DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/23/2026 07/18/2024 05/17/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification, 45 pages, has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Specification, pages 1-2, the description of several Figures, FIGs. 15A and 15B, FIG. 16-FIG. 19, FIG. 21-FIG. 24, is identical, which is improper. Each Figure needs to be described individually and uniquely, and, the descriptions of Figures may not be identical, they need to be different, from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 20 recites: A station (STA) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the STA to: receive, from an access point (AP), while in a first power save mode, a first frame indicating downlink bufferable units (BUs) for the STA; and after receiving the first frame from the AP, switch to a second power save mode.
The scope of the claim is not commensurate with the scope of the enabling disclosure.
The claim covers all known and yet unknown embodiments. The disclosure only has enablement for specific embodiments. The claim needs to include the elements for an enabled embodiment.
See In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1998). See also MPEP § 2164.01(a) and § 2164.04. See also the, Supreme Court of the United States, decision, rendered on May 18, 2023, regarding, Amgen Inc., et al., Petitioners V. Sanofi, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “a third TIM element”, Claim 1 recites “a first traffic indication map (TIM) element”. There is no mention of a second TIM element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chitrakar (US 20210360522 A1).
Claim 1. Chitrakar teaches a station (STA) comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the STA to (FIG. 21): receive, from an access point (AP), while in a first power save mode, a first beacon frame comprising a first traffic indication map (TIM) element indicating downlink bufferable units (BUs) for the STA, wherein during the first power save mode the STA wakes to listen for beacon frames based on a first listening pattern ([0093] [0099]- [0102]); and after receiving the downlink BUs from the AP, switch to a second power save mode, wherein during the second power save mode the STA wakes to listen for beacon frames based on a second listening pattern ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 2. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein, according to the first listening pattern, the STA wakes to listen for beacon frames at least once during a listen interval ([0093] [0099]- [0102]).
Claim 3. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein, according to the second listening pattern, the STA wakes a pre-determined number of times to listen for consecutive beacon frames ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 4. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 3, wherein the pre-determined number of times is pre-configured in the STA and the AP ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 5. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein, according to the second listening pattern, the STA wakes to listen for consecutive beacon frames during a pre-determined interval ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 6. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 5, wherein the pre-determined interval is pre-configured in the STA and the AP ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 7. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 5, wherein the pre-determined interval comprises a number of beacon intervals or a number of listen intervals ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 8. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to transmit a frame to the AP to retrieve the downlink BUs ([0093] [0099]- [0102]).
Claim 9. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 8, wherein the frame to retrieve the downlink BUs comprises a power save poll frame ([0093] [0099]- [0102]).
Claim 10. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to switch a power management mode of the STA from an active mode to the first power save mode ([0093] [0099]- [0102]).
Claim 11. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to: receive a frame comprising a power management (PM) subfield; and switch the power management from the active mode to the first power save mode based on the PM subfield ([0093] [0099]- [0102]).
Claim 12. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the STA to switch to the second power save mode based on the downlink BUs comprising at least one latency sensitive BU ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 13. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to: transmit, to the AP, an association request frame comprising a first capability element; and receive, from the AP, an association response frame comprising a second capability element ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claim 14. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to receive, while in the second power save mode, a second beacon frame comprising a second TIM element indicating downlink BUs of latency sensitive traffic for the STA and a broadcast target wake time (TWT) element ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113] [0133] [0134] [0139]).
Claim 15. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 14, wherein the broadcast TWT element indicates at least one of: a restricted TWT (r-TWT) service period (SP) or a trigger-enabled TWT SP ([0004] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0099] [0108] [0113] [0133] [0134] [0139]).
Claim 16. Chitrakar teaches the STA of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the STA to: receive, while in the second power save mode, at least one beacon frame comprising a third TIM element; and in response to the third TIM element of each of the at least one beacon frame indicating no downlink BUs for the STA, switch from the second power save mode to the first power save mode ([0004] [0023] [0027] FIG. 19 [0053] [0069] [0093] [0095] [0099] [0108] [0113]).
Claims 17-19 are rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claims 1, 3 and 5.
Claim 20 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding elements in Claim 1.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claims:
KWON (US 20210385692 A1) [0004] [0065] [0066] [0068] [0087] [0090] [0096] [0097] [0099]
SAMPATH HEMANTH (CA 2911327 A1) Abstract
Beach (US 20030086443 A1) [0017]
PARK (US 20130114583 A1) [0045]
Choi (US 9538470 B2) Abstract
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HOOMAN HOUSHMAND whose telephone number is (571)270-1817. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8-5 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, AYMAN ABAZA can be reached at (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/H.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465