DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-15 and 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFadden et al. (US 2011/0035161)(“McFadden”), and further in view of Morys (US 2020/0057173)(“Morys”).
With regards to claim 1 and 11, McFadden discloses a detector system ([0334], FIG. 1), comprising:
a gamma sensor configured to generate a light signal in response to receiving gamma radiation ([0035]; “The plastic scintillator 40 receives Gamma (γ) Photons 20 and converts the Gamma Ray (γ) Photons 20, emitted by an ionizing radiation source, into Light Photons 21.”);
a photo multiplier tube (PMT) in optical communication with the gamma sensor ([0034]; “The sensor portion 10 includes, but not limited to, a plastic scintillator 40, photomultiplier tube 50,…”), wherein the PMT is configured to receive the light signal and generate a PMT signal in response to receiving the light signal ([0037]; “The Photomultiplier Tube (PMT) 50 is in optical communication with the plastic scintillator 40,… The PMT 50 produces charge pulses 23 in response to exposure to light photon pulses 21. These charge pulses 23 are proportional to the amplitude of the light photon pulses 21 received by the PMT 50.”);
a voltage source coupled to the PMT and configured to provide a supply voltage to the PMT, wherein a magnitude of the PMT signal depends on a magnitude of the supply voltage ([0034]; “…microprocessor or computing device 80, having main program 80M and high voltage control program 80H running therein.”)([0038]; “The High Voltage (HV) Control value 22 received by the PMT 50 controls the gain of the PMT 50 and, thus, controls the proportionality correlation between gamma energy received at the plastic scintillator 40 and the charge pulses 23 created by the PMT 50.”);
a temperature sensor ([0039]; thermistor that provides the internal temperature of the PMT 50; 65) positioned near the PMT 50 and configured to generate a temperature signal with a magnitude that varies with a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor, wherein the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is substantially equal to a temperature of the PMT ([0039]; “The PMT 50 also includes a thermistor 65 that provides the internal temperature of the PMT 50 to other external component(s). This temperature signal 24 is used to select a temperature-specific HV Control Value 22 and/or parameters, ...”);
a signal conditioner configured to modify a magnitude of the temperature signal to create a modified temperature signal ([0040][0041]; “The Photomultiplier Tube Base with Single Channel Analyzer (SCA) 60 converts the charge pulses 23 into Output 28 from Single Channel Analyzer (SCA) 56 …The Photomultiplier Base with SCA 60 amplifies the received charge pulse 23 by an amplifier 51, and measures the amplitude of the amplifier's Analog Pulse 23A (which is proportional to the gamma ray energy) and generates a standardized digital signal pulse or binary logic signal pulse…”);
a control circuit 70 coupled between the voltage source 80 and the signal conditioner 60 ([0034]; “The detector unit 15 includes targeted automated gamma spectroscopy (or TAGS) control module 70…”)[0044][0045][0049];
wherein the control circuit 70 is configured to receive the modified temperature signal [0039][0040] and generate a temperature output to the HV Control Program to select a temperature-specific HV Control Value [0044] for adjusting the magnitude of supply voltage based on the modified temperature signal [0044][0045][0049][0056][0057].
McFadden teaches of generating a temperature output to the HV Control Program to select a temperature-specific HV Control Value [0044] and further teaches “High Voltage Control value 22 is used to adjust the PMT's gain to match the PMT's gain determined during its calibration. Specifically, High Voltage Control value 22 adjusts the amplitude of the Charge Pulse 23 generated by the PMT 50.” [0056].
McFadden do not specifically disclose a control signal for adjusting the magnitude of supply voltage based on the modified temperature signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Morys discloses a gamma ray downhole logging system (Abstract) and a method of gamma ray downhole logging (FIG. 13). Morys teaches of a processor 24 that can provide a control signals to the temperature sensor 22 in addition to receiving temperature data. The processor 24 in conjunction with a memory 25 can control the high voltage power supply 18 to adjust the power provided to photomultiplier tube 19 ([0023], see also [0038][0039]).
In view of Morys, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TAGS control module, of McFadden, with the capability of sending a control signal to adjust the supply wherein the adjustment is based on temperature data from the temperature sensor. The motivation is to provide a control signal that can be used to initiate the adjustment of the PMT gain for calibration purposes and for temperature stabilization.
With regards to claim 2 and 12, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 11, wherein the control circuit generates the control signal with a magnitude that is dependent on a magnitude of the modified temperature signal. (McFadden; [0037][0039][0041][0044][0049])
With regards to claim 3, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the temperature signal comprises a voltage signal ((McFadden; [0039]; “This temperature signal 24 is used to select a temperature-specific HV Control Value 22…”)[0044][0049]), and wherein the signal conditioner is configured to amplify a difference between the temperature signal and a predetermined voltage to generate the modified temperature signal (McFadden; [0041][0042][0045][0049]).
With regards to claim 4 and 13, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 11, wherein the temperature signal comprises a voltage signal ((McFadden; [0039]; “This temperature signal 24 is used to select a temperature-specific HV Control Value 22…”)[0044][0049]), and wherein the signal conditioner is configured to attenuate the temperature signal (McFadden; [0038][0056]).
With regards to claim 5 and 14, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 11, wherein the magnitude of the PMT signal depends on the temperature of the PMT. (McFadden; [0039][0044][0055])
With regards to claim 6 and 15, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 11, wherein the magnitude of the PMT signal generated by the PMT depends on a magnitude of the light signal. (McFadden; [0035][0037][0038])
With regards to claim 7, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a cylindrical housing that contains the gamma sensor, the PMT, the temperature sensor, the control circuit, the signal conditioner, and the voltage supply. (Morys; [0028][0029]; downhole spectral gamma logging tool 61)
With regards to claim 9 and 17, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and 11, wherein the signal conditioner comprises:
an analog-to-digital converter for converting the temperature signal into a digital equivalent (McFadden; [0049]; “The TAGS Control Module 70 also does analog to digital conversion (ADC) 75 for converting temperature analog signal via link 30 to digital signal via link 36…”);
a data processing unit (McFadden; [0049]; TAGS Control Module 70) that is configured to process the digital equivalent to generate a digital equivalent of the modified temperature signal in response to the data processing unit executing instructions stored in memory (McFadden; [0046][0049][0066]); and;
a digital-to-analog converter for converting the digital equivalent of modified temperature signal into the modified temperature signal (McFadden; “…digital to analog conversions (DAC) 71, 72 and 73, DAC 71 converts HV Control signal 31 from HV Control Program 80H to analog HV Control signal 25, DAC 72 converts digital ULD threshold setting signal 32 from the Main Program 80M to analog ULD threshold setting 26,…”).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over McLaughlin, II (US 2019/0146027).
With regards to claim 18, McLaughlin II discloses a logging while drilling (LWD) tool ([0021] well logging or well bore tools) comprising:
a gamma sensor for generating a light signal in response to receiving gamma radiation ([0024]; “The light source 110 can be a luminescent material, such as a scintillator,…that can emit ultraviolet or visible light in response to absorbing targeted radiation, such as gamma rays,…”);
a photo multiplier tube (PMT) 130 for receiving the light signal and generating a PMT signal in response to receiving the light signal [0024][0025];
a temperature sensor ([0022]; optional temperature sensor 160, thermistor) [0045] positioned near the PMT 130 and configured to generate a temperature signal with a magnitude that varies linearly with a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor [0046][0047], wherein the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is substantially equal to a temperature of the PMT ([0022]; “… the temperature sensor 160 can be … on the semiconductor based photomultiplier 130, or within the semiconductor-based photomultiplier…”);
a first circuit for modifying the temperature signal to create a modified temperature signal ([0046]; The FPGA uses temperature information from the temperature sensor.)([0028]; processor 222);
a second circuit for generating a direct current (DC) power supply voltage for the PMT as a function of the modified temperature signal ([0027][0031]; “The bias voltage control circuit 154 can supply a bias voltage to the semiconductor-based photomultiplier 130 to set the gain for the semiconductor-based photomultiplier.”)
With regards to claim 19, McLaughlin II discloses the LWD tool of claim 18, wherein the temperature signal comprises a voltage signal [0047][0069], and wherein the first circuit is configured to amplify a difference between the temperature signal and a predetermined voltage to generate the modified temperature signal [0028][0034].
With regards to claim 20, McLaughlin II discloses the LWD tool of claim 19, further comprising a cylindrical housing that contains the gamma sensor, the PMT, the temperature sensor, the first circuit, and the second circuit. (The reference does not specifically disclose the claim, however, the reference does teach of well logging or well bore tools [0020]. These tools are commonly utilized in downhole drilling operations and their housings are known to be tubular/cylindrical which would allow for drilling operations and for the protection of sensitive gamma detection circuitry and accompanying electronic circuitry. It would have been obvious to utilize a cylindrical housing for the LWD tool for such purpose.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 8 and 16, McFadden, in view of Morys, discloses the apparatus and method of claim 1 and 11, wherein the signal conditioner comprises:
a first op-amp configured as a unity gain buffer for generating a buffered temperature signal as a function of the temperature signal;
a second op-amp configured as a differential amplifier for generating the modified temperature as a function of the buffered temperature signal.
With regards to claim 10, McFadden, in view of Morys, do not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises:
a summing circuit for adding the modified temperature signal and a divided version of the supply voltage to generate an added signal;
a compare circuit for comparing the added signal to a reference voltage;
wherein the compare circuit generates the control signal in response to comparing the added signal to the reference voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moteki et al. (US 2017/0160404)
Sonne (US 4,918,314)
Luo et al. (US 2016/0299251)
Fruehauf et al. (US 2025/0020820)
Sharpe (US 5,266,883)
Moake (US 5,525,797)
Sinclair et al. (US 2016/0025892)
Winemiller (US 5,461,230)
Galford et al. (US 2017/0276831)
Reed et al. (US 5,635,710)
Zhang et al. (US 9,024,264)
/HUGH MAUPIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884