DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 4/24/2024 are made of record. Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: The text of present claims 1-10 is grainy and lacks clarity. Applicant is advised to provide claims with text that is clear. Appropriate correction and/or clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 recite the limitation "the phosphate ester monomer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “phosphate ester monomer unit is represented by the formula (1):
”. However,
structure includes (R2-O)m and -(O-C) units which results in a peroxide. Additionally,
includes
and when x = 2, there are not enough
for bonding to the 2 chains. Hence, metes and bounds of present claims cannot be ascertained by one of ordinary skill in art prior to the filing of present application. However, for examination purposes, the phosphate ester monomer unit is interpreted as the species listed in originally filed disclosure (paragraph 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimori et al (US 2015/0004127 A1) in view of Ando et al (US 2017/0058116 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ishimori et al disclose porous resin particles (i.e., reads on hollow polymer particles in present claim 1) that comprise a polymer of monomer mixture including vinyl-based monomers (abstract) which reads on vinylic monomer unit in present claim 1. The volume average particle diameter of the porous resin particles is preferably from 4 microns to 40 microns (paragraph 0066) which overlaps with the volume average particle diameter in present claim 1. Case law holds that when the range of instant claims and that disclosed in prior art overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Ishimori et al are silent with respect to phosphorus element content and alkaline earth metal content.
However, Ishimori et al in the general disclosure teach that in suspension polymerization, the aqueous phase preferably contains a dispersion stabilizer to manufacture desired porous particles in a more stable manner. Of these dispersion stabilizers, the dispersion stabilizer is preferably magnesium pyrophosphate(paragraph 0082). See example 1, wherein the polymerization process includes magnesium pyrophosphate as a dispersion stabilizer (paragraph 0181). Hydrochloric acid was added until the slurry showed a pH of 2 or less to decompose magnesium pyrophosphate. The slurry was washed in water and dehydrated to obtain resin particles (paragraph 0184). The porous resin particles are filtered to remove aqueous medium (paragraph 0079). It is noted that magnesium pyrophosphate and HCl reaction products include hypophosphorus acid (H4P2O7) and 2MgCl2 (i.e., equal amounts of phosphorus and alkaline earth elements) and have a solubility of 1000g/L and 54 g/100mLm at 200C, respectively. Additionally, Ando et al teach a method of producing particles by suspension polymerization (abstract). Preferably, the monomer mixture contains at least one polymerizable phosphoric acid monomer. Addition of polymerizable phosphoric acid monomer to the monomer mixture can improve stability of the droplets of monomer mixture in the aqueous medium when the monomer mixture is subjected to the aqueous suspension polymerization (paragraph 0041). The polymerizable phosphoric acid monomer preferably falls within the range from 0.01 to 0.8 parts by weight. If the amount exceeds 1 part by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of polymerizable vinyl monomer, particles are likely to include fine particles whose size is too small (paragraph 0046). Therefore, in light of the teachings in Ando et al and general disclosure of Ishimori et al, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application to wash the slurry after decomposing magnesium pyrophosphate, to include any amount of alkaline earth metal element (i.e., magnesium) including 1 to 100 mg/kg and include small amounts of polymerizable phosphoric acid monomer (such as 0.01 to 0.8 parts), to obtain hollow polymer particles having phosphorus element content of 1 to 200 mg/kg and alkaline earth metal content of 1 to 100 mg/Kg with higher amounts of phosphorus than the alkaline earth metal content, for above mentioned advantages, and absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, examples of polymerizable phosphoric acid monomer, in Ando et al, include
wherein n represents 1 to 5, when a = 1, b = 2 and when a = 2, b = 1 (paragraph 0041) which reads on phosphate ester monomer in present claim 2; and phosphate ester monomer of present claim 3, wherein R1 = methacrylic group, R2O = C2H4O, v = 1 to 5, x = 1 or 2.
Regarding claim 4, Ishimori et al teach that porous resin particles have a specific surface area of 3 m2/g to 200 m2/g (paragraph 0064) which overlaps with the specific surface area in present claim 4. Case law holds that when the range of instant claims and that disclosed in prior art overlap, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05. The volume average particle diameter of the porous resin particles is preferably from 4 microns to 40 microns (paragraph 0066). Therefore, given the porous resin particles, of Ishimori et al have volume average particle diameter and specific surface area in overlapping ranges, one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application would have a reasonable basis to expect the bulk specific graving to overlap with the bulk specific gravity of 0.1 to 0.4 g/cm3, absent evidence to the contrary. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments, the burden of proof is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 7, Ishimori et al teach that light diffusion member may be prepared by dispersing the porous resin particles as a light diffusing agent in a transparent base material resin (paragraph 0125) which reads on resin composition comprising the hollow polymer particles in present claim 7.
Regarding claim 8 and 10, Ishimori et al teach that light diffusion coating film may be prepared by coating a transparent base material with a light diffusing coating material (paragraph 0123) which reads on coating composition in present claim 8 and light diffusion film in present claim 10.
Regarding claim 9, Ishimori et al teach that external preparation, such as cosmetic material, in which the porous resin particles are blended exhibits improved spreading and slippage (paragraph 0067).
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimori et al (US 2015/0004127 A1) in view of Ando et al (US 2017/0058116 A1) and Watanabe et al (US 2017/0341058 A1).
The discussion with respect to Ishimori et al in paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference. Additionally, Ishimori et al teach suspension polymerizing a monomer mixture in the presence of a pore-forming agent (paragraph 0020)
Ishimori et al are silent with respect to having a porous structure inside and having only one pore inside.
However, Watanabe et al teach porous polymer particles (abstract) prepared by suspension polymerization (paragraph 0039). The porosity of the polymer particles can be controlled by the amount of porosifier. The size and shape of pores of the porous polymer particles can be controlled by the type of porosifier (paragraph 0044). The porous particles have a coating layers that covers at least a portion of the surface of the porous polymer particles (paragraph 0037). When the content of oils soluble surfactant is 5% by mass or more, since stability of water droplets becomes sufficient, it is easier for large single holes to be formed. When the content of oil-soluble surfactant is 80% by mass or less, it is easier for the porous polymer particles to maintain the shape after polymerization (paragraph 0048). The average particle size of porous polymer particles is preferably 300 microns or less and 10 microns or more (paragraph 0060). Therefore, in light of the teachings in Watanabe et al, and given that Ishimori et al contemplate preparing polymer particles by suspension polymerization and in the presence of pore-forming agents, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application to optimize the amount of porosifier (i.e., pore-forming agent) and including oil-soluble surfactant in amounts of 5% by mass or more to obtain a porous polymer particles having a porous structure inside as in present claim 5 and only one pore inside thereof as in present claim 6, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KARUNA P REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764