DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/645,2692 filed on 04/24/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR2311548 filed on 10/24/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 7 reference characters 223c and 224c
FIG. 11 reference characters 623a, 623c, and 624a
FIG. 12 reference characters 623a, 623c, and 624a
FIG. 13 reference characters 351c and 352c
FIG. 14 reference characters 751a, 752a, 752b and 752c
FIG. 18 reference character 624a
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “Second heat exchange device” and “second heat exchanger” should be used consistently.
Claim 2: “Edge” “wafer” “slice” “web” and “core” are used inconsistently. The phrase “at a second distance (d2), at a second distance (d2)” is duplicative. “Gravity heat pipe(s)” should be replaced with singular or plural terminology. “A second condensation portion” should be corrected because no first condensation portion of the pulsed heat pipe is recited.
Claim 3: “Thethermally” should be corrected to “The thermally.”
Claims 4–5: “Cell slice” “cell edge” “wing” and “leg” should be used consistently. “Gravity heat pipe(s)” should be replaced with singular or plural terminology. In claim 5, “legof” should be corrected to “leg of.”
Claim 6: “The cold source of the second The heat exchange device” contains an improperly inserted “The.”
Claim 8: “Able to of heat exchange” is grammatically incorrect.
Claims 10–12: Parenthetical singular/plural expressions, including “pulsed heat pipe(s)” “cell(s)” and “heat pipe(s)” should be replaced with terminology having grammatically corresponding verbs.
Claim 14: The comma between “the second pulsed heat pipe” and “is fixed” should be removed.
Claim 15: “Electric or hybrid vehicle” should be corrected to “An electric or hybrid vehicle.” Each occurrence of “it” should be replaced with the intended noun to provide a consistent antecedent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 9 recites the limitation "the second flange" in line 3, however, neither a first flange nor a second flange was properly introduced. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “The second flange” was read as “the second wing”.
Regarding Claims 10-11, claim 10 recites that the pulsed heat pipe or pipes are in thermal contact with “the first side and/or the fourth side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side,” followed by a limitation requiring an electrically insulating layer between the pulsed heat pipe or pipes and “the first side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side.” It is unclear whether the electrically insulating layer is required in every recited alternative, including when a pulsed heat pipe contacts only the fourth side, or whether the layer is required only when a pulsed heat pipe contacts the first side or terminals carried by the first side. It is also unclear whether “or terminals carried by said first side” is an alternative to contact with both the first and fourth sides or only an alternative to contact with the fourth side. The specification repeats substantially the same language and does not resolve the issues between the pulsed heat pipe location and the electrically insulating layer. Claim 11 depends on claim 10 and incorporates this ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 14, claim 14 depends on claim 11 but recites “the housing,” “the second pulsed heat pipe,” and “the second flange” without antecedent basis. Claim 14 also recites “the cold plate” without identifying which previously recited cold plate is intended. Consequently, it is unclear which structures are required and how they relate to the limitations inherited from claim 11. For examination purposes, “the second flange” is interpreted as “the second wing.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoot et al. (US-20180166757-A1) and further in view of Gruss et al. (EP 3553443 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Smoot discloses a thermally controlled device for storing electrical energy in chemical form for a vehicle (see e.g. "thermal management system for the at least one energy cell" in paragraph [0007] and "the thermal management system 10, can be installed in, and provide the electrical power needed to operate power utilization devices 20 such as... an electric vehicle" in paragraph [0044]), the controlled device comprising:
a plurality of electrical cells (see e.g. " thermal management system 10 that is structured and operable to cool one or more electrical energy cells 14" in paragraph [0044] and part number 14 in FIG. 5);
a second heat exchange device (see e.g. " thermal management system 10 " in paragraph [0046] and part number 10 in FIG. 4C) comprising a cold source including at least two cold plates (see e.g. "cold plate 22" in paragraph [0047] and "Embedding OHPs in the casing of each energy cell 14 OHP covers 62 that connect to multiple cold plates" in paragraph [0071] and part number 22 in FIG. 4C; it can be seen part number 22 in FIG. 4C has multiple cold plates);
the second heat exchanger comprising at least one pulsed heat pipe (see e.g. "oscillating heat pipe cover 62" in paragraph [0053] and part number 62 in FIG. 6) featuring:
a first wing corresponding to cell contacting central body portion (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 6 and paragraph [0055]), which includes the evaporator region and is in heat exchange capacity with part of the cell edge and includes the evaporator region (see e.g. "As heat is absorbed from the energy cell(s) 14 by the OHP cover 62, evaporation and condensation of the OHP fluid occur" in paragraph [0057] and "the evaporator region(s) is/are located in within the central body portion 62A of the respective OHP cover 62, and the condenser region(s) is/are located in the legs 62B of the OHP cover 62" in paragraph [0058]);
a second wing extending in heat exchange capacity with at least one of the cold plates (see e.g. part number 62B in FIG. 6 and "the evaporator region(s) is/are located in within the central body portion 62A of the respective OHP cover 62, and the condenser region(s) is/are located in the legs 62B of the OHP cover 62" in paragraph [0058]); and
a web connecting the wings (see e.g. the portion of part number 62 in FIG. 6 that connects part numbers 62A and 62B).
Smoot does not disclose a first heat exchange device comprising a bent gravity heat pipe having an evaporation portion in heat exchange capacity with one side of the cells and a condensation portion in heat exchange capacity with the cold plates or that the first wing of the pulsed heat pipe extends under the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe.
Gruss, however, in the same field of endeavor, thermally controlled devices for storing electrical energy, discloses a first heat exchange device (see e.g. "thermosyphon T1" in paragraph [68] of Gruss) comprising a bent gravity heat pipe (see e.g. FIG. 1 of Gruss) having an evaporation portion in heat exchange capacity with one side of the cells (see e.g. "a first zone 2 intended to exchange heat" in paragraph [68] and part number 2 in FIG. 1 of Gruss) and a condensation portion in heat exchange capacity with the cold plates (see e.g. "a second zone 4 for exchanging heat with a cold source, designated condenser zone" in paragraph [72] and part number 4 in FIG. 1 of Gruss) and the evaporation portion is below the condensation portion (see e.g. "The thermosiphon is oriented so that the evaporator zone is below the condenser zone, the return of the liquid to the evaporator zone being effected by gravity" in paragraph [115] of Gruss).
In regards to the limitation that the first wing of the pulsed heat pipe extends under the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe, it would be obvious to position the cell contacting first wing of Smoot’s pulsed heat pipe beneath the condensation portion of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe because this arrangement places the pulsed heat pipe evaporator next to the emitting upper edge of the cells while allowing both heat pipes to access the cold plates. This configuration utilizes the available space between the cells and the gravity heat pipe condenser and maintains the compact configuration sought by Smoot. The resulting combination of Smoot in view of Gruss would have the first wing of the pulsed heat pipe extending under the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe.
Gruss also teaches that the bent gravity heat pipe utilizes gravity to return liquid to the evaporator zone from the condenser zone and thus efficiently transfers heat from a battery to a cold plate heat sink (see e.g. paragraphs [1] and [69] of Gruss). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. such that it includes a first heat exchange device comprising a bent gravity heat pipe, having an evaporation portion in heat exchange capacity with one side of the cells and a condensation portion in heat exchange capacity with a cold source of the second heat exchange device as taught by Gruss et al. in order to provide another means of efficient heat transfer from a battery system to cold plates as suggested by Gruss.
Regarding Claim 2, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses an electric battery having a plurality of electric cells (see e.g. " a plurality of energy cells 14 within the thermal management system 10 and increased power generation from the resulting electrical power storage device 18" in paragraph [0078] and part numbers 18 and 14 in FIGs. 4B and 12) each presenting two faces joined by an edge, where the cell is thinnest and where at least a first side, a second side and a third side are located, the second side and third side being parallel to each other and transverse to the first side (see e.g. "the electrical power storage device 18 can comprise prismatic shaped energy cells 14" in paragraph [0086] and part number 14 in FIG. 12; it can be seen that the prismatic cells shown in FIG. 12 have opposing faces joined by an edge including first, second and third sides, with the opposing second and third sides parallel to each other and transverse to the first side), each cell comprising a cathode terminal and an anode terminal located on a single side or on two different sides of the wafer (see e.g. “the bus bar header 58 is structured or formed such that it does not contact the terminals (e.g., the anode and cathode) of the energy cells 14” in paragraph [0052] and the terminals shown on the prismatic energy cells 14 in FIG. 12), the terminals of adjacent cells being connected to each other to form the battery (see e.g. “when the energy cell(s) 14 is/are disposed in the respective cell reservoir(s) 42, the terminals of the energy cell(s) 14 contact one or more bus bar 26” in paragraph [0048]), the cells being arranged parallel to each other, along a longitudinal direction (L-L), face to face (see e.g. the plurality of prismatic energy cells 14 arranged parallel to each other along a longitudinal direction, face to face in FIG. 12), wherein:
the second heat exchanger includes:
the cold source which comprises at least a first cold plate and a second cold plate (see e.g. “OHP covers 62 that connect to multiple cold plates” in paragraph [0071] and part number 22 in FIG. 4C) in which a heat transfer fluid circulates between an inlet and an outlet (see e.g. “The coolant can be any desired coolant (e.g., liquid, gas, refrigerant, or any other type of known and unknown coolant) that can be circulated through a coolant channel 50 that meanders through an interior of the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0050] and FIG. 5), the first and second cold plates extending parallel to each other, longitudinally, flat and facing the first side of the cells(see e.g. the cold plates identified by part number 22 in FIG. 4C and the prismatic energy cells 14 shown in FIG. 12; it can be seen that the cold plates are substantially flat and extend longitudinally and parallel to each other relative to the cells);
at least one pulsed heat pipe comprising a body internally integrating at least one channel closed on itself to form a loop and incorporating a heat-carrying substance(see e.g. “each OHP cover 62 comprises a meandering multi-pass oscillating heat pipe channel 66 formed internally within the respective OHP cover 62” in paragraph [0056] and “the OHP channel 66 is a meandering multi-pass capillary channel that is filled with a saturation fluid (referred to herein as the OHP fluid)” in paragraph [0057]), the channel having convolutions (see e.g. “The OHP’s tunnel patterns can form a closed-loop (e.g. circulating), or they can be sealed at each end to form an open-loop (e.g. serpentine or linear)” in paragraph [0041] and part number 66 in FIGs. 7A and 7B) and extending between an evaporation portion in thermal contact with at least part of the first side of the edge of the cells, and a second condensation portion in thermal contact with a face of each of the first and second cold plates (see e.g. “the evaporator region(s) is/are located in within the central body portion 62A of the respective OHP cover 62, and the condenser region(s) is/are located in the legs 62B of the OHP cover 62” and “the legs 62B are connectable to the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0058]), the body of the pulsed heat pipe being C-bent (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 6) to present a first wing, a second wing and a web connecting the first and second wings (see e.g. part numbers 62A and 62B in FIG. 6; it can be seen that the OHP cover 62 has a bent configuration including the cell-contacting central body portion 62A, a leg 62B and the portion connecting the central body portion 62A to the leg 62B);
the first wing comprising the evaporation portion and being in heat exchange capacity with at least part of the cell edge (see e.g. “the evaporator region(s) is/are located in within the central body portion 62A of the respective OHP cover 62” in paragraph [0058]);
the second wing parallel to the first wing (see e.g. “the legs 62B are formed to be substantially straight, or flat, and extend from the central body portion 62A substantially parallel to each other” in paragraph [0054]) and comprising the condensation portion extending in heat exchange capacity with at least one of the first and second cold plates (see e.g. “the condenser region(s) is/are located in the legs 62B of the OHP cover 62” and “the legs 62B are connectable to the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0058]);
and a core connecting the first and second wings (see e.g. part number 62 in FIG. 6; the portion connecting part numbers 62A to 62B is the core).
Smoot does not disclose that the gravity heat pipe comprises a body internally integrating a series of juxtaposed channels containing a heat-carrying substance and two transverse volumes into which the ends of the channels open so that the channels communicate fluidically with each other through the transverse volumes; that the body of the gravity heat pipe is bent, L-shaped or C-shaped so that each channel has a curved part located between an evaporation wing and a condensation wing; that the condensation portion is located at a higher elevation than the evaporation portion; or that the evaporation wing extends laterally opposite the second or third side of the cells at a first distance while the condensation wing extends laterally above the first side of the cells at a second distance strictly greater than the first distance.
Gruss, however, discloses that the gravity heat pipe of the first heat exchange device comprises an evaporation portion being capable of heat exchange with a battery and the condensation portion being capable of heat exchange with a cold plate (see e.g. “The heat source on the evaporator is, for example... a battery, a fuel cell or any other power system” in paragraph [69] and “The heat sinks in the condenser are for example forced convection fins, cold plates in mono or diphasic flow, a cold storage” in paragraph [70] of Gruss);
the gravity heat pipe further comprises a body internally integrating a series of juxtaposed channels containing a heat-carrying substance (see e.g. “The thermosiphon comprises a stack of plates or sheets joined to each other, and delimiting between them the fluid circuit C” in paragraph [76] and “The first intermediate plate P3 has a plurality of grooves 6 passing through the entire thickness of the plate P3. In the example shown and advantageously, the grooves are parallel to each other, but such an arrangement is not limiting” in paragraph [78] and part numbers 6 and C in FIG. 2 of Gruss) and two transverse volumes into which the ends of the channels open so that they communicate fluidically with each other via these transverse volumes (see e.g. “The first transverse groove 8 provides fluid communication between all channels at the evaporator zone, and the second transverse groove 10 provides fluid communication between all channels at the condenser zone” in paragraph [82] and part numbers 8 and 10 in FIG. 2 of Gruss);
the body of the gravity heat pipe is bent and L-shaped (see e.g. “In addition, in the example shown, the thermosiphon has an L shape upside down” in paragraph [101] of Gruss) so that the channels each have at least one curved part located between two wings (see e.g. “In addition, in the example shown, the thermosiphon has an L shape upside down, this embodiment is in no way limiting, it could have the shape of a straight bar or a curved bar. The shape of the thermosiphon is adapted to the environment in which it will be integrated” in paragraph [101] of Gruss), a first wing carrying at least one vaporizing portion (PV) (see e.g. “The thermosyphon T1 comprises a fluidic circuit C filled with a fluid, a first zone 2 intended to exchange heat with a heat source, for perform thermal control, heat transfer, component cooling” in paragraph [68] and part number 2 in FIG. 1 of Gruss) and a second wing carrying a condensing portion (PC) (see e.g. “The thermosiphon has a second zone 4 for exchanging heat with a cold source, designated condenser zone” in paragraph [72] and part number 4 in FIG. 1 of Gruss), the condensing portion being located at a higher elevation than the vaporizing portion relative to gravity in the position of use (see e.g. “The thermosiphon is oriented so that the evaporator zone is below the condenser zone, the return of the liquid to the evaporator zone being effected by gravity” in paragraph [115] of Gruss).
In regards to the limitation that "the gravitational heat pipe is arranged so that the first wing carrying the vaporization portion (PV) extending laterally opposite the second side or the third side of the edge of the cells at a first distance (d1), while the second wing of the gravitational heat pipe carrying the condensation portion (PC) extending laterally above the first side of the edge of the cells at a second distance (d2), at a second distance (d2) strictly greater than the first distance (d1)" it would be obvious to arrange the evaporation wing of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe against or adjacent to a lateral side of Smoot’s cells and arrange the condensation wing above the first side of the cells. Gruss teaches that “The shape of the thermosiphon is adapted to the environment in which it will be integrated” in paragraph [101] and that “The thermosiphon can be folded several times in one or more planes. In addition, the angle or angles of folding can be arbitrary” in paragraph [104]. The resulting arrangement would place the evaporation portion adjacent to the heat emitting lateral side of the cells while positioning the condensation portion above the cells where it can contact the cold plates and maintain clearance for the cell terminals and the first wing of the pulsed heat pipe. Because the condensation wing is positioned above the first side of the cells while the evaporation wing is positioned directly against or closer to the lateral side of the cells, the resulting arrangement would have the second distance strictly greater than the first distance.
In regard to the limitation that "the first wing extending longitudinally between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation part of the gravity heat pipe(s)", this limitation would be met by the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. Smoot’s cell contacting central body portion 62A beneath the condensation portion of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe places the evaporator region of the pulsed heat pipe adjacent to the first side of the cell edge while maintaining the gravity heat pipe condenser in contact with the cold plates. The resulting combination would have the first wing extending between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe.
Gruss also teaches that the bent gravity heat pipe utilizes gravity to return liquid to the evaporator zone from the condenser zone and thus efficiently transfers heat from a battery to a cold plate heat sink (see e.g. paragraphs [1] and [69] of Gruss). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. such that the gravity heat pipe includes the juxtaposed channels, transverse fluid communication volumes, bent body, evaporation wing and elevated condensation wing as taught by Gruss et al. and to arrange the gravity heat pipe and pulsed heat pipe relative to the cells and cold plates in order to provide another means of efficient heat transfer from a battery system to cold plates as suggested by Gruss.
Regarding Claim 3, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that the second wing of said at least one pulsed heat pipe extends between two of said at least two cold plates and is capable of heat exchange with two of said at least two cold plates (see e.g. part number 62B in FIG. 10; the second wing extends between two cold plates (22) and is capable of heat exchange with two of the said cold plates). Regarding Claim 4, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that the thermally controlled device comprises at least one first pulsed heat pipe and at least one second pulsed heat pipe (see e.g. " the thermal management system 10 comprises two or more OHP covers 62 for each respective cell reservoir 42 of the cold plate 22" in paragraph [0053]) and wherein:
the first wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally along the side of the cell (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10), and in heat exchange capacity with a first half-length (D/2) of the first side of the cell (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10; 62A is in heat exchange capacity with the first half of cell 14), and the second wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extends between, and in heat exchange capacity with, the first and second cold plates (see e.g. part number 62B in FIG. 10); and
the first wing of the second pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally along the side of the cell (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10), and in heat exchange capacity with a second half-length (D/2) of the first side of the cell edge see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10; 62A is in heat exchange capacity with the second half of cell 14), and the second leg of the second pulsed heat pipe extends in heat-exchange capacity with a free face of the second cold plate (see e.g. part number 62B in FIG. 10).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the first wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally between the first side of the cell slice and the condensation part of the gravity heat pipe(s) and that the first wing of the second pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation part of the gravity heat pipe(s).
However, the combination of Smoot in view of Gruss as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above would result in the first wings of the first and second pulsed heat pipes extending between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe. In particular, positioning the cell contacting portions 62A of Smoot’s pulsed heat pipes beneath the condensation portion of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, would place the first wings between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe. Regarding Claim 5, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that the thermally controlled device comprises at least one first pulsed heat pipe and at least one second pulsed heat (see e.g. " the thermal management system 10 comprises two or more OHP covers 62 for each respective cell reservoir 42 of the cold plate 22" in paragraph [0053]) and wherein:
the first wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally along the first side of the cell (see e.g. the upper cell contacting portion of part number 62A in FIG. 10), and is in heat-exchange relationship with a length (D) of the first side of the cell (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10; the upper portion 62A wraps around and is in heat exchange capacity with the entire length of the corresponding side of cell 14 and “the OHP cover(s) 62 can be structured and formed to fully wrap and encompass substantially the entire outer surface, or a large portion of the outer surface (e.g., 95%, 90%, 85%, 80%, etc.) of the energy cell(s) 14” in paragraph [0068]), and the second leg of the first pulsed heat pipe extends between, and is in heat-exchange relationship with, the first and second cold plates (see e.g. the middle leg portion identified by part number 62B in FIG. 10 extending between the two cold plate portions 22); and
the first leg of the second pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally under the fourth side of the cell (see e.g. the lower cell contacting portion of part number 62A in FIG. 10), and is in heat-exchange relationship with a length (D) of the fourth side of the cell (see e.g. part number 62A in FIG. 10; the lower portion 62A wraps around and is in heat exchange capacity with the entire length of the corresponding side of cell 14), and the second leg of the second pulsed heat pipe extends in heat-exchange relationship with at least one free face of the second cold plate (see e.g. the leg portion identified by part number 62B in FIG. 10 extending along the free face of the cold plate portion 22).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the first wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extends longitudinally between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe.
However, the combination of Smoot in view of Gruss as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above would result in the first wing of the first pulsed heat pipe extending longitudinally between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe. In particular, positioning the upper cell contacting portion 62A of Smoot’s pulsed heat pipe beneath the condensation portion of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, would place the first wing between the first side of the cell edge and the condensation portion of the gravity heat pipe.
Regarding Claim 6, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that the cold source of the second heat exchange device comprises multiple cold plates (see e.g. “OHP covers 62 that connect to multiple cold plates” in paragraph [0071]).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the cold source comprises at least a third cold plate.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to provide the cold source of Smoot with a third cold plate. Smoot teaches that “OHPs can be made from a wide range of material and fluid combinations and in a variety of shapes and sizes in order to meet the specifications of a given application’s heat source(s) and heat sink(s) (e.g. their sizes, heat loads, heat fluxes, locations, temperatures, gravitational fields, coefficients of thermal expansion requirements, etc.)” in paragraph [0040]. Providing a third cold plate would duplicate Smoot’s known cold plate structure to provide additional heat exchange surface for the multiple pulsed heat pipes and accommodate the thermal load of the cells, with each cold plate performing the same known cooling function and producing additional heat exchange capacity.
Regarding Claim 7, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 above).
Smoot further discloses a cold plate arranged opposite another cold plate and in heat exchange capacity with a leg of a pulsed heat pipe (see e.g. the middle leg portion identified by part number 62B in FIG. 10 positioned between the opposing cold plate portions 22 containing coolant channels 50 and “the legs 62B are connectable to the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0058] and “OHP covers 62 that connect to multiple cold plates” in paragraph [0071]).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the third cold plate is arranged parallel to and opposite the second cold plate, in heat exchange capacity with the second leg of the second pulsed heat pipe.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to arrange the third cold plate so that it is parallel to and opposite the second cold plate, on the opposite side of the second leg of the second pulsed heat pipe. Smoot’s FIG. 10 teaches the arrangement of a pulsed heat pipe leg 62B between opposing cold plate portions 22 containing coolant channels 50. Applying this known arrangement to the third cold plate would place both faces of the second leg in heat exchange capacity with cold plates, thereby providing additional heat exchange surface and efficiently transferring heat from the second pulsed heat pipe to the cold source.
Regarding Claim 8, Smoot in view of Gruss disclose the thermally controlled device of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses the first and second cold plates being connected to a first heat transfer fluid circuit (see e.g. part number 22 containing coolant channels 50 in FIG. 10 and “The coolant can be any desired coolant (e.g., liquid, gas, refrigerant, or any other type of known and unknown coolant) that can be circulated through a coolant channel 50 that meanders through an interior of the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0050]).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the third cold plate is arranged against the first cold plate in heat exchange capacity with the gravity heat pipe or that the third cold plate is connected to a second heat transfer fluid circuit independent of the first heat transfer fluid circuit.
Gruss, however, discloses a cold plate arranged in heat exchange capacity with the gravity heat pipe at the condensation portion (see e.g. “it comprises a heat exchanger 26 integrated at the level of the condenser zone, which forms the cold source” in paragraph [152] and “The thermosiphon comprises an additional intermediate plate P5 which has a groove 28 arranged to be in line with the condenser zone, and is intended to allow the circulation of a coolant extracting the heat transport by the fluid flowing in the channels of the thermosiphon” in paragraph [153] of Gruss).
Gruss further discloses that the cold plate is arranged against other plates within the heat pipe and cold plate stack (see e.g. “The plate P5 is interposed between the second intermediate plate P4 and the end plate P2 which defines with the groove 28 a cooling circuit” in paragraph [154] and part number P5 in FIG. 10 of Gruss) and is connected to a heat transfer fluid circuit having its own inlet and outlet (see e.g. “In the example shown, the cooling circuit comprises an inlet 30 and a heat transfer fluid outlet 32” in paragraph [155] of Gruss).
In regards to the limitation that "the third cold plate is arranged against the first cold plate and in heat exchange capacity with the gravity heat pipe" it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the third cold plate against the first cold plate and adjacent to the condensation portion of Gruss’s gravity heat pipe. Gruss teaches placing its additional coolant circulating plate within the heat pipe plate stack and in line with the condensation portion. Gruss further teaches that “Such heat exchangers may also be made inside the stack, in particular in the case where the thermosyphon or the pulsed heat pipe has one or more channels in several layers as shown in FIGs. Figures 9A and 9B, in order to bring or extract heat to the core of the stack” in paragraph [159]. Arranging the third cold plate against the first cold plate would incorporate Gruss’s condenser cooling plate into the stacked cold plate structure of Smoot and place the third cold plate in heat exchange capacity with the gravity heat pipe.
In regards to the limitation that "the first and second cold plates are connected to a first heat transfer fluid circuit and the third cold plate is connected to a second heat transfer fluid circuit independent of the first heat transfer fluid circuit", Smoot discloses its cold plate portions 22 and coolant channels 50 connected to a coolant circulation system through inlet 50A and outlet 50B. Gruss separately discloses its additional condenser cooling plate P5 connected to a cooling circuit through inlet 30 and outlet 32. Therefore, it would have be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Smoot’s coolant channels 50, inlet 50A and outlet 50B as a first heat transfer fluid circuit for the first and second cold plates and retain Gruss’s cooling circuit having inlet 30 and outlet 32 as a second heat transfer fluid circuit for the third cold plate. Maintaining the respective heat transfer fluid circuits when combining the systems would preserve the existing coolant circulation paths of Smoot and Gruss and allow the cold plates associated with the pulsed heat pipes and the cold plate associated with the gravity heat pipe to receive coolant independently without mixing the respective heat transfer fluids.
Gruss also teaches that the bent gravity heat pipe utilizes gravity to return liquid to the evaporator zone from the condenser zone and thus efficiently transfers heat from a battery to a cold plate heat sink (see e.g. paragraphs [1] and [69] of Gruss). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. such that incorporates the gravity heat pipe, cold plates and heat transfer fluid circuit as taught by Gruss et al. in order to provide another means of efficient heat transfer from a battery system to cold plates as suggested by Gruss.
Regarding Claim 9, Smoot in view of Gruss disclose the thermally controlled device of claim 8 (see e.g. claim 8 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses a cold plate arranged parallel to and opposite another cold plate and in heat exchange capacity with a free face of the second wing of a pulsed heat pipe (see e.g. the second wing part number 62B in FIG. 10 is positioned between the opposing cold plate portions 22 containing coolant channels 50).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the cold plate arranged parallel to and opposite the second cold plate is a fourth cold plate.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to provide the cold source of Smoot in view of Gruss with a fourth cold plate arranged parallel to and opposite the second cold plate and in heat exchange capacity with the free face of the second wing of the second pulsed heat pipe. Smoot teaches “OHP covers 62 that connect to multiple cold plates” in paragraph [0071] and shows a leg portion 62B of an OHP cover positioned between opposing cold plate portions 22 containing coolant channels 50 in FIG. 10. Gruss further teaches that “Such heat exchangers may also be made inside the stack, in particular in the case where the thermosyphon or the pulsed heat pipe has one or more channels in several layers as shown in Figures 9A and 9B, in order to bring or extract heat to the core of the stack” in paragraph [159]. Therefore, arranging a fourth cold plate on the free face of the second wing of the second pulsed heat pipe would merely repeat the opposing cold plate arrangement taught by Smoot and incorporate the additional cold plate into the stacked heat exchange structure taught by Gruss. This arrangement would place both faces of the second wing of the second pulsed heat pipe in heat exchange capacity with cold plates, thereby providing additional heat exchange surface and efficiently transferring heat from the second pulsed heat pipe to the cold source.
Regarding Claim 15, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses an electric vehicle (see e.g. "an electric vehicle" in paragraph [0044] of Smoot) comprising:
at least one electric motor to move it (see e.g. "a primer mover (e.g., an electric motor) of the vehicle" in paragraph [0044] of Smoot), and
at least one thermally controlled device according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above), connected to the electric motor to supply it with electricity (see e.g. " the thermal management system 10, can be installed in an electrical power utilization device 20, such as a vehicle and utilized to provide electrical power" in paragraph [0045] of Smoot).
Smoot in view of Gruss does not explicitly disclose that the electric vehicle has at least one electrical outlet connected to said at least one thermally controlled device to charge it with electricity.
However, Smoot discloses that the thermal controlled device does need to be charged (see e.g. "the thermal management system 10 and increased power generation from the resulting electrical power storage device 18 by allowing higher charging and discharge rates of the energy cell(s) 14." in paragraph [0078]). Furthermore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that in order to charge the battery of the electric vehicle with electricity an electrical outlet would be needed and this outlet would have to be connected to the thermally controlled device of Smoot in view of Gruss as this device is the prime mover of the vehicle as disclosed by Smoot.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoot et al. (US-20180166757-A1) in view of Gruss et al. (EP 3553443 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Borsheim et al. (US-20200403282-A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Smoot in view of Gruss discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that the pulsed heat pipe(s) is/are in thermal contact against the first side and/or the fourth side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side (see e.g. part numbers 62A in FIG. 10).
Smoot in view of Gruss does not disclose that a layer of electrically insulating material is interposed between the pulsed heat pipe(s) and the first side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side.
Borsheim, however, same field of endeavor, thermally controlled devices containing battery cells, discloses a thermally controlled device that comprises a layer of electrically insulating material (see e.g. "the cooler fluid channels are themselves electrically insulating" in paragraph [0035] and part number 27 in FIG. 4) being interposed between the pulsed heat pipe(s) (see e.g. part number 25 in FIG. 4) and the first side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side (see e.g. part numbers 22 and 23 in FIG. 2).
Borsheim also teaches that by making the outer material of the pulsed heat pipe which is directly in contact with the first side of the cell out of electrically insulating materials provides savings in weight and cost in addition to benefits that the use of a light, easily formable material brings (see e.g. paragraph [0035] of Borsheim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. in view of Gruss et al. such that a layer of electrically insulating material being interposed between the pulsed heat pipe(s) and the first side of the cell or terminals carried by said first side as taught by Borsheim et al. in order to provide an electrically insulating material that provides savings in weight and cost in addition to the advantages that the use of a light, easily formable material brings as suggested Borsheim.
Regarding Claim 11, Smoot in view of Gruss and further in view of Borsheim discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 10 (see e.g. claim 10 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses that wherein the cold plates and pulsed heat pipe(s) are in a single block (see e.g. part numbers 62, 62A, 62B and 22 in FIG. 10; both the pulsed heat pipes and cold plates are in a singular block) within which the cold plates and pulsed heat pipe(s) are functionally separated from each other by a single wall (see e.g. boundary between part numbers 22 and 62B in FIG. 10; the pulsed heat pipes and cold plates are separated by a single wall).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoot et al. (US-20180166757-A1) in view of Gruss et al. (EP 3553443 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kruger et al. (US-20180026296-A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Smoot in view of Gruss disclose the thermally controlled device of claim 2 (see e.g. claim 2 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses a housing in which the plurality of cells are arranged (see e.g. " thermal management system 10 " in paragraph [0046] and part number 10 in FIG. 3C, the housing comprising:
a bottom on which the cells rest (see e.g. "bottom plate 38 is operable to cover at least the bottom of the energy cell(s) 14 " in paragraph [0049] and part number 38 in FIG. 3C), and
clamping means configured to clamp each heat pipe against the second side and/or third side of the opposing cell(s), so that the or each vaporizing portion of the heat pipe(s) is pressed against the opposing cell(s) (see e.g. "the leg receptacles 70 are structured and sized to receive the legs 62B in a substantially tight friction fit manner such that the generally all of the surface of the legs 62B that are inserted into the leg receptacles 70 are in thermally conductive contact with cold plate 22 when the OHP cover(s) 62 is/are installed over the respective energy cell(s) 14 and connected to the cold plate 22" in paragraph [0059] and FIG. 6; the connection means seat the heat pipe 62 against the second side of the opposing cell such that the evaporation portion 62A is pressed against the opposing cell).
Smoot does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of gravity heat pipes rest on the bottom or that the clamping means are configured to clamp each gravity heat pipe against the second side and/or third side of the opposing cell(s), so that the vaporizing portion of each gravity heat pipe is pressed against the opposing cell(s).
Gruss, however, discloses pressing the evaporation portion of a gravity heat pipe against a heat source to provide planar thermal contact (see e.g. “The thermosyphon is fixed to the bar at the level of the evaporator zone, for example by means of screws 18, so that an outer face of the end face P1 is in plane contact with the bar 14 in order to provide a very good thermal contact, and ensure a very good heat transfer between the bar and the evaporator zone” in paragraph [115] of Gruss and part numbers 14 and 18 in FIG. 4A of Gruss).
Smoot in view of Gruss, however, still do not explicitly disclose a bottom on which a plurality of gravity heat pipes rest, and clamping means configured to clamp each heat pipe against the second side and/or third side of the opposing cell(s), so that the or each vaporizing portion of the heat pipe(s) is pressed against the opposing cell(s).
Kruger, however, in the same field of endeavor, thermally controlled battery modules, discloses a supporting frame and compression means for pressing the components of a battery cell assembly together (see e.g. “Base structure 105 comprises a thermally conductive, rigid or semi-rigid backing plate 102 and a frame 103 extending around at least a portion of the periphery 104 of backing plate 102. Base structure 105 provides support and rigidity for battery cell 110” in paragraph [0039] and “the cell stack may be secured by straps, ties, rods or other means” and that “Straps 145 have tensioning means 146 for tightening the straps to produce the desired compression” in paragraph [0055] of Kruger).
In regards to the limitation that the plurality of gravity heat pipes rest on the bottom, it would have been obvious to extend the bottom plate of Smoot beneath the gravity heat pipes so that both the cells and the gravity heat pipes are supported by the housing bottom. Kruger teaches a base structure that “provides support and rigidity for battery cell 110” in paragraph [0039]. Supporting the gravity heat pipes on the same bottom as the cells would maintain the relative positions of the cells and gravity heat pipes within the housing and provide a compact and mechanically stable arrangement.
In regards to the limitation that the clamping means are configured to clamp each gravity heat pipe against the second side and/or third side of the opposing cell(s), it would have been obvious to modify the tight friction-fit connection means of Smoot using the compression arrangement taught by Kruger so that the evaporation portion of each gravity heat pipe added from Gruss is pressed against the opposing cell. Smoot teaches using a tight friction fit to mechanically retain the heat pipe structure, Kruger teaches using compressible material, straps, ties, rods or other means to produce compression within a battery module, and Gruss teaches fixing the evaporation portion of the gravity heat pipe in plane contact with a heat source.
Kruger also teaches that by structuring the housing like this cooling can be provided for both the induvial battery cells as well as the battery module as a whole (see e.g. paragraph [0065] of Kruger). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. in view of Gruss et al. such that it includes a housing with clamping means as taught by Kruger et al. in order to provide cooling for both the individual batteries and the battery module as a whole as suggested by Kruger.
Regarding Claim 13, Smoot in view of Gruss and further in view of Kruger disclose the thermally controlled device of claim 12 (see e.g. claim 12 rejection above).
Smoot in view of Gruss does not disclose that the clamping means comprise upright walls, bearing against the bottom and surrounding the cells and the plurality of said gravity heat pipes, as a whole.
Kruger, however, discloses clamping means comprise upright walls, bearing against the bottom and surrounding the cells as a whole (see e.g. “frame 103 comprises a first side portion 117 extending along first side edge 130 of backing plate 102; a middle portion 118 continuing perpendicularly to first side portion 117 and extending between side edges 130, 131 and along lower edge 129 of backing plate 102; and a second side portion 119 parallel to first side portion 117 and extending along second side edge 131 of backing plate 102” in paragraph [0046] and part numbers 117-119 in FIG. 3 of Kruger).
Kruger does not explicitly disclose that the upright walls surround the plurality of gravity heat pipes together with the cells as a whole.
However, the combination of Smoot in view of Gruss and Kruger as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above would result in the plurality of gravity heat pipes being positioned between the upright walls of Kruger’s frame and the opposing sides of the cells so that the compression applied through the frame presses the evaporation portions of the gravity heat pipes against the cells.
Kruger also teaches that by structuring the housing like this cooling can be provided for both the induvial battery cells as well as the battery module as a whole (see e.g. paragraph [0065] of Kruger). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. in view of Gruss et al. such that it includes clamping means comprising upright walls, bearing against the bottom and surrounding the cells as a whole as taught by Kruger et al. in order to provide cooling for both the individual batteries and the battery module as a whole as suggested by Kruger.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smoot et al. (US-20180166757-A1) in view of Gruss et al. (EP 3553443 A1) and further in view of Borsheim et al. (US-20200403282-A1). as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kruger et al. (US-20180026296-A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Smoot in view of Gruss and further in view of Borsheim discloses the thermally controlled device of claim 11 (see e.g. claim 11 rejection above).
Smoot further discloses a cold plate covering the second flange of the second pulsed heat pipe and fixed to the housing (see e.g. part number 22 covering part number 62B in FIG. 10 and “bottom plate 38 is also fabricated of an electrically insulating material and structured to be removably connected to the cold plate 22” in paragraph [0049]).
Smoot in view of Gruss and further in view Borsheim does not explicitly disclose that all the cells, gravity heat pipes and pulsed heat pipes are clamped as a whole between the housing and the cold plate.
Kruger, however, discloses a cooling plate fixed over a cell stack to compress the underlying components (see e.g. “Cooling plate 155 is placed on top of the cell stack” in paragraph [0062] and “screws, bolts, or other fasteners may be used to secure cooling plate 155 to the cell stack and press down on the gap pad 157” in paragraph [0063]).
The combination of Smoot in view of Gruss and further in view of Kruger results in Gruss’s gravity heat pipes being positioned within Smoot’s housing against the cells, and Kruger’s cooling plate being fixed to the housing to apply compression. Therefore, fixing Smoot’s cold plate covering the second wing to the housing would clamp the intervening cells, gravity heat pipes, and pulsed heat pipes as a whole between the housing and the cold plate.
Kruger also teaches that by structuring the housing like this cooling can be provided for both the induvial battery cells as well as the battery module as a whole (see e.g. paragraph [0065] of Kruger). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermally controlled device of Smoot et al. in view of Gruss et al. such that it includes clamping means as taught by Kruger et al. in order to provide cooling for both the individual batteries and the battery module as a whole as suggested by Kruger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Timmons et al. (US-20130130074-A1)
Zaghlol (US-20160102920-A1)
Chopard (US-20240363920-A1)
Wang et al. (CN 113675499 A)
Kakiuchi et al. (WO-2013094038-A1)
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723