Detailed Action
Claims 1-18 of U.S. Application 18/645,401 filed on April 25, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 10, it is unclear how there are two “an energy storage system” in the preamble. Please clarify claim 10 to “ An energy storage system, comprising a monitoring apparatus for the energy storage system, wherein the monitoring apparatus comprises: a plurality of monitors, each of the plurality of monitors being configured to sample an input electrical signal and/or an output electrical signal of one energy storage device and determine an operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device based on the input electrical signal and/or the output electrical signal, and each of the plurality of monitors supporting a wireless networking mode; and a display terminal configured to perform a wireless communication with an upper computer, and transmit the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device to the upper computer by performing a wireless communication with each of the plurality of monitors when each of the plurality of monitors operates in the wireless networking mode, to allow the upper computer to display the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11-18 are also objected to as they depend on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (USPGPub 20200403413).
Prior Art: Inoue
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a monitoring apparatus (100) for an energy storage system (101), comprising: a plurality of monitors (50), each of the plurality of monitors being configured to sample an input electrical signal and/or an output electrical signal of one energy storage device (60) and determine an operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device based on the input electrical signal and/or the output electrical signal, (par 48 discloses determining state of the energy devices) and each of the plurality of monitors supporting a wireless networking mode (pars 23 and 47 discloses remote monitoring) ; and a display terminal (1) configured to perform a wireless communication (using N) with an upper computer (3), and transmit the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device to the upper computer by performing a wireless communication with each of the plurality of monitors (par 84 discloses 50 collects data to provide to 1 which then shows to 3) when each of the plurality of monitors operates in the wireless networking mode (par 113 discloses 50 sends data wirelessly to 1), to allow the upper computer to display (using 33) the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device (pars 59 and 62 display results using wireless communication).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue discloses wherein each of the plurality of monitors is further configured to perform a wireless communication with the upper computer to transmit the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device to the upper computer (par 148 discloses sending information to 3 using at least M and networking N).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue discloses wherein each of the plurality of monitors is further configured to disconnect from the upper computer when the display terminal performs a wireless communication with the monitor (par 148 discloses 50 is used as opening a switch to connect and disconnect from the energy storage. Therefore, the monitors 50 would be configured to disconnect from the upper computer when the display performs communication).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue discloses wherein a networking relay arranged between the plurality of monitors and the display terminal and configured to forward the operating parameters in the plurality of monitors to the display terminal (shown in at least fig 2 with using N and server device as a relay to display information).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue discloses an energy storage system (figs 1-6) comprising a monitoring apparatus (100) for an energy storage system (101), wherein the monitoring apparatus comprising: a plurality of monitors (50), each of the plurality of monitors being configured to sample an input electrical signal and/or an output electrical signal of one energy storage device (60) and determine an operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device based on the input electrical signal and/or the output electrical signal, (par 48 discloses determining state of the energy devices) and each of the plurality of monitors supporting a wireless networking mode (pars 23 and 47 discloses remote monitoring) ; and a display terminal (1) configured to perform a wireless communication (using N) with an upper computer (3), and transmit the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device to the upper computer by performing a wireless communication with each of the plurality of monitors (par 84 discloses 50 collects data to provide to 1 which then shows to 3) when each of the plurality of monitors operates in the wireless networking mode (par 113 discloses 50 sends data wirelessly to 1), to allow the upper computer to display (using 33) the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device (pars 59 and 62 display results using wireless communication).
Regarding claim 11, Inoue discloses wherein each of the plurality of monitors is further configured to perform a wireless communication with the upper computer to transmit the operating parameter of the corresponding energy storage device to the upper computer (par 148 discloses sending information to 3 using at least M and networking N).
Regarding claim 12, Inoue discloses wherein each of the plurality of monitors is further configured to disconnect from the upper computer when the display terminal performs a wireless communication with the monitor (par 148 discloses 50 is used as opening a switch to connect and disconnect from the energy storage. Therefore, the monitors 50 would be configured to disconnect from the upper computer when the display performs communication).
Regarding claim 13, Inoue discloses wherein the monitoring apparatus further comprises a networking relay arranged between the plurality of monitors and the display terminal and configured to forward the operating parameters in the plurality of monitors to the display terminal (shown in at least fig 2 with using N and server device as a relay to display information).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 14-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a monitoring apparatus for an energy storage system, comprising: wherein each of a plurality of energy storage devices comprises a photovoltaic module, a solar charging controller, a battery, and an inverter, and each of the plurality of monitors comprises: a photovoltaic monitor arranged between the photovoltaic module and the solar charging controller, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the photovoltaic module and an input electrical signal of the solar charging controller, determine a current value, a voltage value, a power, and power generation of the photovoltaic module based on the output electrical signal of the photovoltaic module and the input electrical signal of the solar charging controller, and perform an on-off control on a circuit between the photovoltaic module and the solar charging controller; a direct current (DC) load monitor arranged between a DC source and a DC load of the energy storage system, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the DC source and an input electrical signal of the DC load, determine a power and power consumption of the DC load based on the output electrical signal of the DC source and the input electrical signal of the DC load, perform an on-off control on a circuit between the DC source and the DC load, and perform overcurrent protection based on the output electrical signal of the DC source and the input electrical signal of the DC load; an alternating current (AC) load monitor arranged between the inverter and an AC load of the energy storage system, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the inverter and an input electrical signal of the AC load, determine a power and power consumption of the AC load based on the output electrical signal of the inverter and the input electrical signal of the AC load, perform an on-off control of a circuit between the inverter and the AC load, and perform overcurrent protection and leakage protection based on the output electrical signal of the inverter and the input electrical signal of the AC load; and a battery monitor adapted to be connected to the battery, and configured to: sample an input electrical signal of the battery and an output electrical signal of the battery, and determine a power, a residual capacity, an actual capacity, and a health state of the battery based on the input electrical signal of the battery and the output electrical signal of the battery in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 6-9 are also objected to as they depend on claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest an energy storage system, comprising a monitoring apparatus for an energy storage system, wherein the monitoring apparatus comprises: wherein each of a plurality of energy storage devices comprises a photovoltaic module, a solar charging controller, a battery, and an inverter, and each of the plurality of monitors comprises: a photovoltaic monitor arranged between the photovoltaic module and the solar charging controller, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the photovoltaic module and an input electrical signal of the solar charging controller, determine a current value, a voltage value, a power, and power generation of the photovoltaic module based on the output electrical signal of the photovoltaic module and the input electrical signal of the solar charging controller, and perform an on-off control on a circuit between the photovoltaic module and the solar charging controller; a direct current (DC) load monitor arranged between a DC source and a DC load of the energy storage system, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the DC source and an input electrical signal of the DC load, determine a power and power consumption of the DC load based on the output electrical signal of the DC source and the input electrical signal of the DC load, perform an on-off control on a circuit between the DC source and the DC load, and perform overcurrent protection based on the output electrical signal of the DC source and the input electrical signal of the DC load; an alternating current (AC) load monitor arranged between the inverter and an AC load of the energy storage system, and configured to: sample an output electrical signal of the inverter and an input electrical signal of the AC load, determine a power and power consumption of the AC load based on the output electrical signal of the inverter and the input electrical signal of the AC load, perform an on-off control of a circuit between the inverter and the AC load, and perform overcurrent protection and leakage protection based on the output electrical signal of the inverter and the input electrical signal of the AC load; and a battery monitor adapted to be connected to the battery, and configured to: sample an input electrical signal of the battery and an output electrical signal of the battery, and determine a power, a residual capacity, an actual capacity, and a health state of the battery based on the input electrical signal of the battery and the output electrical signal of the battery in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 15-18 are also objected to as they depend on claim 14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aubin et al (USPGPub 20230216327): discloses energy management system.
Karner et al (USPGPub 20190033397): discloses determining state of charge of a battery.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858