Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Receipt of the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 C.F.R. 1.114, filed 8 June 2026 and the Amendment and Applicants’ Arguments/Remarks, all filed 11 May 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 2-14 and 16-22 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 2 and 14 have been amended. Claims 2-14 and 16-22 are examined on the merits within.
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) New Matter Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn. However, the amendments have resulted in a new 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claim 14. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection of claim 14 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendment.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(a) New Matter
5. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
6. Claim 14 recites “about 11 milliliters.” The specification states “between 0.1 to 11 milliliters.” See paragraph [0029]. The use of “about” is broader than what is supported by the specification. Thus the specification does not provide explicit written support for “about 11 milliliters”.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 2-14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garg et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2004/0009223) in view of Cone (WO2009/155118).
Regarding instant claims 2, 7, and 14-16, Garg et al. teach antimicrobial and contraceptive compositions and methods which prevent and/or reduce the risk of transmission of sexually transmitted disease wherein the composition forms a semisolid matrix on contact with ejaculate, thereby trapping ejaculated microbes and spermatozoa. See abstract. The composition comprises a matrix-forming agent, a bio-adhesive agent, a buffering agent, optionally a humectant, optionally a preservative and water. See abstract. Buffering agents include lactic acid. See paragraph [0030]. The matrix-forming agents include alginic acid. See paragraph [0028]. Garg et al. teach a composition comprising 3 to 5 percent of matrix-forming agents, 2.5 to 6 percent of bio-adhesive agents, and 1 to 7 percent of buffering agents. See paragraph [0027].
Regarding instant claims 3-4, the humectant includes glycerol. See paragraph [0031].
Regarding instant claims 5-6, the preservative includes benzoic acid. See paragraph
[0032].
Regarding instant claim 8, generally the molecular weight of the alginic acid is 20 to about 300,000 g/mole, preferably in the range of 20,000 to 250,000 g/mole. See paragraph [0028].
Regarding instant claims 9-10, bio-adhesive agents include xanthan gum. See paragraph [0029].
Regarding instant claim 11, buffering agents include citric acid. See paragraph [0030].
Regarding instant claim 12, the composition may additionally comprise potassium bitartrate. See paragraph [0033].
Regarding instant claim 13, the pH of the formulation was adjusted to about 3.5. See Example 1.
Regarding instant claims 17-18, the composition is in the form of a tablet that is inserted intravaginally. See claim 35. Suitable dosage forms include gels, creams, lotions, foams, and the like. See paragraph [0017].
Regarding instant claims 19-21, each tablet was about 1.2 g/tablet which reads on values of about 4 g. See paragraph [0125]. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the weight/amounts of ingredients dependent on the effect desired.
Regarding instant claim 22, the composition is in the form of gel. See paragraph [0004].
Garg et al. do not teach a composition essentially free of D-lactic acid.
Cone teaches a composition for inactivating pathogens of a genital tract of a female. The compositions include L-lactic acid, substantially free of D-lactic acid. See abstract. Cone teach that it has been surprisingly found that significant pathogens, including herpes simplex virus, are inactivated more efficiently by L-lactic acid then by D-lactic acid. See paragraph [0006]. Organisms may be selected to produce predominately the L-lactic acid stereoisomer, followed if needed by further purification to isolate L-lactic acid substantially free of D-lactic acid. See paragraph [0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to use purified L-lactic acid to provide additional benefit of pathogen inactivation since Cone teaches a surprisingly significant difference in L-lactic acid versus D-lactic acid. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use L-lactic acid to provide enhanced inactivation of pathogens in the composition of Garg et al. Since the combination of Garg et al. and Cone teach the composition as instantly claimed, the composition should have the same properties (pH) and function when administered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
9. Applicants argued, “The pH of mixtures of Garg’s compositions are 5.5 and 6 which are greater than pH 5.0. One would not be motivated to modify Garg with Cone for the purpose of improving pathogen inactivation. There is no support that substituting racemic lactic acid with lactic acid enriched in L-lactic acid would lower the pH.”
In response to applicant’s arguments, the prior art of Cone teaches use of purified L-lactic acid and surprisingly shows that significant pathogens, including herpes simplex virus, are inactivated more efficiently by L-lactic acid then by D-lactic acid. The motivation to combine references does not need to be the same as the instant invention as long as motivation exists. In addition, there does not need to be a need for improvement in order for a motivation to improve to exist. In the instant case, the additional therapeutic effect against pathogens would motivate one to use L-lactic acid over other forms of lactic acid. Garg teach 1 to 7 percent of buffering agents, wherein a buffering agent includes lactic acid. This reads on the amount of L-lactic acid. Since the prior art makes obvious the same combination of ingredients in the same amounts, the resultant properties should be the same. The rejection is solely directed to substitution of L-lactic acid for lactic acid with motivation due to the increased effectiveness over D-lactic acid as taught by Cone. Sperm inactivation and maintaining the pH at 5.0 are functions/properties of the compound/composition. Since the prior art makes obvious the claimed invention through substitution of an isomer over racemic mixture, the compound and composition should have the same properties. The prior art teaches the pH of the formulation was adjusted to about 3.5. See Example 1. This reads on a pH of 5.0 or below.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
Correspondence
10. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615