DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolf (DE 10279181 B4) in view of Pfaltzgraff (US 20040134078 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rolf teaches a rotary apparatus for attachment to a rotating shaft, the rotary apparatus comprising:
a mounting base (8, see Figure 2) having a top side (top)and a bottom side (bottom), the mounting base comprising:
a mounting base circular plate (top of 8) disposed along the top side of the mounting base and defining a receptacle centrally located in the circular plate (see Figure 2-3); and a mounting base circumferential side wall (side wall of 13) connected to the mounting base circular plate and extending toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2-3), the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture (16) and a second aperture (16); and
wherein the first aperture is configured to create a first shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the left, see Figure 4), and the second aperture is configured to create a second shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the right, see Figure 4), wherein the first aperture includes a first engaging lip that is perpendicular to the first shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23), and the second aperture includes a second engaging lip that is perpendicular to the second shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23); and
an attachment (14 or 19, see Figures 2-3) having a top side and a bottom side, the attachment comprising: an attachment circular plate (bottom of 18) disposed along the bottom side of the attachment; and
an attachment circumferential side wall (24) connected to the attachment circular plate and extending toward the top side of the attachment; and
a first resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) and a second resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) each connected to the attachment circumferential side wall and extending beyond the attachment circumferential side wall toward the top side of the attachment (see Figure 2-4), wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip is partially defined by a pair of relief slots (slots between 23 and 24 on both sides, see Figure 3) disposed between the respective resilient retaining clip and adjacent portions of the attachment circumferential side wall (15/23, see Figures 2-3), and
wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip includes a straight arm portion and a head portion (head od 23 and straight arm, see Figure 4), the head portion including a slanted face (side slanted face, see Figure 4) and a resting lip (bottom flat portion, see Figure 4), and
wherein the first resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the first aperture such that the resting lip of the first resilient retaining clip rests on the first engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4), and the second resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the second aperture such that the resting lip of the second resilient retaining clip rests on the second engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4) so as to releasably fasten the attachment to the mounting base (see Figures 2-3).
Rolf fails to teach a first aperture and a second aperture each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base.
Pfaltzgraff teaches a vegetable cutting with the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture and a second aperture (space for 76, see Figure 2A) each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rolf to change the location of the apertures, as taught by Pfaltzgraff. Since the courts have been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 2, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a bump head attachment (10, see Figure 2) having trimming line and being configured to release a portion of the trimming line (see Figure 2 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 3, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a blade attachment (22, see Figure 3 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rolf further teaches the blade attachment comprises a non-metal material (plastic blade 22, paragraph 0020 of translation of Rolf).
Regarding claim 8, Rolf teaches an apparatus comprising:
a motor (7) configured to provide a rotating motion;
a rotating shaft (shaft connected to 1) configured to rotate from the rotating motion provided by the motor;
a mounting base (8, see Figure 2) having a top side (top)and a bottom side (bottom), the mounting base comprising:
a mounting base circular plate (top of 8) disposed along the top side of the mounting base and defining a receptacle centrally located in the circular plate (see Figure 2-3); and a mounting base circumferential side wall (side wall of 13) connected to the mounting base circular plate and extending toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2-3), the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture (16) and a second aperture (16); and
wherein the first aperture is configured to create a first shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the left, see Figure 4), and the second aperture is configured to create a second shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the right, see Figure 4), wherein the first aperture includes a first engaging lip that is perpendicular to the first shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23), and the second aperture includes a second engaging lip that is perpendicular to the second shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23); and
an attachment (14 or 19, see Figures 2-3) having a top side and a bottom side, the attachment comprising: an attachment circular plate (bottom of 18) disposed along the bottom side of the attachment; and
an attachment circumferential side wall (24) connected to the attachment circular plate and extending toward the top side of the attachment; and
a first resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) and a second resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) each connected to the attachment circumferential side wall and extending beyond the attachment circumferential side wall toward the top side of the attachment (see Figure 2-4), wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip is partially defined by a pair of relief slots (slots between 23 and 24 on both sides, see Figure 3) disposed between the respective resilient retaining clip and adjacent portions of the attachment circumferential side wall (15/23, see Figures 2-3), and
wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip includes a straight arm portion and a head portion (head of 23 and straight arm, see Figure 4), the head portion including a slanted face (side slanted face, see Figure 4) and a resting lip (bottom flat portion, see Figure 4), and
wherein the first resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the first aperture such that the resting lip of the first resilient retaining clip rests on the first engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4), and the second resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the second aperture such that the resting lip of the second resilient retaining clip rests on the second engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4) so as to releasably fasten the attachment to the mounting base (see Figures 2-3).
Rolf fails to teach a first aperture and a second aperture each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base.
Pfaltzgraff teaches a vegetable cutting with the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture and a second aperture (space for 76, see Figure 2A) each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rolf to change the location of the apertures, as taught by Pfaltzgraff. Since the courts have been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 9, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a bump head attachment having trimming line and being configured to release a portion of the trimming line (see Figure 2 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 10, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a blade attachment (22, see Figure 3 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rolf further teaches the blade attachment comprises a non-metal material (plastic, paragraph 0020 of the translation of Rolf).
Regarding claim 15, Rolf teaches an apparatus comprising:
a rotating shaft (shaft in 7) configured to rotate;
a mounting base (8, see Figure 2) having a top side (top)and a bottom side (bottom), the mounting base comprising:
a mounting base circular plate (top of 8) disposed along the top side of the mounting base and defining a receptacle centrally located in the circular plate (see Figure 2-3); and a mounting base circumferential side wall (side wall of 13) connected to the mounting base circular plate and extending toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2-3), the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture (16) and a second aperture (16); and
wherein the first aperture is configured to create a first shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the left, see Figure 4), and the second aperture is configured to create a second shortened side wall portion in the mounting base circumferential side wall (portion of side wall below 23 on the right, see Figure 4), wherein the first aperture includes a first engaging lip that is perpendicular to the first shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23), and the second aperture includes a second engaging lip that is perpendicular to the second shortened side wall portion (top flat portion of the side wall contacting to bottom of 23); and
an attachment (14 or 19, see Figures 2-3) having a top side and a bottom side, the attachment comprising: an attachment circular plate (bottom of 18) disposed along the bottom side of the attachment; and
an attachment circumferential side wall (24) connected to the attachment circular plate and extending toward the top side of the attachment; and
a first resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) and a second resilient retaining clip (23, see Figures 2-3) each connected to the attachment circumferential side wall and extending beyond the attachment circumferential side wall toward the top side of the attachment (see Figure 2-4), wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip is partially defined by a pair of relief slots (slots between 23 and 24 on both sides, see Figure 3) disposed between the respective resilient retaining clip and adjacent portions of the attachment circumferential side wall (15/23, see Figures 2-3), and
wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip includes a straight arm portion and a head portion (head od 23 and straight arm, see Figure 4), the head portion including a slanted face (side slanted face, see Figure 4) and a resting lip (bottom flat portion, see Figure 4), and
wherein the first resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the first aperture such that the resting lip of the first resilient retaining clip rests on the first engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4), and the second resilient retaining clip is configured to releasably lock into the second aperture such that the resting lip of the second resilient retaining clip rests on the second engaging lip (interaction at the bottom of 23, see Figure 4) so as to releasably fasten the attachment to the mounting base (see Figures 2-3).
Rolf fails to teach a first aperture and a second aperture each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base.
Pfaltzgraff teaches a vegetable cutting with the mounting base circumferential side wall defining a first aperture and a second aperture (space for 76, see Figure 2A) each extending from an intersection between the mounting base circular plate and the mounting base circumferential side wall toward the bottom side of the mounting base (see Figure 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rolf to change the location of the apertures, as taught by Pfaltzgraff. Since the courts have been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 16, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a bump head attachment (10, see Figure 2) having trimming line and being configured to release a portion of the trimming line (see Figure 2 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 17, modified Rolf further teaches the attachment includes a blade attachment (22, see Figure 3 of Rolf).
Regarding claim 18, modified Rolf further teaches the blade attachment comprises a non-metal material (plastic, see paragraph 0020 of the translation of Rolf).
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolf (DE 10279181 B4) in view of Pfaltzgraff (US 20040134078 A1) and in further view of Jerez (US 20200352095 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 12 and 19, modified Rolf further teaches the blade attachment comprises of plastic (paragraph 0020 of the translation of Rolf)
Modified Rolf fails to teach the blade attachment comprises metal.
Jerez teaches a lawnmower with a blade made of plastic of metal (paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rolf to make the blade metal, as taught by Jerez, in order to use the suitable material for cutting unwanted plants (paragraph 0006 of Jerez).
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rolf (DE 10279181 B4) in view of Pfaltzgraff (US 20040134078 A1) and in further view of Jerez (US 20200352095 A1) and in further view of Price (US 20020029483 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, modified Rolf further teaches a fastening mechanism for the blades (21, see Figure 3 of Rolf).
Modified Rolf fails to teach the mounting base further includes a threaded receiving hole, wherein the attachment includes a bolt hole, and a bolt disposed in the bolt hole (see Figure 1), and wherein the attachment is configured to releasably fasten to the mounting base such that the bolt can screw into the threaded receiving hole.
Price teaches the mounting base further includes a threaded receiving hole (114s, see Figure 2), wherein the attachment includes a bolt hole (hole for 40/46/52), and a bolt (40/46/52, which can be bolts with threads, paragraph 0031) disposed in the bolt hole (see Figure 1), and wherein the attachment is configured to releasably fasten to the mounting base such that the bolt can screw into the threaded receiving hole (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Rolf to change the fastening mechanism arrangement of Rolf into the thread system, as taught by Price, in order to better secure the blade to both the mounting base and attachment (abstract).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, modified Rolf further teaches two sets of blade arrangement at 180 degrees apart (see Figure 3).
Modified Rolf fails to teach the mounting base further includes a second threaded receiving hole and a third threaded receiving hole, wherein the threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle, wherein the second threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle, wherein the third threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle, wherein the threaded receiving hole, the second threaded receiving hole, and the third threaded receiving hole are equally radially disposed, wherein the threaded receiving hole is circumferentially separated from the second threaded receiving hole by 120° and is circumferentially separated from the third threaded receiving hole by 120°, and wherein the second threaded receiving hole is additionally circumferentially separated from the third threaded receiving hole by 120°.
Price further teaches the mounting base further includes a second threaded receiving hole (other 114) and a third threaded receiving hole (another 114, see Figure 2), wherein the threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle, wherein the second threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle (See Figure 2), wherein the third threaded receiving hole is disposed adjacent to the receptacle (see Figure 2), wherein the threaded receiving hole, the second threaded receiving hole, and the third threaded receiving hole are equally radially disposed (See Figure 1 and 2), wherein the threaded receiving hole is circumferentially separated from the second threaded receiving hole by 120° and is circumferentially separated from the third threaded receiving hole by 120° (see Figure 1 and 2), and wherein the second threaded receiving hole is additionally circumferentially separated from the third threaded receiving hole by 120° (see Figure 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Rolf to change the number of blade set arrangement from two to three, as taught by Price. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand that the number of blades is based on the want of the end user for the load on each blade during cutting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Issues regarding Pfaltzgraff (US 20040134078 A1) have been clarified.
In response to applicant's argument that modified Rolf fails to teach lip. The examiner disagrees and notes Rolf teaches wall on 13 flare out on the bottom (see Figure 2-3), thus in the side section view, the bottom surface of aperture 16 appears to be a flat lip surface, since lip extend out with respect to the top of the wall 13 (See Figure 4), and see remap about regarding lip limitation.
In response to applicant's argument that the location of aperture cannot be rearranged. The examiner disagrees and notes that Pfaltzgraff teaches the aperture starting from the to portion, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Rolf to change the location of the apertures, as taught by Pfaltzgraff. Since the courts have been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.
Furthermore, MPEP 2041.03 states that “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton”, thus if one of ordinary skill in the art would can just move the same size aperture up and extend the length of the clip, or make the aperture bigger and the clip head bigger or any other suitable solution with one of ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that Rolf fails to teach “extending beyond the attachment circumferential side wall”. The examiner disagrees and notes that Figure 4 of Rolf teaches head 23 extend out of the slanted portion of the wall.
In response to applicant's argument that Rolf fails to teach “wherein each of the first resilient retaining clip and the second resilient retaining clip is partially defined by a pair of relief slots”. The examiner disagrees and notes Rolf teaches slots between 23 and 24 on both sides, see Figure 3 of Rolf.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 9/17/2026