DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 05/21/2026.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending; claims 1 and 13 are independent claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 05/21/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments/Remarks/Communication
a new ground of rejection is applied with new PriorArt that is necessitated based on the IDS), submitted on 05/21/2026, and updated PriorArt search related with the PriorArt identified in the submitted IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizzo et al (“Rizzo,” US 2014/0359064, published on 12/04/2014), in view of Oberheide (“Oberheide,” US 2017/0195123, published on 07/06/2017).
As to claim 1, Rizzo teaches a method (Rizzo: pars 0063, 0075; Fig 2, a system and method for routing and redirecting message/communication to secure data/media location with proper authentication), comprising:
receiving a first request for content from a client device, wherein the first request comprises a resource locator identifying a first server of a content distribution network (CDN) to deliver the content to the client device (Rizzo: pars 0041-0043, 0063, 0065, from a user terminal, client makes a request, to a proxy/routing entity, to access the content delivery network (CDN) for getting directed to resource, provided by the resource provider. Client’s request contains a Universal Resource Identifier (URI) [i.e. resource locator identifying a first server], and digital certificate/signature), and a first digital signature and a second digital signature (Rizzo: pars 0063, 0065-0066, the proxy performs a mutual authentication process with the user terminal to ensure that it is only accessible via legitimate trusted user terminals which are known to be secure [i.e. first digital information] and URI of media location [i.e., second signature]);
identifying an occurrence of an event that indicates a change in the delivery of the content for access by the client device (Rizzo: pars 0043, 0059-0050, 0063, a situation when the content of the becomes out of date, or subject to legal injunction [i.e., an example of occurrence of an event]. A situation where a Network Service Provider is provided with choice of CDN for monitoring and controlling access. In a specific situation, Network Service provider may require its customers to use a CDN other than the default CDN nominated by the Content Service Provider [i.e., other examples of occurrence of an event]);
responsive to identifying the occurrence of the event, generating a third digital signature associated with a changed delivery of the content for access by the client device (Rizzo: pars 0043, 0059-0050, 0063-0064, a redirection process from a default/original/first location to a second location is performed when one or more situation [i.e., above mapped situations] occurs in accessing media asset/resource. Causes a first media asset location associated with a first content delivery network to be converted/translated to a second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network, under the control of a proxy redirection server, Where the second media asset location containing information [i.e., a third digital signature] so that the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server); and
providing, to the client device, a new resource locator to access the content, the new resource locator, the first digital signature and the third digital signature (Rizzo: pars 0063-0064. the second media asset location containing information [i.e., a third digital signature] so that the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server. The redirection server only accepts requests from genuine user terminals that are known to be trusted, and upon authentication [i.e. first digital information], user terminal access media/resource at the associated redirected second location).
While Rizo discloses of signatures and digital certificate, and mutual authentication between the user terminal and first location or second location of the media asset/resource for allowing access, as addressed above, but does not clearly provide how the signature and certificates are structured with respect to media asset locator, and what are the information that are used for mutual authentication. Thus, Rizzo does not explicitly teach the limitations, a resource locator comprises a first digital signature and a second digital signature; and the new resource locator comprising the first digital signature and the third digital signature.
However, in an analogous art, Oberheide teaches the limitations, a resource locator comprises a first digital signature and a second digital signature; and the new resource locator comprising the first digital signature and the third digital signature (Oberheide: Abstract, pars 0045, 0047, authentication of one or more users attempting to access one or more service providers operating on a network. Where, a composite digital signature is created from combining the first and second partial digital signatures, and validating the composite digital signature is validated for authentication of user’s access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Oberheide with the method/system of Rizzo to include the limitation(s), a resource locator comprises a first digital signature and a second digital signature; and the new resource locator comprising the first digital signature and the third digital signature, where one would have been motivated for the benefit of structuring two digital signatures, one signature associated with the user who requesting to access media asset/content and another signature associated with a provider who provides the requesting media asset/content, so that a mutual authentication can be performed, even in a situation where the provider or location of the provider is changed because of a redirection event (Oberheide: Abstract, pars 0045, 0047).
As to claim 2, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 1,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein the first digital signature is generated from a first private key and the second digital signature is generated from a second private key, wherein the first private key and the second private key are different private keys, and wherein the first private key and the second private key are accessible by an authorizing data service, wherein the second private key, but not the first private key, is accessible by the CDN (Oberheide: 0032, 0045, for composite digital signature uses a first private key share and a second private key share, where two privates keys are stored at the two different system, Rizzo: pars 0063-0064, Where the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server for CDN connection ).
As to claim 3, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 2,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein the first request further comprises first parameters associated with the first digital signature and second parameters associated with the second digital signature, and wherein the first digital signature is generated based on the first parameters and the second digital signature is generated based on the second parameters (Oberheide: 0045, 0047, the composite digital signature is created from combining the first and second partial digital signatures, and for generating these signatures, the system uses a first private key share for first signature and a second private key share for second signature).
As to claim 4, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 3,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein generating the third digital signature associated with the changed delivery of the content for access by the client device comprises: adjusting, by the CDN, values associated with the second parameters, wherein the third digital signature is generated by the CDN using the adjusted values associated with the second parameters and the second private key (Oberheide: 0045, 0047, the composite digital signature is created from combining the first and second partial digital signatures, and for generating these signatures, the system uses a first private key share for first signature and a second private key share for second signature. Rizzo: pars 0063-0065, in the event of redirection, media asset location associated with the first content delivery network to be converted/translated to the second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network, under the control of a proxy redirection server, Where the second media asset location containing information so that the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server).
As to claim 5, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein identifying the occurrence of the event that indicates the change in the delivery of the content for access by the client device comprises: determining that a second server of the CDN is to deliver the content to the client device, wherein the new resource locator identifies the second server of the CDN (Rizzo: pars 0063-0065, in the event of redirection, media asset location associated with the first content delivery network to be converted/translated to the second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network, under the control of a proxy redirection server, Where the second media asset location containing information so that the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server).
As to claim 6, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 5,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein identifying the occurrence of the event that indicates the change in the delivery of the content for access by the client device further comprises: determining that the first server of the CDN is unavailable to deliver the content to the client device, wherein determining that the second server is to deliver the content to the client device is responsive to determining that the first server is unavailable to deliver the content to the client device (Rizzo: pars 0043, 0059-0050, 0063, the situation when the content of the becomes out of date, or subject to legal injunction. the situation where a Network Service Provider is provided with choice of CDN for monitoring and controlling access. In a specific situation, Network Service provider may require its customers to use a CDN other than the default CDN nominated by the Content Service Provider. Rizzo: pars 0063-0065, in the event of redirection, media asset location associated with the first content delivery network to be converted/translated to the second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network, under the control of a proxy redirection server, Where the second media asset location containing information so that the mutual authentication can be performed by the user terminal and the redirection server).
As to claim 7, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 5,
Rizzo and Oberheide teaches further comprising: receiving, by the second server of the CDN, a second request for the content from the client device, the second request comprising the new resource locator; validating the first digital signature and the third digital signature associated with the second request; and responsive to validating the first digital signature and the third digital signature, delivering the content from the second server of the CDN to the client device for consumption by a user (Rizzo: pars 0063-0065, the converted/translated to a second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network. The user terminal receives an instruction to generate a request [i.e., the second access request] identifying a second media asset location in the second content delivery network [i.e. comprising the converted/translated to a second media asset location]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 1,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein identifying the occurrence of the event that indicates the change in the delivery of the content for access by the client device comprises: determining that the delivery of the content by the first server is to be changed (Rizzo: pars 0043, 0059-0050, 0063, the situation when the content of the becomes out of date, or subject to legal injunction. the situation where a Network Service Provider is provided with choice of CDN for monitoring and controlling access. In a specific situation, Network Service provider may require its customers to use a CDN other than the default CDN nominated by the Content Service Provider).
As to claim 9, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 8,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein determining that the delivery of the content by the first server is to be changed further comprises: determining a change in a bit rate at which the content is to be delivered to the client device; and responsive to determining the change in the bit rate at which the content is to be delivered to the client device, adjusting a bit rate parameter, wherein the third digital signature is generated using the adjusted bit rate parameter (Rizzo: pars 0046-0047, the Network Service Provider CDN can enable video content streaming, and for video streaming, can require a relatively high bit rate over a relatively long period, and therefore, the Network Service provider's choice of CDN is facilitated).
As to claim 10, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 8,
Rizzo and Oberheide teaches further comprising: receiving a third request for the content from the client device, the third request comprising the new resource locator; validating the first digital signature and the third digital signature associated with the third request; and responsive to validating the first digital signature and the third digital signature, changing the delivery of the content from the first server of the CDN in view of the third request (Rizzo: pars 0063-0065, the converted/translated to a second media asset location associated with a second content delivery network. The user terminal receives an instruction to generate a request [i.e., the third access request, if there is a second redirection] identifying a second media asset location in the second content delivery network [i.e. comprising the converted/translated to a second media asset location]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 1,
Rizzo and Oberheide teaches further comprising: responsive to receiving the first request for the content from the client device, validating the first digital signature and the second digital signature associated with the first request; and responsive to validating the first digital signature and the second digital signature, delivering the content from the first server of the CDN to the client device for consumption by a user (Rizzo: pars 0041-0043, 0063-0064. the mutual authentication is performed by the user terminal and the redirection server with respect media asset location. In a case, there is no redirection needed, the mutual authentication is performed between the user terminal [i.e., involving first signature] and the CDN associated with the first/original media asset URI location [i.e., involving second signature]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Rizzo and Oberheide teaches the method of claim 1,
Rizzo and Oberheide further teaches wherein the content comprises a video item (Rizzo: pars 0017, 0045-0048, the media asset/content, including, data, audio, video files).
As to claim 13, the claim is directed to a system, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the scope of claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1.
As to claims 14-20, the claims are similar to the claims 2-8, respectively, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claims 2-8.
Conclusion
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439