DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on November 19, 2025 in response to the previous Office Action (09/22/2025) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 7 are currently pending.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the following objections/rejections in the last Office Action:
Objection to Specification
Interpretation under 112(f)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the combination of Matsuoka and Toyoda fails to disclose or suggest (1) “obtaining information indicating current maximum display brightness of the display device, determining a parameter for correcting at least one of noise and resolution of image data based on the information, and generating display image data for live view display on the display device by correcting obtained image data according to the parameter” (remarks p.5); and (2) “suppressing changes in perceptual noise or perceptual resolution in a live-view image that is incurred due to maximum display brightness” (remarks, p.5 and 6-7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding argument (1), Matsuoka teaches obtaining current maximum display luminance based on captured scene (¶64), and using color/luminance adjustment parameters, including contrast correction, exposure correction (which affects noise), color saturation correction (which affects noise), to adjust the image (¶63), and the image for display 708 is generated via tone conversion (gamma conversion) processing relating to the input/output characteristic (¶62).
In response to applicant's argument (2) that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., suppressing changes in perceptual noise or perceptual resolution in a live-view image that is incurred due to maximum display brightness) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka (US 2022/0286656) in view of Toyoda (US 2017/0318208).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuoka discloses, in at least figures 1 and 8, an image processing apparatus that generates display image data for live view display on a display device, the image processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors (101) that execute a program stored in a memory and thereby function as: an obtaining unit configured to obtain information indicating a current maximum display brightness of the display device (¶64, 68); a determining unit configured to determine a parameter for correcting at least one of noise and resolution of image data based on the information (¶63, 68); and a generating unit configured to generate display image data for display on the display device by correcting obtained image data according to the parameter (¶62, 69). Matsuoka fails to explicitly disclose generate display image data for live view display on the display device by correcting obtained image data according to the parameter.
In a similar field of endeavor, Toyoda teaches an image display device capable of reproducing, with high presence, a high-luminance portion of a subject wherein the maximum luminance for each display area is determined and a gradation characteristic is determined to use to display live view images with corrected luminance (fig. 3; ¶76-79). In light of the teaching of Matsuoka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Toyoda’s teaching in Matsuoka’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in live-view imaging that is displayed with appropriate luminance and so that it is possible to provide a display image with a dazzling feeling and express high presence.
Regrading claim 2, Matsuoka in view of Toyoda disclose the limitations of claim 1, Matsuoka also teaches wherein the display device is an external apparatus, and the obtaining unit obtains the information by communicating with the display device (¶29).
Regrading claim 3, Matsuoka in view of Toyoda disclose the limitations of claim 1, Matsuoka also teaches the one or more processors further function as: a scene determining unit configured to determine a scene represented by the obtained image data, based on luminance of the image data; and an adjusting unit configured to adjust the maximum display brightness of the display device according to a scene determined by the scene determining unit, wherein the obtaining unit obtains information indicating maximum display brightness adjusted by the adjusting unit (¶42: the maximum display luminance of the display device 106 is preferably made different depending on the brightness of the captured scene, and this makes the range of the display luminance that represents tonal expression different).
Regrading claim 4, Matsuoka in view of Toyoda disclose the limitations of claim 1, Matsuoka also teaches wherein the parameter is a parameter for correcting at least one of the noise and resolution, in an ICtCp color space (¶45).
Regrading claim 5, Matsuoka in view of Toyoda disclose the limitations of claim 1, Matsuoka also teaches wherein the parameter is a parameter for suppressing change in noise and resolution perceived in display image data displayed in the display device due to change in image capture sensitivity and the maximum display brightness of the image data (¶54-55).
Claim 6 and 7 rejected as applied to claim 1 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Matsuoka in view of Toyoda.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639