DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The limitation “10 to 80” degrees should be added to the specifications as the range is not included in the applicant’s specifications which discloses a range of “10 to 60” degrees in paragraph [0022].
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim features an improper singular term to address the range “10 to 80 degree” rather than “10 to 80 degrees” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation "a threshold value is set", and the claim also recites “in particular the threshold value is in the range of 10 to 80 degree[s]” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites the limitation “conducing the method.” The word conducing, from a brief search means “to help make a particular situation happen” which is indefinite. Replacement of the word “conducing” to “performing” is recommended to overcome this rejection.
Claim 11 is rejected for its dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Step 1: claim 1 recites a method which is within the four statutory categories, and so analysis proceeds to step 2.
Step 2A, Prong 1: See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) .I.C. The independent claim 1 recites the limitation “computing the machining toolpath…wherein the machining toolpath includes a plurality of laser head positions.” This is a mental process which is an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: See MPEP 2106.05(g). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because: The following limitations amount to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. That is, the outcome of these limitations in the claim is to use these values to compute the machining toolpath. It is not possible to perform the calculation of the machining path without this data gathering: “obtaining part data”, “obtaining image data”, “obtaining a specified machine stroke”, and “obtaining the part positioning data”.
Step 2B: See MPEP 2106.05.I.A. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception because:
There is no improvement to the functioning of a computer
There is no improvement to the functioning of the laser machine tool/ laser machining process, at least because the machining is not performed.
The method has no particular improved arrangement of the laser components.
No article is transformed to a different state or thing as a result/ application of the abstract idea, at least because the machining is not performed.
The components of the machining tool do not have a non-convention and non-generic arrangement
The abstract idea is not a basis for any further method step action, operation, or arrangement of parts.
Claims 2-11 correspond substantially, as dependents of Claim 1 and are rejected for the sane reasons. The dependent claims recite additional data gathering and mental processes, and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Furthermore:
Regarding Claim 8: Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 in view of Step 1. “a computer-program product is not one of the 4 statutory categories.
Regarding Claim 9: Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reason as Claim 1. Overcoming the 101 rejection of Claim 9 would require the claim being amended to recite that the medium is “non-transitory.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conseil (US 20160207141 A1) in View of Icam (WO 2015/013800):
Regarding Claim 1: Conseil teaches a method for computing a machining toolpath (“repositioning [points that result from] movements of the laser head” [0051] which are necessary in order to achieve the desired ablation of the part) applied for laser machining process (“laser ablation method [0051]), in which a laser beam (“laser beam” [0004]) is emitted by a laser head (“laser head” [0004]] Figure 1 Element 1) installed in a laser machine tool (“machine” [0004]) for ablating the material of a part (“workpiece surface” [0007]) for forming a pattern (“texture” [0023]) thereon comprising:
a. obtaining part data defining the geometry of the part (model of “3-D surface of a solid workpiece” [0015]));
b. obtaining image data (“the texture to be applied is typically defined as [a] grey level image” [0023]) defining the pattern to be machined on the part by ablating the material of the part;
e. computing the machining toolpath (“repositioning [points that result from] movements of the laser head” [0051] which are necessary in order to achieve the desired ablation of the part) a based on the part data (model of “3-D surface of a solid workpiece” [0015]), the image data (“the texture to be applied is typically defined as [a] grey level image” [0023]), the part positioning data (“surface points to be ablated…for the machining workpiece surface” [0053]) by a computer (“computer” [0015]), wherein the machining toolpath includes a plurality of laser head positions (a set of “repositioning [points that result from] movements of the laser head” [0051])
Conseil does not teach that the method comprises obtaining a specified machine stroke defining the maximum movement of one axis of the machine tool, that the machining toolpath is computed based on the specified machine stroke, or obtaining part positioning data defining the position of the part to be mounted in the machining area of the machine tool.
Icam teaches a method of a generating positing path data for a computer numerical control (CNC) machine, which is considered analogous art as it addresses the “relative motion between [a] workpiece and [a] cutting tool” (Pg 1 Lines 11-12), comprising a method for optimizing the path for movement of the tool which is pertinent to the problem at hand and equally applicable in the context of laser ablation as well as CNC machining. Icam discloses a method for computing a machining toolpath (“method [ for] generating a control program for a multi-axis numerically controlled (NC) machine that automatically determines…positioning paths of a tool”(Pg. 1 Lines 4-6)) wherein the computation of the machine path (“optimized positing paths” Abstract) is based on a specified machine stroke (“machine axis travel limits” Abstract) defining the maximum movement of one axis of the machine tool (“machine axis travel limits” Abstract).
Icam also teaches obtaining part positioning data defining the position of the part to be mounted in the machining area of the machine tool (“the workpiece 118 is positioned on a machine table 116 in a known location allowing translation of the workpiece coordinates Xw 120, Yw 122, Zw 124 to the machine coordinates to allow machining of the workpiece.” Pg. 1 Lines 26-28)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Conseil such that a maximum stroke and part positioning data are considered/ obtained in the determination of the machining path as disclosed by Icam in order to determine an “optimized positioning” path (Abstract) path and provide a method that allows for “ automatically generating safe multi-axis positioning paths, which are collision-free based on the actual machine tool kinematics, dynamically changing-in process stock, workpiece setups/fixtures, and machining environment” Pg 14 Lines 15-18)
Regarding Claim 2: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches the following:
a. defining a plurality of machining layers (Conseil- “one or more layers” Claim 1) to be machined based on the part data and the image data;
b. defining for each machining layer a plurality of patches (Conseil- “wherein [each] defined layer (17.1, 17.2) to be machined is subdivided into two or more patches” Claim 1) based on the part data and the image data, each patch being machined by the laser head from a single laser head position (Conseil- “repositioning movements of the laser head for every patch” [0051]);
c. calculating a laser head position for each patch (Conseil- “repositioning movements of the laser head for every patch” [0051] which indicates that this calculation is performed by the system) based on the part data, the image data and the part positioning data;
d. comparing the laser head position of each patch with the specified machine stroke (Icam- “optimizing a travel time of the positioning path by reducing the first distance and second distance without causing the initial positioning path to violate the machining constraints” Claim 3 by assessing whether a toolpath is valid or invalid and discloses that “for example, tool paths may be invalid if they move more than the maximum travel amount [or travel limit] for an axis” Pg 13 Lines 25-28) and
e. recalculating the laser head position, if the laser head position exceeds the specified machine stroke (Icam – invalid paths “are identified and removed…since the positioning paths will be automatically generated” Pg 15 lines 21-22)
{Examiners Notice for Claims 3-6: MPEP Section 2111.04 States that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B}
Regarding Claim 3: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches that for each patch (Conseil- “repositioning movements of the laser head for every patch” [0051]) a machining direction is defined (Conseil- “direction” [0004]) and if the laser head position exceeds the specified machine stroke, a minimum deviation is applied to the machining direction such that the laser head position is within the specified machine stroke (Given that the previous elements of the method claims are contingent claims, the proceeding steps are not given patentable weight under Broadest Reasonable interpretation. However, the examiner notes that Ican enables “automatically generating safe multi-axis positioning paths, which are collision-free based on the actual machine tool kinematics, dynamically changing-in process stock, workpiece setups/fixtures, and machining environment” Pg 14 Lines 15-18, which supports that Icam would not encounter this alternative limitation).
Regarding Claim 4: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches the method of Claim 3 on which claim 4 depends, wherein a threshold value is set for the deviation of machining direction, in particular the threshold value is in the range of 10 to 80 degrees (Given that the previous elements of the method claims are contingent claims, the proceeding steps are not considered under Broadest Reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 5: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches the method of Claim 3 on which claim 5 depends, wherein if the deviation of the machining direction for one patch exceeds the threshold value, the patch is divided into at least two patches (Given that the previous elements of the method claims are contingent claims, the proceeding steps are not considered under Broadest Reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 6: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches the method of Claim 2 on which claim 6 depends, wherein if laser head position of at least one patch exceeds the specified machine stroke, the laser head positions of all patches are recalculated (Given that the previous elements of the method claims are contingent claims, the proceeding steps are not considered under Broadest Reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 8: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches a computer-program product comprising instructions (Conseil “software”[0016] executed by a“[laser ablation] machine control system” [0014]), which, when the program is executed by a computer (Conseil- “computer” [0015]), cause the computer to implement the steps of the method according to one of claim 1 (See section regarding Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (Conseil “software” [0016], which when the program is executed by a computer (Conseil- “computer” [0015]), cause the computer to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1 (See section regarding Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 10: Conseil as modified by Icam further teaches a method for machining a part (Conseil -“workpiece surface” [0007]) by laser machining process (Conseil- “laser ablation method [0051]), in which a laser beam (Conseil- “laser beam” [0004]) is emitted by a laser head (Conseil- “laser head” [0004]] Figure 1 Element 1) installed in a laser machine tool (Conseil- “machine” [0004]) for ablating the material of a part for forming a pattern (Conseil- “texture” [0023]) thereon comprising:
a. conducing the method according to claim 1 by a computer (Conseil- “computer” [0015];
b. mounting the part in the machine tool (The method of Conseil as modified by Aiken inherently requires the mounting of the part in the machine tool as the method requires that the “workpieces [be] situated within the machine” [0004]); and
c. machining the part (Conseil-engraving the “workpiece surface” [0007]) by controlling the laser head to the determined laser head positions (Conseil- “repositioning [points that result from] movements of the laser head” [0051] which are necessary in order to achieve the desired ablation of the part).
Regarding Claim 11: The method according to claim 10, wherein the part positioning data (Conseil-model of “3-D surface of a solid workpiece” [0015]) is displayed on the machine tool (Conseil- via the computer portion of the “machine” [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 7: The above combination of Conseil in view of Icam teaches calculating an initial laser head position (Icam - “starting position” [0006]) in relation to the part (Conseil-“workpiece surface” [0007]) for machining based on the part data (Conseil- model of “3-D surface of a solid workpiece” [0015]) and the image data (Conseil- “the texture to be applied is typically defined as [a] grey level image” [0023]). The combination does not teach that the method comprises calculating a required machine stroke, which is the maximum movement of an axis needed to allow for positioning the laser head at the initial laser head positions calculated for all patches; calculating an optimum part position based on the required machine stroke and recalculating the laser head positions for all patches using the optimum part position. Additionally, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination with these features.
Conclusion
/SOLAN OLIVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/TOPAZ L. ELLIOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761