DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 2-21 are pending, of which Claims 2 & 5 are amended. All claims are examined on the merits. No new matter is found.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument, on pages 6-10 of the response, in regards to Claims 2-9, asserts that Lockwood’s vacuum tube (441) and vent tube (462) are not in contact with the wound tissue and therefore Examiner’s articulated reasons for modifying Lockwood with the external port of Vogel is not reasonable. Examiner respectfully contends that there are portions of the tubes that rest at the edge between the concave wound bed and the healthy skin that surrounds the wound, as shown in Fig. 30. Wound contacting layer (420) does not extend to cover the intact skin that surrounds the wound and instead is disposed completely within the wound, thereby leaving the edge of the wound exposed to direct contact by the tubes.
Applicant’s second argument, on pages 11-12, argues that vacuum port (423) is disclosed to be heat sealed to cover (422) and wound contacting layer (420) to form an integral member (419), and such an integral structure would be destroyed by modifying with Vogel’s teaching and the central positioning of the port would also be changed. Examiner respectfully contends that Vogel is relied upon for teaching two separate apertures through the sealing layer, wherein the apertures allow a port and/or tube on the outside of the dressing to communicate with a vacuum space under the sealing layer. Therefore gleaning from Vogel would not necessarily lead to changing the central position of Lockwood’s suction port. Additionally, Lockwood indicated that port/connector (419) does not need to be heat-sealed to cover (422) as long they are coupled by any other suitable means ([0144]). Therefore having the port/connector on the outside of the sealing layer, as shown in Vogel, would not render the Lockwood invention inoperable because the port/connector can still remain fluidly coupled to the layers under the sealing layer because there is an aperture in the sealing layer.
Applicant lastly argues that the combination of Lockwood and Heaton is not obvious because the auxiliary lumens of Heaton are for pressure measurements rather than for venting air from the outside into the wound. Examiner respectfully contends that Heaton is cited for teaching how to structurally combine multiple lumens/tubes into one port structure. Lockwood discloses two separate lumens for suction and for venting but fails to put these lumens into a single port structure, thus Heaton ameliorates the deficiency by combining the lumens into a single port for easier attachment to the dressing.
For these reasons, the rejections in view of Lockwood, Vogel, and Heaton are maintained and repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lockwood et al. (US 2005/0004534) in view of Vogel (US 2007/0032762).
Re Claim 2, Lockwood discloses an apparatus (see Figs. 29-30) to provide negative pressure to a wound site, comprising:
an exudate channel (vacuum tube 441, Fig. 29) configured to be in fluid communication with a source of negative pressure (vacuum source 16);
a vent channel (vent line 462) configured to provide filtered air (through air filter 470, Fig. 29 & [0157]) to the wound site; and
a layer (sealing layer 450, [0147], Fig. 30).
wherein, when negative pressure from the source of negative pressure is applied to the exudate channel to provide negative pressure to the wound site, fluid flow between the vent channel and the exudate channel is directed to pass from the vent channel toward the wound site and away from the wound site and into the exudate channel (see Fig. 29 where the entire vent channel is completely separated from the exudate channel, thus air/fluid flow needs to exit the vent channel and flow toward the wound site before entering the exudate channel, where it would be suctioned away from the wound site).
Lockwood does not disclose that the layer comprises a first aperture and a second aperture, wherein the exudate channel is in fluid communication with the first aperture and the vent channel is in fluid communication with the second aperture and therefore also does not disclose that the fluid flow passes toward the wound site through the first aperture and into the exudate channel through the second aperture. Lockwood instead discloses that the exudate channel and the vent channel are formed as separate tubes and the tubes extend under a peripheral edge of the sealing layer to reach the wound space sealed by the layer (see Fig. 30).
Vogel discloses a negative pressure wound treatment system (Fig. 1) comprising a wound sealing layer (cover 132) having first and second apertures (implied in Fig. 8 because inlet port 134 and suction port 135 are shown to be on opposite ends of the cover 132), wherein the first aperture is in fluid communication with an exudate channel (suction port 135 and tube 122) and the second channel is in fluid communication with a channel (tube 125 and port 134) that allows fluid into the wound space. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Lockwood with Vogel’s teaching of putting apertures in the sealing layer and attaching the fluid outflow and fluid inflow tubes/ports to the apertures, respectively, because this may prevent the tubes (for exudate removal and venting) from coming into direct contact with wound tissue since the tubes no longer have to extend under the sealing layer periphery to reach the wound space.
Re Claim 3, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 2, and Lockwood further discloses comprising the source of negative pressure (16).
Re Claim 4, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 3, and Lockwood further discloses comprising an exudate conduit configured to be in fluid communication with the exudate channel and the source of negative pressure (see Fig. 29).
Re Claim 5, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 2, and Lockwood further discloses comprising a collection canister ([0067], waste canister 26 is taught in Application 10/159,583 incorporated by reference into Lockwood) configured to be in fluid communication with the source of negative pressure.
Re Claim 6, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 5, and Lockwood further discloses that the exudate conduit is configured for transporting exudate removed from the wound site to the collection canister when the system is in an operable state (Fig. 29).
Re Claim 7, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 2, and Lockwood also discloses a vent conduit configured to be in fluid communication with the vent channel (Fig. 29).
Re Claims 8-9, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 2, and Lockwood also discloses that the exudate channel is larger in cross-sectional size than the vent channel (evident from other embodiments showing the exudate channel being much greater than vent channels, see e.g., Fig. 21 where vacuum lumen 222 is greater than vent lumen 226), and wherein the exudate channel is at least twice as large in cross-sectional size as the vent channel (see [0113]).
Claims 10-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lockwood in view of Heaton (US 2007/0219512).
Re Claim 10, Lockwood discloses an apparatus for providing negative pressure to a wound site, comprising:
a wound dressing comprising a cover layer (sealing layer 450) configured to be positioned over a wound site;
an exudate channel (vacuum tube 441, Fig. 29) configured to be in fluid communication with a source of negative pressure (vacuum source 16) so that, in an operable state of the apparatus, fluid can be drawn through the exudate channel from at least the wound site by the source of negative pressure;
a vent channel (vent line 462) configured to provide filtered air (through air filter 470, Fig. 29 & [0157]) to be drawn through the exudate channel (since filtered air is delivered to the wound space under sealing layer 450, the filtered air would be drawn through the exudate channel when the suction source is activated);
wherein, when negative pressure from the source of negative pressure is applied to the exudate channel to provide negative pressure to the wound site, fluid flow between the vent channel and the exudate channel is directed to pass from the vent channel toward the wound site and away from the wound site through the exudate channel (see Fig. 29 where the entire vent channel is completely separated from the exudate channel, thus air/fluid flow needs to exit the vent channel and flow toward the wound site before entering the exudate channel, where it would be suctioned away from the wound site).
Lockwood does not disclose:
a port configured to be coupled with an outer surface of the cover layer, the port comprising:
a port body comprising a raised portion;
a flange surrounding the raised portion;
an adhesive on an underside surface of the port to adhere the port to the outer surface of the cover layer;
the exudate channel extending through at least part of the raised portion so that an end of the exudate channel terminates in alignment with an opening formed in the cover layer; and
the vent channel extending through at least part of the port body so that an end of the vent channel also terminates in alignment with the opening formed in the cover layer.
Heaton discloses a wound port (reduced pressure adapter 22, see e.g., Figs. 2 & 4) having a raised portion and a flange portion (clearly shown in Fig. 4), the wound port also having an exudate channel (center of recessed region 54) extending through the raised portion of the port body and two ancillary channels (via ancillary ports 56 & 58, Fig. 2) extending through the port body, wherein the exudate channel and the ancillary channels terminate in alignment with an opening in the cover layer (wound drape covers the wound and there must be an opening in the wound drape to allow wound exudate to pass from the wound into the port/adapter). Note that both exudate channel and ancillary channels in Heaton share one large opening 53 on the port’s bottom surface, therefore only one opening in the cover layer is needed for the wound to fluidly communicate with the channels. Heaton also discloses an adhesive on an underside of the port to adhere the port to the outer surface of the cover layer ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Lockwood by incorporating the port disclosed by Heaton and using the ancillary channels for venting such that there is a simpler way to organize the exudate/vent tubes used in the system. This also prevents putting the tubes under the sealing layer, which may cause accidental damage to the wound.
Re Claim 11, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 10, and Lockwood further discloses comprising the source of negative pressure (16).
Re Claim 12, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 11, and after the modification, Lockwood also discloses an exudate conduit (Fig. 29) that would necessarily be configured to be coupled with the port so that the exudate conduit is in fluid communication with the exudate channel and the source of negative pressure.
Re Claim 13, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 11, and Lockwood further discloses comprising a collection canister ([0067], waste canister 26 is taught in Application 10/159,583 incorporated by reference into Lockwood) configured to be in fluid communication with the source of negative pressure.
Re Claim 14, Lockwood and Vogel combine to disclose Claim 13, and Lockwood further discloses a conduit in fluid communication with the exudate channel and the collection canister (Fig. 29), the conduit configured for transporting exudate removed from the wound site to the collection canister when the system is in an operable state.
Re Claims 15-16, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 10, and Lockwood also discloses that the exudate channel is larger in cross-sectional size than the vent channel (evident from other embodiments showing the exudate channel being much greater than vent channels, see e.g., Fig. 21 where vacuum lumen 222 is greater than vent lumen 226), and wherein the exudate channel is at least twice as large in cross-sectional size as the vent channel (see [0113]).
Re Claims 17-18, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 10, and as shown in Heaton, the end of the vent channel (ancillary ports 56 & 58) is positioned adjacent to the end of the exudate channel (center of recessed region 54), and wherein the end of the vent channel is separated from the end of the exudate channel with a wall portion of either or both of the vent channel or the exudate channel (clearly shown in Fig. 2 where exudate channel is more recessed than ancillary ports 56 & 58).
Re Claim 19, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 10, and Heaton further implies at least one opening formed in the cover layer (as explained in Claim 10 supra), wherein, in an operable state, the end of the exudate channel and the end of the vent channel are positioned in alignment with the at least one opening.
Re Claim 20, Lockwood and Heaton combine to disclose Claim 10, Heaton also discloses wherein the exudate channel extends into the port body from one or more sides of the port body and turns downwardly inside the port body toward the underside surface of the port and wherein the vent channel (via ancillary ports 56 & 58) extends into the port body from the one or more sides of the port body and turns downwardly inside the port body toward the underside surface of the port (evident from Heaton Figs. 2 & 4-7).
Re Claim 21, Lockwood discloses an apparatus for providing negative pressure to a wound site, comprising:
a wound dressing comprising a cover layer (sealing layer 450) configured to be positioned over a wound site;
an exudate channel (vacuum tube 441, Fig. 29) configured to be in fluid communication with a source of negative pressure (vacuum source 16) so that, in an operable state of the apparatus, fluid can be drawn through the exudate channel from at least the wound site by the source of negative pressure;
a vent channel (vent line 462) configured to provide filtered air (through air filter 470, Fig. 29 & [0157]) to be drawn through the exudate channel (since filtered air is delivered to the wound space under sealing layer 450, the filtered air would be drawn through the exudate channel when the suction source is activated);
wherein:
when negative pressure from the source of negative pressure is applied to the exudate channel to provide negative pressure to the wound site, fluid flow between the vent channel and the exudate channel is directed to pass from the vent channel toward the wound site and away from the wound site through the exudate channel (see Fig. 29 where the entire vent channel is completely separated from the exudate channel, thus air/fluid flow needs to exit the vent channel and flow toward the wound site before entering the exudate channel, where it would be suctioned away from the wound site).
Lockwood does not disclose:
a port configured to be coupled with an outer surface of the cover layer, the port comprising:
a port body comprising a raised portion;
a flange surrounding the raised portion;
an adhesive on an underside surface of the port to adhere the port to the outer surface of the cover layer;
the exudate channel extending through at least part of the raised portion; and
the vent channel extending through at least part of the port body so that an end of the vent channel also terminates in alignment with the opening formed in the cover layer;
wherein: the exudate channel and the vent channel extend through at least part of the raised portion of the port body so that an end of the exudate channel terminates adjacent to an end of the vent channel.
Heaton discloses a wound port (reduced pressure adapter 22, see e.g., Figs. 2 & 4) having a raised portion and a flange portion (clearly shown in Fig. 4), the wound port also having an exudate channel (center of recessed region 54) extending through the raised portion of the port body and two ancillary channels (via ancillary ports 56 & 58, Fig. 2) extending through the port body, wherein the exudate channel and the ancillary channels terminate adjacent each other and in alignment with an opening in the cover layer (wound drape covers the wound and there must be an opening in the wound drape to allow wound exudate to pass from the wound into the port/adapter). Note that both exudate channel and ancillary channels in Heaton share one large opening (53) on the port’s bottom surface, therefore only one opening in the cover layer is needed for the wound to fluidly communicate with the channels. Heaton also discloses an adhesive on an underside of the port to adhere the port to the outer surface of the cover layer ([0045]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Lockwood by incorporating the port disclosed by Heaton and using the ancillary channels for venting such that there is a simpler way to organize the exudate/vent tubes used in the system. This also prevents putting the tubes under the sealing layer, which may cause accidental damage to the wound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN S SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781 29 July 2026