DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejections. See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DURGIN (US 2010/009955) in view of EXCOFFIER et al. (US 2024/0288567).
Regarding claim 1, Durgin discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising:
sending, by a terminal device, a first signal to a first network device through backscattering (abstract; p. [0029], [0041], [0044]; the tag (i.e., terminal) sends a reflected return signal that is backscattered and received by radio transceivers), wherein
a reception power of the first signal is used by the first network device to determine location information of the terminal device (p. [0030], [0045]-[0047]; the signal strength (i.e., received power) of the backscattered return signal is determined and used by the radio transceiver (i.e., network device) for determining location of the tag),
the first signal is a signal obtained after a second signal is backscattered by the terminal device (abstract; the radio transceivers transmit radio frequency signals (i.e., second signal) and the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal)).
But, Durgin does not particularly disclose the second signal carries identification information of the second signal.
However, in an analogous art, Excoffier teaches a second signal that carries identification information of the second signal (abstract, lines 5-14; p. [0017]-[0018]; an ambient signal is transmitted (i.e., second signal) over the wireless network by a communicating device, a tag, backscatters the ambient signal to form a backscattered signal (i.e., first signal), the ambient signal transmitted by the communicating device comprises a message containing the network identifier of the communicating device – p. [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Durgin with the teachings of Excoffier, since such a modification would allow to identify the source of the signals received by the tags and provide a backscattered signal including the received identification information (p. [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 1, Durgin discloses wherein the second signal is sent by the first network device (abstract; the radio transceivers (i.e., first network device) transmit radio frequency signals (i.e., second signal) and the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal)); or the second signal is sent by another network device.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 2, Durgin discloses wherein when the second signal is sent by the first network device, the reception power of the first signal being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device comprises: the reception power of the first signal and a transmission power of the second signal being used by the first network device to determine a distance between the first network device and the terminal device (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]; each radio transceiver is coupled to a computer having a location determination module, the location determination module can determine a distance by determining a signal strength (i.e., reception power) of the backscattered return signal); and the distance between the first network device and the terminal device being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device (p. [0046]; the determined distance is used to determine the location of the tag (i.e., terminal)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 2, Durgin discloses wherein when the second signal is sent by the first network device, the reception power of the first signal being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device comprises:
the reception power of the first signal and a transmission power of the second signal being used by the first network device to determine a distance between the first network device and the terminal device (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]; the location determination module is configured to determine a signal strength of the backscattered return signal (i.e., reception power of first signal) and compare it with the signal strength of the transmitted radio frequency signal (i.e., transmission power of the second signal) to determine the distance between the tag (i.e., terminal) and the radio transceiver (i.e., first network device)); and
the distance between the first network device and the terminal device being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device in combination with a distance between at least one additional network device and the terminal device (p. [0030], [0045], [0046]; where multiple radio transceivers (i.e., additional network device) are disposed about the area of interest, these distances can be used in a triangulation method to determine a location estimate of the tag (i.e., terminal)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 3, Durgin discloses wherein the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal being used by the first network device to determine the distance between the first network device and the terminal device comprises:
the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal being used by the first network device to determine a one-way transmission loss between the first network device and the terminal device (p. [0047]; a propagation loss (i.e., transmission loss) is determined based on received signal strength); and the one-way transmission loss between the first network device and the terminal device being used by the first network device to determine the distance between the first network device and the terminal device (p. [0047]; the propagation loss can be used to increase accuracy determination when the signals are triangulated).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 2, Durgin discloses wherein when the second signal is sent by a fourth network device (abstract; the plurality of radio transceivers transmits radio frequency signals, thus the second signal may be transmitted by another transceiver, e.g., 205 (i.e., fourth network device)), the reception power of the first signal being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device comprises:
the reception power of the first signal and a transmission power of the second signal being used by the first network device to determine the location information of the terminal device in combination with a location relationship between the first network device and the fourth network device (p. [0030]-[0031], [0043], [0046]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 7, Durgin discloses wherein the transmission power of the second signal is obtained by the first network device from the fourth network device or the transmission power of the second signal is obtained by the first network device from a control device, wherein the control device at least connects to the first network device and the fourth network device (Fig. 2, p. [0043]; each radio transceiver (i.e., first network device and fourth network device) is coupled to a computer 222 (i.e., control device)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 2, Durgin discloses wherein the second signal is used to supply power for the terminal device, or the second signal is used to trigger the terminal device to send a signal through backscattering (abstract; the tag backscatters a return signal in response to the radio frequency signals transmitted (i.e., second signal), thus the radio frequency signals is a trigger for sending the return signal), or the second signal is used to trigger a terminal group comprising the terminal device to send a signal through backscattering, or the second signal is a positioning signal, or the second signal is inquiry information used to inquire about a terminal device in a first area.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the method of claim 2, Durgin discloses wherein the first signal comprises at least one of: identification information of the terminal device (abstract; p. [0029], [0041]; the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal) having a unique identifier), identification information of the second signal, or a backscatter loss of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 12, Durgin discloses a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (p. [0026], [0027]; radio transceiver includes control circuit that includes a microprocessor), and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to:
receive a first signal sent by a terminal device through scattering (abstract; p. [0030], p. [0045]-[0047]; the radio transceiver 101 (i.e., first network device) receives a backscattered return signal (i.e., first signal) sent by a tag (i.e., terminal device)); and
determine a location information of the terminal device according to a reception power of the first signal (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]-[0046]; the signal strength (i.e., reception power) of the backscattered return signal is used to determine a distance between the tag and the radio transceiver, and along with other distances used to the determine the location estimate of the tags (i.e., terminal device)),
wherein the first signal is a signal obtained after a second signal is backscattered by the terminal device (abstract; the radio transceivers transmit radio frequency signals (i.e., second signal) and the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal)).
But, Durgin does not particularly disclose wherein the second signal carries identification information of the second signal.
However, in an analogous art, Excoffier teaches a second signal that carries identification information of the second signal (abstract, lines 5-14; p. [0017]-[0018]; an ambient signal is transmitted (i.e., second signal) over the wireless network by a communicating device, a tag, backscatters the ambient signal to form a backscattered signal (i.e., first signal), the ambient signal transmitted by the communicating device comprises a message containing the network identifier of the communicating device – p. [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Durgin with the teachings of Excoffier, since such a modification would allow to identify the source of the signals received by the tags and provide a backscattered signal including the received identification information (p. [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the network device of claim 12, Durgin discloses wherein the second signal is sent by the first network device (abstract; the radio transceivers (i.e., first network device) transmit radio frequency signals (i.e., second signal) and the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal)); or the second signal is sent by another network device.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the network device of claim 13, Durgin discloses wherein when the second signal is sent by the first network device, the processor configured to determine the location information of the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal is configured to: determine the location information of the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and a transmission power of the second signal (p. [0024], [0030]; the coarse location estimate can be determined from the difference in signal strength (i.e., power) between a signal transmitted from the transceiver (i.e., second signal) and the signal received from the tag (i.e., first signal)).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the network device of claim 14, Durgin discloses wherein the processor configured to determine the location information of the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal is configured to: determine a distance between the network device and the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]; the location determination module is configured to determine a signal strength of the backscattered return signal (i.e., reception power of first signal) and compare it with the signal strength of the transmitted radio frequency signal (i.e., transmission power of the second signal) to determine the distance between the tag (i.e., terminal) and the radio transceiver (i.e., first network device)); and determine the location information of the terminal device according to the distance between the network device and the terminal device (p. [0030], [0045], [0046]; the determined distance is used in a triangulation method to determine a location estimate of the tag (i.e., terminal)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the network device of claim 14, Durgin discloses wherein the processor configured to determine the location information of the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal is configured to:
determine a distance between the network device and the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]; the location determination module is configured to determine a signal strength of the backscattered return signal (i.e., reception power of first signal) and compare it with the signal strength of the transmitted radio frequency signal (i.e., transmission power of the second signal) to determine the distance between the tag (i.e., terminal) and the radio transceiver (i.e., first network device)); and
determine the location information of the terminal device according to the distance between the network device and the terminal device and a distance between at least one additional network device and the terminal device (p. [0030], [0045], [0046]; where multiple radio transceivers (i.e., additional network device) are disposed about the area of interest, these distances can be used in a triangulation method to determine a location estimate of the tag (i.e., terminal)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Durgin and Excoffier disclose the network device of claim 15, Durgin discloses wherein the processor configured to determine the distance between the network device and the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal is configured to:
determine a one-way transmission loss between the network device and the terminal device according to the reception power of the first signal and the transmission power of the second signal (p. [0047]; a propagation loss (i.e., transmission loss) is determined based on received signal strength); and
determine the distance between the network device and the terminal device according to the one-way transmission loss between the network device and the terminal device (p. [0047]; the propagation loss can be used to increase accuracy determination when the signals are triangulated).
Regarding claim 19, Durgin discloses a terminal device (Fig. 1, Tag 102), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (p. [0027]), and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory to perform the method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, Durgin discloses a chip, comprising a processor configured to invoke and execute a computer program from a memory to enable a device equipped with the chip (Fig. 1, radio transceiver 101 inherently includes a chip and microprocessor) to:
receive a first signal sent by a terminal device through backscattering (abstract; p. [0030], p. [0045]-[0047]; the radio transceiver 101 (i.e., first network device) receives a backscattered return signal (i.e., first signal) sent by a tag (i.e., terminal device)); and
determine location information of the terminal device according to a reception power of the first signal (p. [0030], [0043], [0045]-[0046]; the signal strength (i.e., reception power) of the backscattered return signal is used to determine a distance between the tag and the radio transceiver, and along with other distances used to the determine the location estimate of the tags (i.e., terminal device)),
wherein the first signal is a signal obtained after a second signal is backscattered by the terminal device (abstract; the radio transceivers transmit radio frequency signals (i.e., second signal) and the tag backscatters a return signal (i.e., first signal)).
But, Durgin does not particularly disclose wherein the second signal carries identification information of the second signal.
However, in an analogous art, Excoffier teaches a second signal that carries identification information of the second signal (abstract, lines 5-14; p. [0017]-[0018]; an ambient signal is transmitted (i.e., second signal) over the wireless network by a communicating device, a tag, backscatters the ambient signal to form a backscattered signal (i.e., first signal), the ambient signal transmitted by the communicating device comprises a message containing the network identifier of the communicating device – p. [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Durgin with the teachings of Excoffier, since such a modification would allow to identify the source of the signals received by the tags and provide a backscattered signal including the received identification information (p. [0017]-[0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643