Response to Amendment
The amendments filed April 20, 2026 have been filed. Claims 1-14 remain pending in this application. Claims 1-2, 4, and 11-13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed April 20, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4, 7, and 11-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Wee (US 20070124091 A1). Examiner notes that hereinafter, Wee refers to the document with the Document ID US 20070124091 A1, which is different from the document referred to with the same inventor’s name in the Non-Final Rejection filed February 2, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wee (US 20070124091 A1) in view of Parker et al. (US 10533955 B2), hereinafter Parker.
Regarding claim 1, Wee teaches a sensor system for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”; Fig. 2, sensor system), the sensor system comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “The antennas 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, as can be seen in more detail in FIG. 4, are in effect coaxial conductors that are inserted into the pipe designed such that the centre conducting wire 22 which is isolated from the pipe wall 24 by a dielectric material 23 such as plastic or ceramic. Three of the antennas are in this example used as transmitters, and are therefore given prefix a Tx, and three of the antennas are used as receivers and are therefore given a prefix Rx.”; para. 65, “A measurement of the permittivity within the pipe performed in the longitudinal direction of the pipe can be obtained by placing a microwave reflector 12, such as a cross or fin with a length of approximately 0.5 pipe diameters, at a predetermined distance from the transmitting antenna. Such an arrangement is shown in FIG. 13 where a microwave reflector 12 is placed upstream the transmitting antenna Tx3 19.”), and
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a permittivity of the radio wave received by the receiver and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (para. 1, “The present invention relates to a method and flow meter for determining the composition and flow rates of individual components of a multiphase fluid, as defined in the preambles of claims 1 and 12, respectively.”; Examiner is construing the flow meter of Wee as being a controller or at the very least comprising an implicit controller able to perform the cited method; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; para. 89, “The Bruggeman mixing equation relates the permittivity [dielectric constant] of a two component mixture to the volume fractions of the components. If the two component mixture is droplets as an inner phase dispersed in a continuous medium of an outer phase, the equation become:
; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver.
However, Parker teaches
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”; see col. 23 lines 1-18 for evidence that a controller performs this method).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 2, Wee teaches a sensor system for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”; Fig. 2, sensor system), the sensor system comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “The antennas 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, as can be seen in more detail in FIG. 4, are in effect coaxial conductors that are inserted into the pipe designed such that the centre conducting wire 22 which is isolated from the pipe wall 24 by a dielectric material 23 such as plastic or ceramic. Three of the antennas are in this example used as transmitters, and are therefore given prefix a Tx, and three of the antennas are used as receivers and are therefore given a prefix Rx.”; para. 65, “A measurement of the permittivity within the pipe performed in the longitudinal direction of the pipe can be obtained by placing a microwave reflector 12, such as a cross or fin with a length of approximately 0.5 pipe diameters, at a predetermined distance from the transmitting antenna. Such an arrangement is shown in FIG. 13 where a microwave reflector 12 is placed upstream the transmitting antenna Tx3 19.”),
a temperature acquisition part configured to measure a temperature in the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “An electronic system capable of transmitting and receiving a broadband signal [typical 10 Mhz-4,0 Ghz] on the various antennas, a computer and devices for measurement of temperature and pressure are also parts of the flow meter.”),
and
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a permittivity of the radio wave received by the receiver, the temperature, and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (para. 1, “The present invention relates to a method and flow meter for determining the composition and flow rates of individual components of a multiphase fluid, as defined in the preambles of claims 1 and 12, respectively.”; Examiner is construing the flow meter of Wee as being a controller or at the very least comprising an implicit controller able to perform the cited method; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; para. 89, “The Bruggeman mixing equation relates the permittivity [dielectric constant] of a two component mixture to the volume fractions of the components. If the two component mixture is droplets as an inner phase dispersed in a continuous medium of an outer phase, the equation become:
; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver.
However, Parker teaches
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”; see col. 23 lines 1-18 for evidence that a controller performs this method).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 4, Wee teaches a sensor system for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”; Fig. 2, sensor system), the sensor system comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “The antennas 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, as can be seen in more detail in FIG. 4, are in effect coaxial conductors that are inserted into the pipe designed such that the centre conducting wire 22 which is isolated from the pipe wall 24 by a dielectric material 23 such as plastic or ceramic. Three of the antennas are in this example used as transmitters, and are therefore given prefix a Tx, and three of the antennas are used as receivers and are therefore given a prefix Rx.”; para. 65, “A measurement of the permittivity within the pipe performed in the longitudinal direction of the pipe can be obtained by placing a microwave reflector 12, such as a cross or fin with a length of approximately 0.5 pipe diameters, at a predetermined distance from the transmitting antenna. Such an arrangement is shown in FIG. 13 where a microwave reflector 12 is placed upstream the transmitting antenna Tx3 19.”),
a pressure acquisition part configured to measure a pressure in the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “An electronic system capable of transmitting and receiving a broadband signal [typical 10 Mhz-4,0 Ghz] on the various antennas, a computer and devices for measurement of temperature and pressure are also parts of the flow meter.”), and
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a permittivity of the radio wave received by the receiver, the pressure, and a flow regime in the inside of the pipe, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (para. 1, “The present invention relates to a method and flow meter for determining the composition and flow rates of individual components of a multiphase fluid, as defined in the preambles of claims 1 and 12, respectively.”; Examiner is construing the flow meter of Wee as being a controller or at the very least comprising an implicit controller able to perform the cited method; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; para. 89, “The Bruggeman mixing equation relates the permittivity [dielectric constant] of a two component mixture to the volume fractions of the components. If the two component mixture is droplets as an inner phase dispersed in a continuous medium of an outer phase, the equation become:
; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver.
However, Parker teaches
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”; see col. 23 lines 1-18 for evidence that a controller performs this method).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 6, Wee in view of Parker teaches the sensor system according to claim 1, but Wee fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio from the radio wave strength.
However, Parker teaches
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio from the electromagnetic wave strength (col. 7 lines 25-28, “The calibration data may comprise a plurality of curves, each curve comprising the property of the electromagnetic field as a function of gas void fraction for a different water-cut value.”; Fig. 2, calibration plots for various water-cut values, said water-cut values dependent on the flow regime; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation of calculating a more accurate gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 7, Wee teaches a sensor system for measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”; Fig. 2, sensor system), the sensor system comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a radio wave to an inside of the pipe, a receiver configured to receive the radio wave from the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “The antennas 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 and 21, as can be seen in more detail in FIG. 4, are in effect coaxial conductors that are inserted into the pipe designed such that the centre conducting wire 22 which is isolated from the pipe wall 24 by a dielectric material 23 such as plastic or ceramic. Three of the antennas are in this example used as transmitters, and are therefore given prefix a Tx, and three of the antennas are used as receivers and are therefore given a prefix Rx.”; para. 65, “A measurement of the permittivity within the pipe performed in the longitudinal direction of the pipe can be obtained by placing a microwave reflector 12, such as a cross or fin with a length of approximately 0.5 pipe diameters, at a predetermined distance from the transmitting antenna. Such an arrangement is shown in FIG. 13 where a microwave reflector 12 is placed upstream the transmitting antenna Tx3 19.”),
a temperature acquisition part configured to measure a temperature in the inside of the pipe, a pressure acquisition part configured to measure a pressure in the inside of the pipe (para. 60, “An electronic system capable of transmitting and receiving a broadband signal [typical 10 Mhz-4,0 Ghz] on the various antennas, a computer and devices for measurement of temperature and pressure are also parts of the flow meter.”),
a flow velocity acquisition part configured to measure a flow velocity of a liquid-phase flowing through the pipe (paras. 74-75, “The sensor is used to measure the composition and velocity [liquid and gas] of the multiphase mixture. Below is a more detailed description of the equations involved. Hence the signal contains information about small variations such as small gas bubbles in the liquid phase or water droplets in the oil phase or oil droplets in the water phase that typical represents the velocity of the liquid, and large variations such as gas slugs that represent the velocity of the gas phase.”), and
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver, the temperature, the pressure, and the flow velocity (para. 1, “The present invention relates to a method and flow meter for determining the composition and flow rates of individual components of a multiphase fluid, as defined in the preambles of claims 1 and 12, respectively.”; Examiner is construing the flow meter of Wee as being a controller or at the very least comprising an implicit controller able to perform the cited method; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; para. 89, “The Bruggeman mixing equation relates the permittivity [dielectric constant] of a two component mixture to the volume fractions of the components. If the two component mixture is droplets as an inner phase dispersed in a continuous medium of an outer phase, the equation become:
; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver.
However, Parker teaches
a controller configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on a radio wave strength of the radio wave received by the receiver (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”; see col. 23 lines 1-18 for evidence that a controller performs this method).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 11, Wee teaches a method of measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”), the method comprising
transmitting a radio wave to an inside of the pipe and calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a permittivity of a reflected wave of the radio wave based on a flow regime, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (see paras. 60-65 for transmission and reception of a radio wave propagating inside a pipe; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave.
However, Parker teaches
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 12, Wee teaches a method of measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two- phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”), the method comprising
transmitting a radio wave to an inside of the pipe and calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a permittivity of a reflected wave of the radio wave based on a temperature in the inside of the pipe and a flow regime, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (see paras. 60-65 for transmission and reception of a radio wave propagating inside a pipe; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave.
However, Parker teaches
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 13, Wee teaches a method of measuring a gas-liquid ratio of a two-phase fluid flowing through a pipe (para. 69, “In order to calculate the oil, water and gas fractions in the cross section of the pipe, a measurement of the cross sectional density is also required.”), the method comprising
transmitting a radio wave to an inside of the pipe and calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a permittivity of a reflected wave of the radio wave based on a pressure in the inside of the pipe and a flow regime, the flow regime representing a flow state of the two-phase fluid (see paras. 60-65 for transmission and reception of a radio wave propagating inside a pipe; paras. 25-32, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, c. the permittivity of the flow mixture is calculated based on the results from steps a and b including correction for the degree of annular flow, d. the mixture density is measured and compensated for the degree of annular flow, e. the temperature and pressure are obtained, f. the velocity of liquid and gas are determined, and g. based on the knowledge of densities and permittivities of the components of the fluid mixture, and the result from the above steps a-f, the volume and mass flow rates of the gas and liquid or liquids of the fluid mixture are calculated.”; Wee’s detected permittivity, which influences received radio wave strength and the degree of annular flow [flow regime], is used to determine gas-liquid ratio), but fails to teach
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave.
However, Parker teaches
calculating the gas-liquid ratio from a strength of a reflected wave of the radio wave (see col. 2 lines 54-55 and col. 21 lines 44-53 for evidence that Parker’s electromagnetic beam/signal is a radio wave; col. 13 lines 36-53, “The beam of energy may comprise electromagnetic energy. […] The method may comprise measuring a value of a property of the beam of energy received by the detector. The property of the beam of energy may comprise at least one of a power, intensity and signal strength of the beam of energy. The property of the beam of energy may comprise a phase and/or a frequency of the beam of energy. The method may comprise determining a characteristic of the fluid such as a density or composition of the fluid from the measured value of the property of the received beam of energy.”).
Wee and Parker are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee with the teachings of Parker with the motivation that the high dielectric contrast of gas from liquids makes radio waves desirable for quantifying a gas-liquid ratio.
Claims 3, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wee in view of Parker and further in view of Gryzlov et al. (US 20240361166 A1), hereinafter Gryzlov.
Regarding claim 3, Wee in view of Parker teaches the sensor system according to claim 2, but fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature.
However, Gryzlov teaches
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature (para. 39, “The flow rates and the volumetric fractions of the multiphase fluid [106] are measured using the resonant frequency measurements, the NMR measurements, and the computer processor [705] [S306].”; Examiner is construing the computer processor 705 as being a controller or implicitly comprising a controller determining a gas-liquid ratio; para. 48, “Once the velocities and the volumetric fractions are determined, the flow rate of each phase may be determined. In further embodiments, the flow rate, velocity, and the volumetric fractions may be adjusted using temperature and/or pressure data obtained by the pressure and/or temperature sensor(s) [136]. In other embodiments, pressure and temperature measurements combined with a sample of the hydrocarbon composition may provide correction for fluid densities and viscosities and can be used to estimate the gas to oil ratio.”).
Wee, Parker, and Gryzlov are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of Gryzlov with the motivation of calculating a more accurate gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 5, Wee in view of Parker teaches the sensor system according to claim 4, but fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the pressure.
However, Gryzlov teaches
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the pressure (para. 39, “The flow rates and the volumetric fractions of the multiphase fluid [106] are measured using the resonant frequency measurements, the NMR measurements, and the computer processor [705] [S306].”; Examiner is construing the computer processor 705 as being a controller or implicitly comprising a controller determining a gas-liquid ratio; para. 48, “Once the velocities and the volumetric fractions are determined, the flow rate of each phase may be determined. In further embodiments, the flow rate, velocity, and the volumetric fractions may be adjusted using temperature and/or pressure data obtained by the pressure and/or temperature sensor(s) [136]. In other embodiments, pressure and temperature measurements combined with a sample of the hydrocarbon composition may provide correction for fluid densities and viscosities and can be used to estimate the gas to oil ratio.”).
Wee, Parker, and Gryzlov are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of Gryzlov with the motivation of calculating a more accurate gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 10, Wee in view of Parker teaches the sensor system according to claim 7, but fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature or the pressure.
However, Gryzlov teaches
wherein the controller is configured to correct the gas-liquid ratio based on the temperature or the pressure (para. 39, “The flow rates and the volumetric fractions of the multiphase fluid [106] are measured using the resonant frequency measurements, the NMR measurements, and the computer processor [705] [S306].”; Examiner is construing the computer processor 705 as being a controller or implicitly comprising a controller determining a gas-liquid ratio; para. 48, “Once the velocities and the volumetric fractions are determined, the flow rate of each phase may be determined. In further embodiments, the flow rate, velocity, and the volumetric fractions may be adjusted using temperature and/or pressure data obtained by the pressure and/or temperature sensor(s) [136]. In other embodiments, pressure and temperature measurements combined with a sample of the hydrocarbon composition may provide correction for fluid densities and viscosities and can be used to estimate the gas to oil ratio.”).
Wee, Parker, and Gryzlov are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of Gryzlov with the motivation of calculating a more accurate gas-liquid ratio.
Claims 8-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wee in view of Parker and further in view of De Paepe et al. (US 10330625 B2), hereinafter De Paepe.
Regarding claim 8, Wee in view of Parker teaches the sensor system according to claim 7,
wherein the controller is configured to calculate the gas-liquid ratio based on the inferred flow regime and the radio wave received by the receiver (Wee; para. 25, “The method according to the present invention comprises the following steps: a. electromagnetic loss and phase measurements are performed in at least two directions of the pipe, b. the degree of annular flow is determined based on the measurements of step a, […]”; para. 66, “FIG. 8 shows the measured phase difference vs. frequency for the sensor arrangement of FIG. 15 at low loss. The frequency location of the phase change 9 corresponds to the cut-off frequency of the wave-guide mode TE11 of the venturi throat 10. The frequency location of the phase change 13 of FIG. 8 corresponds to the first half-wave reflection between the transmitting antenna Tx3 19 and the reflector 12, which is above the cut-off frequency TE11 of the large pipe 11 and is a function of the permittivity inside the pipe. Similarly, the phase change 15 corresponds to the frequency of the first half-wave reflection between the transmitting antenna Tx3 19 and the reflector 12 which is above the cut-off frequency TM01 of the large pipe 11.”; para. 140, “Nevertheless, knowing the degree of annular flow in the middle of the pipe, it is possible to compensate the measurement to provide a more correct measurement of the cross-sectional liquid and gas ratio.”), but Wee fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to infer a flow regime in the inside of the pipe based on the temperature, the pressure, and the flow velocity.
However, De Paepe teaches
wherein the controller is configured to infer a flow regime in the inside of the pipe based on the temperature, the pressure, and the flow velocity (col. 6 lines 1-4, “The present invention also relates to a controller for controlling a system for determining a void fraction, the controller being programmed for performing a method as described above.”; col. 13 lines 42-48, “More particularly, based on a set of reference values obtained during test measurements at varying mass flux G and vapour fraction x, a flow regime can be discriminated by comparing the relative magnitude evolution over time of the void fraction dependent parameter with the obtained reference values and deriving based thereon a flow regime.”; flow regime depends on mass flux which is a function of flow velocity; col. 14 line 49 – col. 15 line 10, “The method according to the present invention further comprises the step 135 of determining an occurring multi-phase structure at a certain time or time interval. The method according to the present invention may further comprise the step of determining the temperature and/or pressure of the substance in the channel. Obtaining a relationship between the void fraction dependent parameter and the void fraction may then comprise obtaining the relationship corresponding with the determined temperature and/or pressure. […] The method according to the present invention may further comprise selecting substance properties, such as for instance the dielectric constant, corresponding with the determined temperature and/or pressure, and using said selected substance property in determining the void fraction dependent parameter and the relationship between the void fraction dependent parameter and the void fraction.”; Fig. 1, flow regime is determined based on void fraction dependent parameter which is dependent on temperature and pressure).
Wee, Parker, and De Paepe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of De Paepe through the simple substitution of Wee’s electromagnetic loss and phase-based annular flow degree determination with De Paepe’s mass flux-based and temperature and pressure-influenced flow regime determination.
Regarding claim 9, Wee in view of Parker and further in view of De Paepe teaches the sensor system according to claim 8, but Wee fails to teach
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio.
However, De Paepe teaches
wherein the controller is configured to select, based on the flow regime, a calibration curve to be used from at least two calibration curves for calculating the gas-liquid ratio (col. 6 lines 1-4, “The present invention also relates to a controller for controlling a system for determining a void fraction, the controller being programmed for performing a method as described above.”; col. 19 lines 55-66, “In the present example, use is made of a calibrated sensor for determining void fraction according to an embodiment of the present invention. First it will be illustrated how calibration is performed in the present example. Thereafter the obtained results will be discussed in more detail. By calibrating, the relationships between the measured capacity C and the void fraction ε for this sensor which are dependent on the multi-phase spatial distribution in the cross section of the channel between the electrodes is taken into account. Each relationship hence corresponding to a C-ε curve differs according to the multi-phase structure, and each set of relationships differs according to the flow regime. Hence, in the present example several calibration curves were determined, one for each multi-phase flow structure that occurs in the different flow regimes, so that these calibration curves could be taken into account, in agreement with an embodiment of the present invention.”).
Wee, Parker, and De Paepe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of De Paepe with the motivation of calculating a more accurate gas-liquid ratio.
Regarding claim 14, Wee in view of Parker teaches the method of measuring a gas-liquid ratio according to claim 11, but fails to teach the method further comprising
inferring the flow regime based on a temperature, a pressure, and a flow velocity of a liquid-phase in the inside of the pipe.
However, De Paepe teaches
inferring the flow regime based on a temperature, a pressure, and a flow velocity of a liquid-phase in the inside of the pipe (col. 6 lines 1-4, “The present invention also relates to a controller for controlling a system for determining a void fraction, the controller being programmed for performing a method as described above.”; col. 13 lines 42-48, “More particularly, based on a set of reference values obtained during test measurements at varying mass flux G and vapour fraction x, a flow regime can be discriminated by comparing the relative magnitude evolution over time of the void fraction dependent parameter with the obtained reference values and deriving based thereon a flow regime.”; flow regime depends on mass flux which is a function of flow velocity; col. 14 line 49 – col. 15 line 10, “The method according to the present invention further comprises the step 135 of determining an occurring multi-phase structure at a certain time or time interval. The method according to the present invention may further comprise the step of determining the temperature and/or pressure of the substance in the channel. Obtaining a relationship between the void fraction dependent parameter and the void fraction may then comprise obtaining the relationship corresponding with the determined temperature and/or pressure. […] The method according to the present invention may further comprise selecting substance properties, such as for instance the dielectric constant, corresponding with the determined temperature and/or pressure, and using said selected substance property in determining the void fraction dependent parameter and the relationship between the void fraction dependent parameter and the void fraction.”; Fig. 1, flow regime is determined based on void fraction dependent parameter which is dependent on temperature and pressure).
Wee, Parker, and De Paepe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electromagnetic multiphase flow measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wee in view of Parker with the teachings of De Paepe through the simple substitution of Wee’s electromagnetic loss and phase-based annular flow degree determination with De Paepe’s mass flux-based and temperature and pressure-influenced flow regime determination.
Conclusion
/ERIC K HODAC/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648