DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2021/0345660 to Mullen (Mullen).
Regarding claim 19, Mullen discloses an apparatus for filling and packing particulate material into each of a plurality of elongated containers (cone 602) each of which has an open top end and a closed bottom end (cone 602 is closed at one end and open at the other prior to being filled and closed), the apparatus comprising: a source of particulate material (the source of the material shown at the top of station 800); one or more conduits (dispensing apparatus 801 includes a conduit) for directly or indirectly providing particulate material along a flow path from the source to each of the plurality of elongated containers; and a compressed gas material delivery assembly (air nozzle; see [0081]) comprising a compressor (the source of the compressed air connected to the nozzle; the air nozzle of the filling assembly has similar configuration to air nozzle 104) which provides flowing compressed gas to the flow path which increases velocity of the particulate material and controllably increases compaction and density of the particulate material flowing into each of the one or more elongated containers ([[0079]-[0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen in view of US Patent 10,154,686 to Heidtmann (Heidtmann).
Regarding claim 20, Mullen discloses a method for filling and packing a plurality of elongated containers with a consistent quantity and density of particulate material which flows from a source (source connected to dispenser 801), along flow path (formed by conduit of dispenser 801) having one or more outlets (outlet of dispenser 801) and a flow direction at each of the one or more outlets (the flow direction through the path to the outlet), to one of the plurality of elongated containers (602), which has an open top end, a closed bottom end, and a longitudinal axis extending therebetween (cone 602 has an open top, closed bottom and a longitudinal axis), the method comprising: positioning the elongated container in an orientation in which its open top end is proximate to and aligned with a corresponding outlet of the flow path for receiving flowing particulate material (see Fig. 8), its closed end is distal from the corresponding outlet of the flow path, and its longitudinal axis is aligned substantially along the flow direction at the corresponding outlet of the flow path (shown in Fig. 8); and (A) applying centrifugal force to particulate material flowing along the flow path which increases velocity of the particulate material and controllably increases compaction and density of the particulate material in each of the plurality of elongated containers (optional, not required by the claim), (B) providing a compressed gas to the flow path which increases velocity of particulate material flowing along the flow path and controllably increases compaction and density of the particulate material in each of the plurality of elongated containers (see [0079]-[0081]), or (C) both (A) and (B) (optional, not required by the claim). Mullen does not disclose a plurality of the elongate containers positioned at a plurality of outlets to be filled simultaneously. However, Heidtmann teaches a method for filling a plurality of elongate containers (tubes 100, 102, 104) positioned at a plurality of outlets (shown in the figures) so that the plurality of containers can be filled simultaneously. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Mullen to include a plurality of dispensing outlets having a plurality of containers positioned thereat, such that the plurality of containers can be filled simultaneously, to increase the number of containers that can be filled in a given time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the cited documents disclose various systems for filling elongate containers with particulate matter which include a centrifuge which packs the matter into the container to a desired density and a motor connected to the centrifuge. However, none of these documents disclose “the centrifuge assembly having: a central conduit with an inlet for receiving particulate material and a central longitudinal axis which defines a rotational axis of the centrifuge assembly, and a bottom disc and a top disc which are each rotatably mounted on the central pipe via their respective central openings; one or more stackable discs, each of which has: a disc periphery, at least one container holder which holds the plurality of elongated containers proximate to and evenly spaced around the disc periphery, a central opening for rotatably mounting each of the one or more stackable discs on the central conduit of the centrifuge assembly, adjacent one another and in between the bottom disc and the top disc, the central conduit of the centrifuge assembly being in fluid communication with the central opening of each stackable disc mounted thereon, and one or more internal passages, each of which is in fluid communication with both the central opening and the disc periphery, thereby providing at least a portion of a flow path 31for particulate material to flow therethrough, from the central conduit of the centrifuge assembly and the central opening of the stackable disc, to the disc periphery, and the open top ends of respective one or more of the plurality of elongated containers held by the at least one container holder evenly spaced around the disc periphery, wherein the at least one container holder is capable of holding or allowing each of the plurality of elongated containers to move to an orientation in which the open top end of each elongated container is proximate the disc periphery for receiving particulate material, the longitudinal axis of each elongated container is aligned with and substantially parallel to the centrifugal force provided by the centrifuge assembly, and the closed bottom end of each elongated container is remote from the rotational axis of the centrifuge assembly, wherein the centrifugal force increases velocity of particulate material provided to each of the plurality of elongated containers.” The examiner finds not evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrange a particulate matter filling assembly as claimed, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 September 11, 2025