DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20 and 23, it is unclear what is required by the heating element being associated with both the insert and the planar platen. Associated with would appear to mean it is internal to them, but a single heating element is not taught to be internal to two different elements which move relative to one another. Forb the purposes of examination, this is considered to require at least one heating element and heating of both one of the platens and the insert, either internally or externally.
Regarding claim 24, it is unclear how the reinforcement element engages the first planar platen when the insert is between the reinforcement element and the platen. Are there locations where the insert is not between them? Does it directly contact the first planar platen or contact it indirectly through the insert? For the purposes of examination, the reinforcement element indirectly or directly engages the first planar platen through the insert.
Claims 21, 22, 24, 26, 29-31, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claims require specifics of the material worked upon which does no further limit the apparatus. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 21, 22, and 24-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hagstrom(US Patent 3,373,067)
Regarding claims 19 and 32, Hagstrom discloses an apparatus comprising two planar mold surfaces which can be pressed together and an insert(26) which engages a component which is placed between the two mold surfaces.(Figure 3) The mold surfaces and insert are heated.(Col. 3, ll. 55-60) It is noted the claims do not require the heat to be internally generated. The apparatus is capable of forming a panel.
Regarding claims 21, 22, 26, 29-31, and 33-36, the composition of the components does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 24, the panel engages one platen while the reinforcement indirectly engages the other platen via the insert.(Figure 3)
Regarding claim 25, the press is heated.(Col. 3, ll. 55-60) Whether the heating occurs before the engaging or after it is a method limitation which does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 27, the press presses the components together.(Col. 3, ll. 55-60) The apparatus is capable of pressing them together after heating.
Regarding claims 28 and 32, the insert is metal and the press is heated, and thus the inset would be heated.(Col. 3, ll. 31-32, 55-60) Whether the temperature it is heated to is a curing temperature is dependent on the composition of the components, which does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 37, Hagstrom discloses the mold can apply pressure of 70-100 psi.(Col. 6, ll. 53-54)
Regarding claim 38, Hagstrom discloses the mold can be heated to 285-325F.(Col. 6, ll. 50-51) The length of time the heating occurs is a method limitation that does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 19-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Petty-Galis et al.(US Patent 4,946,526)
Regarding claims 19 and 32, Petty-Galis et al. discloses an apparatus comprising two planar mold surfaces(20,30) which can be pressed together and an insert(21) which engages a component which is placed between the two mold surfaces.(Figures 3 and 6C) The mold surfaces and insert are heated internally.(Col. 5, ll. 38-41) The apparatus forms a panel.
Regarding claims 20 and 23, there is a heating element associated with(located in) the press platens and the insert.(Col. 5, ll. 38-42)
Regarding claims 21, 22, 26, 29-31, and 33-36, the composition of the components does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 24, the panel engages one platen while the reinforcement indirectly engages the other platen via the insert.(Figure 3)
Regarding claim 25, the press is heated.(Col. 5, ll. 38-41) Whether the heating occurs before the engaging or after it is a method limitation which does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 27, the press presses the components together.(Figure 3) The apparatus is capable of pressing them together after heating.
Regarding claims 28 and 32, the insert and press are heated.(Col. 5, ll. 37-42) Whether the temperature it is heated to is a curing temperature is dependent on the composition of the components, which does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 37, the mold can apply pressure of 50-200 psi.(Col. 5, 57-58)
Regarding claim 38, the mold can be heated to 650F(Col. 5, ll. 58) and thus is clearly capable of being heated to 250-500F which is less than 650F. The length of time the heating occurs is a method limitation that does not affect the structure of the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagstrom.
Regarding claims 20 and 23, Hagstrom does not disclose the specifics of the heating. However, it does disclose the heat is applied by the press(Col. 3, ll. 56-57) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide a heating element located in the press since this would allow easy heating of the press. Heating of the press would in turn heat the insert, and thus a heating element is associated with the insert since it is located in the mold which is connected to the insert by virtue of being in direct contact with the insert.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746