DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 20130107457 A1) in view of Ting (US 20240147660 A1).
As to claim 1, Campbell discloses: A liquid manifold (Fig. 7A-8H) for providing a liquid to or from a plurality of servers within a server rack, the liquid manifold comprising:
a first portion 732, 742, 835 (two adjacent segments) including:
a first tubular body including:
a first cavity (inside) that extends along a first longitudinal axis; and
a first external surface; and
a plurality of first liquid connectors 734, 744, 854:
disposed on the first external surface;
communicating with the first cavity; and
arranged in a first linear array parallel to the first longitudinal axis;
a second portion 732, 742, 835 (another two adjacent segments) including:
a second tubular body including:
a second cavity (inside) that extends along a second longitudinal axis; and
a second external surface (e.g., surface with connectors) and a third external surface (e.g., opposite side surface with no connectors; and
a plurality of second liquid connectors 734, 744, 854:
disposed on the second external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a second linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
a first rotating fitting 750 858, 859 (between the two sets of segments; par. 0055-0056):
connecting an end of the first portion and an end of the second portion; and
configured to allow relative rotation between the first portion and the second portion about a first rotation axis of the first rotating fitting that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis (see rotation as in Fig. 8B; par. 0061).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
the second tubular body including:
a plurality of third liquid connectors:
disposed on the third external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis.
However, Ting discloses:
a second tubular body (manifolds 10, 20; Fig. 1-3) including:
a second cavity (inside) that extends along a second longitudinal axis; and
a second external surface (e.g., surface with connectors 30) and a third external surface (e.g., opposite side surface with connectors 40); and
a plurality of second liquid connectors 30:
disposed on the second external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a second linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis; and a plurality of third liquid connectors 40:
disposed on the third external surface; communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
in order to convert from one standard rack spacing/server size to another by rotating the manifold (par. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell as suggested by Ting, e.g., providing double sided manifolds:
the second tubular body including:
a plurality of third liquid connectors:
disposed on the third external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
in order to convert from one standard rack spacing/server size to another by rotating the manifold.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 3, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first portion or the second portion includes a liquid port (e.g., 731, 741; Campbell) disposed on an end of the first portion or the second portion configured to allow the liquid to enter or exit the liquid manifold.
As to claim 4, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein: the second external surface has a second normal axis; the third external surface has a third normal axis; and the second normal axis is opposite (180 degrees) to the third normal axis (see Fig. 1-3 of Ting; the external surfaces are opposite, so their normal axes will also be opposite).
Campbell in view of Ting do not disclose:
and the second normal axis is perpendicular to the third normal axis.
However, the axes are opposite instead of perpendicular because the arrays of liquid connectors are arranged on 180 degree surfaces of the manifolds (see par. 0019; Fig. 1 of Ting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell in view of Ting, e.g., providing the arrays of liquid connectors on perpendicular surfaces:
wherein the second normal axis is perpendicular to the third normal axis;
in order to provide the predictable result of converting from one standard rack spacing/server size to another by rotating the manifold 90 degrees or a quarter turn.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (e.g., rearranging the respective surfaces of liquid connectors on a manifold) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 5, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein: the second external surface has a second normal axis; the third external surface has a third normal axis; and the second normal axis is opposite to the third normal axis (see Fig. 1-3 of Ting; the external surfaces are opposite, so their normal axes will also be opposite).
As to claim 6, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first rotating fitting is configured such that: a first configuration allows the first external surface to be parallel with the second external surface (normal orientation as in Campbell); and
a second configuration allows the first external surface to be parallel with the third external surface (rotated 180 degrees as in Ting).
As to claim 7, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein: in the first configuration, the first linear array is colinear with the second linear array (normal orientation as in Campbell); and in the second configuration (rotated 180 degrees as in Ting), the third linear array is offset from the first linear array in at least one dimension (offset in the linearly extending dimension of the manifold).
As to claim 8, Campbell in view of Ting does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the offset is an inch.
However, the offset (distance) between adjacent connected sections 732 (Campbell) of the manifold is determined by the size of the rotating fitting 750.
Further Ting suggests adjusting the offset/spacing H between connectors in order to adapt to a particular server size (par. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell and Ting, e.g., providing additional pairs of manifold sections:
wherein the offset is an inch;
in order to provide the predictable result of connecting the respective manifold portions with a desired size rotating fitting and/or in order to adapt to a particular server size.
A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 9, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first rotating fitting is disposed within a cross-section of the first tubular body and a cross-section of the second tubular body (as in Fig. 8A-8H of Campbell).
As to claim 10, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first rotating fitting is disposed outside of a cross-section of the second tubular body (as in Fig. 7A-7B; Campbell).
As to claim 11, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first rotating fitting is attached to a tube (e.g., one of the other tubes 732 or 742; Campbell) attached to the second tubular body.
As to claim 12, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein a tube cavity of the tube communicates with the second cavity (all of the tube cavities communicate for a particular manifold in Fig. 7A-7B; Campbell).
As to claim 13, Campbell in view of Ting does not explicitly disclose:
further including: a third portion including: a third tubular body having: a third cavity that extends along a third longitudinal axis; and a fourth external surface; and a plurality of fourth liquid connectors: disposed on the fourth external surface; communicating with the third cavity; and arranged in a fourth linear array parallel to the third longitudinal axis; and a second rotating fitting: connecting an end of the second portion and an end of the third portion such that the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis are parallel to the third longitudinal axis; and configured to allow relative rotation between the second portion and the third portion about a second rotation axis of the second rotating fitting that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis, the second longitudinal axis, and the third longitudinal axis.
However, Campbell discloses providing multiple manifold sections 732, 742 for cooling multiple devices 710.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell and Ting as suggested by Campbell, e.g., providing additional pairs of manifold sections:
a third portion including:
a third tubular body having:
a third cavity that extends along a third longitudinal axis; and
a fourth external surface; and
a plurality of fourth liquid connectors:
disposed on the fourth external surface;
communicating with the third cavity; and
arranged in a fourth linear array parallel to the third longitudinal axis; and
a second rotating fitting:
connecting an end of the second portion and an end of the third portion such that the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis are parallel to the third longitudinal axis; and
configured to allow relative rotation between the second portion and the third portion about a second rotation axis of the second rotating fitting that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis, the second longitudinal axis, and the third longitudinal axis;
in order to provide cooling for additional devices.
As to claim 14, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first rotation axis is colinear with the second rotation axis (each of the rotation axes are colinear; Fig. 7A-7B; Campbell).
As to claim 15, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first linear array is colinear with the fourth linear array (each of the arrays of connectors are colinear, except for the third array that is rotated as in Ting).
As to claim 16, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein the first portion and the third portion include respective liquid ports (e.g., open supply/return at 731, 741 and capped end ports 735, 745) on ends of the first portion and the third portion configured to allow the liquid to enter or exit from the liquid manifold.
As to claim 17, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein one of the liquid ports is plugged (plugged by caps 735, 745; par. 0054).
As to claim 18, Campbell discloses:
A system comprising (Fig. 7A-7B):
a first liquid manifold 730 for providing a liquid to a plurality of servers within a server rack; and
a second liquid manifold 740 for providing the liquid from the plurality of servers, each of the first liquid manifold and the second liquid manifold including:
a first portion 732, 742, (two adjacent segments) including:
a first tubular body including:
a first cavity (inside) that extends along a first longitudinal axis; and
a first external surface; and
a plurality of first liquid connectors 734, 744,:
disposed on the first external surface;
communicating with the first cavity; and
arranged in a first linear array parallel to the first longitudinal axis;
a second portion 732, 742, (another two adjacent segments) including:
a second tubular body including:
a second cavity (inside) that extends along a second longitudinal axis; and
a second external surface (e.g., surface with connectors) and a third external surface (e.g., opposite side surface with no connectors; and
a plurality of second liquid connectors 734, 744:
disposed on the second external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a second linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
a first rotating fitting 750 (between the two sets of segments; par. 0055-0056):
connecting an end of the first portion and an end of the second portion such that the first longitudinal axis is parallel to the second longitudinal axis; and
configured to allow relative rotation between the first portion and the second portion about a first rotation axis of the first rotating fitting that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis and the second longitudinal axis (see rotation as in Fig. 8B; par. 0055-0056, 0061).
Campbell does not explicitly disclose:
the second tubular body including:
a plurality of third liquid connectors:
disposed on the third external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis.
However, Ting discloses:
a second tubular body (manifolds 10, 20; Fig. 1-3) including:
a second cavity (inside) that extends along a second longitudinal axis; and
a second external surface (e.g., surface with connectors 30) and a third external surface (e.g., opposite side surface with connectors 40); and
a plurality of second liquid connectors 30:
disposed on the second external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a second linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis; and a plurality of third liquid connectors 40:
disposed on the third external surface; communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
in order to convert from one standard rack spacing/server size to another by rotating the manifold (par. 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell as suggested by Ting, e.g., providing double sided manifolds:
the second tubular body including:
a plurality of third liquid connectors:
disposed on the third external surface;
communicating with the second cavity; and
arranged in a third linear array parallel to the second longitudinal axis;
in order to convert from one standard rack spacing/server size to another by rotating the manifold.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 19, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein each first rotating fitting is configured such that: a first configuration of the first liquid manifold and the second liquid manifold allows the first liquid connectors to be colinear with the second liquid connectors (normal orientation as in Campbell); and
a second configuration (rotated 90 degrees, as in Fig. 8B of Campbell) of the first liquid manifold and the second liquid manifold allows the third liquid connectors to be offset in at least one dimension from the first liquid connectors (each of the rotated 2nd and 3rd liquid connectors will be offset 90 degrees, or half the thickness of the manifold, from the unrotated first liquid connectors).
As to claim 20, Campbell in view of Ting discloses:
wherein: the first configuration allows the first liquid connectors and the second liquid connectors to, when mounted to the server rack, mate with twenty-one inch servers (intended use – manifold allows the connectors to mate with any server indirectly via flexible tubing 733, 743; see par. 0056; Campbell); and the second configuration allows the first liquid connectors to mate with twenty-one inch servers and the third liquid connectors to, when mounted to the server rack, mate with nineteen inch servers (intended use – manifold allows the connectors to mate with any server indirectly via flexible tubing 733, 743; see par. 0056; Campbell).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 20130107457 A1) in view of Ting (US 20240147660 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hogan (US 20220338384 A1).
As to claim 2, Campbell in view of Ting does not disclose:
wherein the second liquid connectors and the third liquid connectors include quick-disconnect fittings.
However, Hogan discloses using quick-disconnect fittings in order to couple the manifolds to hoses (par. 0018, 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Campbell and Ting as suggested by Hogan, e.g., providing quick-disconnect liquid connectors:
wherein the second liquid connectors and the third liquid connectors include quick-disconnect fittings;
in order to couple to hoses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao (US 20220390195 A1), Tilton (US 20080093054 A1), and Chen (US 20200191504 A1) disclose conventional liquid cooling systems.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835