DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I: Figures 1-2b and 4a-6c (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 08/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species of invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the depth" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Justice (US 9073664 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, and 11, Justice discloses a container with a cover comprising a flexible sheet material (see Fig. 5) and including first and second folded portions (12a-d) respectively located adjacent to opposing edges of, and co-planar with, a remainder of the said cover apparatus (14a-b), and each said folded portion capable of being at least partially unfolded to be moved (see Figures 1-2), when the cover apparatus is located over the opening of the container, to a position to contact with an adjacent side wall (18a; see Fig. 2) of the container such that the opening of the container is substantially covered by the remainder of the cover apparatus; and wherein the said folded portions of the cover apparatus are retained so as to be substantially co-planar with the remainder of the cover apparatus and, when the said respective folded portions are at least partially unfolded, to form a chamber or pouch (22), by the provision of first and second seals located at opposing ends of each respective folded portion (Col 6 lines 5-15). Examiner notes that, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim reads on a box with a foldable lid; said lid having end seals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Justice in view of Smith (US 2021/0221584 A1).
Regarding claims 2-3, Justice discloses the claimed invention except for detectable materials being included within the flexible sheet. Smith teaches an apparatus wherein a flexible sheet of material includes one or more detectable materials as an integral part thereof that render the sheet of material detectable by X-ray and/or metal detection apparatus when in range thereof so as to allow the presence of the apparatus, or a fragment of the apparatus greater than a predetermined size, to be detectable (see Par. 0020-0022). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Justice’s container material to include the presence of detectable materials detectable by X-rays in order to provide the container with a safety hazard detection means (Smith; see Par. 0006-0007).
Regarding claims 4-5, Justice, as modified above, teaches a container wherein the detectable material includes any or any combination of barium, magnetite and/or iodine to render the cover apparatus capable of detection by X-ray detection apparatus (Smith; Par. 0010).
Regarding claim 9, Justice, as modified above, teaches a container wherein the flexible sheet material is provided in a colour associated with a particular indication, such as the origin or destination locations for a container with which the cover apparatus is located, the contents of a container with which the cover apparatus is located or the time in which the cover apparatus was located with a container (Smith; Par. 0021 and 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734