DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
In light of claim amendments filed May 1, 2026, the objection to drawings, set forth in the Office action dated March 2, 2026, has been reconsidered. The drawings filed April 24, 2024, are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2962303 (“Ramberg”).
Regarding claim 9, Ramberg discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (11) having a front-part (coupling mating part) and a back-part (threaded part);
a first connector (40) of a quick disconnect oriented toward the front-part of the housing; and
a pre-loaded biasing element (at least partially defined by bellows 44) disposed in the housing to apply a biasing force (via compressed air caught within bellows 44) in a longitudinal direction (along longitudinal axis of male 11 and female 12 couplers) between the housing and the first connector of the quick disconnect, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the first connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the housing (between positions of figs. 1 and 2), wherein the pre-loaded biasing element is a compressible gas (coupling transfers “air” between fluid lines; see specification col. 4, lines 72-75).
Regarding claim 10, Ramberg discloses a second pre-loaded biasing element (54) disposed in a second housing (12) to apply a second biasing force (via compressed air caught within bellows 54) between the second housing and a second connector (50), and wherein the second pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the second connector of the quick disconnect to move (between positions of figs. 1 and 2) relative to the second housing.
Regarding claim 11, Ramberg discloses the second connector (50) of the quick disconnect is configured to complementarily mate with the first connector (40) of the quick disconnect to form a mated quick disconnect (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ramberg discloses the mated quick disconnect (see fig. 1) is configured to flow a cooling fluid (any type of cooling gas can be transferred via ports 16) through the first connector (40) and the second connector (50).
Regarding claim 14, Ramberg discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (44) provides a longitudinal range of motion (allows motion of first connector 40 to move along direction of flow).
Regarding claim 15, Ramberg discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (44) is configured to provide the biasing force that is substantially constant (constant with the pressure within the quick disconnect) regardless of position based on a relative longitudinal position of the housing (11) and the first connector (40) in the longitudinal range of motion (motion of first connector 40 along direction of flow).
Regarding claim 16, Ramberg discloses a second pre-load value (force of compressed air within bellows 54) of the second pre-loaded biasing element (54) is at least equal (with flow extending from left to right, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, biasing pressure within second bellows 54 is at least the magnitude of biasing pressure within second bellows 44) to a first pre-load value (force of compressed air within bellows 44) of the pre-loaded biasing element (44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110608334 (“Zhao”) in view of Engineering Expedient.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (13 or 23) having a front-part (part proximal to opposed coupling 2 or 1) and a back-part (part distal from opposed coupling 2 or 1);
a first connector (11 or 21) of a quick disconnect (defined mainly by 1 and 2) oriented toward the front-part of the housing; and
a pre-loaded biasing element (16; see fig. 1) disposed in the housing to apply a biasing force in a longitudinal direction (coupling force direction) between the housing and the first connector of the quick disconnect, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the first connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the housing, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element has a threshold wipe value (force which overcomes the biasing force of spring 16 to lift retainer clip 18 from contact with housing 13).
Zhao does not disclose the threshold wipe value of ±7 mm at which a compression of the pre-loaded biasing element provides the biasing force equal to a mating force.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention would know to experiment with pre-loaded biasing elements, or springs, having different threshold wipe values to allow for sufficient biasing force between the housing and first connector to allow for mating with a second connector while maintaining sufficient resilience to allow for dampening between first and second connectors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Zhao by configuring the threshold wipe value to be ±7 mm to allow for sufficient biasing force between the housing and first connector to allow for mating with a second connector while maintaining sufficient resilience to allow for dampening between first and second connectors.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the pre-loaded biasing element (16) is at least one of a magnet, a compressible gas, or a spring (disc spring 16).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the first connector (11 or 21) includes a fluid valve (12 or 22).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses a second pre-loaded biasing element (disc spring stack 16 of the other of couplings 11 or 21) disposed in a second housing (the other of housings 13 or 23) to apply a second biasing force between the second housing and a second connector (the other of couplings 11 and 21), and wherein the second pre-loaded biasing element is configured to allow the second connector of the quick disconnect to move relative to the second housing (see assembly of fig. 6).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on November 21, 2025, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Pat. No. 12,000,514 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are allowed.
Claim(s) 8, 13 and 21 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, further including a first guiding element, wherein the first guiding element is a cross-slotted guiding plate oriented horizontally and configured to mate with a second guiding element, wherein the second guiding element is cross-slotted guiding plate oriented vertically, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, further configured to mate a first guiding element in the housing with a second guiding element in the second housing before the first connector of the quick disconnect mates with the second connector of the quick disconnect, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, wherein the first guiding element is across-slotted guiding plate, in combination with the remainder limitations of the claim.
Claims 18-20 are allowable because they depend on an allowable base claim.
Regarding claim 21, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the apparatus, wherein the pre-loaded biasing element has a biasing force that increases exponentially as the first connector of the quick disconnect moves relative to the housing, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 1, 2026, has been fully considered.
With regards to the drawing objection, set forth in the Office action dated March 2, 2026, Applicant’s cancellation of claims 22 and 23 has overcome this objection and is now withdrawn.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claims 22 and 23, Applicant’s cancellation of claims 22 and 23 has overcome this rejection, and is now withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-3 and 6 over CN110608334 ("Zhao") in view of Engineering expedient, Applicant argues that Zhao does not establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In the present case, Zhao discusses in the "Background" a prior art radially floating quick disconnect coupling (CN104565628B), which compensates for radial misalignment of a male and female coupler; however, industry has proven need for a quick disconnect coupling, which has capability to compensate for both radial and axial misalignments. Zhao introduces a floating quick disconnect coupling comprising a housing (13) and a first connector (11), which maintain a radial and axial gap therebetween by an elastic ring (15) and a (pre-loaded) biasing element (16).
Although Zhao does not explicitly state that the biasing element (16) is "pre-loaded", Zhao states that the axial ends of the biasing element (16) do not slide relative to the housing (13) to prevent the biasing element (16) from jamming, which inherently entails a degree of pre-loading of the biasing element (16). The degree of pre-loading and the compression strength of the pre-loaded biasing element (16) is not explicitly discussed in Zhao; however, discovering an optimum value ("threshold wipe value of +/- 7mm") of a result effective variable (compression strength or force of the pre-loaded biasing element) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Furthermore, the instant application lacks the evidence to prove that the range, as claimed in the instant application, is critical. The applicant must prove the criticality of the claimed range, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
With regards to amended claim 9, including dependents thereof, Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous prior art; however, the amended claim(s) have motivated a new grounds of rejection over claims 9-12 and 14-16, see Office action, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US12173826, US5217203, US4312524, US7850190, US3604730, US5322330, US12338922 and US2007/0246108 disclose a quick disconnect having a coupler and a pre-loaded biasing element disposed in a housing, the pre-loaded biasing element allowing for longitudinal movement between the coupler and the housing.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753