DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (WO 2025/034832 A1, hereinafter “ZHOU”).
Regarding claim 1:
ZHOU discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., Fig. 15, 1502), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1524) storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1518) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive control information (e.g., [0305], [0329], [0330], [0334], [0345], [0346], Fig. 34, cell DTX configuration) that indicates a periodic interval (e.g., [0329], a periodicity of a DTX cycle comprising a first time duration and a second time duration, DTX Active and DTX Inactive in Fig. 35) and a monitoring window within the periodic interval (e.g., [0326], [0344], [0346], [0349], time window, see Fig. 35),
and a delay duration between a last symbol of a downlink control channel received within the monitoring window and a first slot of a second periodic interval following the periodic interval (e.g., [0305], [0345], “a time gap between the end of the time window and the start of a cell DTX configuration,” [0346], “in the time window there may be one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions,” see Fig. 35), the delay duration corresponding to a subcarrier spacing of a plurality of subcarrier spacings (e.g., [0322], “determine a slot and a symbol in a slot to start or stop PDCCH monitoring … based on the smallest SCS configuration”),
wherein the monitoring window is for receipt of one or more instances of a group common downlink control information message via the downlink control channel (e.g., [0337], [0350], group common DCI);
receive, within the monitoring window, at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message in accordance with the control information, the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprising a configuration for a cell-based discontinuous operation mode (e.g., [0346]-[0349], 1st message in Fig. 34, DCI 2_x in Fig. 35, for activating cell DTX configuration); and
communicate with a network entity (e.g., Fig. 34, gNB) in accordance with the configuration for the cell-based discontinuous operation mode (e.g., [0338]-[0344], cell DTX operation).
Regarding claim 2:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the control information indicates a duration for the periodic interval, a starting offset for the periodic interval relative to a radio frame boundary, or both (e.g., [0329], [0330], [0334], a periodicity of a DTX cycle).
Regarding claim 3:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the control information indicates a duration for the monitoring window, one or more control channel monitoring occasions within the monitoring window for receipt of the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message, a starting offset for the monitoring window relative to a first symbol of the periodic interval, or any combination thereof (e.g., [0326], [0344], [0346], [0349], a time window).
Regarding claim 4:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein, to receive the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message during a first monitoring occasion of one or more monitoring occasions within the monitoring window (e.g., Fig. 35, DCI 2_x); and
refrain from monitoring at least one other monitoring occasion of the one or more monitoring occasions that occurs after the first monitoring occasion within the monitoring window based at least in part on receipt of the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message during the first monitoring occasion (e.g., [0305], [0306], [0326], [0340], when the wireless device receives an indication indicating skipping PDCCH monitoring).
Regarding claim 5:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the control information indicates an instance of the group common downlink control information message is received via the downlink control channel (e.g., [0305], [0345], [0346], a time gap between a time window and a start of a cell DTX cycle, see Fig. 35).
Regarding claim 6:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 5, wherein the delay duration is larger than or equal to a threshold quantity of symbols (e.g., [0305], [0345], [0346]).
Regarding claim 7:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the threshold quantity of symbols is a set quantity of symbols that corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the plurality of subcarrier spacings for symbols of the downlink control channel within the monitoring window (e.g., [0322]).
Regarding claim 8:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity, a UE capability report that indicates a minimum delay duration supported by the UE, wherein the threshold quantity of symbols is based at least in part on the UE capability report (e.g., [0305], [0345], [0346]).
Regarding claim 9:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the threshold quantity of symbols is based at least in part on whether the configuration for the cell-based discontinuous operation mode indicates an activation status or a deactivation status, whether the configuration for the cell-based discontinuous operation mode configures one or more of a discontinuous reception mode or a discontinuous transmission mode, or both (e.g., [0346], the time gap may be based on UE’s capability for receiving the DCI and activating/deactivating the cell DTX configuration).
Regarding claim 10:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprises a one-bit indication of an activation or deactivation of the cell-based discontinuous operation mode when the cell-based discontinuous operation mode includes a discontinuous reception mode and discontinuous transmission mode that are jointly configured (e.g., [0331], [0403], [0404]).
Regarding claim 11:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprises a two-bit indication of an activation or deactivation of the cell-based discontinuous operation mode when the cell-based discontinuous operation mode includes a discontinuous reception mode and a discontinuous transmission mode that are separately configured, and a first bit of the two-bit indication corresponds to the discontinuous reception mode and a second bit of the two-bit indication corresponds to the discontinuous transmission mode (e.g., [0392]).
Regarding claim 12:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprises an indication of an activation status or a deactivation status of the cell-based discontinuous operation mode for a set of serving cells configured by the network entity, and the activation status or the deactivation status is applied to the cell-based discontinuous operation mode for each serving cell of the set of serving cells (e.g., [0407], [0408], the GC DCI comprises a bitmap, each bit corresponding to a cell).
Regarding claim 13:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor for the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message in a primary serving cell associated with the UE or in a special serving cell associated with the UE, or both, wherein receiving the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message is based at least in part on the monitoring (e.g., [0407], [0408]).
Regarding claim 14:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more instances of the group common downlink control information message within the monitoring window comprises a same downlink control information message (e.g., [0283], [0349]).
Regarding claim 15:
ZHOU further discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the cell-based discontinuous operation mode is a cell discontinuous reception mode, a cell discontinuous transmission mode, or both (e.g., [0346]).
Regarding claim 16:
ZHOU discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving control information that indicates a periodic interval, a monitoring window within the periodic interval, and a delay duration between a last symbol of a downlink control channel received within the monitoring window and a first slot of a second periodic interval following the periodic interval, the delay duration corresponding to a subcarrier spacing of a plurality of subcarrier spacings, wherein the monitoring window is for receipt of one or more instances of a group common downlink control information message via the downlink control channel; receiving, within the monitoring window, at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message in accordance with the control information, the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprising a configuration for a cell-based discontinuous operation mode; and communicating with a network entity in accordance with the configuration for the cell-based discontinuous operation mode. (See similar features in the rejection with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 17:
ZHOU further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the control information indicates a duration for the periodic interval, a starting offset for the periodic interval relative to a radio frame boundary, or both. (See similar features in the rejection with respect to claim 2.)
Regarding claim 18:
ZHOU further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the control information indicates a duration for the monitoring window, one or more control channel monitoring occasions within the monitoring window for receipt of the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message, a starting offset for the monitoring window relative to a first symbol of the periodic interval, or any combination thereof. (See similar features in the rejection with respect to claim 3.)
Regarding claim 19:
ZHOU further discloses the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprises: receiving the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message during a first monitoring occasion of one or more monitoring occasions within the monitoring window; and refraining from monitoring at least one other monitoring occasion of the one or more monitoring occasions that occurs after the first monitoring occasion within the monitoring window based at least in part on receipt of the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message during the first monitoring occasion. (See similar features in the rejection with respect to claim 4.)
Regarding claim 20:
ZHOU discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: means for receiving control information that indicates a periodic interval, a monitoring window within the periodic interval, and a delay duration between a last symbol of a downlink control channel received within the monitoring window and a first slot of a second periodic interval following the periodic interval, the delay duration corresponding to a subcarrier spacing of a plurality of subcarrier spacings, wherein the monitoring window is for receipt of one or more instances of a group common downlink control information message via the downlink control channel; means for receiving, within the monitoring window, at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message in accordance with the control information, the at least one instance of the group common downlink control information message comprising a configuration for a cell-based discontinuous operation mode; and means for communicating with a network entity in accordance with the configuration for the cell-based discontinuous operation mode. (See similar features in the rejection with respect to claim 1.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claims 1, 16, and 20
Applicant argues ZHOU does not teach or suggest “a delay duration between a last symbol of a downlink control channel received within the monitoring window and a first slot of a second periodic interval following the periodic interval, the delay duration corresponding to a subcarrier spacing of a plurality of subcarrier spacings.” See Remarks, page 8. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
ZHOU describes, in [0345], “a time gap between the end of the time window and the start of a cell DTX configuration,” and in [0346], “in the time window there may be one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions.” Examiner submits that ZHOU’s time gap teaches a delay duration between a last symbol of a downlink control channel received within the monitoring window and a first slot of a second periodic interval following the periodic interval.
Further, ZHOU describes, in [0322], “determine a slot and a symbol in a slot to start or stop PDCCH monitoring … based on the smallest SCS configuration.” Accordingly, ZHOU’s time gap starts at the end the time window, and the PDCCH monitoring occasion of the time window is determined based on the smallest SCS configuration, and being the smallest SCS configuration implies a plurality of SCS configurations. Thus, ZHOU teaches the delay duration corresponding to a subcarrier spacing of a plurality of subcarrier spacings.
Dependent claim 14
Applicant argues ZHOU does not teach or suggest each of the one or more instances of the group common downlink control information message within the monitoring window comprises a same downlink control information message. See Remarks, page 10. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
ZHOU describes, in [0349], “a wireless device determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP for the DCI indicating the activation/deactivation of the Cell DTX configuration,” and in [0350], “the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI … The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell.” Thus, ZHOU teaches each of the one or more instances of the group common downlink control information message within the monitoring window comprises a same downlink control information message.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465