DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9-11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2007/041207 A1 to Hewes et al. (Hewes).
Regarding claim 1, Hewes teaches a thermal intravenous sleeve (title “Heater and Disposable Sleeve for Assisting in Venous Catheterization” and 400, Figures 9-12), comprising a thermally insulative material (pg. 11, lines 8-17; It is noted that all materials have a degree of thermal insulative properties, and therefore as broadly as claimed the disclosed materials of Hewes read on the claim language.), wherein the thermally insulative material includes a proximal end (54), a distal end (55), a first lateral end (52), and a second lateral end (53), wherein a portion of the first lateral end and the second lateral end are joined (pg. 11, lines 16-21), thereby defining an interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, line 31-pg. 11, line 4 and Figures 9-12) and an exterior sleeve portion (Figures 9-12), a thermal element disposed within the interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, lines 27-30), and a tourniquet (60) disposed at a proximal end of the thermal intravenous sleeve (Figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 4, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as wherein the thermal element includes an electrical heating element (heating element 10 and pg. 10, lines 25-30 which state in part “…the sleeve is used with a heater according to any of the embodiments described herein.”).
Regarding claim 7, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as wherein the first lateral end and the second lateral end are releasably joined to one another (pg. 11, lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 9, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as wherein the tourniquet is an integrated tourniquet attached to the proximal end of the intravenous sleeve (Figures 10-12 which show the tourniquet attached to the sleeve and thus an integrated torniquet attached to the sleeve).
Regarding claim 10, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as wherein the thermal intravenous sleeve defines first (58a) and second (58b) thru-holes at the proximal end of the intravenous sleeve (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 11, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 10 as well as wherein the first and second thru-holes are circumferentially spaced apart from one another about a central axis defined by the sleeve (Figure 9).
Regarding claim 16, Hewes teaches a thermal intravenous sleeve (title “Heater and Disposable Sleeve for Assisting in Venous Catheterization” and 400, Figures 9-12), comprising a thermally insulative material (pg. 11, lines 8-17; It is noted that all materials have a degree of thermal insulative properties, and therefore as broadly as claimed the disclosed materials of Hewes read on the claim language.), wherein the thermally insulative material includes a proximal end (54), a distal end (55), a first lateral end (52), and a second lateral end (53), wherein a portion of the first lateral end and the second lateral end are joined (pg. 11, lines 16-21), thereby defining an interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, line 31-pg. 11, line 4 and Figures 9-12) and an exterior sleeve portion (Figures 9-12), an electrical heating element disposed within the interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, lines 27-30), and an integrated tourniquet cuff (60 and Figures 10-12 which show the tourniquet attached to the sleeve and thus an integrated torniquet attached to the sleeve) disposed at a proximal end of the thermal intravenous sleeve (Figures 10-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewes in view of US 5,873,903 to Garcia (Garcia).
Regarding claim 2, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1, but not a pocket disposed on the interior sleeve portion into which the thermal element is disposed. Garcia teaches an analogous device (title “Therapeutic Sleeve for Human Limb) to that of Hewes including a pocket (packet compartment 24) disposed on the interior sleeve portion (Fig. 1) into which a thermal element (hot or cold pack 22) is disposed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hewes to include the pocket (24) and thermal element (22) of Garcia as an obvious matter of engineering design choice. This is especially true as Hewes teaches that the sleeve can be used with any heater known in the art (pg. 10, lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 2, but not specifically wherein the thermal element includes a chemical heating element disposed within the pocket. It is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a chemical heating element as an obvious matter of engineering design choice. This is especially true as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably apprised of the hot and cold pack available for placement in pockets of thermal devices.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Hewes teaches a thermal intravenous sleeve (title “Heater and Disposable Sleeve for Assisting in Venous Catheterization” and 400, Figures 9-12), comprising a thermally insulative material (pg. 11, lines 8-17), wherein the thermally insulative material includes a proximal end (54), a distal end (55), a first lateral end (52), and a second lateral end (53), wherein a portion of the first lateral end and the second lateral end are joined (pg. 11, lines 16-21), thereby defining an interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, line 31-pg. 11, line 4 and Figures 9-12) and an exterior sleeve portion (Figures 9-12), a thermal element disposed within the interior sleeve portion (pg. 10, lines 27-30), and a tourniquet (60) disposed at a proximal end of the thermal intravenous sleeve (Figures 10-12). However, Hewes does not teach a pocket disposed on the interior sleeve portion or a chemical heating element disposed in the pocket, or the pocket in an area that corresponds to a patient’s cubital fossa.
Garcia teaches an analogous device (title “Therapeutic Sleeve for Human Limb) to that of Hewes including a pocket (packet compartment 24) disposed on the interior sleeve portion (Fig. 1) and extending between lateral edges of the device into which a thermal element (hot or cold pack 22) is disposed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hewes to include the pocket (24) and thermal element (22) of Garcia as an obvious matter of engineering design choice. This is especially true as Hewes teaches that the sleeve can be used with any heater known in the art (pg. 10, lines 25-26).
With respect to wherein the thermal element includes a chemical heating element disposed within the pocket; it is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a chemical heating element as an obvious matter of engineering design choice. This is especially true as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been reasonably apprised of the hot and cold pack available for placement in pockets of thermal devices.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewes in view of US 2019/0321217 A1 to Taylor er al. (Taylor).
Regarding claim 5, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1, but not wherein the thermally insulative material includes a heat reflective foil. Taylor teaches an analogous device (abstract which states “A reinforcing clinical wrap is provided with integral thermal management.”) including at least one thermally insulating layer (70) of known insulating materials such as a medical grade foil or heat reflective thin plastic sheeting including biaxially-oriented polyethylene terephthalate, as sold under the trade name Mylar ([0029]). The thermally insulating layer is preferably adjacent to the outermost layer of the warp ([0029]). It is asserted that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hewes to include the insulating layer of Taylor to increase the thermal conduction/convection efficiency, and to insulate the wrap from an external environment as taught by Taylor ([0029]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 5 as well as Hewes teaching a cloth material disposed on the interior sleeve portion (pg. 11, lines 9-17).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewes in view of US 2023/0008747 A1 to Noyes (Noyes).
Regarding claim 17, Hewes teaches the sleeve of claim 1, but not wherein the thermal intravenous sleeve includes a first and second heating element, wherein the first heating element is disposed on the interior sleeve portion in an area that corresponds to a patient’s wrist, and the second heating element is disposed on the interior sleeve portion in an area that corresponds to the patient’s cubital fossa. Noyes teaches an analogous device (title “Warming Sleeve”) to that of Hewes that is sized to cover a portion between a hand and elbow of a wearer ([0018]) and including a first (50) and second (60) heating element, wherein the first heating element is located in an area that corresponds to the patient’s wrist (Fig. 3), and the second heating element is located in an area that corresponds to the patient’s cubital fossa (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hewes to locate the heating elements as in Noyes in order to provide thermal therapy to desired areas of the arm as taught by Noyes.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 17 as well as Noyes teaches wherein a temperature of the first heating element and the second heating element are independently controllable ([0046] which teaches “To balance the hating circuit….different “On” mode outputs are provided by the PWM controller to the individual heating panels for a given set….The microcontroller and relays function to provide multiple “On” modes with distinct duty cycles for different panels simultaneously.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the distinct duty cycles to the different panels to allow for a balanced heating circuit as taught by Noyes.
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewes in view of US 10,272,211 B1 to Cooke et al. (Cooke).
Regarding claim 1, Hewes teaches a thermal intravenous sleeve (title “Heater and Disposable Sleeve for Assisting in Venous Catheterization” and 200, Figures 3-5), comprising a thermally insulative material (pg. 5, lines 19-21; It is noted that all materials have a degree of thermal insulative properties, and therefore as broadly as claimed the disclosed materials of Hewes read on the claim language.), wherein the thermally insulative material includes a proximal end (end opposite 29 in Fig. 3), a distal end (29), a first lateral end, and a second lateral end (pg. 8, lines 15-21 which states in part “the side edges 21 are sewn together to form cuff prior to fitting the cuff onto the extremity. Alternatively, side edges 21 are connected together using reversible fasteners….”), thereby defining an interior sleeve portion (tubular cavity of the cuff as seen in Figures 3 and 4) and an external sleeve portion (outside of the cuff as seen in Figures 3 and 4), a thermal element (heating element 10) enclosed within the interior sleeve portion (Figures 4 and 5). However, Hewes does not teach a tourniquet disposed at a proximal end of the thermal intravenous sleeve.
Cooke teaches an analogous device (title “Disposable Tourniquet/Sleeve Warmer”) that includes a warming apparatus with an attached tourniquet that allow for warming to induce vasodilation resulting in vessel engorgement and a tourniquet to slow venous blood flow from the intended site to preferably cause vessel engorgement, raise local blood volume and pressure of the distal extremity to preferably identify an injection or insertion site (abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hewes to include the attached tourniquet of Cooke to allow for slowing of venous blood flow from the intended site to preferably cause vessel engorgement, raise local blood volume and pressure of the distal extremity to preferably identify an injection or insertion site as taught by Cooke (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as Hewes teaches wherein the thermal element includes an electrical heating element (heating element 10 and pg. 10, lines 25-30 which state in part “…the sleeve is used with a heater according to any of the embodiments described herein.”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 1 as well as Hewes teaching wherein the first lateral end and the second lateral end are releasably joined to one another (pg. 8, lines 15-21 which states in part “…side edges 21 are connected together using reversible fasteners….”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the sleeve of claim 7 as well as Hewes teaching wherein the first lateral end and the second lateral end are releasably joined to one another with a hook and loop fastener (pg. 8, lines 18-21 which recite “side edges 21 are connected together using reversible fasteners, for example hook-and-loop…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest a tourniquet passing through first and second thru-holes at a proximal end of an intravenous device wherein the tourniquet passes through the first and second thru-holes. The closes prior art to Hewes (WO 2007/041207 A2) teaches the tourniquet attached to an external surface of device. Cooke (US 10,272,211 B1) teaches a tourniquet (31) attached to an external proximal edge (12) using an attachment (34).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alsaifi (US 9,750,895 B1) teaches a venipuncture device (100) comprising an inflatable cuff (110) and a heat pad (110) that wrap around the limb and allow secure fasteners (112, 122) to secure the cuff and heating pad around the limb (see for example Fig. 3B).
Aarabi (US 2019/0076294 A1) teaches a cooling sleeve and tourniquet (title) including a cooling/tourniquet component (110) and a cover portion (111) separated from the cooling pad (120). The cover portion (111) includes an integrated tourniquet (112), for example, a flexible strap 117 and an adjustable securement mechanism (118). The tourniquet is configured to be tightened about the limb with sufficient pressure to occlude blood flow to the limb, and to maintain the pressure until loosened by the caregiver ([0037]).
/KAITLYN E SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794