CTNF 18/644,895 CTNF 80701 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Objections Claim 8 is objected to because the term “NTSR” is an acronym, which could mean different things and/or change in meaning overtime, hence it would be desirable to write out the actual words to which the acronym refers. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 12, 14, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. (US 2025/0380199) in view of FANG et al. (US 12,543,076) . Regarding claim 1 , Jang discloses a method for a non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD) to roam among a plurality of AP MLDs of a roaming AP MLD, the method comprising: receiving from the roaming AP MLD an announcement, the announcement indicating that the roaming AP supports one of a link level roaming and MLD roaming within the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 11, step S1110; p. [0162], [0164], [0171]-[0172], [0189]; the first STA (i.e., non-AP MLD device) may receive announcement information related to multi-link device MLD roaming, the announcement may include information on whether MLD-based roaming is enabled); sending a roaming request to the roaming AP MLD, wherein the roaming request indicates one of the link level roaming and MLD roaming based on the announcement (Fig. 11, step S1120; p. [0172], [0190], [0191]; the first STA transmits a first request frame in response to the announcement); receiving a roaming response from the roaming AP MLD, the response indicating the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 11, Step 1130; p. [0192]; the first STA receives a first response frame including the link ID (i.e., new link) of the second AP); and exchanging one or more frames between the non-AP MLD and the roaming AP MLD based on the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (p. [0192]; the first response frame may initiate an association procedure (i.e., frame exchange) between the first STA and the second AP). But, Jang does not particularly disclose wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD. However, Fang teaches wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD (col. 10, lines 45-64; Fig. 3A shows a fast transition (i.e., roaming) process, the process may include a MLD 302 (i.e., non-AP MLD) having multiple connections with a source A MLD 304, as the MLD 302 moves to location 314, the MLD 302 may need to connect to target A MLD 320…in this example, the MLD 302 disconnects from its links with source A MLD when at location 314 prior to establishing a connection over all links with target A MLD 320, once the MLD moves to location 330, the MLD 302 may establish connections over multiple links with the AP 322, AP 324, and AP 326). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang with the teachings of Fang, since such a modification would provide a fast transition process for a MLD to establish multiple links with a target MLD and associated APs as it moves to a location within the coverage of the target MLD. Regarding claim 12 , the combination of Jang and Fang disclose the method of claim 1, Jang discloses wherein receiving the roaming response comprise receiving the response over the at least one new link which is established (p. [0192]). Regarding claim 14 , Jang discloses a non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD) arranged to roam among a plurality of AP MLDs of a roaming AP MLD (see Fig. 13), the non-AP MLD comprising circuitry (p. [0047]) to receive from the roaming AP MLD an announcement, the announcement indicating that the roaming AP supports one of a link level roaming and MLD roaming within the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 11, step S1110; p. [0162], [0164], [0171]-[0172], [0189]; the first STA (i.e., non-AP MLD device) may receive announcement information related to multi-link device MLD roaming, the announcement may include information on whether MLD-based roaming is enabled); send a roaming request to the roaming AP MLD, wherein the roaming request indicates one of the link level roaming and MLD roaming based on the announcement (Fig. 11, step S1120; p. [0172], [0190], [0191]; the first STA transmits a first request frame in response to the announcement); receive a roaming response from the roaming AP MLD, the response indicating the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 11, Step 1130; p. [0192]; the first STA receives a first response frame including the link ID (i.e., new link) of the second AP); and exchange one or more frames between the non-AP MLD and the roaming AP MLD based on the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (p. [0192]; the first response frame may initiate an association procedure (i.e., frame exchange) between the first STA and the second AP). But, Jang does not particularly disclose wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD. However, Fang teaches wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD (col. 10, lines 45-64; Fig. 3A shows a fast transition (i.e., roaming) process, the process may include a MLD 302 (i.e., non-AP MLD) having multiple connections with a source A MLD 304, as the MLD 302 moves to location 314, the MLD 302 may need to connect to target A MLD 320…in this example, the MLD 302 disconnects from its links with source A MLD when at location 314 prior to establishing a connection over all links with target A MLD 320, once the MLD moves to location 330, the MLD 302 may establish connections over multiple links with the AP 322, AP 324, and AP 326). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang with the teachings of Fang, since such a modification would provide a fast transition process for a MLD to establish multiple links with a target MLD and associated APs as it moves to a location within the coverage of the target MLD. Regarding claim 21 , Jang discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) of a roaming AP MLD which comprises a plurality of AP MLD, the AP MLD comprising circuitry to transmit an announcement to a non-AP MLD roaming among the plurality of AP MLD (Fig. 12, step S1210; p. [0189]; the first AP may transmit announcement information related to MLD-based roaming to the first STA (i.e., non-AP MLD)),the announcement indicating that the roaming AP supports one of a link level roaming and MLD roaming within the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 11, step S1110; p. [0162], [0164], [0171]-[0172], [0189]; the first STA (i.e., non-AP MLD device) may receive announcement information related to multi-link device MLD roaming, the announcement may include information on whether MLD-based roaming is enabled); receiving a roaming request to the roaming AP MLD, wherein the roaming request indicates one of the link level roaming and MLD roaming based on the announcement (Fig. 12, step S1220; p. [0190], [0191]; the first STA transmits a first request frame that is received by the first AP in response to the announcement); send a roaming response from the roaming AP MLD, the response indicating the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (Fig. 12, step S1230; p. [0192]; the first AP sends a first response frame including the link ID (i.e., new link) of the second AP); and exchange one or more frames between the non-AP MLD and the roaming AP MLD based on the at least one new link established from the non-AP MLD to the roaming AP MLD (p. [0192]; the first response frame may initiate an association procedure (i.e., frame exchange) between the first STA and the second AP). But, Jang does not particularly disclose wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD. However, Fang teaches wherein the link level roaming comprises terminating less than all links from the non-AP MLD to respective AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to an AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD different from an AP MLD associated with the one or more terminated links (note that the announcement includes information of at least one of link level roaming and multi-link level roaming, which makes these limitations optional given that Jang discloses an announcement including information regarding MLD roaming) and the MLD roaming comprises terminating all links from the non-AP MLD to a first AP MLD of the roaming AP MLD and establishing at least one new link from the non-AP MLD to a second AP MLD (col. 10, lines 45-64; Fig. 3A shows a fast transition (i.e., roaming) process, the process may include a MLD 302 (i.e., non-AP MLD) having multiple connections with a source A MLD 304, as the MLD 302 moves to location 314, the MLD 302 may need to connect to target A MLD 320…in this example, the MLD 302 disconnects from its links with source A MLD when at location 314 prior to establishing a connection over all links with target A MLD 320, once the MLD moves to location 330, the MLD 302 may establish connections over multiple links with the AP 322, AP 324, and AP 326). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jang with the teachings of Fang, since such a modification would provide a fast transition process for a MLD to establish multiple links with a target MLD and associated APs as it moves to a location within the coverage of the target MLD. Regarding claim 23 , the combination of Jang and Fang disclose the AP MLD of claim 17, Jang discloses further comprising circuitry to terminate a link from the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD or establish a link from the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD in response to the request (p. [0182]-[0183]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. in views of FANG et al., and CHU et al. (US 2022/0022087) . Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Jang and Fang disclose the method of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the announcement indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports one traffic identifier (TID) being mapped to links from the non-AP STA to two AP affiliated with different AP MLDs of the roaming AP MLD. However, Chu teaches an announcement indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports one traffic identifier (TID) being mapped to links from the non-AP STA to two AP affiliated with different AP MLDs of the roaming AP MLD (p. [0076]; the AP MLD broadcasts TID-to-Link Mapping via a TID-to-Link Mapping announcement frame). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Jang and Fang with the teachings of Chu, since such a modification would allow then to negotiate the TID-to-Link mapping with another MLD device. Regarding claim 17 , the combination of Jang and Fang disclose the non-AP MLD of claim 14, but does not particularly disclose wherein the announcement indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports one traffic identifier (TID) being mapped to links from the non-AP STA to two AP affiliated with different AP MLDs of the roaming AP MLD. However, Chu teaches an announcement indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports one traffic identifier (TID) being mapped to links from the non-AP STA to two AP affiliated with different AP MLDs of the roaming AP MLD (p. [0076]; the AP MLD broadcasts TID-to-Link Mapping via a TID-to-Link Mapping announcement frame). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Jang and Fang with the teachings of Chu, since such a modification would allow then to negotiate the TID-to-Link mapping with another MLD device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. in views of FANG et al., and QUAN et al. (US 2025/0056614) . Regarding claim 10 , the combination of Jang and Fang disclose the method of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the announcement indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports links from the non-AP STA to the roaming AP MLD being enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) or enhanced multi-link multiple radio (eMLSR) links from the non-AP STA to two AP of two different AP MLDs affiliated with the roaming AP MLD. However, Quan teaches an announcement that indicates whether the roaming AP MLD supports links from the non-AP STA to the roaming AP MLD being enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) or enhanced multi-link multiple radio (eMLSR) links from the non-AP STA to two AP of two different AP MLDs affiliated with the roaming AP MLD (p. [0213], [0216]; a first device sends a frame (i.e., announcement) that carries subfields of capability information to enable a second device to be informed that the first device supports EMLR operation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Jang and Fang with the teachings of Quan, since such a modification would allow to inform a second device that the first device supports EMLSR operation and to provide services to the second device working on the EMLSR mode . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-5, 7-9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-57 AIA Prior Art of Record 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (a) Jang et al. (US 2026/0006667) - Method and Apparatus for Multi-Link device-based roaming in wireless LAN system . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARISOL FIGUEROA whose telephone number is (571)272-7840. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 8:00am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jinsong Hu can be reached at 571-272-3965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARISOL FIGUEROA/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/644,895 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643