DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to claims 1 - 24 filed in this application Carru et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 18/645,294, (Filed April 24, 2024) (“Carru”).
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirone et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0045340 (Published February 6, 2025 filed August 2, 2023) (“Cirone”) in view of Chan et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0353329 (Published November 3, 2033, filed April 30, 2021) (“Chan”) and Dixit et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0397987 (Published December 23, 2021, filed June 18, 2020) (“Dixit”)
Claims 1, 9, and 17
With respect to claims 1, 9, and 17, Cirone teaches the invention as claimed a method comprising: defining a set of telemetry definitions… via which an application… persisting the set of telemetry definitions as metadata … {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
However, Cirone doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
wherein each of the set of telemetry definitions specifies a type of event generated by the application … installing the application in a consumer account… for a data listing …is shared by a provider account of a data sharing platform, … associated with the data listing; … of the data exchange; and in response to the application generating a plurality of events, sharing, by a processing device, a subset of the plurality of events with the provider account, …telemetry. {Chan does teach this limitation. Chan teaches that using metadata to specify telemetry definitions for customer/client applications, as taught in Cirone, may include where a data sharing platform, which has a provider account and client (consumer) accounts, has data listings which receive telemetry event data and a GUI that can be used to specify whether or not collected data can be shared and with whom, such as with the provider, and where metadata is used to specify the data sharing permissions. Chan at Fig. 2 (data exchange, data listing, metadata, version metadata, filters); id. at ¶¶ 0119 – 0121, 0123, 0126; id. at ¶¶ 0066, 0068, 0129 - 0134 (GUI for data sharing platform); id. at ¶¶ 0032, 0033, 0097, 0135 (provider account; metadata specifying sharing permissions for data).
Cirone and Chan are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of telemetry, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to manage telemetry events.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using metadata to specify telemetry definitions for customer/client applications, as taught in Cirone, with a datasharing platform sharing the telemetry events, as taught in Chan. Chan teaches that it may be desirable to share collected telemetry metrics. Id. at 0002. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine using metadata to specify telemetry definitions for customer/client applications, as taught in Cirone, with a datasharing platform sharing the telemetry events, as taught in Chan, for the purpose of using a known telemetry collection and data sharing platform with a method that specifies the telemetry to collect.}
However, Cirone and Chan doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation:
and a corresponding sharing requirement for the type of event;… wherein the subset of the plurality events that is shared is based at least in part on the set of [telemetry] definitions. {Dixon does teach this limitation. Dixon teaches that using metadata to specify telemetry for sharing with providers and other users, as taught in Cirone and Chan, may include where the sharing is specified using a GUI to set permissions that grant or deny sharing to particular accounts. Dixon at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0023, 0040, 0043, 0075, 0095.
Cirone, Chan, and Dixon are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are both from the same “problem-solving area.” Specifically, they are both from the field of telemetry, and both are trying to solve the problem of how to manage telemetry events.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using metadata to specify telemetry for sharing, as taught in Cirone and Chan, with using a GUI to set sharing permissions, as taught in Dixon. Dixon teaches that the GUI allows for control over the event data. Id. at Abstract & ¶ 0003. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine using metadata to specify telemetry for sharing, as taught in Cirone and Chan, with using a GUI to set sharing permissions, as taught in Dixon, for the purpose of using a data sharing platform with a method that specifies the software data platform data to share using a GUI.}
Claims 2, 10, and 18
With respect to claims 2, 10, and 18, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the sharing requirement for each telemetry [definition] of the set of telemetry [definitions] indicates {A data sharing platform, which has a provider account and client (consumer) accounts, has data listings which receive telemetry event data and a GUI that can be used to specify whether or not collected data can be shared and with whom, such as with the provider, and where metadata is used to specify the data sharing permissions. Chan at Fig. 2 (data exchange, data listing, metadata, version metadata, filters); id. at ¶¶ 0119 – 0121, 0123, 0126; id. at ¶¶ 0066, 0068, 0129 - 0134 (GUI for data sharing platform); id. at ¶¶ 0032, 0033, 0097, 0135 (provider account; metadata specifying sharing permissions for data).}
telemetry definition {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
whether sharing of the corresponding type of event is mandatory or optional. {Sharing is specified using a GUI to set permissions that grant or deny sharing to particular accounts. Dixon at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0023, 0040, 0043, 0075, 0095.}
Claims 3, 11, and 19
With respect to claims 3, 11, and 19, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
providing a user interface (UI) via which the consumer account can enable or disable event sharing for each type of event for which sharing is optional {Sharing is specified using a GUI to set permissions that grant or deny sharing to particular accounts. Dixon at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0023, 0040, 0043, 0075, 0095.}
further comprising: in response to the application being installed in the consumer account, …based on the set of telemetry definitions. {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Claims 4, 12, and 20
With respect to claims 4, 12, and 20, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
further comprising: receiving, via the UI, a selection of whether to enable or disable event sharing for each type of event for which sharing is optional based on the set of telemetry [definitions] {Sharing is specified using a GUI to set permissions that grant or deny sharing to particular accounts. Dixon at Abstract; id. at ¶¶ 0015, 0023, 0040, 0043, 0075, 0095.}
telemetry definitions. {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Claims 5, 13, and 21
With respect to claims 5, 13, and 21, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein sharing the subset of the plurality of events with the provider account comprises: filtering the plurality of events based on the set of telemetry [definitions] and the received selections, to generate a filtered set of events; and providing the filtered set of events to the provider account. {A data sharing platform, which has a provider account and client (consumer) accounts, has data listings which receive telemetry event data and a GUI that can be used to specify whether or not collected data can be shared and with whom, such as with the provider, and to filter and display the telemetry, and where metadata is used to specify the data sharing permissions. Chan at Fig. 2 (data exchange, data listing, metadata, version metadata, filters); id. at ¶¶ 0119 – 0121, 0123, 0126; id. at ¶¶ 0066, 0068, 0129 - 0134 (GUI for data sharing platform); id. at ¶¶ 0032, 0033, 0097, 0135 (provider account; metadata specifying sharing permissions for data); id. at ¶ 0054, 0055, 0066 (filters).}
telemetry definitions. {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Claims 6, 14, and 22
With respect to claims 6, 14, and 22, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein defining the set of telemetry [definitions comprises defining one or more custom telemetry definitions, wherein each custom telemetry definition comprises: a filter comprising an expression language predicate string defining a custom telemetry type; and a string identifying the custom telemetry type. {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Claims 7, 15, and 23
With respect to claims 7, 15, and 23, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein the data listing …in a data persistence object of the data listing. {A data sharing platform, which has a provider account and client (consumer) accounts, has data listings which receive telemetry event data and a GUI that can be used to specify whether or not collected data can be shared and with whom, such as with the provider, and to filter and display the telemetry, and where metadata is used to specify the data sharing permissions. Chan at Fig. 2 (data exchange, data listing, metadata, version metadata, filters); id. at ¶¶ 0119 – 0121, 0123, 0126; id. at ¶¶ 0066, 0068, 0129 - 0134 (GUI for data sharing platform); id. at ¶¶ 0032, 0033, 0097, 0135 (provider account; metadata specifying sharing permissions for data); id. at ¶ 0054, 0055, 0066 (filters).}
comprises an application package for sharing the application, and wherein the set of telemetry definitions are defined during creation of a version of the application package and are persisted as version metadata {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Claims 8, 16, and 24
With respect to claims 8, 16, and 24, Cirone, Chan, and Dixon, teach the invention as claimed including:
wherein each of the plurality of events is one of the following types: errors and warnings, metrics, usage logs, debug logs, and query audit logs. {Application may be developed with tracing and telemetry instrumentation specified, the application may be deployed and executed, and when running, metadata in the form of calls to a telemetry API can be used to populate logs on the cloud infrastructure to collect event data from which it can be retrieved for analysis. Cirone ¶¶ 0031, 0032, 0036, 0055, 0057, 0061, 0062; id. at ¶ 0064 (metadata).}
Conclusion
//T.H./ September 24, 2026
Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199