DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 states “the second housing is movable relative to the second housing…”, however it appears that the second housing is movable relative to the first housing instead.
Claim 20 states “the second housing is movable relative to the second housing…”, however it appears that the second housing is movable relative to the first housing instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 8-9 state “…in which the second surface of the body is not modified …”, however it is not clear what modifications constitutes as “not modified”.
Claim 14, lines 8-9 state “…in which the second surface of the body is not modified …”, however it is not clear what modifications constitutes as “not modified”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-14, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ALEXANDER et al. US 20150009652 A1.
In reference to claim 1, ALEXANDER a plug assembly (shown in figure 2D) comprising: a housing (i.e. the housing of 102) configured to be installed to a first surface (i.e. the top surface of 104; fig. 1A) of a body (104; fig. 1A); a power outlet (220; fig. 2D) configured to receive an electrical plug; wherein the power outlet is configured to be removably stored within the housing; wherein in a stored configuration (see fig. 2A, C), the power outlet is stored within the housing; wherein in a deployed configuration (see fig. 2B, D), the power outlet is exposed from the housing and extends beyond a second surface (i.e. the bottom surface of 104) of the body; wherein the housing is configured to be installed at a location in which the second surface of the body is not modified (i.e. the second surface does not include devices other than the plug assembly); and a plurality of conductors (i.e. the wires connected to the outlets of 102) configured to be connected in electrical communication with the power outlet when the power outlet is in the deployed configuration.
In reference to claim 4, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 1, wherein the power outlet comprises one or more low voltage accessory inputs configured to receive a low voltage plug (see [0037], lines 4-5 which mention using USB-type receptacles).
In reference to claim 6, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 1, wherein the first surface of the body is an underside of the body (i.e. if 104 were flipped upside down, the first surface of 104 would be considered an underside).
In reference to claim 7, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 6, wherein the first surface is a countertop surface (see [0030], lines 7-8 which mentions “and the like”. This is seen to encompass a countertop surface).
In reference to claim 8, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 6, wherein the first surface is a desktop surface, a tabletop surface, or a furniture surface (see [0030], lines 7-8 which mentions “and the like”. This is seen to encompass either of the claimed surfaces of claim 8).
In reference to claim 9, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 6, wherein in the deployed configuration, the power outlet is configured to be disposed above the second surface of the body.
In reference to claim 10, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 6, wherein in the stored configuration, the power outlet is configured to be disposed below the first surface of the body.
In reference to claim 11, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 1, wherein the power outlet comprises a three-prong opening (see 202 fig. 2D).
In reference to claim 12, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing is a first housing and the power outlet comprises a second housing (see fig. 2D, where 130 is a first housing and 202 is a separate housing of the power outlet assembled to 230. The second housing is 202 ).
In reference to claim 13, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 12, wherein the second housing (202) is movable relative to the second housing to transition from the stored configuration to the deployed configuration.
In reference to claim 14, ALEXANDER teaches a plug assembly (shown in figure 2D) comprising: a housing (i.e. the housing of 102) configured to be installed to a surface of a countertop (see [0030], lines 7-8 which mentions “and the like”. This is seen to encompass a countertop surface); a power outlet (220; fig. 2D) configured to receive an electrical plug; wherein the power outlet is configured to be removably stored within the housing; wherein in a stored configuration, the power outlet is stored within the housing; wherein in a deployed configuration, the power outlet is exposed from the housing and extends beyond the surface of the countertop; wherein the housing is configured to be installed at a location in which a top surface of the countertop is not modified (i.e. the second surface does not include devices other than the plug assembly); and a plurality of conductors (i.e. the wires connected to the outlets of 102) configured to be connected in electrical communication with the power outlet when the power outlet is in the deployed configuration.
In reference to claim 17, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 14, wherein the power outlet comprises one or more low voltage accessory inputs configured to receive a low voltage plug (see [0037], lines 4-5 which mention using USB-type receptacles).
In reference to claim 20, ALEXANDER teaches the plug assembly of claim 14, wherein the housing is a first housing and the power outlet comprises a second housing (see fig. 2D, where 130 is a first housing and 202 is a separate housing of the power outlet assembled to 230. The second housing is 202 ); wherein the second housing (202) is rotatable relative to the second housing to transition from the stored configuration to the deployed configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALEXANDER in view of Chien US 20200091746 A1.
In reference to claim 3, ALEXANDER substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However ALEXANDER does not teach wherein the power outlet comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter.
Chien teaches of using a power outlet that comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter (2910; fig. 21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chien, as taught by Chien [0761], in order to improve safety of the device by providing a safety protection circuit.
In reference to claim 5, ALEXANDER substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However ALEXANDER does not teach the housing is configured to be sealed to prevent ingress of water.
Chien teaches of using a removable cover on all receiving ports to prevent the ingress of water into the receiving means (see [0802]). Using the teachings of Chien to modify ALEXANDER to arrive at the results of claim 5 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chien, as taught by Chien [0802], in order to prevent water from entering the outlet and damaging the plug assembly.
In reference to claim 16, ALEXANDER substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However ALEXANDER does not teach wherein the power outlet comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter.
Chien teaches of using a power outlet that comprises a ground fault circuit interrupter (2910; fig. 21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chien, as taught by Chien [0761], in order to improve safety of the device by providing a safety protection circuit.
In reference to claim 18, ALEXANDER substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However ALEXANDER does not teach the housing is configured to be sealed to prevent ingress of water.
Chien teaches of using a removable cover on all receiving ports to prevent the ingress of water into the housing through the receiving means (see [0802]). Using the teachings of Chien to modify ALEXANDER to arrive at the results of claim 18 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Chien, as taught by Chien [0802], in order to prevent water from entering the outlet and damaging the plug assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 07/20/2026