DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, the phrase, “The method according to claim 1, comprising: a fourth step of setting a tool feed rate; and a fifth step of, after the fourth step, displaying a recommended condition or a set value on display of a workpiece rotational speed and the tool feed rate” is unclear as to the display of a workpiece rotational speed and the tool feed rate?
Appropriate correction and clarification requested.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sagasaki et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0382455 A1 and Sagasaki hereinafter.)
As to claim 1, A method of creating an NC program for threading, comprising:
a first step of setting a position in the NC program at which a G code or an M code is to be inserted;
a second step of making a setting for applying a vibration component in a thread radial direction to a tool movement path; and
a third step of, based on an instruction for reflecting the setting made in the second step in the NC program, inserting at the position in the NC program the G code or the M code for applying the vibration component in the thread radial direction, thereby creating the NC program for threading.
(Sagasaki teaches using (figs.1-16, para’s [0001], [0002], [0007], [0039]) a method of creating an NC program [810A, 810B, 811B]/[812A, 812B, 813A, 813B]/[814A, 814B, 815A] (figs.3/5/7/10/13) for thread cutting (see para. [0194]), comprising:
a first step of setting a position in the NC program [810A, 810B, 811B] (program step, see fig.3, para’s [0045], [0046], [0047], [0053], [0091], [0092], [0093], [0094] & [0095]) at which a G code [G0 X10. Z50.] or an M code [M3 S1=3000] is to be inserted;
a second step of making a setting (control unit 2x/2P have data setting 33 input vibration data, machine programming data 343, see fig.1/15, para’s [0037] thru [0041], [0045], [0063]-[0064]), wherein a vibration command G165, see program step, fig.3, para. [0092]) for applying a vibration to a vibrating tool [66A/66B] (see figs.2,12) in a thread cutting radial direction [Z direction] (see fig.2, para’s [0084]-[0086]) to a tool [66A/66B] movement path (via a workpiece 70 of a machine tool 110, see figs.2, 12, para’s [0093], [0094], [0095]-[0097]); and
a third step of, based on an instruction [command] (using NC program [810A, 810B, 811B], see program step, fig.3, via numerical control device 1X/1P (fig.1/15) for controlling the machine tool 110/111, see figs.2, 3, 4, 12, para. [0091]-[0099]) for reflecting the setting made (via said data setting 33, figs.1/15, said vibration command G165, see fig.3, para. [0092]) in the second step in the NC program [810A, 810B, 811B], inserting at the position in the NC program [810A/810B/811B] (fig.3) the G code [G0 X10. Z50.] or the M code [M3 S1=3000] for applying the vibration component [vibrating tool 66A/66B] (see fig.2, para’s [0093], [0094], [0095]-[0097]) in the thread cutting radial direction [Z direction] (fig.2), thereby creating the NC program [810A, 810B, 811B] for thread cutting (via figs.1/15, para. [0194]).
As to claim 2, The method according to claim 1, comprising: a fourth step of setting a tool feed rate; and a fifth step of, after the fourth step, displaying a recommended condition or a set value on display of a workpiece rotational speed and the tool feed rate.
(Sagasaki teaches using (figs.1-16, para’s [0001], [0002], [0007], [0039]) the method according to claim 1, comprising: a fourth step of setting (via control unit 2X/2P of numerical control device 1X/1P, figs.1/15) a tool feed rate (see tool feed movement represented by a speed for tool 66A/66B, see para.[0047], figs.1-2, 4, 8, 11-12); and a fifth step of, after the fourth step, displaying a recommended condition [Vibration condition] (see method steps, fig.16/11) or a set value [vibration condition score value] on display 4 (see para’s [0201], [0207], via control unit 2P, see fig.15) of a workpiece 70 rotational speed (fig.2, para’s [0034]-[0035] and the tool feed rate such as the speed of the tool 66A/66B (para. [0047]) are data provided (via data storage 34) to a display 4 (via control unit 2X/2P, fig.1/15, para’s [0037], [0038], [0039]-[0041]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 3-4 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 3, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art, Sagasaki et al., Pub. No.: US 2021/0382455 A1) teaches an NC program [810A-810B, 811B] (fig.3, para’s [0091] thru [0098]) creation apparatus [numerical control device 1X/1P] (figs.1-16, para’s [0001]-[0002]) to be used in a machine tool [110/111] (figs.2, 12), the machine tool [110/111] including: a tool holding unit 65A/65B holding a tool 66A/66B; a workpiece holding unit [spindle 75] (fig.2, para. [0083]) holding a workpiece 70; a rotation drive unit [spindle motor 911] (fig.1) rotating the workpiece holding unit [spindle 75] about an axis ([z axis], fig.2); a feed drive unit [92] (fig.1) moving the workpiece holding unit 75 and the tool holding unit 65A/65B (fig.2) relative to each other in a direction along the axis [Z axis] (fig.2) and a direction [X1/X2 axis] perpendicular to the axis [Z axis]; and a numerical control unit [2X/2P] controlling the rotation drive unit [spindle motor 911] and the feed drive unit [90] (fig.1/15, para’s [0030] thru [0034]) in accordance with an NC program 810A-810B (fig.3/5/7/10), the NC program creation apparatus [numerical control device 1X/1P] (fig.1/15) comprising: a display unit 4 configured to display a screen thereon (para’s [0040]-[0041]); a display control unit 35 configured to control display of the screen on the display unit 4; a program creation unit 81P configured to create an NC program [810A-810B, 811B] (fig.3) based on the data input from the data input unit [3, 32-33] (fig.1), wherein: the program creation unit 81P (fig.3) is configured to create an NC program [810A-810B, 811B] including an NC code (G code/M code, see fig.3, para’s [0091] thru [0097])
for executing a vibration cutting operation of vibrating the tool 66A/66B (fig.2, para’s [0082] thru [0089]) forward [+Z1 direction] and backward [+Z2 direction] (see fig.2, para [0074]) at a predetermined frequency (para. [0026], [0027], [0054], [0058], [0069]) in a direction [z axis] perpendicular to the axis [x axis] during a cutting operation of moving the tool 66A/66B (fig.2) in a direction parallel to the axis [Z axis] with respect to the workpiece 70 (see fig.2); and the program creation unit 81P (fig.3) is configured to create an NC program [810A-810B, 811B] including an NC code (G code/M code, see fig.3, para’s [0091] thru [0097]) for executing a vibration cutting operation (via numerical control device 1X/1P, fig.1/15) corresponding to the selection information input from the data input unit [3, 32-33] (fig.1).
However, Sagasaki, fails to teach a data input unit configured to accept input of data through the screen displayed on the display unit; the display control unit is configured to display on the display unit a selection screen for selecting one operation mode from a plurality of operation modes previously set for the vibration cutting operation; the data input unit is configured to accept selection information about the operation mode selected on the selection screen displayed on the display unit;
Allowable claim 4 depend on allowable claim 3.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sannomiya et al. (US 10,589,367 B2) teaches (figs.1-5, abstract) machine tool and control device of the machine tool.
Matsuzawa et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0004158 A1) teaches (figs.1-22, abstract) a method for editing a machine program for a machine tool.
Nakaya et al. (Pub.No.: US 2018/0257192 A1) teaches (figs.1-7, abstract) machine tool control device a control apparatus for machine tool.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846