DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are pending.
Claim 18 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is moot in light of a new ground of rejection. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchikubo et al. (US 6480762 B1, 2002-11-12) (hereinafter “Uchikubo”) in view of Litichever et al. (US 20190385057 A1, 2019-12-19) (hereinafter “Litichever”) and Batzer (US 20190353692 A1, 2019-11-21).
Regarding claims 1-17 and 19-21, Uchikubo teaches a method of detecting whether an external wire is connected to an input terminal on an external medical system, the method comprising: monitoring a signal associated with the input terminal, the input terminal located on an exterior panel of the external medical system and configured for receiving an external wire. See, e.g., 16:45-21:55; Figs. 17-26 and associated text.
Uchikubo does not expressly teach using spectral techniques.
Litichever teaches frequency-domain and time-domain techniques applicable to determining network configurations (e.g., devices interconnected by cables). See, e.g., [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]. See also, e.g., [0363], [0369].
Uchikubo does not expressly teach initiating a self-test of a signal generator if the external wire is determined to not be connected to the input terminal, wherein the signal generator is configured to apply a drive signal to one or more electrodes. Batzer teaches a self-test of a signal generator, wherein the signal generator is configured to apply a drive signal to one or more electrodes. See, e.g., [0190] (“The resulting differential signal I.sub.k can optionally be processed further, for example smoothed, by a signal processing unit 26a coupled to the output of the filter device 30 and then forms the test signal PS. Where there is no cable defect D the test signal PS then only contains the currents I.sub.E1, I.sub.E2 coupled in by the useful signal paths 6a, 6b. The signal processing unit 26 can then search, for example, for these currents I.sub.E1, I.sub.E2 to determine whether the measuring leads K are intact. This evaluation can be made for example by way of a threshold value analysis. However, a plurality of further algorithms can also be used, such as, for example pattern recognition or a Kalman filter, to evaluate the differential signal I.sub.k or combination signal I.sub.k. An analysis in the time or frequency domain is also possible.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Litichever and Batzer with the invention taught by Uchikubo such that the invention further comprises analyzing spectral content of the monitored signal; and detecting whether the external wire is connected to the input terminal based on the spectral content of the monitored signal; and initiating a self-test of a signal generator if the external wire is determined to not be connected to the input terminal, wherein the signal generator is configured to apply a drive signal to one or more electrodes (as recited in claim 1); wherein the signal associated with the input terminal is a time-domain signal, and the method further comprises: converting the time-domain signal to a frequency-domain signal using a fast Fourier transform (FFT) (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 2); wherein detecting whether the external wire is connected to the input terminal is based on spectral content derived from the FFT (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 3); wherein the external wire is determined to be connected if a measured amplitude of the frequency-domain signal is above a predetermined amplitude threshold (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 4); wherein the external wire is determined to not be connected if a measured amplitude of the frequency-domain signal is less than a predetermined amplitude threshold (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 5); wherein the external wire is housed within a cable containing additional wires (e.g., Litichever at [0009], [0217]-[0220]) (as recited in claim 6); wherein the external wire is connected to a device configured to receive electrical power from the external medical system (e.g., Litichever at [0009], [0217]-[0220]) (as recited in claim 7); wherein the external wire is included as part of a catheter carrying the once or more electrodes (e.g., Uchikubo at Fig. 28) (as recited in claim 8); a method of operating an electrical system configured to provide power to one or more external components, the method comprising: monitoring a signal associated with an input terminal on an amplifier system of the electrical system, wherein the input terminal is configured for connection to an external wire (e.g., Uchikubo at 16:45-21:55; Figs. 17-26 and associated text); analyzing spectral content of the monitored signal; determining whether the external wire is connected to the input terminal based on the spectral content of the monitored signal (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]); and performing at least one of: generating a notification relaying whether the external wire is connected; and implementing safety protocols, if the external wire is connected, wherein implementing safety protocols comprises initiating a self-test of a signal generator of the electrical system, the signal generator being configured to apply a drive signal to one or more electrodes (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 9); further comprising: prior to analyzing spectral content, converting the monitored signal to a digital signal and processing the digital signal through FFT (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 10); wherein the external wire is determined to be connected if a measured amplitude is above a predetermined amplitude threshold (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 11); wherein the external wire is determined to not be connected if a measured amplitude is less than a predetermined amplitude threshold (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 12); wherein implementing safety protocols comprises prohibiting electrical power from being delivered from a signal generator of the electrical system (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 13); wherein generating a notification that the external wire is connected comprises providing at least one of a visual output and an audio output; a signal generator configured to apply a drive signal to one or more electrodes; and a safety module initiates a self-test of the signal generator if the external wire is not detected (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 14); a system configured to provide electrical power to one or more external components, the system comprising: one or more input terminals formed on an exterior panel of the system, the one or more input terminals configured to receive an external wire (e.g., Uchikubo at 16:45-21:55; Figs. 17-26 and associated text); a data collection system configured to monitor and collect analog signals associated with the one or more input terminals, wherein the analog signals undergo digital signal processing in the data collection system to provide spectral content for the one or more input terminals; and a cable detection module configured to detect whether the external wire is connected to the one or more input terminals based on the spectral content (e.g., Litichever at [0270], [0274], [0288], [0291], [0398]-[0400], [0427]) (as recited in claim 15); further comprising a safety module configured to allow or prohibit power delivery to the one or more external components, based on whether the cable detection module detects the external wire (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 16); wherein the one or more external components include a catheter attachable to the one or more input terminals on the catheter (e.g., Uchikubo at Figs 18, 26, 28, 37 and associated text) (as recited in claim 17); wherein the catheter is attachable to the one or more input terminals via a cable, the cable containing multiple wires and each wire corresponds to an electrode on the catheter (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 19); wherein the cable detection module provides an output of whether the external wire is detected, the output including at least one of a visual output and an audio output (e.g., Uchikubo at 18:56-61, 19-50-56; Fig. 33-36 and associated text) (as recited in claim 20); wherein the external medical system is housed in a conductive frame that acts as a Faraday cage and prevents external electromagnetic radiation from generating spectral content within the external medical system (as recited in claim 21) in order to more accurately detect changes in electrical connection to/from a medical system. Note that medical instruments are typically housed in conductive frames or enclosures that act as Faraday cages.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792