Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wee (US 8076950 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wee teaches a sensor system and method for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe, the sensor system and method comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe, and a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe (col. 1 lines 19-21, “The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for measuring the water conductivity and water volume fraction of a multiphase mixture in a pipe.”; col. 4 lines 1-13, “a. electromagnetic phase measurements at least two measurement frequencies are performed between two receiving antennas located at different distances from a sending antenna, b. based on empirically determined constant(s) and the above measurements, the real and imaginary dielectric constants are determined, c. the temperature and pressure are determined d. based on the knowledge of the real and imaginary dielectric constants of the components of the fluid mixture and the result from the above steps a-c, the conductivity of the water and/or the volume fraction of water are determined.”; calculating dielectric constant of water through reflected radio signals involves measuring radio wave strength; Figs. 11 and 13, graphs of measured water fraction as a function of conductivity).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wee teaches a sensor system and method for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe, the sensor system and method comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe, a temperature acquisition part configured to measure a temperature in the inside of the pipe, and a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver, the temperature, and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe (col. 1 lines 19-21, “The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for measuring the water conductivity and water volume fraction of a multiphase mixture in a pipe.”; col. 4 lines 1-13, “a. electromagnetic phase measurements at least two measurement frequencies are performed between two receiving antennas located at different distances from a sending antenna, b. based on empirically determined constant(s) and the above measurements, the real and imaginary dielectric constants are determined, c. the temperature and pressure are determined d. based on the knowledge of the real and imaginary dielectric constants of the components of the fluid mixture and the result from the above steps a-c, the conductivity of the water and/or the volume fraction of water are determined.”; calculating dielectric constant of water through reflected radio signals involves measuring radio wave strength; Figs. 11 and 13, graphs of measured water fraction as a function of conductivity).
Regarding claim 3, Wee teaches the sensor system according to claim 2,
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature (col. 5 lines 35-47, “2) Based on a determination of temperature and pressure and knowledge of the complex dielectric constant of water and hydrocarbon, the water fraction is calculated for all measurement frequencies for a wide range of possible water conductivities. 3) The value of the water conductivity that provides the same water volume function measurement for all measurement frequencies of pt. 2 is determined, and is a measure of the conductivity of the water within the pipe. 4) The mean water volume fraction measurement for all measurement frequencies is calculated using the water conductivity value obtained in pt. 3. This represents a measure of the water volume fraction within the pipe.”; col. 8 lines 10-16, “However, since the water fraction is independent of both water conductivity and measurement frequency, the water conductivity can be determined by performing a water fraction measurement at least two different measurement frequencies and adjusting the water conductivity of equation 9 until the water fraction calculated according to equation 11 gives the same value at all measurement frequencies.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Wee teaches a sensor system and method for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe, the sensor system and method comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe; a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe, a pressure acquisition part configured to measure a pressure in the inside of the pipe, and a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver, the pressure, and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe (col. 1 lines 19-21, “The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for measuring the water conductivity and water volume fraction of a multiphase mixture in a pipe.”; col. 4 lines 1-13, “a. electromagnetic phase measurements at least two measurement frequencies are performed between two receiving antennas located at different distances from a sending antenna, b. based on empirically determined constant(s) and the above measurements, the real and imaginary dielectric constants are determined, c. the temperature and pressure are determined d. based on the knowledge of the real and imaginary dielectric constants of the components of the fluid mixture and the result from the above steps a-c, the conductivity of the water and/or the volume fraction of water are determined.”; calculating dielectric constant of water through reflected radio signals involves measuring radio wave strength; Figs. 11 and 13, graphs of measured water fraction as a function of conductivity).
Regarding claim 5, Wee teaches the sensor system according to claim 4,
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the pressure (col. 5 lines 35-47, “2) Based on a determination of temperature and pressure and knowledge of the complex dielectric constant of water and hydrocarbon, the water fraction is calculated for all measurement frequencies for a wide range of possible water conductivities. 3) The value of the water conductivity that provides the same water volume function measurement for all measurement frequencies of pt. 2 is determined, and is a measure of the conductivity of the water within the pipe. 4) The mean water volume fraction measurement for all measurement frequencies is calculated using the water conductivity value obtained in pt. 3. This represents a measure of the water volume fraction within the pipe.”; col. 8 lines 10-16, “However, since the water fraction is independent of both water conductivity and measurement frequency, the water conductivity can be determined by performing a water fraction measurement at least two different measurement frequencies and adjusting the water conductivity of equation 9 until the water fraction calculated according to equation 11 gives the same value at all measurement frequencies.”).
Regarding claim 6, the sensor system according to claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio from the radio wave strength (col. 8 lines 38-44, “The frequencies should also be selected such that there is sufficient difference in the imaginary part of the dielectric constant between the highest and lowest frequency such that the slope of the water fraction measurement vs. conductivity curve, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 13, differs sufficient to obtain the required sensitivity on the water fraction standard deviation calculation of FIGS. 12 and 14.”; Figs. 11 and 13, multiple curves of water fraction vs. conductivity for different frequencies).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Wee teaches a sensor system and method for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe, the sensor system and method comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe, a temperature acquisition part configured to measure a temperature in the inside of the pipe, a pressure acquisition part configured to measure a pressure in the inside of the pipe, a flow velocity acquisition part configured to measure a flow velocity of a liquid-phase flowing through the pipe, and a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver, the temperature, the pressure, and the flow velocity (col. 1 lines 19-21, “The present invention relates to a method and apparatus for measuring the water conductivity and water volume fraction of a multiphase mixture in a pipe.”; col. 1 line 66 – col. 2 line 3, “A multiphase flow meter utilizing the present invention is capable of measuring the conductivity and salinity of the water fraction and hence providing reliable measurements of the oil, water and gas flow rates even for wells or commingled flow lines with changing water salinity over time.”; col. 4 lines 1-13, “a. electromagnetic phase measurements at least two measurement frequencies are performed between two receiving antennas located at different distances from a sending antenna, b. based on empirically determined constant(s) and the above measurements, the real and imaginary dielectric constants are determined, c. the temperature and pressure are determined d. based on the knowledge of the real and imaginary dielectric constants of the components of the fluid mixture and the result from the above steps a-c, the conductivity of the water and/or the volume fraction of water are determined.”; calculating dielectric constant of water through reflected radio signals involves measuring radio wave strength).
Regarding claim 8, Wee teaches the sensor system according to claim 7,
wherein the controller is configured to infer a flow regime in the inside of the pipe based on the temperature, the pressure, and the flow velocity, and calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on the inferred flow regime and the radio wave received by the receiver (col. 4 lines 1-13, “a. electromagnetic phase measurements at least two measurement frequencies are performed between two receiving antennas located at different distances from a sending antenna, b. based on empirically determined constant(s) and the above measurements, the real and imaginary dielectric constants are determined, c. the temperature and pressure are determined d. based on the knowledge of the real and imaginary dielectric constants of the components of the fluid mixture and the result from the above steps a-c, the conductivity of the water and/or the volume fraction of water are determined.”; calculating dielectric constant of water through reflected radio signals involves measuring radio wave strength; Figs. 11 and 13, graphs of measured water fraction as a function of conductivity).
Regarding claim 9, Wee teaches the sensor system according to claim 8,
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio (col. 8 lines 38-44, “The frequencies should also be selected such that there is sufficient difference in the imaginary part of the dielectric constant between the highest and lowest frequency such that the slope of the water fraction measurement vs. conductivity curve, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 13, differs sufficient to obtain the required sensitivity on the water fraction standard deviation calculation of FIGS. 12 and 14.”; Figs. 11 and 13, multiple curves of water fraction vs. conductivity for different frequencies).
Regarding claim 10, Wee teaches the sensor system according to claim 7,
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature or the pressure (col. 5 lines 35-47, “2) Based on a determination of temperature and pressure and knowledge of the complex dielectric constant of water and hydrocarbon, the water fraction is calculated for all measurement frequencies for a wide range of possible water conductivities. 3) The value of the water conductivity that provides the same water volume function measurement for all measurement frequencies of pt. 2 is determined, and is a measure of the conductivity of the water within the pipe. 4) The mean water volume fraction measurement for all measurement frequencies is calculated using the water conductivity value obtained in pt. 3. This represents a measure of the water volume fraction within the pipe.”; col. 8 lines 10-16, “However, since the water fraction is independent of both water conductivity and measurement frequency, the water conductivity can be determined by performing a water fraction measurement at least two different measurement frequencies and adjusting the water conductivity of equation 9 until the water fraction calculated according to equation 11 gives the same value at all measurement frequencies.”).
Conclusion
/ERIC K HODAC/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648