DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 4/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “essentially” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buschmann et al. (US 20150274090 A1) (hereinafter Buschmann).
Regarding claim 1, Buschmann discloses:
A sensor module for being fitted on a roof module and/or on a motor vehicle, [See Buschmann, ¶ 0001 discloses a device with a carrier element at which a camera unit is assembled which serves for acquiring images of the exterior area of a vehicle.] the sensor module having at least one retractable and extendable environment sensor and having a weatherstrip arrangement, [See Buschmann, ¶ 0001, 0017-0018, 0042-0044 discloses at least a gap is intended at the front side between the opening at the front side in the carrier element and the camera unit in order to transfer the camera unit into the image acquisition position. Through this gap the camera unit can extend out of the opening on the front side or can at least perform the image acquisition. Further, that a “sealing element” (particularly in the form of a waterproof protection membrane) is provided in conjunction with the extendable camera (environment sensor).] which forms a separating barrier between a wet area, from which it is possible to drain liquid from the sensor module, and a dry area, [See Buschmann, Fig. 1a, ¶ 0038-0041 discloses a camera unit 12 assembled completely behind an opening 11.1 at a front side of a carrier element 11. It is noted that carrier element 11 is configured as housing 18 and protects the camera unit 12 on the rear side against contaminations. Viewing Fig. 1a, it is clear that the sealing element is provided to form a barrier separating an “exterior” (wet area) from an “interior” of housing 18 (dry area).] wherein the weatherstrip arrangement has at least one flexure bearing and/or a folding joint and/or a living hinge. [See Buschmann, Fig. 1a, ¶ 0038-0042, 0044-0048, discloses sealing element embodied as a flexible hinge permitting relative movement between rigid supports (16.1 and 16.2)]
Regarding claim 2, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the weatherstrip arrangement comprises at least two surface elements which are rigid and which are connected to each other so as to be flexible and/or moveable via the at least one flexure bearing and/or the at least one folding joint and/or the at least one living hinge. [See Buschmann, Figs. 1a-1b illustrates supports (16.1 and 16.2) mounted to (and thus connected) a surface of sealing element 15, and which move relative to one another according to the drive mechanism 14.]
Regarding claim 3, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the at least two surface elements are moveable relative to each other around at least one rotation axis. [See Buschmann, Figs. 1a, 1b illustrates surface elements 16.1 and 16.2, observably moveable relative to each other about “at least one” rotation axis defined by drive mechanism (14), which is visually represented by “arch-like guidance line” 12.2.]
Regarding claim 6, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the sensor module has a sensor housing in which the at least one environment sensor is disposed, at least sections of the sensor housing being coupled and/or connected to the weatherstrip arrangement so as to transmit movement. [See Buschmann, Fig. 1a illustrates a carrier module (11) in which environment sensor (12) is disposed. It is observable that the carrier module 11 is coupled/connected to the sealing element (15), or “weatherstrip”, so as to effectuate movement between drive mechanism 14 and the sealing element.]
Regarding claim 7, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the weatherstrip arrangement has at least two side elements which are formed by a textile material and/or by a flexible material and/or by a rubber material. [See Buschmann, ¶ 0048, Fig. 5b discloses that, per FIG. 5b, the bellow-like sealing element 15.8 comprises a particularly rubber-like cover wherein within the cover a longitudinally shifting spring element 15.9 is assembled. This spring element 15.9 sealingly presses the cover to the outer area of the camera unit 12. In the present embodiment from FIG. 5b the sealing element 15.8 is assembled at the carrier element 11 and slides its free edge along at the outer side of the camera unit 12.]
Regarding claim 10, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the at least one environment sensor has a lidar sensor and/or a radar sensor and/or a camera sensor and/or a multi-camera sensor and/or an ultrasonic sensor. [See Buschhmann, ¶ 0038-0041 discloses camera unit (12).]
Regarding claim 13, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
A motor vehicle comprising a sensor module according to claim 1. [See Buschmann, ¶ 0001 discloses a vehicle, and a device with a carrier element at which a camera unit is assembled, which serves for the image acquisition of the exterior area of a vehicle.]
Regarding claim 15, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Buschmann discloses:
wherein the sensor module has a sensor housing in which the at least one environment sensor is disposed, at least sections of the sensor housing being coupled and/or connected to the weatherstrip arrangement so as to transmit movement in such a manner that the at least one weatherstrip arrangement moves along when the at least one environment sensor is retracted and extended. [See Buschmann, Fig. 1a illustrates a carrier module (11) in which environment sensor (12) is disposed. It is observable that the carrier module 11 is coupled/connected to the sealing element (15), or “weatherstrip”, so as to effectuate movement between drive mechanism 14 and the sealing element.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann in view of Day et al. (US 20200114836 A1) (hereinafter Day).
Regarding claim 4, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Buschmann does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the weatherstrip arrangement is a two-component injection-molded part and has a support layer, the at least two surface elements being formed by applying an injection molding material in particular onto the entire support layer, the at least one flexure bearing and/or the at least one folding joint and/or the at least one living hinge being formed by a section of the support layer.
However, Day discloses:
wherein the weatherstrip arrangement is a two-component injection-molded part and has a support layer, the at least two surface elements being formed by applying an injection molding material in particular onto the entire support layer, the at least one flexure bearing and/or the at least one folding joint and/or the at least one living hinge being formed by a section of the support layer. [See Day, ¶ 0027, 0040-0044, 0048-0054, 0056 discloses a vehicle with roof-mounted retractable surveillance equipment (a camera). The surveillance equipment cooperates with an elastically deformable gasket 42 in a roof of the vehicle, wherein the gasket may be formed via a mold process. In the mold process, it would not be necessary to remove the cut-out portion, since the mold process would directly form only the rectangular gasket.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Buschmann to add the teachings of Day in order to provide a flexible sealing gasket which does not require a cut-out portion (Day, para. 0042).
Regarding claim 5, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Day discloses:
wherein the weatherstrip arrangement forms a water pocket which defines the wet area. [See Day, ¶ 0075 discloses an elastically deformable gasket which seals a roof of a vehicle through which surveillance equipment projects. It is noted that sunroof enclosures are typically designed with a gutter trough for water to run along.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Day discloses:
wherein the at least two surface elements are connected to the at least two side elements such that they form at least one trough-shaped internal space which defines the wet area. [See Day, ¶ 0075 discloses the form factor and drainage properties of the sunroof 14 and outer frame of the sunroof 14 partly determines the outer dimensions of the elastically deformable gasket 42 of the sealing device 26 and how it seals against the roof of the vehicle 10. Sunroof enclosures are typically designed with a gutter trough for water to run along, and a drain tube sheds water down the vehicle to the ground.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, Buschmann discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Day discloses:
wherein for draining the liquid entering the wet area, the weatherstrip arrangement has at least one outlet. [See Day, ¶ 0075 discloses sunroof enclosures are typically designed with a gutter trough for water to run along, and a drain tube sheds water down the vehicle to the ground.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, Buschmann discloses:
in which at least one sensor module according to claim 1 is disposed so as to be retractable and extendable, [See Buschmann, ¶ 0001, 0017-0018, 0042-0044 discloses at least a gap is intended at the front side between the opening at the front side in the carrier element and the camera unit in order to transfer the camera unit into the image acquisition position. Through this gap the camera unit can extend out of the opening on the front side or can at least perform the image acquisition. Further, that a “sealing element” (particularly in the form of a waterproof protection membrane) is provided in conjunction with the extendable camera (environment sensor).] the environment sensor being configured so as to be able to send and/or receive electromagnetic signals to detect the vehicle environment. [See Buschmann, ¶ 0006 discloses acquiring images of an environment around the vehicle camera.]
Day discloses:
A roof module for forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle, the roof module comprising a panel component, which forms at least sections of a roof skin of the vehicle roof, and the roof module comprising an opening, [See Day, Figs. 2A-2F illustrates a roof module with a panel or “rigid support plate” (40), and an opening or sunroof (14).]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, Buschmann in view of Day discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Buschmann discloses:
the opening being essentially rectangular, the weatherstrip arrangement being attached to at least two opposite edges of the opening. [See Buschmann, Figs. 1a-1b and 2 illustrate an “opening” 11.1 around which a sealing element (15) is provided.]
Regarding claim 14, Buschmann in view of Day discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Day discloses:
A motor vehicle comprising at least one roof module according to claim 11. [See Day, Figs. 1a-1b.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 4.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486