Response to Amendment
This is the response to amendment filed 06/01/2026 for application 18645427.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
The 35 USC 112 rejections of claims 1-5 have been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAKURAI (JP 2000304196) in view of the machine translation of SAKURAI and LI (USPGPUB 2020/0339900).
SAKURAI teaches a natural gas hydrate transportation method and container thereof.
The process is taught in paragraphs 9 and 11 to comprise storing water in a transport container and adding water to the transport container, (introducing a mixed hydrate reaction liquid into a hydrate reaction tank) with natural gas hydrate being generated by blowing gas into the transport container (introducing natural gas into the hydrate reaction tank to obtain a mixture and enabling the mixture to undergo a hydrate generation reaction).
The transportation container 1 is taught in paragraph 31 to be loadable with the hydrate onto a transport truck 9.
A heating device 11 is provided below the transportation container 1.
SAKURAI recognizes in paragraph 28 the relationship between temperature and pressure in the formation of the natural gas hydrate.
273.65 K to 283.15 K is 0.5°C to 10°C.
283.15 K to 298.15 K is 10°C to 25°C.
LI is relied on to teach producing at the natural gas hydrate at different temperatures and the motivation to maintain the temperature within a specific range.
LI teaches a hydrate formation promoter and its use in methane storage.
The process is taught in paragraph 12 of LI, wherein the hydrate formation promoter is added to a reaction vessel and methane is introduced into the reaction vessel at a temperature of from 1 to 25°C.
LI teaches an example in paragraph 41 in which in the hydrate formation is performed at a temperature of 10°C. 10°C is 283.15 K.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
LI further teaches in paragraph 12 that the hydrate formed is stable at higher temperatures. The heating to form the hydrate are also at temperatures that overlap the temperatures in which the hydrates are stable. LI further teaches in paragraph 5 that the process overcomes the difficulties of efficiently producing hydrates.
SAKURAI teaches that in paragraphs 31, and 33 the transportation container 1 is loaded onto a transport truck 9 and the transport truck 9 comprises heating device 11. The transport container 1 and the transport truck 9 may be exposed to outside air and heated.
SAKURAI teaches in paragraph 41 placing the transport container 1 in a container 16 to reduce heating due to influence of outside air. SAKURAI teaches that the natural gas may be slightly gasified by a rise in temperature.
SAKURAI accounts for a slight increase in temperatures due to outside air.
After the transport container 1 is loaded on to the transport truck, the transport container 1 would be expected to raise in temperature due to outside air given that ambient temperature is around 20°C (293.15 K) and the transport container was at 10°C (283.15 K). (upon the hydrate generation reaction reaching equilibrium, heating the hydrate to a storage temperature greater than 283.15 K)
The heat would be maintained to under 298.15 K given that LI teaches that hydrates are formed in the temperature range of from 1 to 25°C. (heating the hydrate to a storage temperature less than 298.15 K)
LI further teaches in paragraph 53 that any other changes, modifications, substitutions, combinations, and simplifications without departing from the spirit and principle of the present invention shall be regarded as equivalent replacements and included in the scope of the present invention.
Regarding claim 2, LI teaches an example in paragraph 41 in which in the hydrate formation is performed at a temperature of 10°C. 10°C is 283.15 K.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, LI teaches in reference claim 1 the hydrate formation promoter comprises cyclopentane in water.
Regarding claim 4, LI teaches in reference claim 1 the hydrate formation promoter comprises cyclopentane.
Regarding claim 5, LI teaches in reference claim 1 cyclopentane is present in water in an amount of 5 to 23.4%.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 06/01/2026 have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that LI does not teach generating the hydrate at a temperature between 273.65 K – 283.15 K.
This is not persuasive as LI teaches an example in between hydrate formation takes place at 10°C which is 283.15 K.
SAKURAI teaches how hydrate formation and transport can be performed with the same transportation container. SAKURAI explicitly teaches that the transportation container is heated by outside air. Once formation of hydrate is performed, the transportation container would be heated by the outside air naturally.
Applicant’s argument of identifying a problem that is unrecognized by the prior art is not persuasive given the face that LI teaches hydrate formation promoter is at a temperature of 1 ° C. to 25 ° C. and a pressure of 0 to 30 MPa. LI further recognizes and teaches in paragraphs 12-13 hydrate formation rate is much faster and the methane storage capacity is 72 to 157 cubic meters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GUDMUNDSSON (US 5536893) teach production of gas hydrates for storage and transportation. GUDMUNDSSON teaches in Fig 1 shows a pressure/temperature diagram that demonstrates at what temperature pressure thresholds for hydrate formation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING CHEUNG PO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771