshold. More specifically, Figure 9 depicts a display of the feed where content items are made to fit (cropped) within specified aspect ratios. Content items can be associated with different aspect ratios assigned to different positions within a layout resulting in different image aspect ratios and different amounts of text. The lengths of the rows of textual excerpts are made to fit within the associated aspect ratios including the images (Migos, Figure 9, [0075], [0111], [0121], this is construed as the length of the excerpts are determined from several designated (threshold) aspect ratios of the content item with the image).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Holland (US 2017/0097741 A1) – a vertically scrollable feed of image-text content that is converted to horizontal scrolling when a horizontal scroll is received, the horizontal scrolling shows an expanded view of the image-text content, receiving vertical scrolling input reverts to the condensed vertically scrolling feed.
Liang (US 2017/0097741 A1) – a feed of image-text content that is a portion or snippet of the entirety of the content.
Dickens (US 2018/0150197 A1) – browsing a feed of image-text content from various posters including vertical swipes to scroll and horizontal swipes for more content of the poster.
Thall (US 2021/0135025 A1) – browsing a feed of image-text content from various posters including vertical swipes and horizontal swipes performing different functions.
Chaland (US 2015/0339006 A1) – browsing a feed of image-text content from various posters including vertical and horizontal input performing different functions.
Greenberg (US 2016/0103587 A1) – browsing a feed of shortened versions of image-text content from various posters and an expanded view once selected.
Hsu (US 2016/0283739 A1) – browsing a feed of image-text content from various posters including vertical swipes and horizontal swipes performing different functions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171