DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a camming mechanism or other linkage that allows the force to first decrease and then increase again, or the force to first increase and then decrease” as described in the specification paragraph [0048]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an apparatus having a pre-loaded biasing element, which is at least one of a magnet and a compressible gas, does not reasonably provide enablement for the pre-loaded biasing element having a biasing force that first decreases then increases or first increases then decreases, as the first connector of the quick disconnect moves relative to the housing. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The specification (see specification paragraph [0048]) describes the use of “a camming mechanism or other linkage that allows the force to first decrease and then increase again, or the force to first increase and then decrease”; however, there is no further explanation of how the “camming mechanism or other linkage” is configured with the pre-loaded biasing element, which is “at least one of a magnet and a compressible gas” (see base claim 9). The application further lacks proper illustration of an apparatus having the “camming mechanism or other linkage” which allows the biasing force of the pre-loaded biasing element to increase then decrease or decrease then increase, as claimed in claims 22 and/or 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110608334 (“Zhao”) in view of Engineering Expedient.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (13 or 23) having a front-part (part proximal to opposed coupling 2 or 1) and a back-part (part distal from opposed coupling 2 or 1);
a first connector (11 or 21) of a quick disconnect (defined mainly by 1 and 2) oriented toward the front-part of the housing; and
a pre-loaded biasing element (16; see fig. 1) disposed in the housing to apply a biasing force in a longitudinal direction (coupling force direction) between the housing and the first connector of the quick disconnect, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the first connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the housing, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element has a threshold wipe value (force which overcomes the biasing force of spring 16 to lift retainer clip 18 from contact with housing 13).
Zhao does not disclose the threshold wipe value of ±7 mm at which a compression of the pre-loaded biasing element provides the biasing force equal to a mating force.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention would know to experiment with pre-loaded biasing elements, or springs, having different threshold wipe values to allow for sufficient biasing force between the housing and first connector to allow for mating with a second connector while maintaining sufficient resilience to allow for dampening between first and second connectors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Zhao by configuring the threshold wipe value to be ±7 mm to allow for sufficient biasing force between the housing and first connector to allow for mating with a second connector while maintaining sufficient resilience to allow for dampening between first and second connectors.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (16) is at least one of a magnet, a compressible gas, or a spring (disc spring 16).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the first connector (11 or 21) includes a fluid valve (12 or 22).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses a second pre-loaded biasing element (disc spring stack 16 of the other of couplings 11 or 21) disposed in a second housing (the other of housings 13 or 23) to apply a second biasing force between the second housing and a second connector (the other of couplings 11 and 21), and wherein the second pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the second connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the second housing (see assembly of fig. 6).
Claims 9-12, 14-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of US2888037 (“Jones”).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Zhao discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (13) having a front-part (part proximal to opposed coupling 2) and a back-part (part abutting retaining clip 18);
a first connector (11) of a quick disconnect (mainly defined by 1 and 2) oriented toward the front-part of the housing; and
a pre-loaded biasing element (disc spring stack 16 of first coupling 1) disposed in the housing to apply a biasing force in a longitudinal direction (coupling force direction) between the housing and the first connector of the quick disconnect, wherein the pre- loaded biasing element is configured to allow the first connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the housing (see assembly of fig. 1); and
a second pre-loaded biasing element (disc spring stack 16 of second coupling 2) disposed in a second housing (23) to apply a second biasing force between the second housing and a second connector (21), and wherein the second pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the second connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the second housing (see assembly of fig. 1).
Zhao does not disclose the pre-loaded biasing element or the second pre-loaded biasing element being at least one of a magnet and a compressible gas.
However, Jones teaches that a pre-loaded biasing element (mainly defined by opposed magnets 12 and 16) being a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Zhao by configuring the pre-loaded biasing element and the second pre-loaded biasing element to be magnets, as taught by Jones, to have non-linear compression distance versus force properties.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the second connector (Zhao, 21) of the quick disconnect (Zhao, mainly defined by 1 and 2) is configured to complementarily mate with the first connector (Zhao, 11) of the quick disconnect to form a mated quick disconnect (Zhao, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the mated quick disconnect (Zhao, see fig. 1) is configured to flow a cooling fluid (fluid coupling of Zhao, see fig. 1, is configured to flow any fluid therethrough) through the first connector (Zhao, 11) and the second connector (Zhao, 21).
Additionally, with regards recitations directed to the fluid being handled (e.g. "cooling fluid"), "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Young, 75 F.2d * > 996 < 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (Zhao, 16, as modified by Jones, 12 and 16, above) provides a longitudinal range of motion (Zhao, motion between first connector 11 and housing sleeve 13).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (Zhao, 16, as modified by Jones, 12 and 16, above) is configured to provide the biasing force that is substantially constant (Zhao, pre-loading of biasing element 16 causes anchoring clip 18 to engage an end of housing 13) regardless of position based on a relative longitudinal position of the housing (Zhao, 13) and the first connector in the longitudinal range of motion.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses a second pre-load value (pre-loaded force of biasing elements, Zhao 16 as modified by Jones 12 and 16 above) of the second pre-loaded biasing element is at least equal to a first pre-load value of the pre-loaded biasing element (Zhao discloses male and female sides having identical configurations).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (Zhao, 16, as modified by Jones, 12 and 16, above) has a biasing force (Jones, repulsion force of magnets 12 and 16) that increases exponentially (Jones, magnets 12 and 16 have a repulsion force, which increase exponentially as distance therebetween is reduced) as the first connector (Zhao, 11) of the quick disconnect moves relative to the housing (Zhao, 13).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Jones, as applied to claims in view of JP20132502 (“Keisuke”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhao and Jones discloses the invention as claimed except for mating a first guiding element in the housing with a second guiding element in the second housing before the first connector of the quick disconnect mates with the second connector of the quick disconnect.
Keisuke teaches (see figs. 1-4) an apparatus configured to mate a first guiding element (mainly defined by 23) in a housing (mainly defined by 22 and 24) with a second guiding element (mainly defined by 34) in a second housing (mainly defined by 32 and 33) before a first connector (21) of a quick disconnect mates with a second connector (31) of the quick disconnect (guiding post 23 engages guide hole 34 before valves of first connector 21 and second connector 31 are mated and opened).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to further modify the combination of Zhao and Jones by arranging mating of a first guiding element in the housing with a second guiding element in the second housing before the first connector of the quick disconnect mates with the second connector of the quick disconnect, as taught by Keisuke, to assure proper alignment of the first and second connectors before mating.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on November 21, 2025, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Pat. No. 12,000,514 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowable.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22 and 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, further including a first guiding element, wherein the first guiding element is a cross-slotted guiding plate oriented horizontally and configured to mate with a second guiding element, wherein the second guiding element is cross-slotted guiding plate oriented vertically, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, wherein the first guiding element is across-slotted guiding plate, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Claims 18-20 are allowable because they depend on an allowable base claim.
Regarding claim 22, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element has a biasing force that first decreases and then increases as the first connector of the quick disconnect moves relative to the housing, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 23, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element has a biasing force that first increases and then decreases as the first connector of the quick disconnect moves relative to the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025, have been fully considered.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 17-20 over Yang, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome this rejection and claims 17-20 are now found allowable.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 1-7 over Zhao in view of Engineering expedient, Applicant argues that Zhao fails to recognize the problem being solved by the invention of claims 1-7.
In response to applicant's argument that, the fact that Applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In the present case, Zhao discloses the invention as claimed except for the threshold wipe value being +7mm. Optimizing the threshold wipe value for a certain application of the apparatus or coupling would have been within the realm of routine skill, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, the instant application lacks the evidence to prove that the range, as claimed in the instant application, is critical. The applicant must prove the criticality of the claimed range, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
In response to applicant's argument that, the fact that Applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
With regards to the prior art rejection of claims 9-12 and 14-16 over Zhao in view of Jones, Applicant argues that Jones teaches away from a combination with Zhao.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that Jones teaches away from a combination with Zhao, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the present case, Jones teaches a pre-loaded biasing element, which could either be a coil spring (64) or a pair of magnets (12 and 16) having a repulsive force therebetween. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to interchange various forms of pre-loaded biasing elements in the invention of Zhao. More specifically, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Zhao by configuring the pre-loaded biasing element to be a pair of same-pole repulsion magnets, as taught by Jones, to have a pre-biasing element, which has a long lifespan and reduced wear, and because it is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
With regards to the obvious-type double patenting rejection(s) of claims 1, 9 and 17 over claims 3, 4 and 21 of U.S. Pat. No. 12,000,514, the Terminal Disclaimer filed November 21, 2025, has been accepted, and the double patenting rejection(s) of claims 1, 9 and 17 is now withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753