DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on July 06, 2026, in which claims 1, 8, 11, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almadi et al. (US 2022/0255788) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0367973).
Regarding claim 1, Almadi teaches a system comprising: (figs. 1, 2) a plurality of wireless access points (WAPs) corresponding to a plurality of wireless communication protocols (i.e., one or more of the wireless access points 104a-104d in proximity to the intended computer device 102a-102g. The wireless access point 104a-104d encodes the information in a wireless signal, and transmits the wireless signal into an environment of the intended computing device 102a-102g. fig 1 [0038]-[0041], [0052]-[0054], [0061], [0075]); a wireless local network server coupled to the plurality of WAPs via a communication bus, wherein the wireless local network server is configured to convert data under the plurality of wireless communication protocols to data under a local protocol (i.e., the network 108 can be a local area network (LAN). The network 108 can be implemented using various networking interfaces, for instance wireless networking interfaces (such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or infrared) or wired networking interfaces (such as Ethernet or serial connection). The network 108 can be any communications network through which data can be transferred and shared… The network 108 also can include combinations of more than one network, and can be implemented using one or more networking interfaces). The network 108 can include network hardware equipment to facility the transfer and sharing of data. Example network hardware includes routers, switches, gateways, bridges, repeaters, repeater hubs, access points, servers ([0052]-[0056]); and a processor configured to control exchange the data under the local protocol between the plurality of WAPs (i.e., FIG. 1 shows an example system 100 that enables information to be exchanged wirelessly between several computing devices 102a-102g. ([0036]). The wireless network management system 150 also includes an inter-system interface module 204 configured to exchange data between the asset management module 206 and the wireless spectrum orchestrator module 202. In some implementations, the inter-system interface module 204 can be configured to exchange data according to one or more interfaces or protocols, such as Simple Network Management System (SNMP), Object Linking & Embedding for Process Control (OPC) [0073]-[0076], [0100][0101]).
Almadi does not specifically teach a data diode comprising an electro-mechanical switch and communicatively coupled to the communication bus, wherein a processor is configured to control the electro-mechanical switch to turn the data diode between a unidirectional mode and a bidirectional mode based on a security policy.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Lee teaches a two-way data diode (often called bidirectional data diode) is illustrated in fig. 8... If the controller/processing element 860 decides to send the commands to the protected controller/processing element 830 via the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, digital data corresponding to the commands may be sent to a command converter unit 845, which in one embodiment may comprise a controller 850 and a digital to analog converter 855, which converts the digital command data into analog voltages… Once the analog voltages pass through the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, a second command converter unit 847 may be used to convert the analog voltages back into digital commands, using an analog to digital converter 885 and a controller 895. The use of the digital to analog converter 855, controller 850, analog to digital converter 885, and controller 895 is illustrative and by way of example only, and other techniques may be used to ensure that data packets received from the controller/processing element 860 are not transmitted in that form to the controller/processing element 830.. a cellular interface may be provided on the protected side 880 of the two-way data diode and a serial/other interface may be provided on the unprotected side 890 of the two-way data diode. ([0079]-[0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lee within the system of Almadi in order to allow controlled, isolated, round-trip data or command communication between two distinct security networks while maintaining hardware-enforced isolation so that no routable network traffic can cross over.
Regarding claim 2, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the plurality of WAPs comprise at least one of: a wireless local area network (WLAN) WAP, or a wireless wide area network (WWAN) WAP (i.e., The system 100 includes the computing devices 102a-102g, several wireless access points 104a-104d, several routers 106a and 106b communicatively coupled to one another via a network 108, and a wireless network management system 150. Collectively, the system 100 can form a wireless communications network, such as a Wi-Fi network [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the plurality of wireless communication protocols comprise at least one of: International Society of Automation (ISA) 100.11a, WirelessHART, WI-FI, Long-Range Wide Area Network (LoRaWAN), or 5th Generation (5G) cellular protocol (i.e., asset data 208a for a wireless device 218 can indicate a system type, of the wireless device 218 (for example, whether the device is a Wireless Protocol International Society of Automation (ISA) 100.11a device, a wireless Highway Addressable Remote Transducer Protocol (HART) device, or a Bluetooth device [0036]. [0051], [0060]-[0061], [0073], [0135]).
Regarding claim 4, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches wherein the local protocol comprises a Universal Open Process Automation (OPA) protocol ([0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform edge computing based on the data under the local protocol (i.e., some of the computing devices 102a-102g can be Internet of Thingd (IoT) devices and/or Industrial Internet of Things (IoT) devices. For example, at least some of the computing devices 102a-102g can include sensors, instruments, and other devices that are networked together to perform industrial processes, such as manufacturing and energy management [0049], [0103]).
Regarding claim 7, Almadi in view of Venkatesan teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the communication bus comprises an optical bus ([0134]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 8, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Lee further teaches the unidirectional mode the data flows from a first WAP of the plurality of WAPs to a second WAP of the plurality of WAPs (with the integration of device illustrated in fig. 8 in Lee’s reference, the combination system performs the function of the claim).
Regarding claim 9, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches further comprising an antenna pole driven by a motor, wherein the antenna pole comprises a plurality of antenna elements corresponding to the plurality of WAPs, wherein the processor is configured to control the motor to change a position of at least one antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements ([0062]-[0067], [0105], [0113]).
Regarding claim 10, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches a power management module having a surge arrester configured to provide surge protection; and an integrated power source configured to feed power to the plurality of WAPs, wherein the integrated power source has a single piece of power source circuitry or multiple pieces of power source circuitry ([0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Almadi teaches a method comprising: communicating, via a communication bus, data under a plurality of wireless communication protocols between a wireless local network server and a plurality of wireless access points (WAPs) (i.e., one or more of the wireless access points 104a-104d in proximity to the intended computer device 102a-102g. The wireless access point 104a-104d encodes the information in a wireless signal, and transmits the wireless signal into an environment of the intended computing device 102a-102g. fig 1 [0038]-[0041], [0052]-[0054], [0061], [0075]); converting, via the wireless local network server, the data under the plurality of wireless communication protocols to data under a local protocol (i.e., the network 108 can be a local area network (LAN). The network 108 can be implemented using various networking interfaces, for instance wireless networking interfaces (such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or infrared) or wired networking interfaces (such as Ethernet or serial connection). The network 108 can be any communications network through which data can be transferred and shared… The network 108 also can include combinations of more than one network, and can be implemented using one or more networking interfaces). The network 108 can include network hardware equipment to facility the transfer and sharing of data. Example network hardware includes routers, switches, gateways, bridges, repeaters, repeater hubs, access points, servers ([0052]-[0056], changing network configuration [0094]); and a processor configured to control exchange the data under the local protocol between the plurality of WAPs (i.e., FIG. 1 shows an example system 100 that enables information to be exchanged wirelessly between several computing devices 102a-102g. ([0036]). The wireless network management system 150 also includes an inter-system interface module 204 configured to exchange data between the asset management module 206 and the wireless spectrum orchestrator module 202. In some implementations, the inter-system interface module 204 can be configured to exchange data according to one or more interfaces or protocols, such as Simple Network Management System (SNMP), Object Linking & Embedding for Process Control (OPC) [0073]-[0076], [0100][0101]).
Almadi does not specifically teach a data diode comprising an electro-mechanical switch and communicatively coupled to the communication bus, wherein a processor is configured to control the electro-mechanical switch to turn the data diode between a unidirectional mode and a bidirectional mode based on a security policy.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Lee teaches a two-way data diode (often called bidirectional data diode) is illustrated in fig. 8... If the controller/processing element 860 decides to send the commands to the protected controller/processing element 830 via the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, digital data corresponding to the commands may be sent to a command converter unit 845, which in one embodiment may comprise a controller 850 and a digital to analog converter 855, which converts the digital command data into analog voltages… Once the analog voltages pass through the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, a second command converter unit 847 may be used to convert the analog voltages back into digital commands, using an analog to digital converter 885 and a controller 895. The use of the digital to analog converter 855, controller 850, analog to digital converter 885, and controller 895 is illustrative and by way of example only, and other techniques may be used to ensure that data packets received from the controller/processing element 860 are not transmitted in that form to the controller/processing element 830.. a cellular interface may be provided on the protected side 880 of the two-way data diode and a serial/other interface may be provided on the unprotected side 890 of the two-way data diode. ([0079]-[0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lee within the system of Almadi in order to allow controlled, isolated, round-trip data or command communication between two distinct security networks while maintaining hardware-enforced isolation so that no routable network traffic can cross over.
Regarding claim 12, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the plurality of WAPs comprise at least one of: a wireless local area network (WLAN) WAP, or a wireless wide area network (WWAN) WAP (i.e., The system 100 includes the computing devices 102a-102g, several wireless access points 104a-104d, several routers 106a and 106b communicatively coupled to one another via a network 108, and a wireless network management system 150. Collectively, the system 100 can form a wireless communications network, such as a Wi-Fi network [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the plurality of wireless communication protocols comprise at least one of: International Society of Automation (ISA) 100.11a, WirelessHART, WI-FI, Long-Range Wide Area Network (LoRaWAN), or 5th Generation (5G) cellular protocol (i.e., asset data 208a for a wireless device 218 can indicate a system type, of the wireless device 218 (for example, whether the device is a Wireless Protocol International Society of Automation (ISA) 100.11a device, a wireless Highway Addressable Remote Transducer Protocol (HART) device, or a Bluetooth device [0036]. [0051], [0060]-[0061], [0073], [0135]).
Regarding claim 14, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches wherein the local protocol comprises a Universal Open Process Automation (OPA) protocol ([0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 15, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform edge computing based on the data under the local protocol (i.e., some of the computing devices 102a-102g can be Internet of Thingd (IoT) devices and/or Industrial Internet of Things (IoT) devices. For example, at least some of the computing devices 102a-102g can include sensors, instruments, and other devices that are networked together to perform industrial processes, such as manufacturing and energy management [0049], [0103]).
Regarding claim 17, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches the communication bus comprises an optical bus ([0134]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 18, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Lee further teaches the unidirectional mode the data flows from a first WAP of the plurality of WAPs to a second WAP of the plurality of WAPs (with the integration of device illustrated in fig. 8 in Lee’s reference, the combination system performs the function of the claim).
Regarding claim 19, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations above. Almadi further teaches further comprising an antenna pole driven by a motor, wherein the antenna pole comprises a plurality of antenna elements corresponding to the plurality of WAPs, wherein the processor is configured to control the motor to change a position of at least one antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements ([0062]-[0067], [0105], [0113]).
Regarding claim 20, Almadi teaches an apparatus comprising: (figs. 1, 2) a plurality of wireless access points (WAPs) corresponding to a plurality of wireless communication protocols (i.e., one or more of the wireless access points 104a-104d in proximity to the intended computer device 102a-102g. The wireless access point 104a-104d encodes the information in a wireless signal, and transmits the wireless signal into an environment of the intended computing device 102a-102g. fig 1 [0038]-[0041], [0052]-[0054], [0061], [0075]); a wireless local network server coupled to the plurality of WAPs via a communication bus, wherein the wireless local network server is configured to convert data under the plurality of wireless communication protocols to data under a local protocol (i.e., the network 108 can be a local area network (LAN). The network 108 can be implemented using various networking interfaces, for instance wireless networking interfaces (such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or infrared) or wired networking interfaces (such as Ethernet or serial connection). The network 108 can be any communications network through which data can be transferred and shared… The network 108 also can include combinations of more than one network, and can be implemented using one or more networking interfaces). The network 108 can include network hardware equipment to facility the transfer and sharing of data. Example network hardware includes routers, switches, gateways, bridges, repeaters, repeater hubs, access points, servers ([0052]-[0056]); and a processor configured to control exchange the data under the local protocol between the plurality of WAPs (i.e., FIG. 1 shows an example system 100 that enables information to be exchanged wirelessly between several computing devices 102a-102g. ([0036]). The wireless network management system 150 also includes an inter-system interface module 204 configured to exchange data between the asset management module 206 and the wireless spectrum orchestrator module 202. In some implementations, the inter-system interface module 204 can be configured to exchange data according to one or more interfaces or protocols, such as Simple Network Management System (SNMP), Object Linking & Embedding for Process Control (OPC) [0073]-[0076], [0100][0101]).
Almadi does not specifically teach a data diode comprising an electro-mechanical switch and communicatively coupled to the communication bus, wherein a processor is configured to control the electro-mechanical switch to turn the data diode between a unidirectional mode and a bidirectional mode based on a security policy.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Lee teaches a two-way data diode (often called bidirectional data diode) is illustrated in fig. 8... If the controller/processing element 860 decides to send the commands to the protected controller/processing element 830 via the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, digital data corresponding to the commands may be sent to a command converter unit 845, which in one embodiment may comprise a controller 850 and a digital to analog converter 855, which converts the digital command data into analog voltages… Once the analog voltages pass through the secure reverse channel hardware enforced isolation component 840, a second command converter unit 847 may be used to convert the analog voltages back into digital commands, using an analog to digital converter 885 and a controller 895. The use of the digital to analog converter 855, controller 850, analog to digital converter 885, and controller 895 is illustrative and by way of example only, and other techniques may be used to ensure that data packets received from the controller/processing element 860 are not transmitted in that form to the controller/processing element 830.. a cellular interface may be provided on the protected side 880 of the two-way data diode and a serial/other interface may be provided on the unprotected side 890 of the two-way data diode. ([0079]-[0082]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Lee within the system of Almadi in order to allow controlled, isolated, round-trip data or command communication between two distinct security networks while maintaining hardware-enforced isolation so that no routable network traffic can cross over.
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almadi et al. (US 2022/0255788) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0367973) further in view Mishra et al. (US 2020/0178084).
Regarding claim 6, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations except wherein the processor is configured to control the wireless local network server to dynamically switch between a server function and a client function based on the data under the local protocol.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Mishra teaches In this heterogeneous mesh network, nodes can function dynamically, switching roles between client and server or simultaneously acting as both client and server. Moreover, these nodes can operate in a heterogeneous fashion with respect to one another… The nodes of this white-space mesh network could, in alternate embodiments, operate in a heterogeneous fashion or could dynamically switch roles between client and server. These nodes could in alternate embodiments become multi access radio technology nodes ([0011], [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Mishra within the system of Almadi in view of Lee in order to instruct multi-RAT node 210 to dynamically switch roles, i.e., the LTE radio in multi-RAT node 210 should be used for backhaul and the Wi-Fi radio in multi-RAT node 210 should be used for access.
Regarding claim 16, Almadi in view of Lee teaches all the limitations except wherein the processor is configured to control the wireless local network server to dynamically switch between a server function and a client function based on the data under the local protocol.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Mishra teaches In this heterogeneous mesh network, nodes can function dynamically, switching roles between client and server or simultaneously acting as both client and server. Moreover, these nodes can operate in a heterogeneous fashion with respect to one another… The nodes of this white-space mesh network could, in alternate embodiments, operate in a heterogeneous fashion or could dynamically switch roles between client and server. These nodes could in alternate embodiments become multi access radio technology nodes ([0011], [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Mishra within the system of Almadi in view of Lee in order to instruct multi-RAT node 210 to dynamically switch roles, i.e., the LTE radio in multi-RAT node 210 should be used for backhaul and the Wi-Fi radio in multi-RAT node 210 should be used for access.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643