DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) based upon application EP22202774 filed in Europe on October 20, 2022.
With respect to instant claim 10, Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. EP22202774 and Application 18/390,310, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The limitations of claim 10 drawn to a hydroxyethyl cellulose concentration from 0.1% (w/v) to 4% (w/v) and hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose concentration from 1% (w/v) to 10% (w/v) were not included in the foreign priority documents nor the parent application. The priority date for claim 10 is the filing date, April 24, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are under consideration in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3-6, 8-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 4-6, 9, and 11 is a relative term, which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “preferably” in claims 3-6, 8, 10, and 15 the phrase “more preferably” in claims 5 and 10 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention or are merely set forth as examples. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20130150285, published June 13, 2013 (“Gold”; instant PTO-892).
With respect to claims 1-2, Gold teaches therapeutic compositions comprised of calreticulin or a functional fragment or derivative thereof for the treatment acute and chronic wounds ([0009], [0021], [0035], [0086]). Calreticulin can be embedded or complexed chemically or ionically to any polymer or natural matrix that can be applied to a cutaneous wound [0029]. The composition may further comprise hydrogels and hyaluronic acid [0155]. This composition of Gold can be administered topically [0157], which reads on instant claim 2.
Gold teaches that the calreticulin is human calreticulin [0109], which reads on instant claim 3. Also, Gold teaches rabbit calreticulin amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 [0109], which is 99% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see alignment, where Query 1 is instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and Sbjct 1 is Gold SEQ ID NO: 7), as in the SEQ ID NO: 1 limitation of instant claim 3.
For the topical application, the calreticulin composition can be administered at a range from about 0.001 mg to about 1 g per application [0154], which overlaps with the concentrations of instant claims 5-6.
Gold teaches that the topical formulation comprising calreticulin may be in sprayable form [0160] or applied as a gel [0155], which reads on instant claim 7.
The composition comprising calreticulin of Gold may be sterilized or mixed with preservatives [0160], which reads on instant claim 13. The composition of Gold may further comprise a growth factor [0021], antibacterial agents, or analgesics [0164], which reads on instant claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130150285, published June 13, 2013 (“Gold”) in view of Hui et al, published April 2, 2018 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of Gold are discussed above. Gold does not teach the limitations of instant claims 4, 8-12, and 15.
Hui et al teaches hydrogel compositions comprising the therapeutic agent acid fibroblast growth factor (aFGF), carbomer, and human serum albumin (pg 1661, section I; pg 1662, section 2.1), as in instant claims 8 and 11-12. aFGF promotes wound repair and improves the quality of wound healing (pg 1661, section I). In the aFGF composition, the concentration of the polymeric material carbomer is at 0.3-0.8 w % (Table 1 on pg 1662) and the concentration of 0.2% human serum albumin is 2 mg/ml (pg 1662, column 2, para 0) (Table 1 on pg 1662), which lie within the ranges polymeric material and serum albumin of instant claims 9 and 11, respectively.
The stability of the composition of Hui et al was assessed at -20 °C, 5 °C, and 25 °C (pg 1662, column 2, section 2.5), as in the storage temperatures of instant claim 15.
Although Gold nor Hui et al explicitly recite the limitation wherein the serum albumin protein is recombinant, it is the Office’s position that this species within the serum albumin protein genus can be at once envisaged from the prior art because the species within this genus (e.g., plasma derived and recombinant) are sufficiently limited and well delineated; see MPEP 2131.02(III) and In re Petering (wherein the courts determined that a reference describing a generic formula encompassing about 20 compounds was found to anticipate each of the 20 species without specifically naming them).
Given that Gold teaches a composition comprising calreticulin protein and polymeric materials for topical wound treatment and further given that Hui et al teach compositions comprising a therapeutic and carbomer hydrogel and serum albumin protein for topical wound treatment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the therapeutic aFGF of Hui et al with the calreticulin protein of Gold. The motivation comes from Hui et al, who teaches that the topically administered therapeutic composition further comprising carbomer and serum albumin achieved much better biostability than a composition without carbomer (pg 1667, Section 5). KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) discloses combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; the combination is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. It would have been within the technical grasp of the ordinary artisan to apply the calreticulin protein in the improved composition of Hui et al to obtain predictable results. Such amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to achieve predictable outcomes. In the absence of unexpected results or a teaching away in the prior art, the claims are obvious over the combined teachings of Gold and Hui et al.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130150285, published June 13, 2013 (“Gold”) in view of Hui et al, published April 2, 2018, as applied to claims 1-9 and 11-15 above, and further in view of Braund et al, published March 2007 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of Gold in view of Hui et al are discussed above. This combination of references does not teach a composition comprising calreticulin protein and the polymeric material hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose at a concentration from 1%-10% (w/v).
Braud et al teaches that hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (i.e. “Hypromellose”) has been used for years in sustained-release pharmaceutical products (pg 365, para 2). Braud et al teaches compositions comprising hypromellose and growth factor for the prolonged release of topically applied growth factors to an underlying wound (pg 368, para 0-1). The hypromellose gels comprised 7% w/v hypromellose (pg 368, para 1), as in the w/v of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose of instant claim 10.
Given that Gold in view of Hui et al teach a composition comprising calreticulin protein, a growth factor, and the polymeric material carbomer, and further given that Braud et al teaches compositions comprising hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose and growth factor for the topical delivery of a pharmaceutical product, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the polymeric material of Braud et al in the composition of Gold in view of Hui et al and have a reasonable expectation of successfully generating the claimed stabilized pharmaceutical formulation. The motivation to do so comes from Braud et al, who teaches that growth factors in chronic wound conditions are present at too low concentrations and need to be protected from premature clearance, hence the need to create sustained-release formulations (pg 367, para 1). The substitution of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose for carbomer would amount to the use of a known technique (i.e. the polymeric material of Braud et al) to improve a similar product (i.e. the product of Gold in view of Hui et al) in the same way, see MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/390,310 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same pharmaceutical composition comprising calreticulin protein and the same polymeric materials.
Claims 1-7 of ‘310 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising calreticulin of SEQ ID NO: 1 or recombinant calreticulin, at a concentration from 1 mg/ml to 10 mg/ml, and a polymeric material at a concentration from 0.5-10% (w/v/), wherein the composition is a hydrogel spray, as in instant claims 1-7. Claims 7-8 of ‘310 teaches the species of polymeric material and their concentrations of instant claims 8-10. Claims 9-10 of ‘310 teach the serum albumin limitations of instant claims 11-12, and claims 12-13 of ‘310 teach the preservatives and biologically active agents of instant claims 14-15. Claim 14 of ‘310 teaches the storage conditions of instant claim 14.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Jennifer Benavides
Examiner
Art Unit 1675
/JENNIFER A BENAVIDES/Examiner, Art Unit 1675