DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present disclosure provides.”
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, --strap-- should be inserted after “elongate”; “the same strip material” and “the same” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 5, “the same” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 6, “a stadium shape” is unclear, as stadiums can have varied shapes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (US 4,751,769).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a termination band comprising: an elongate strap (38) formed from a strip material (process of manufacturing), the strap having a first end (56) and second end (bottom in Fig. 2); and a head (40) formed from a strip material (process of manufacturing), the head comprising a loop formed of an upper wall, lower wall and opposing first and second side walls (Fig. 4), wherein the elongate strap is welded in abutment with the head and extends therefrom (process of manufacturing). Please note that the process of manufacturing an apparatus is not germane to patentability of the apparatus itself. Once two pieces are welded together, they become an integral piece.
Regarding claim 2, Young discloses the elongate [strap] and head formed from the same strip material, and wherein a width of the strip material of the strap is the same as a width (T) of the strip material of the head.
Regarding claim 3, Young discloses the lower wall comprises a first lower wall section extending from the first side wall and a second lower wall section extending from the second side wall (Fig. 4), the first and second lower wall sections being welded together along a first weld line to form the head (process of manufacturing), and wherein the lower wall has outer side edges and the strap is welded in abutment with one of the outer side edges along a second weld line that adjoins and is perpendicular to the first weld line (process of manufacturing).
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses the opposing first and second side walls (50) each have a first end adjacent the upper wall and an opposing second end, the second ends being spaced from each other, and wherein a portion of the elongate strap is located between the spaced second ends of the first and second side walls and is welded in abutment with the second ends of the first and second side walls along first and second join lines arranged longitudinally in relation to a length of the strap (process of manufacturing).
Regarding claim 5, Young discloses the strap having a length and a width (T), and the head has a length and a width (T), and the width of the strap is the same as the width of the head.
Regarding claim 6, Young discloses the side walls (50) of the head being curved and the upper and lower walls are straight, wherein the head has a stadium shape (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Young discloses the strap extending from a first side of the of the head (Figs. 2 and 3) and including an upper surface that faces outwardly away from the surface to which the termination band is secured in use, and the termination band further includes a tab (62) extending from a second side of the head that slopes downwardly away from the head to form a ramped element (Fig. 5) for supporting a portion of the strap in use.
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses that when the strap is in abutment with the head a length of the head is perpendicular to a length of the strap (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Young discloses the lower wall having an outer surface and an inner surface that faces the upper wall (Fig. 4), and the strap having an upper and lower surface, and wherein the strap is connected to the head such that the lower surface of the strap is contiguous with the outer surface of the head (Figs. 2 and 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831