Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takayama (PG Pub 2022/0223669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takayama teaches a display panel, the display panel having a first sub-edge (an edge of 30, figs. 2 and 4) extending along a first direction, the display panel comprising: a substrate (10); an isolation structure (30) arranged on a side of the substrate, a first opening being enclosed by the isolation structure; a light-emitting functional layer (EL1), at least part of the light-emitting functional layer being arranged in the first opening; and a first electrode (E21) arranged on a side of the light-emitting functional layer facing away from the substrate, the first electrode being connected to the isolation structure; wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the substrate has a first outer edge (an edge of 30) facing the light-emitting functional layer, the first outer edge comprises a first section, and an angle between an extension line of the first section and the first direction is greater than or equal to 0° (the angle between an extension of edge 30 and the same edge of 30 is zero) and less than or equal to 26°.
Regarding claim 2, Takayama teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises a data line (GL, figs. 1,2,4) and a scanning line (SL), one of the data line and the scanning line extends along the first direction, and the other extends along a second direction, and the first direction intersects the second direction.
Regarding claim 3, Takayama teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the first outer edge is a polygon in shape and comprises a plurality of sides with different lengths (paragraph [0029]), and the first section is the longest side of the plurality of sides with different lengths.
Regarding claim 8, Takayama teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the isolation structure comprises a first part (31, figs. 2 and 4) and a second part (32) sequentially arranged along a direction away from the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first part on the substrate is located within (figs. 2 and 4) an orthographic projection of the second part on the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Takayama teaches a display panel, comprising: a substrate (10, figs. 1,2,4); a data line (GL) and a scanning line (SL) that are arranged on a side of the substrate; an isolation structure (30) arranged on a side of the substrate, a first opening being enclosed by the isolation structure; a light-emitting functional layer (EL1), at least part of the light-emitting functional layer being arranged in the first opening; and a first electrode (EL21) arranged on a side of the light-emitting functional layer facing away from the substrate, the first electrode being in contact (fig. 4) with the isolation structure; wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the substrate has a first outer edge (an edge of 30) facing the light-emitting functional layer, the first outer edge comprising a first section, and an angle between an extension line of the first section and a first direction is greater than or equal to 0° (the angle between an extension of edge 30 and the same edge of 30 is zero) and less than or equal to 26°, wherein the first direction is an extension direction of any one of the data line and the scanning line.
Regarding claim 14, Takayama teaches the display panel of claim 13, wherein the first direction is the extension direction of the data line (figs. 1,2,4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama (PG Pub 2022/0223669 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Liu et al (PG Pub 2024/0306464 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Takayama remains as applied in claim 8.
Takayama further teaches the display panel of claim 8, wherein the first part (31, figs. 2 and 4) comprises a first side surface facing the first opening and overlapping with the first electrode, the second part comprises a second side surface facing the first opening, and an edge of the orthographic projection of the first part on the substrate is parallel (figs. 2 and 4) to an edge of the orthographic projection of the second part on the substrate, wherein an edge of the orthographic projection of the first part on the substrate coincides with the first outer edge (an edge of 30) ; or an edge of the orthographic projection of the second part on the substrate coincides with the first outer edge, and wherein the first part comprises a first cross section, the first cross section is perpendicular to a plane where the substrate is located.
Takayama does not teach the first cross section is a regular trapezoid in shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches the first cross section (200, fig. 2) is a regular trapezoid in shape, for the benefit of improving effectiveness of isolation (paragraphs [0244][0248]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the first cross section a regular trapezoid in shape for the benefit of improving effectiveness of isolation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7,10-12,15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach
“the first outer edge is not parallel to the second outer edge adjacent thereto” (claims 4 and 15).
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899