DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ota (US 20100097538).
Regarding claim 1, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) an electrooptic apparatus comprising: a substrate (AR, 11) having a display region (DA) in a plan view; a first conductive member (D; section 0065) disposed in the display region in the plan view; a first pixel electrode (20) electrically coupled to the first conductive member (coupled via 19); a second conductive member (D adjacent to 16; Figs. 2, 5, 14) disposed in a region between the display region (DA) and an edge of the substrate (AR) in the plan view (Figs. 1-2); and a second pixel electrode (dummy pixel electrode; 13, 67) electrically coupled to the second conductive member (coupled via 19’, 68), wherein the second pixel electrode includes: a first portion (13 adjacent to 30; Fig. 2) not electrically coupled to the second conductive member, and a second portion (13) electrically coupled to the second conductive member (D; Fig. 6) and disposed around and spaced apart from the first portion in the plan view.
Regarding claim 2, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) a common potential is applied to the first portion (section 0082), and a video signal is applied to the second portion (via 16).
Regarding claim 3, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) a potential is not applied to the first portion (after a electrostatic breakdown; section 0085), and a video signal is applied to the second portion (via 16).
Regarding claim 4, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) a potential is not applied to the first portion (after a electrostatic breakdown; section 0085), and a common potential is applied to the second portion (section 0082).
Regarding claim 5, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) a potential is not applied to the first portion and the second portion (after a electrostatic breakdown; section 0085).
Regarding claim 10, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14; in particular Figs. 4, 13-14) an insulating layer (14, 58) provided between the substrate (11) and the first pixel electrode (20), and between the substrate (11) and the second pixel electrode (67), wherein a portion of the second pixel electrode that does not overlap the second conductive member in the plan view and the insulating layer face each other through a gap (portion adjacent to 66) (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding claim 11, Ota discloses (Figs. 1-14) an electronic equipment comprising the electrooptic apparatus (section 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose or suggest the electrooptic apparatus of claim 6, in particular the limitations of a third portion disposed around and spaced apart from the first portion, wherein a same potential is applied to the first portion and the second portion, and a potential is not applied to the third portion. The prior art does not disclose or suggest the electrooptic apparatus of claim 7, in particular the limitations of as a distance to the edge of the substrate decreases, a plan shape of the second pixel electrode changes or a potential distribution applied changes. The prior art does not disclose or suggest the electrooptic apparatus of claim 8, in particular the limitations of the first pixel electrode includes: a first pixel electrode layer electrically coupled to the first conductive member, and a second pixel electrode layer disposed overlapping the first pixel electrode layer and an opening region of a first pixel in the plan view, the second pixel electrode layer having a width in a thickness direction of the substrate smaller than that of the first pixel electrode layer. The prior art does not disclose or suggest the electrooptic apparatus of claim 9, in particular the limitations of the second pixel electrode includes: a third pixel electrode layer electrically coupled to the second conductive member, and a fourth pixel electrode layer disposed overlapping the third pixel electrode layer and an opening region of a second pixel in the plan view, the fourth pixel electrode layer having a width in a thickness direction of the substrate smaller than that of the third pixel electrode layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jeong et al. (US 20180188616).
/CHARLES S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871