DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the election made without traverse on 1/12/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of superstructure of a valve in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement for restriction mailed 11/12/2025 incorrectly identified claims 6 – 14 to be related to the superstructure of a valve, but claims 5 – 14 are related to the invention. Examiner apologizes for any inconvenience caused.
Claims 5 – 14 are considered in this action.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the first end couple with the actuator” should read “the first end coupled with the actuator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 9, 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent to Kaspers (5,279,325).
Regarding claim 5, Kaspers discloses a pneumatic actuator (5, Fig. 2); superstructure (2, Fig. 2) having a first side coupled with the pneumatic actuator; and a valve stem (18, Fig. 2) coupled to the superstructure, the valve stem comprising a first end and a second end, the first end coupled with the actuator and the second end coupled with the valve – at 20, Fig. 2, the valve stem having an internal flow pathway (25, Fig. 2) that extends from a first port (25, Fig. 2) inside of the actuator to a second port (24, Fig. 2) disposed outside of the actuator (5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kaspers inherently discloses a connector – for conduit 30 – coupled to the second port (24, Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 12, Kaspers discloses a controller (3, Fig. 5) mounted to the superstructure (2, Fig. 6), the controller having operating hardware to convert an incoming pneumatic signal into an outgoing pneumatic signal (75, Fig. 6), wherein the superstructure is configured to direct the outgoing pneumatic signal from the controller to the internal flow pathway of the valve stem (18, Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 13, Kaspers discloses a controller (3, Fig. 6) mounted to the superstructure (2, Fig. 6), the controller having operating hardware to convert an incoming pneumatic signal into an outgoing pneumatic signal; and a signal pathway (78, Fig. 6) coupled to the controller and to the internal flow pathway of the valve stem, wherein the signal pathway is configured to direct the outgoing pneumatic signal from the controller to the internal flow pathway of the valve stem (18, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Kaspers discloses the superstructure (2, Fig. 6) forms a sealed cavity (4, Fig. 6) around a portion of the valve stem (18, Fig. 6) that includes the second port (24, Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Kaspers (5,279,325) in view of US Patent to Danek (3,799,008).
Kaspers does not disclose the internal flow pathway comprises at least a third port that resides inside of the actuator.
However, Danek also teaching a actuator with a fluid path in the stem teaches a plurality of first ports (71, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have modified valve disclosed by Kaspers with the plurality of first ports taught by Danek as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
In the combination of the prior art elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the elements to maintain their respective properties or functions.
Claims 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent to Kaspers (5,279,325) in view of US Patent to US Patent to Priisholm et al. (10,866,581).
Regarding claims 10 – 11, Kaspers does not disclose a hose connected to pneumatic connector.
However, having a hose for a pneumatic connector is well known in the art as taught by Priisholm et al. Priisholm et al. teach hoses (26, Fig. 1) connecting controller (21, Fig. 1) to ports for actuating the valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have modified the valve disclosed by Kaspers with the hoses taught by Priisholm as means of connecting actuating ports that are remote from the controller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application to van der Zee et al. (2011/0260085) and US Patent to Fontaine (3,845,932) both disclosing valve stems with fluid flow path.
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753