DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ormond et al. (U.S. Publication Number 2019/0172370) in view of Arredondo (ES 1303221 U).
Referring to claim 1, Ormond et al. discloses an open box having a perimeter wall and a base defining an interior space (Figs. 1 & 2), the perimeter wall having a
plurality of anchor points (how elements 9 & 2 are attached to the walls). Ormond et al. does not disclose one or more tubing for simulation of a tubular bodily vessel; a plurality of coupling means configured to couple to the plurality of anchor points and to suspend the one or more tubing within the interior space from a first anchor point to a second anchor point. However, Arredondo teaches one or more tubing for simulation of a tubular bodily vessel 2 & 3); a plurality of coupling means configured to couple to the plurality of anchor points and to suspend the one or more tubing within the interior space from a first anchor point to a second anchor point (All figures: 1.2 & 1.1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include one or more tubing for simulation of a tubular bodily vessel; a plurality of coupling means configured to couple to the plurality of anchor points and to suspend the one or more tubing within the interior space from a first anchor point to a second anchor point, as disclosed by Arredondo, incorporated into Ormond et al. in order to provide greater stability of the procedure, anastomosis surgery.
Referring to claim 2, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the perimeter wall comprises two sets of opposing walls (Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 3, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the open box is transparent (Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 4, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the open box is formed from an acrylic sheet (paragraph 0022).
Referring to claim 5., Arredondo et al. discloses wherein the plurality of anchor points comprise pairs of anchor points, wherein each pair of anchor points are located in corresponding positions on the opposing walls (B).
Referring to claim 6, Arredondo et al. discloses wherein all the opposing walls have anchor points (Figs. 1 & 2).
Referring to claim 7, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the plurality of anchor points are positioned at various depths in the open box (Fig. 2).
Referring to claim 8, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the plurality of anchor points comprise a plurality of spaced apart insert holes, and wherein the plurality of coupling means comprise a plurality of pegs (3).
Referring to claim 9, Ormond et al., as modified by Arredondo et al., discloses wherein the plurality of pegs each comprise a first end for removable attachment to the plurality of insert holes (3 of Ormond et al.), and a second end for insertion into the lumen of the one or more tubing (Figures of Arredondo).
Referring to claim 10, Arredondo et al. teaches comprising a plurality of tubing having different diameters, and wherein the second ends of the plurality of pegs are sized for insertion into the lumen of the plurality of tubing (2 & 3).
Referring to claim 11, Ormond et al. discloses adjustably mounting the plurality of pegs and tubing based on a desired complexity of anastomoses simulation and training (3).
Referring to claim 12, Arredondo et al. teaches wherein the one or more tubing comprise a Penrose tube (2 & 3).
Referring to claim 13, Arredondo et al. teaches wherein the one or more tubing comprise a silicone tube for simulating a tracheal or bronchial segment (2 & 3).
Referring to claim 14, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the base of the open box comprise mounting attachments for secure mounting of the open box to a surface (Figs. 1 & 2).
Referring to claim 15, Ormond et al. discloses wherein the mounting attachments comprise suction attachments (Figs. 1 & 2).
Referring to claim 16, Ormond et al. discloses further comprising one or more suture holding pad, the one or more suture holding pad configured for removable attachment to the perimeter wall of the open box (Figs. 1 & 2).
Conclusion
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715