DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 04/24/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
No legible copies were provided for the NPL reference number 2 “How to Map PLC I/O signals with Microsoft excel”.
EMPEP 707.05(e) describes how to cite and provide a copy of the screen captures of the video cited.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0049] recites “FIG. 2B illustrates PLC chassis configuration table 26 for the PLC environment 10 of FIG. 1 that indicates a configuration of the various input/output slots of the PLC 12 cards. Table 26 includes a card type column 28A, a slot number column 28B, and an IP address column 28C. As shown, cards are present in slots 0-3 and 11, but not in slots 0-1 and 11.
As best understood by Fig. 2B, cards are present in slots 2-3 but not in 0-1 and 11 because there is no an IP address.
The paragraph is confusing because it suggests that cards are present in 0-3 but not in 0-1, which cards “cannot be present” and “be present” at the same time. It seems like a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim objections
Claim 4, 8, 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 and 14, respectively, recite the limitation "the at least one robots” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Line 2 recites “at least one robot”. This seems an inadvertent typographical error.
For purposes of Examination and/or interpretation, these limitations will be interpreted as:
--…wherein: the plurality of PLC assets includes at least one robot;
and the PLC configuration data describes, for the at least one robot, an intended function of the robot and a sequence of the intended function in the industrial process--
Claim 8 and 18, respectively, recite the limitation “receiving at least one add-on instruction (“AOI”), each of the at least one AOIs including…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “each of the at least one AOIs” in the claim. This seems an inadvertent typographical error.
For purposes of Examination and/or interpretation, this limitations will be interpreted as:
--receiving at least one add-on instruction (“AOI”), the at least one AOI including…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orita (US 20250315025) in view of Bush et al (US 20170214717).
As per claim 1, Orita teaches a computer-implemented method (see [0003] “In creation of the ladder program, programming software for creating the ladder program in the form of a ladder diagram is used. In general, programming software is implemented on a personal computer (PC)….” Also, see Fig. 1 computer(s) are used in the implementation of the method steps and see [0052]), comprising:
receiving programmable logic controller (PLC) configuration data for an industrial process (see [0059-0064] “The PC 1 is configured as an information creating
device for creating design information. In order to create the design information, ... The design information is information in which an operation of an apparatus 5 disposed in production equipment is designed and includes apparatus collation information and sequence information…The information creating section 11 provides, as a user interface, for example, a dedicated input form F that allows a user to create the design information by entering necessary information. The input form F is stored in the storage device 12. As the input form F, a sheet of spreadsheet software can be used...”), the PLC configuration data describing a PLC (see Fig. 6 in the configuration data the PLC1 is described; also, see [0157] “…In the device list 400A, the devices are written in combination with “PLC1”, which is the number of the PLC 4…”), a plurality of PLC assets (see Fig. 1 apparatuses 5 are the assets to be monitored or controlled; [0057] “…an apparatus 5 that operates according to control of a servo amplifier ( controller), like a servomotor. In a device (e.g., a robot arm, an X-Y table, and/or a conveyance device) that requires multiaxial control, a plurality of servomotors are used…”; also, see [0065]-[0066] “…The apparatus collation information creation area F2 is provided for creating the apparatus collation information. The apparatus collation information is information in which a correspondence relation between an apparatus name
and a device is defined in advance. The apparatus collation information creation area F2 includes, in one unit, for example, a device entry area F21 in which a device is to be entered, and an apparatus name entry area F22 in which an apparatus name is to be entered…”; also, see Fig. 3 table F3 which describes a configuration data of assets (apparatuses 5)), a plurality of PLC devices associated with the plurality of PLC assets (see fig. 3 table F2 comprises information collation including a row of assets F22 associated to PLC devices F21; also, see [0066] “The device and the apparatus name entered in the device entry area F21 and the apparatus name entry area F22 that are in one row, respectively, are associated with each other. The apparatus collation information creation area F2…” also, see [0067] “The device is composed of a combination of a device symbol and a device number. The device name expresses, for example, an input relay as X, an output relay as Y, an internal relay as M, a timer as T, and a data register as D. Examples of devices include: bit devices (X, Y, M, and the like) that handle bit data (0,1)…”; also, see Figs. 4-6),
determining, from a repository of PLC ladder logic templates and based on the PLC configuration data, a set of PLC ladder logic templates that correspond to the plurality of PLC assets and PLC devices (the templates have been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as a form comprising main routines and/or subroutines as describe in [0062, 0071]; see Fig. 1 and Fig. 10 PC 2 generates a command list that was created and populated based on the configuration data (apparatus collation information and sequence information as stated above), the command list represents templates populated with the configuration data; see Fig. 10 [0055] “The command list is a list in which a command that defines sequence control to be carried out by the PLC 4 and a device (identification information) of the apparatus 5 are associated with each other. The command list will be described in detail later”, thus, the command list includes main routines or commands; also, see [0101], [0104], [0107], [0108], [0114] “in this way, the PC 2 creates the command list 100 on the basis of: the apparatus collation information created by the apparatus collation information creating section 111 of the PC 1; and the sequence information created by the
sequence information creating section 112 of the PC 1. In the command list 100, a comment in accordance with a ladder program is described…”; also, see Fig. 12 and see [0118] “The import section 311 imports the command list 100 in the CSV format which has been exported from the PC 2. The automatic generation section 312 analyzes, in step number order, the command described in the command list
100. The automatic generation section 312 converts the command into a ladder symbol that constitutes a ladder program (ladder diagram) and arranges the ladder symbol in the ladder diagram, thereby automatically generating the
ladder program. [0158-0159] “As illustrated in FIG. 28, the import section 611 of the screen creating section 61 imports the device lists 400A and 400B that have been exported from the PC 2 (step S11). The association section 612 identifies a screen template on the basis of the device lists 400A and 400B that have been imported (step S12).; also, see [0159].); and
based on the PLC configuration data and set of PLC ladder logic templates, creating PLC logic for performance of the industrial process (see [0119] “The conversion section 313 reads out, from the storage device 32, the ladder program generated by the automatic generation section 312, and converts (compiles)
the ladder program into a format (code) recognizable by the control section 43 (CPU) of the PLC 4. The conversion section 313 stores the converted code in the storage device 32. The writing section 314 writes, in the program memory
42 of the PLC 4 via the communication section 25, the code that has been converted from the ladder program by the conversion section 313” ), the PLC logic including the set of PLC ladder logic templates populated with portions of the PLC configuration data (see [0053] “The ladder program creating system 1001 first creates design information, then creates a command list 100 on the basis of the design information, and automatically creates a ladder program on the basis of the command list 100. The ladder program thus created is written in a PLC 4”; also, see [0119] and see Fig. 12- 23; also, see [0120-0134] which described Ladder logic templates created based on the configuration data and the PLC ladder logic templates as interpreted above).
While Orita describes the generation of a ladder logic based on configuration data, Orita does not explicitly teach network connectivity data for communication between the PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices (This has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as IP addresses and/or PLC chassis slots for the PLC devices/assets).
However, Bush teaches a configuration system comprising assigning configuration data including network connectivity data for communication between a PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices (This has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as IP addresses and/or PLC chassis slots for the PLC devices and assets; see Fig. 7A assets/devices are assigned or configured with network connectivity or IP address for communicating between devices; also, see [0006] “…zone configuration data that assigns respective industrial assets to selected security zones…”; [0037] “…Industrial controllers 118 typically execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems….”, controllers 118 are PLC; also, see [0038] “…input devices that provide data relating to the controlled industrial systems to the industrial controllers 118, and output devices that respond to control signals generated by the industrial controllers 118 to control aspects of the industrial systems. Example input devices can include telemetry devices (e.g., temperature sensors, flow meters, level sensors, pressure sensors, etc.), manual operator control devices (e.g., push buttons, selector switches, etc.), safety monitoring devices (e.g., safety mats, safety pull cords, light curtains, etc.), and other such devices. Output devices may include motor drives, pneumatic actuators, signaling devices, robot control inputs, valves, and the like”, assets and PLC devices; also, see [0041] “Other industrial devices or assets can include industrial robots 122…”; see [007] “Asset-level attributes may include, for example, an asset type attribute used to classify the device and to render the device's capabilities in the model 216, port attributes that specify one or more mechanisms by which the asset communicates with other assets (e.g., specifying that the asset is to communicate via its Ethernet port, and setting an IP address for the device), or other such attributes”; also, see Fig. 7A and [0085-0086] “… Device Definition table 704 may include information defining the inventory of industrial assets and devices for which the plant-wide security strategy is to be implemented. For embodiments that support auto-discovery, at least some of this device information may be discovered automatically by the device discovery component 210, including but not limited to asset catalog numbers and current IP addresses, and indications as to whether each device supports CIP security. Alternatively, some or all of the industrial asset information may be manually provided to the system 202 by the user”) and the PLC configuration data describing a PLC (see [0055] “…The industrial assets 408 may comprise, for example, PLCs, motor drives, relays, robots controllers…” also, see Fig. 9A screen 701 describes assets such as PLCs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita’s invention to include assigning configuration data including network connectivity data for communication between a PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices and the PLC configuration data describing a PLC as taught by Bush in order to allow the communication of data via devices and allow the data to reach the specific target device by using the network connectivity including IP addresses (using and assigning IP addresses gives every asset and device a specific digital label so data goes to the correct destination).
As per claim 2, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita further teaches wherein said receiving comprises: providing a table-based interface to a user (see [0062] “The information creating section 11 provides, as a
user interface, for example, a dedicated input form F that allows a user to create the design information by entering necessary information. The input form F is stored in the storage device 12. As the input form F, a sheet of spreadsheet
software can be used. In this case, the input form F can be formed in a tabular format, and thus can be easily introduced…”);
and receiving the PLC configuration data through the table-based interface (see [0062]; also, see Fig. 3-7; also, see [0065], [0086]).
As per claim 3, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, Orita further teaches wherein: the table-based interface is a spreadsheet interface (see [0062] “The information creating section 11 provides, as a
user interface, for example, a dedicated input form F that allows a user to create the design information by entering necessary information. The input form F is stored in the storage device 12. As the input form F, a sheet of spreadsheet
software can be used. In this case, the input form F can be formed in a tabular format, and thus can be easily introduced…”);
and said providing the table-based interface comprises providing the table-based interface through a spreadsheet editor (see [0062] “The information creating section 11 provides, as a user interface, for example, a dedicated input form F that allows a user to create the design information by entering necessary information. The input form F is stored in the storage device 12. As the input form F, a sheet of spreadsheet software can be used. In this case, the input form F can be formed in a tabular format, and thus can be easily introduced…”; see [0062]; also, see Fig. 3-7; also, see [0065], [0086).
As per claim 4, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita further teaches wherein: the plurality of PLC assets includes at least one robot (see Fig. 9 Robot; see Fig. 22 and see [0075]); and
the PLC configuration data describes, for each of the at least one robots, an intended function of the robot and a sequence of the intended function in the industrial process (see Fig. 9 Robot with sequences for different functions; see Fig. 22 and see [0057] “…robot arm…”; [0068] “The sequence information creation area F3 is provided for entering sequence information. The sequence information is information in which sequence names are described in the operation order of the apparatus(es) 5”; also, see [0057], [0075], [0095]).
As per claim 11, Orita teaches A system (see [003] and [0052]), comprising:
processing circuitry operatively connected to memory and configured to (see [0003] “In creation of the ladder program, programming software for creating the ladder program in the form of a ladder diagram is used. In general, programming software is implemented on a personal computer (PC)….” Also, see Fig. 1 computer(s) are used in the implementation of the method steps and see [0052] ):
receive programmable logic controller (PLC) configuration data for an industrial process (see [0059-0064]), the PLC configuration data describing a PLC (see Fig. 6 in the configuration data the PLC1 is described; also, see [0157] “…In the device list 400A, the devices are written in combination with “PLC1”, which is the number of the PLC 4…”), a plurality of PLC assets see Fig. 1 apparatuses 5 are the assets to be monitored or controlled; [0057] “…an apparatus 5 that operates according to control of a servo amplifier ( controller), like a servomotor. In a device (e.g., a robot arm, an X-Y table, and/or a conveyance device) that requires multiaxial control, a plurality of servomotors are used…”; also, see [0065]-[0066] “…The apparatus collation information creation area F2 is provided for creating the apparatus collation information. The apparatus collation information is information in which a correspondence relation between an apparatus name
and a device is defined in advance. The apparatus collation information creation area F2 includes, in one unit, for example, a device entry area F21 in which a device is to be entered, and an apparatus name entry area F22 in which an apparatus name is to be entered…”; also, see Fig. 3 table F3 which describes a configuration data of assets (apparatuses 5)), a plurality of PLC devices associated with the plurality of PLC assets see fig. 3 table F2 comprises information collation including a row of assets F22 associated to PLC devices F21; also, see [0066] “The device and the apparatus name entered in the device entry area F21 and the apparatus name entry area F22 that are in one row, respectively, are associated with each other. The apparatus collation information creation area F2…” also, see [0067] “The device is composed of a combination of a device symbol and a device number. The device name expresses, for example, an input relay as X, an output relay as Y, an internal relay as M, a timer as T, and a data register as D. Examples of devices include: bit devices (X, Y, M, and the like) that handle bit data (0,1)…”; also, see Figs. 4-6),
determine, from a repository of PLC ladder logic templates and based on the PLC configuration data, a set of PLC ladder logic templates that correspond to the plurality of PLC assets and PLC devices (the templates have been interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure as a form comprising main routines and/or subroutines as describe in [0062, 0071]; see Fig. 1 and Fig. 10 PC 2 generates a command list that was created and populated based on the configuration data (apparatus collation information and sequence information as stated above), the command list represents templates populated with the configuration data; see Fig. 10 [0055] “The command list is a list in which a command that defines sequence control to be carried out by the PLC 4 and a device (identification information) of the apparatus 5 are associated with each other. The command list will be described in detail later”, thus, the command list includes main routines or commands; also, see [0101], [0104], [0107], [0108], [0114] “in this way, the PC 2 creates the command list 100 on the basis of: the apparatus collation information created by the apparatus collation information creating section 111 of the PC 1; and the sequence information created by the
sequence information creating section 112 of the PC 1. In the command list 100, a comment in accordance with a ladder program is described…”; also, see Fig. 12 and see [0118] “The import section 311 imports the command list 100 in the CSV format which has been exported from the PC 2. The automatic generation section 312 analyzes, in step number order, the command described in the command list
100. The automatic generation section 312 converts the command into a ladder symbol that constitutes a ladder program (ladder diagram) and arranges the ladder symbol in the ladder diagram, thereby automatically generating the
ladder program. [0158-0159] “As illustrated in FIG. 28, the import section 611 of the screen creating section 61 imports the device lists 400A and 400B that have been exported from the PC 2 (step S11). The association section 612 identifies a screen template on the basis of the device lists 400A and 400B that have been imported (step S12).; also, see [0159] );
and based on the PLC configuration data and set of PLC ladder logic templates, create PLC logic for performance of the industrial process (see [0119] “The conversion section 313 reads out, from the storage device 32, the ladder program generated by the automatic generation section 312, and converts (compiles)
the ladder program into a format (code) recognizable by the control section 43 (CPU) of the PLC 4. The conversion section 313 stores the converted code in the storage device 32. The writing section 314 writes, in the program memory
42 of the PLC 4 via the communication section 25, the code that has been converted from the ladder program by the conversion section 313”), the PLC logic including the set of PLC ladder logic templates populated with portions of the PLC configuration data (see [0053] “The ladder program creating system 1001 first creates design information, then creates a command list 100 on the basis of the design information, and automatically creates a ladder program on the basis of the command list 100. The ladder program thus created is written in a PLC 4”; also, see [0119] and see Fig. 12- 23; also, see [0120-0134] which described Ladder logic templates created based on the configuration data and the PLC ladder logic templates as interpreted above).
While Orita describes the generation of a ladder logic based on configuration data, Orita does not explicitly teach network connectivity data for communication between the PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices (This has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as IP addresses and/or PLC chassis slots for the PLC devices/assets).
However, Bush teaches a configuration system comprising assigning configuration data including network connectivity data for communication between a PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices (This has been interpreted in the BRI in light of the disclosure as IP addresses and/or PLC chassis slots for the PLC devices and assets; see Fig. 7A assets/devices are assigned or configured with network connectivity or IP address for communicating between devices; also, see [0006] “…zone configuration data that assigns respective industrial assets to selected security zones…”; [0037] “…Industrial controllers 118 typically execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems….”, controllers 118 are PLC; also, see [0038] “…input devices that provide data relating to the controlled industrial systems to the industrial controllers 118, and output devices that respond to control signals generated by the industrial controllers 118 to control aspects of the industrial systems. Example input devices can include telemetry devices (e.g., temperature sensors, flow meters, level sensors, pressure sensors, etc.), manual operator control devices (e.g., push buttons, selector switches, etc.), safety monitoring devices (e.g., safety mats, safety pull cords, light curtains, etc.), and other such devices. Output devices may include motor drives, pneumatic actuators, signaling devices, robot control inputs, valves, and the like”, assets and PLC devices; also, see [0041] “Other industrial devices or assets can include industrial robots 122…”; see [007] “Asset-level attributes may include, for example, an asset type attribute used to classify the device and to render the device's capabilities in the model 216, port attributes that specify one or more mechanisms by which the asset communicates with other assets (e.g., specifying that the asset is to communicate via its Ethernet port, and setting an IP address for the device), or other such attributes”; also, see Fig. 7A and [0085-0086] “… Device Definition table 704 may include information defining the inventory of industrial assets and devices for which the plant-wide security strategy is to be implemented. For embodiments that support auto-discovery, at least some of this device information may be discovered automatically by the device discovery component 210, including but not limited to asset catalog numbers and current IP addresses, and indications as to whether each device supports CIP security. Alternatively, some or all of the industrial asset information may be manually provided to the system 202 by the user”) and the PLC configuration data describing a PLC (see [0055] “…The industrial assets 408 may comprise, for example, PLCs, motor drives, relays, robots controllers…” also, see Fig. 9A screen 701 describes assets such as PLCs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita’s invention to include assigning configuration data including network connectivity data for communication between a PLC and the PLC assets and PLC devices and the PLC configuration data describing a PLC as taught by Bush in order to allow the communication of data via devices and allow the data to reach the specific target device by using the network connectivity including IP addresses (using and assigning IP addresses gives every asset and device a specific digital label so data goes to the correct destination).
As to claim 12, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 2, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 13, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 3, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 14, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 4, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-10, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orita (US 20250315025) in view of Bush et al (US 20170214717) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loncar et al (US 9727033).
As per claim 5, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita-Bush does not explicitly teach wherein the PLC configuration data includes a description of a plurality of slots of a chassis of the PLC, and, for each slot in a subset of the slots that are not empty, a device present in the slot.
Loncar teaches a system for configuring tag for a PLC system comprising receiving configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes a description of a plurality of slots of a chassis of the PLC, and, for each slot in a subset of the slots that are not empty, a device present in the slot (see Col 2 lines 65-67 “assigning a specific PLC card type, rack and slot to selected tags in accordance with the requirements of the project.; see Fig. 27-29 configuring a card type associated with a slot number; see Col 8 lines 24 to Col 9 line 25 “…FIG. 24 shows a project having two pumps, having the tag names AWSSLP1S11 and AWSSLP2SF1, and an analog device, AWSLL1LJ1. (83) Rack Layout (84) The penultimate task in a project build involves building a rack and card inventory. (85) This functionality is accessed by selecting the Rack Layout button 94, as indicated in FIG. 25. (86) Racks can then be added to the project by selection of the Create Rack button 96, making suitable entries into the Rack Number text entry block 98 and Number of Slots text entry block 100 and selecting the Add Rack button 102, as indicated by FIG. 26 (87) Cards are added to the project, as indicated by FIG. 27, by: (88) selection of the Create Card button 104 (89) making a suitable entry into the Name text block 106 (90) making a suitable entry in the Description text entry block 108 (91) making a suitable entry in the Slot Number text entry block 110; (92) choosing the card type from the PLC Hardware Type drop down 112; (93) optionally making a suitable entry into the IP Address 116; and (94) selecting the Add PLC Hardware button 118” in Fig. 29 for each slot, a device present in each slot that is not empty is shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include receiving configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes a description of a plurality of slots of a chassis of the PLC, and, for each slot in a subset of the slots that are not empty, a device present in the slot as taught by Loncar in order to generate or create configuration data for a project in a fast and accurate manner by simply selecting predefined card types and slots to fill out tables (see Col 3 lines 60-62 “Through the use of the invention, a PLC program for a project can be created relatively quickly”; also, see Col 9 lines 60-67 “It will be evident that the above provides substantial utility, in that it allows for the accurate creation of a large number of tags in a relatively quick manner, thereby reducing the amount of programming required with the project. Programming is still, of course, required, to deal with the specifics of the project. However, the invention also allows for methodology that can further reduces programming”; also, see Fig. 27-29).
As per claim 6, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Bush further teaches wherein the PLC configuration data includes, for each of the plurality of PLC devices, a type of the PLC device (see Fig. 7A asset name or asset catalog number ), a network address of the PLC device (see Fig. 7A IP address), a name of the PLC device (see Fig. 7A asset name; see Fig. 7A assets/devices are assigned or configured with network connectivity or IP address for communicating between devices; also, see [0006] “…zone configuration data that assigns respective industrial assets to selected security zones…”; [0037] “…Industrial controllers 118 typically execute respective control programs to facilitate monitoring and control of industrial devices 120 making up the controlled industrial systems….”, controllers 118 are PLC; also, see [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita’s invention to include assigning configuration data including wherein the PLC configuration data includes, for each of the plurality of PLC devices, a type of the PLC device, a network address of the PLC device (see Fig. 7A IP address), a name of the PLC device as taught by Bush in order to allow the communication of data via devices and allow the data to reach the specific target device by using the network connectivity including IP addresses (using and assigning IP addresses gives every asset and device a specific digital label so data goes to the correct destination).
Orita-Bush does not explicitly teach the PLC configuration data includes an indication of which slot of a chassis of the PLC the network address corresponds to.
However, Loncar teaches a system for configuring tag for a PLC system comprising receiving configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes an indication of which slot of a chassis of the PLC the network address corresponds to (see Col 2 lines 65-67 “assigning a specific PLC card type, rack and slot to selected tags in accordance with the requirements of the project; see Fig. 27 IP address and slot number association; see Fig. 27-29 configuring a card type associated with a slot number; see Col 8 lines 24 to Col 9 line 25 “…FIG. 24 shows a project having two pumps, having the tag names AWSSLP1S11 and AWSSLP2SF1, and an analog device, AWSLL1LJ1. (83) Rack Layout (84) The penultimate task in a project build involves building a rack and card inventory. (85) This functionality is accessed by selecting the Rack Layout button 94, as indicated in FIG. 25. (86) Racks can then be added to the project by selection of the Create Rack button 96, making suitable entries into the Rack Number text entry block 98 and Number of Slots text entry block 100 and selecting the Add Rack button 102, as indicated by FIG. 26 (87) Cards are added to the project, as indicated by FIG. 27, by: (88) selection of the Create Card button 104 (89) making a suitable entry into the Name text block 106 (90) making a suitable entry in the Description text entry block 108 (91) making a suitable entry in the Slot Number text entry block 110; (92) choosing the card type from the PLC Hardware Type drop down 112; (93) optionally making a suitable entry into the IP Address 116; and (94) selecting the Add PLC Hardware button 118” in Fig. 29 for each slot, a device present in each slot that is not empty is shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include receiving PLC configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes an indication of which slot of a chassis of the PLC the network address corresponds to as taught by Loncar in order to generate or create configuration data for a project in a fast and accurate manner by simply selecting predefined card types and slots to fill out tables (see Col 3 lines 60-62 “Through the use of the invention, a PLC program for a project can be created relatively quickly”; also, see Col 9 lines 60-67 “It will be evident that the above provides substantial utility, in that it allows for the accurate creation of a large number of tags in a relatively quick manner, thereby reducing the amount of programming required with the project. Programming is still, of course, required, to deal with the specifics of the project. However, the invention also allows for methodology that can further reduces programming”; also, see Fig. 27-29).
As per claim 8, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach comprising: receiving at least one add-on instruction (“AOI”), each of the at least one AOIs including supplemental PLC logic; wherein said creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC ladder logic templates to invoke the at least one AOI.
Loncar teaches a system for configuring tag for a PLC system comprising: receiving at least one add-on instruction (“AOI”), each of the at least one AOIs including supplemental PLC logic (see Fig. 11 AOIs are added), wherein said creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC ladder logic templates to invoke the at least one AOI (see Fig. 11 The AOIs are invoked via the Templates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include receiving at least one add-on instruction (“AOI”), each of the at least one AOIs including supplemental PLC logic; wherein said creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC ladder logic templates to invoke the at least one AOI as taught by Loncar in order to configure a PLC (see Fig. 11 and see Col 7 lines 5-16 “The next step is to import the standard PLC Tag Database and Logic file, by activating the appropriate functionality of the software by returning to the template launch area by selecting the Template for Utility button 56 and then selecting the Import PLC Program icon 58, as indicated in FIG. 10. This activates a selection block 60, as shown in FIG. 11, wherein the user can select a PLC program file to be imported, and select which portions of the file will be imported, specifically, UDT, AOI, Tasks and Programs and Tags. FIG. 12 shows all portions of file F:\BXX1_V7_V17.ACD about to be imported. This process can be repeated for multiple files, if necessary”).
As per claim 9, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita-Bush does not explicitly teach wherein said creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC templates to utilize a plurality of defined data types that are stored in the set of PLC templates.
Loncar further teaches a system for configuring tags for a PLC system comprising: creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC templates to utilize a plurality of defined data types that are stored in the set of PLC templates (see Fig. 11 screen 60 allows the configuration to utilize a plurality of defined data types; see Fig. 11 and see Col 7 lines 5-16 “The next step is to import the standard PLC Tag Database and Logic file, by activating the appropriate functionality of the software by returning to the template launch area by selecting the Template for Utility button 56 and then selecting the Import PLC Program icon 58, as indicated in FIG. 10. This activates a selection block 60, as shown in FIG. 11, wherein the user can select a PLC program file to be imported, and select which portions of the file will be imported, specifically, UDT, AOI, Tasks and Programs and Tags. FIG. 12 shows all portions of file F:\BXX1_V7_V17.ACD about to be imported. This process can be repeated for multiple files, if necessary”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include creating PLC logic comprises configuring the set of PLC templates to utilize a plurality of defined data types that are stored in the set of PLC templates as taught by Loncar in order to configure a PLC (see Fig. 11 and see Col 7 lines 5-16 “The next step is to import the standard PLC Tag Database and Logic file, by activating the appropriate functionality of the software by returning to the template launch area by selecting the Template for Utility button 56 and then selecting the Import PLC Program icon 58, as indicated in FIG. 10. This activates a selection block 60, as shown in FIG. 11, wherein the user can select a PLC program file to be imported, and select which portions of the file will be imported, specifically, UDT, AOI, Tasks and Programs and Tags. FIG. 12 shows all portions of file F:\BXX1_V7_V17.ACD about to be imported. This process can be repeated for multiple files, if necessary”).
As per claim 10, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita-Bush does not explicitly teach comprising: outputting the PLC logic into one or more extensible markup language (XML) files.
Loncar teaches a system for configuring tags for a PLC system comprising: outputting the PLC logic into one or more extensible markup language (XML) files (see Fig. 31 and see Col 9 lines 49-60 “Once all of the inputs and outputs have been assigned, the project build is complete and ready for output; the user need merely, as indicated by FIG. 31, activate the appropriate functionality of the software by selecting the XML Output button 124: select the Generate XML button 126 to create the PLC Tag Database…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include outputting the PLC logic into one or more extensible markup language (XML) files as taught by Loncar in order to export the configuration or PLC logic in a standard format that PLC can import (see Fig. 31).
As to claim 15, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 5, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 16, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 6, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 18, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 8, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 19, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 9, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 20, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 10, thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orita (US 20250315025) in view of Bush et al (US 20170214717) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huffman et al (US 20210352110).
As per claim 7, Orita-Bush teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Orita further teaches wherein: the PLC configuration data includes a description of an allocation of at least a portion of the PLC assets to a plurality of respective stations (see Fig. 7A the stations are exemplified as zones zone 1 and zone 2, wherein a subset of PLC assets D1-D6 are assigned or associated to zones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include receiving configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes a description of an allocation of at least a portion of the PLC assets to a plurality of respective stations zones as taught by Bush in order to allow communication between the assets in different zones of the same project to communicate (see [0093] “Three security zones have been defined, with devices D1-D3 assigned to Zone 1, D4-D6 assigned to Zone 2, and legacy devices D7 and D8 assigned to Zone 3. When this policy is implemented, the devices in each of Zones 1 and 2 can communicate securely with other devices in the same zone, while Devices D7 and D8 can communicate with each other without security”; also, see [0098]).
Orita-Bush does not explicitly teach each station corresponds to a distinct work area within an industrial facility.
Huffman teaches a configuration system comprising receiving PLC configuration data (see Fig. 15 1502 and [0122]), wherein: the PLC configuration data includes a description of an allocation of at least a portion of the PLC assets to a plurality of respective stations (see 13A assets allocated to different stations/zones or working areas; also, see Fig. 16 the zones/stations are located and see [0128] ), each station corresponds to a distinct work area within an industrial facility (see Fig. 16 the zones/stations corresponds to different working areas, also, see [0128] “these zones 1604 correspond to different production areas of the plant—a brewing area (security Zone 1), a bottling area (security zone 2), and a packaging area (security zone 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Orita-Bush’s combination as taught above to include receiving configuration data, wherein the PLC configuration data includes a description of an allocation of at least a portion of the PLC assets to a plurality of respective stations zones, and each station corresponds to a distinct work area within an industrial facility as taught by Huffman in order to allow a user to group sets of devices that share a common security context into security zones (see [0053]) and to allow communication between the assets in different zones of the same project to communicate (see [0053] and [0107] “This example depicts two zones, with a set of devices supporting CIP security assigned to Zone 1 and a pair of legacy devices that do not support CIP security assigned to Zone 2. In addition, a zone-to-zone conduit is configured to allow communication between the zones”; also, see [0113]).
As to claim 17, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method claim 7, Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimoda (US 20170139390) teaches a table comprising a configuration of a PLC, PLC devices, PLC assets comprising device name and functions, (see Fig. 4 and Fig. 5), wherein sheets are used for the configuration data, wherein templates logic are generated including commands/routines to be performed by the PLC system (see claim 1).
Uchida (US 20150220076) teaches a configuration tool comprising receiving configuration data (See Fig. 4 data 70 and 80), the configuration data describing PLC devices, PLC assets, zones/areas/stations, determining templates based on the configuration data and generating logic for a process (see Fig. 9; also, see 0021, 0050-0057).
Garg (US 20130345829) teaches an industrial a control system wherein the PLC assets or devices are configured to include slot, IP address, identification and device name, also the program is implemented using Add-on instructions (0029).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117