DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2024, 9/25/2025 and 7/13/2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/24/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stefan et al (DE 102019126213 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stefan discloses an anode material intended for lithium-ion battery comprising a number of particles, each comprising a core and a shell surrounding the core, the shell containing silicon, carbon and nitrogen, in particular multiple regions made of nitrogen-doped carbon, silicon nitride, silicon carbide and silicon carbon nitride [paragraph 0008, 0011-0021, 0031; claims 1 and 7] .
Regarding claim 10, Stefan discloses a method for producing an anode material comprising a number of particles having a core and a shell, the shell being produced by means of vapor deposition from a silicon-containing gas, a carbon-containing gas and a nitrogen-containing gas [paragraph 0008, 0011-0021, 0031; claims 1 and 7] .
8. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 20160036049 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an anode material for lithium-ion battery comprising a plurality of particles, each comprising a core and a shell surrounding the core, the shell containing silicon, carbon and nitrogen, in particular made of co-doped carbon (carbon doped with silicon atoms (metalloid atoms) and nitrogen atoms) [Fig. 5, 7; paragraph 0052-0054, 0059-0060] .
9. Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al (CN 112670474 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yu traches a negative electrode material of a lithium battery having a core-shell structure, carbon can be applied to the core, and the shell contains silicon carbide and silicon nitride [paragraph 0001, 0007, 0022, 0027-0028].
Regarding claims 2-3, Yu traches that the thickness of the shell is 2 nm to 90 micrometers [paragraph 0029].
Regarding claims 4-5, Yu traches that the that the shell contains silicon carbide and silicon nitride [paragraph 0001, 0007, 0022, 0027-0028].
Regarding claim 6, Yu traches that carbon can be applied to the core [paragraph 0028].
Regarding claim 9, Yu traches a lithium ion battery that comprises an anode produced from an anode material according to claim 1 [paragraph 0007, 0012].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (CN 112670474 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Keiko et al (JP 2002008652 A).
Regarding claim 7, Yu remains silent that the particles have a casing, made of carbon, in which the core and the shell are enclosed. However, Keiko teaches that the graphite particles of negative electrode material are coated with Si fine particles and further coated with a carbon film [Fig. 4; paragraph 0023]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
14. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (CN 112670474 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Ding et al (CN 105024076 A).
Regarding claim 8, Yu remains silent that the core and the shell of the particle, taken together, have a plate- or rod-shaped design. However, Ding teaches that the negative electrode active material of a lithium battery having a core-shell structure, the core is plate-shaped [paragraph 0001, 0007, 0037]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
15. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (CN 112670474 A) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Cho et al (JP 2013084601 A).
Regarding claim 10, Yu remains silent about producing the shell by gas phase deposition using a silicon-containing gas, a carbon-containing gas, and a nitrogen-containing gas. However, Cho teaches that for a negative electrode material of a lithium ion battery having a core-shell structure, CVD is used when a shell is formed on a carbon core [paragraphs 0001, 0007, 0015], 0030]. Therefore, a person skilled in the art could have easily conceived of using CVD as described by Cho when forming a shell in a carbon core. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723