Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 7/9/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-11 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 2, lines 2 and 4, claim 3, lines 2 and 4, the limitations of “preferably” and “even more preferably” are recited. The phrases render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2173.05(d). Only the recitations prior to the use of “preferably” are considered to be required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Drees (WO2015/124229, English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, a machine for forming doughs for oven-baked foodstuff products (page 1, lines 14-16), of the type comprising:
- a forming roller (20) (item 1 in Fig. 1 or 2 (page 6, line 336)), which is rotatable about an axis of rotation (I) and has a plurality of cavities (22) (item 4 in Fig. 1 or 2 (page 6, line 337)) giving out onto its outer lateral surface (20A) (item 3 in Fig. 1 or 2 (page 6, line 337)) and extending in respective radial directions (Ri) of said forming roller (20),
wherein said forming roller (20) comprises a plurality of pistons (24) (item 7 in Fig. 1 or 2 (page 6, line 347)), which are mobile inside the cavities (22), according to a reciprocating motion of translation (page 6, lines 347-351), between a first depth (D1) (e.g., item 8 in Fig. 1 (page 6, line 348)) and a second depth (D2) (e.g., item 9 in Fig. 1 (page 6, line 348)) greater than said first depth (D1),
wherein, when said pistons (24) are located at said first depth (D1), inside said cavities
(22) first forming cavities (Cl) are defined, delimited underneath by said pistons (24) and
having a depth equal to said first depth (D1) (as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein, when said pistons are located at said second depth (D2), inside said cavities (22) second forming cavities (C2) are defined delimited underneath by said pistons (24) and having a depth equal to said second depth (D2) (as shown in Fig. 1),
said machine (100) further comprising:
- a first hopper (40) (item 17 in Fig. 2 (page 7, line 414)) for feeding a first dough to said cavities (22) of said forming roller (20), which is positioned in a first position along the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) (page 7, lines 419-420), and a second hopper (60) (item 21 in Fig. 2 (page 8, line 455)) for feeding a second dough to said cavities (22) of said forming roller (20), positioned in a second position along the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (page 8, lines 455-456), downstream of said first position of said first hopper with respect to the direction of rotation of said forming roller (20) about said axis of rotation (I) (as shown in Fig. 2);
said machine comprising a system for driving said pistons configured to bring said
pistons (24) to said first depth (D1), in a position corresponding to said first hopper (40), and
to bring said pistons (24) to said second depth (D2), in a position corresponding to said second
hopper (60) (page 7, lines 363-364; page 7, lines 382-386; page 7, lines 394-397 (i.e., the driving system includes the connecting rods 11, the rollers 12, the springs 14, and the cam disk 13)),
wherein said machine (100) further comprises a knife (54) (item 23 in Fig. 2 (page 8, line 456)), which is positioned downstream of said second hopper (60) and is configured to carry out an action of scraping on the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) so as to remove an amount of dough in excess from said second forming cavity (C2) (page 8, lines 455-457),
said machine being characterized in that it further comprises a second knife (52) (item 19, Fig. 2 (page 8, line 424)), which is positioned upstream of said second hopper (60) and downstream of said first hopper (40) and is configured to carry out an action of scraping on the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) so as to remove an amount of dough in excess from said first forming cavities (Cl) (page 8, lines 424-425).
Regarding claim 4, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, the machine comprising:
a first presser roller (44) (item 18, Fig. 2 (page 7, line 414)), substantially tangential to said forming roller (20) and set on the side downstream of an outlet (42) of said first hopper (as shown in Fig. 2), with reference to the direction of rotation of the forming roller (20), which is configured for carrying out an action of pressure on the dough so as to fill said first forming cavities (Cl) and compact the dough contained therein (page 7, lines 419-420); and
a second presser roller (64) (item 22, Fig. 2 (page 8, line 455)), substantially tangential to said forming roller (20) and set on the side downstream of an outlet (62) of said second hopper (as shown in Fig. 2), with reference to the direction of rotation of the forming roller (20), which is configured for carrying out an action of pressure on the dough so as to fill said second forming cavities (C2) and compact the dough contained therein (page 7, lines 455-457).
Regarding claim 8, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the machine comprising a conveyor belt (80) (item 25, Fig. 2 (page 8, line 471)) for feeding the semi-finished products formed in said forming roller to a subsequent processing station, set downstream of said machine (page 8, lines 471-473),
wherein said conveyor belt (80) comes into contact with the lateral surface (20A) of
said forming roller (20) and runs over it, for a predefined stretch, so as to close said second
forming cavities (C2) and prevent exit of said semi-finished products from said second forming
cavities (C2) (as shown in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drees (WO2015/124229, English translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, said second knife (52) is set between said first hopper (40) and said second hopper (60) (as shown in Fig. 2), preferably according to an orientation such that a face (55B) of said second knife (52) facing said forming roller (20) is set in a plane tangential to the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20), and, even more preferably, with an end of said second knife set in contact with said lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) facing downwards (as shown in Fig. 2).
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determining the patentability of the apparatus, In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include how to position/use the knife in the apparatus of Drees thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the knife will remove excess dough properly.
Regarding claim 3, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, said first knife (54) is set downstream of said second hopper (60) (as shown in Fig. 2), preferably according to an orientation such that a face of said first knife (54) facing said forming roller (20) is set in a plane tangential to the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller, and, even more preferably, with an end of said first knife (54) set in contact with said lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) facing upwards (as shown in Fig. 2).
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determining the patentability of the apparatus, In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include how to position/use the knife in the apparatus of Drees thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the knife will remove excess dough properly.
Regarding claim 5, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, said first knife (54) penetrates between said second presser roller (64) and said forming roller (20) coming into contact with the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) in a position immediately downstream of a point of tangency, or of minimum distance, between said second presser roller (64) and said forming roller (20) (as shown in Fig. 2).
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determining the patentability of the apparatus, In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include how to position/use the knife in the apparatus of Drees thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the knife will remove excess dough properly.
Regarding claim 6, Drees discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, said second knife (52) penetrates between said first presser roller (44) and said forming roller (20) coming into contact with the lateral surface (20A) of said forming roller (20) in a position immediately downstream of a point of tangency, or of minimum distance, between said second presser roller (64) and said forming roller (20) (as shown in Fig. 2).
It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Intended use has been continuously held not to be germane to determining the patentability of the apparatus, In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include how to position/use the knife in the apparatus of Drees thereby arriving at the claimed invention, with the reasonable expectation that the knife will remove excess dough properly.
Regarding claim 7, Drees discloses the forming roller 1 having its diameter (page 6, lines 336-338). However, Drees does not explicitly disclose that, the forming roller has a diameter of at least 900 mm.
As explained in MPEP § 2144.05 (II: Routine Optimization), one of ordinary skilled in the art would have arrived at the claimed range/limitations (i.e., the forming roller has a diameter of at least 900 mm) as a result of routine optimization of the result effective variable of the diameter of the forming roller in an effort to improve the throughput of the semi-finished dough parts.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741