DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-21 are pending and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 08/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 04/25/2024 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the word “lithography” in paragraphs 21 and 41 of specification is erroneous and thus is not clear in the context of drilling control system. Specification ¶21 describes, “gain settings can be compared against lithography to better adjust responses” and ¶41 describes, “the error feedback data can be compared against lithography to better adjust gain value settings.”
It isn’t clear how gain settings or error feedback are compared against “lithography” in order to better adjust responses or gain values, because the meaning of lithography is planographic printing method that relies on non-homogeneous mixture of oil and water, where an image is drawn with a greasy substance (oil, fat, or wax) on a smooth stone or metal plate. Therefore, it is not clear how “lithography” is related to adjustment of any of responses or gain values in the field of wellbore drilling control.
The proper word might be Lithology that is a geological term that describes the physical characteristics of rock units such as color, texture, grain size, and composition. However, for the examination purpose, it cannot be construed what a proper term would be in this case.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 includes minor grammatical informalities. Claim states “performs following operations:” and then describes the operations as “identify, implement, measure, and adjusting.” The last operation begins with the word adjusting (with ing form), however the other operations begins with a word without the “ing” form. This is inconsistence. The proper terms would be beginning words of each operation with “ing” form since these are operations:
For the examination purpose, these terms “identify, implement, measure” (beginning words of the operations) are construed as, identifying, implementing, measuring.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claims 8 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 18:
Claims recite the limitation, another autonomous control feature steering command that is not disclosed by the applicant’s specification.
Examiner notes that even though specification ¶3 states that Rotatable steering systems (RSS) systems hold inclination and azimuth (“HIA”) systems and automated inclination hold (“IH”) systems are well known, however, the claimed limitation another autonomous control feature steering command is broad and “another autonomous control feature” is vague, and the specification doesn’t provide any further description of that “another autonomous” control feature, and how exactly this autonomous control feature is implemented for the steering command.
As described above, one of the ordinary skilled in the art, based on the description in the specification, will not understand that what is “another autonomous control feature steering command,” how this autonomous control function is carried out, by what structure or algorithm this autonomous control function is carried out and what that exact “another autonomous control feature” is.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tasoujian et al. (US20230279766A1; English US version of WO2023167688A1 listed on the IDS dated 08/22/2025) [hereinafter TASOUJIAN].
Regarding claim 1:
TASOUJIAN discloses, A method comprising: [¶9: systems, methods, techniques, and program flows...this disclosure refers to maintaining a curvature of a curve section of a wellbore based on a curvature setpoint until an attitude setpoint is achieved];
a processor identifying a rate of penetration value for a downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered,…
¶36: Drilling operation parameters feedback includes,…ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.];
the processor identifying a gain value based on the rate of penetration; [¶36: ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.];
the processor implementing the gain value in a steering operation of the downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered, and the new control gains are incorporated into the computation of the steering inputs 111…
Examiner notes that, for an ROP a gain value is selected and input for further steering];
the processor measuring at least one of inclination angle and azimuth based on readings from one or more sensors in the downhole drilling tool; [¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶12: Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously];
the processor adjusting gain settings for future steering operations using an error feedback loop that considers the identified gain value and the at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth. [Examiner notes that claim requires at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth such that only one of inclination angle or the azimuth is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶18: At stages E1 and E2, a curvature estimator 115 and an attitude processor 116 respectively generate estimated curvature 117 (depicted as stage E1) and process estimated attitude 118 (depicted as stage E2) based on attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶15: After attitude feedback 114 is received, the outputs of estimated curvature 117 and estimated attitude 118 are communicated to error calculator 103. Curvature error 104 and attitude error 105 (“errors”) are calculated by error calculator 103…These errors 104, 105 represent the current system state to the LQR controller 106.
¶38: At block 300, the curvature cruise controller detects if there has been a change in drilling operation parameters feedback from the previous drilling operation parameters feedback…
Examiner notes that, as described above and as shown in figure 1; after the first steering operation (e.g.; after the first iteration), the attitude feedback measurement 114 that includes measured inclination angel and azimuth are used by error controller 103 (error feedback loop, in the second iteration) to input adjusted gain settings for LQR controller (gain adjustment, in the second iteration) to adjust the next steering command/input 111
Examiner notes that, the limitation error feedback loop is broad and in broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be any feedback loop to determine an error from the feedback loop or any feedback loop that incorporates an error.
Examiner further notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation gain settings for future steering operations means gain settings for any steering operations that happens after the first steering operation.];
Regarding claim 2:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein identifying the rate of penetration value comprises receiving the rate of penetration value via downlinking. [¶29: the steering inputs can be downlinked to the BHA through a telemetry system to carry out the drilling process…
¶16: At stage C, the LQR controller 106 computes and outputs steering inputs 111. For an initial state, a set of default gains can be used as input to the LQR controller 106…
¶19: Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)
Examiner notes that, the ROP is obtained via downlinking such as, inputting steering command 111 initially and then determining feedback ROP from the feedback 119 (Drilling operation parameters measurements) as shown in figure 1.].
Regarding claim 3:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein the processor receives the rate of penetration with a pre-nudge command or with a steering command. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of with a pre-nudge command or with a steering command and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
TASOUJIAN discloses, as described below, processor receives the rate of penetration with a steering command.
¶16: At stage C, the LQR controller 106 computes and outputs steering inputs 111. For an initial state, a set of default gains can be used as input to the LQR controller 106…
¶12: The steering inputs 111 are communicated (directly or indirectly) to the BHA 113. Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously to generate new steering inputs 111 and maintain the desired curvature for a curve section….
¶19: Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)].
Regarding claim 4:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein identifying the rate of penetration value comprises calculating the rate of penetration value based on data received from the one or more sensors. [¶19: drilling operation parameters measurements…Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)…
Examiner notes that, as described above, and in figure 1, TASOUJIAN teaches determining the ROP from the drilling operation parameters measurements 119].
Regarding claim 5:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein identifying the gain value comprises calculating the gain value based on the rate of penetration. [ ¶19: At stage F, control gains 121 are selected from the control gain lookup table 120 based on the drilling operation parameters measurements….Drilling operation parameters measurements can include…rate of penetration (“ROP”)…
Examiner notes that, calculating gain value based on the rate of penetration is broad and can be any calculation or determination of gain that corresponds to ROP. Accordingly, as described above, TASOUJIAN teaches determination of a gain based on ROP].
Regarding claim 6:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein calculating the gain value based on the rate of penetration further comprises:
the processor receiving data from the one or more sensors to measure a trajectory of the downhole drilling tool; [¶56: drilling process feedback 514 (i.e., drilling operation parameters feedback and attitude feedback) to assist in the next cycle of steering inputs generation…
¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)];
the processor determining a difference in the measured trajectory of the downhole drilling tool from a desired trajectory; and [¶54: the LQR controller 504 generates build rate (“BR”) effort 505 and walk rate (“WR”) effort 506 based on errors 503…corresponding to drilling process feedback 514. Errors 503, calculated by error calculator 502, are based on setpoints 501 (e.g.,…attitude setpoints),…estimated attitude 518 (generated from attitude measurements in drilling process feedback 514 by attitude processor 517)];
the processor transforming the difference into a steering force ratio necessary to correct the trajectory of the downhole drilling tool so that the downhole drilling tool implements the steering controls and follows the desired trajectory. [ ¶55: At stage B, DC-TF Calculator 507 generates required tool face orientation 508 and required duty cycle 509 based on build rate effort 505 and walk rate effort 506. Tool face orientation 508 comprises the angle in which the drill bit faces with respect to the BHA. The required duty cycle/steering ratio 509 comprises the amount of steering force needed from the BHA. Together, the required tool face orientation and duty cycle aim to achieve the build rate and walk rate efforts to minimize errors 503.
¶56: At stage C, tool face controller 510 implements the steering inputs to carry out the drilling process 513. Drilling process 513 can generate drilling process feedback 514 (i.e., drilling operation parameters feedback and attitude feedback) to assist in the next cycle of steering inputs generation.
Examiner notes that, the measured trajectory 514 such as measured attitude (inclination and azimuth) are received, and then the difference between these data and setpoints 501 (attitude setpoint) are determined in error calculator 502 and output as errors 503 to LQR controller in order to transform these error/difference to force ratio (duty cycle/steering ratio 509 comprises the amount of steering force) to perform steering control to reduce trajectory error thereby correcting trajectory].
Regarding claim 7:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein identifying the gain value comprises referencing a look up table to determine the gain value associated with the rate of penetration. [ ¶19: At stage F, control gains 121 are selected from the control gain lookup table 120 based on the drilling operation parameters measurements….Drilling operation parameters measurements can include…rate of penetration (“ROP”)].
Regarding claim 8:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein the steering command comprises a hold inclination and azimuth steering command, an automated inclination hold steering command, or another autonomous control feature steering command. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the limitations separated by “or” and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
As described below, TASOUJIAN discloses, hold inclination and azimuth steering command.
¶20 FIG. 2 is a flowchart including examples of operations to generate steering inputs with a model-based controller. The example operations in FIG. 2 are described with reference to a curvature cruise controller, which can be implemented as a subsystem of the drilling system or in communication with a drilling system….in a two-dimensional scenario, the controller can hold a constant azimuth and build the curve (increasing the inclination) or drop the curve (decreasing the inclination) according to a specified curvature setpoint in the inclination plane…the curvature cruise controller can be implemented both on the surface and downhole, using surface and/or downhole data…
Examiner notes the claim rejections under 35 USC 112(a) due to specification not having disclosure for the limitation “another autonomous control feature steering command”].
Regarding claim 9:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, further comprising receiving a tolerance value identifying an allowed deviation from a desired drill path via downlinking. [¶27: where K is the optimal control gain vector. A control gain matrix is computed and/or designed in advance that correlates control gain vectors with different combinations of values for drilling operation parameters (i.e., different system operating conditions). The correlations of control gain vector can be with combinations of individual values of drilling operation parameters or ranges. This allows gain changes to be limited to those in response to changes in system operating conditions outside of ranges (e.g., tolerating small changes in system operating conditions)].
Regarding claim 11:
TASOUJIAN discloses, A system comprising: [¶9: systems, methods, techniques, and program flows...this disclosure refers to maintaining a curvature of a curve section of a wellbore based on a curvature setpoint until an attitude setpoint is achieved];
a downhole drilling tool comprising one or more sensors; and [¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶12: Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously];
a processor in communication with the downhole drilling tool to steer the downhole drilling tool through a drilling path, the processor further configured to: [¶52: FIG. 4 depicts an example computer system with a curvature cruise controller. The computer system includes a processor 401 (possibly including multiple processors, multiple cores, multiple nodes, and/or implementing multi-threading, etc.).];
identify a rate of penetration value for a downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered,…
¶36: Drilling operation parameters feedback includes,…ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.];
identify a gain value based on the rate of penetration; [¶36: ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.];
implement the gain value in a steering operation of the downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered, and the new control gains are incorporated into the computation of the steering inputs 111…
Examiner notes that, for an ROP a gain value is selected and input for further steering];
measure at least one of inclination angle and azimuth based on readings from the one or more sensors; [¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶12: Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously];
adjust gain settings for future steering operations using an error feedback loop that considers the identified gain value and the at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth. [Examiner notes that claim requires at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth such that only one of inclination angle or the azimuth is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶18: At stages E1 and E2, a curvature estimator 115 and an attitude processor 116 respectively generate estimated curvature 117 (depicted as stage E1) and process estimated attitude 118 (depicted as stage E2) based on attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶15: After attitude feedback 114 is received, the outputs of estimated curvature 117 and estimated attitude 118 are communicated to error calculator 103. Curvature error 104 and attitude error 105 (“errors”) are calculated by error calculator 103…These errors 104, 105 represent the current system state to the LQR controller 106.
¶38: At block 300, the curvature cruise controller detects if there has been a change in drilling operation parameters feedback from the previous drilling operation parameters feedback…
Examiner notes that, as described above and as shown in figure 1; after the first steering operation (e.g.; after the first iteration), the attitude feedback measurement 114 that includes measured inclination angel and azimuth are used by error controller 103 (error feedback loop, in the second iteration) to input adjusted gain settings for LQR controller (gain adjustment, in the second iteration) to adjust the next steering command/input 111
Examiner notes that, the limitation error feedback loop is broad and in broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be any feedback loop to determine an error from the feedback loop or any feedback loop that incorporates an error.
Examiner further notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation gain settings for future steering operations means gain settings for any steering operations that happens after the first steering operation.];
Regarding claim 12:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, receive the rate of penetration value via downlinking to identify the rate of penetration value. [¶29: the steering inputs can be downlinked to the BHA through a telemetry system to carry out the drilling process…
¶16: At stage C, the LQR controller 106 computes and outputs steering inputs 111. For an initial state, a set of default gains can be used as input to the LQR controller 106…
¶19: Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)
Examiner notes that, the ROP is obtained via downlinking such as, inputting steering command 111 initially and then determining feedback ROP from the feedback 119 (Drilling operation parameters measurements) as shown in figure 1.].
Regarding claim 13:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, receive the rate of penetration with a pre-nudge command or with a steering command. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of with a pre-nudge command or with a steering command and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
TASOUJIAN discloses, as described below, processor receives the rate of penetration with a steering command.
¶16: At stage C, the LQR controller 106 computes and outputs steering inputs 111. For an initial state, a set of default gains can be used as input to the LQR controller 106…
¶12: The steering inputs 111 are communicated (directly or indirectly) to the BHA 113. Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously to generate new steering inputs 111 and maintain the desired curvature for a curve section….
¶19: Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)].
Regarding claim 14:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, calculate the rate of penetration value based on data received from the one or more sensors to identify the rate of penetration value. [¶19: drilling operation parameters measurements…Drilling operation parameters measurements can include but are not limited to, rate of penetration (“ROP”)…
Examiner notes that, as described above, and in figure 1, TASOUJIAN teaches determining the ROP from the drilling operation parameters measurements 119].
Regarding claim 15:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, calculate the gain value based on the rate of penetration to identify the gain value. [ ¶19: At stage F, control gains 121 are selected from the control gain lookup table 120 based on the drilling operation parameters measurements….Drilling operation parameters measurements can include…rate of penetration (“ROP”)…
Examiner notes that, calculating gain value based on the rate of penetration is broad and can be any calculation or determination of gain that corresponds to ROP. Accordingly, as described above, TASOUJIAN teaches determination of a gain based on ROP].
Regarding claim 16:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, receive data from the one or more sensors to measure a trajectory of the downhole drilling tool; [¶56: drilling process feedback 514 (i.e., drilling operation parameters feedback and attitude feedback) to assist in the next cycle of steering inputs generation…
¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)];
determine a difference in the measured trajectory of the downhole drilling tool from a desired trajectory; [¶54: the LQR controller 504 generates build rate (“BR”) effort 505 and walk rate (“WR”) effort 506 based on errors 503…corresponding to drilling process feedback 514. Errors 503, calculated by error calculator 502, are based on setpoints 501 (e.g.,…attitude setpoints),…estimated attitude 518 (generated from attitude measurements in drilling process feedback 514 by attitude processor 517)];
transform the difference into a steering force ratio necessary to correct the trajectory of the downhole drilling tool so that the downhole drilling tool implements the steering controls and follows the desired trajectory. [ ¶55: At stage B, DC-TF Calculator 507 generates required tool face orientation 508 and required duty cycle 509 based on build rate effort 505 and walk rate effort 506. Tool face orientation 508 comprises the angle in which the drill bit faces with respect to the BHA. The required duty cycle/steering ratio 509 comprises the amount of steering force needed from the BHA. Together, the required tool face orientation and duty cycle aim to achieve the build rate and walk rate efforts to minimize errors 503.
¶56: At stage C, tool face controller 510 implements the steering inputs to carry out the drilling process 513. Drilling process 513 can generate drilling process feedback 514 (i.e., drilling operation parameters feedback and attitude feedback) to assist in the next cycle of steering inputs generation.
Examiner notes that, the measured trajectory 514 such as measured attitude (inclination and azimuth) are received, and then the difference between these data and setpoints 501 (attitude setpoint) are determined in error calculator 502 and output as errors 503 to LQR controller in order to transform these error/difference to force ratio (duty cycle/steering ratio 509 comprises the amount of steering force) to perform steering control to reduce trajectory error thereby correcting trajectory].
Regarding claim 17:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, reference a look up table to determine the gain value associated with the rate of penetration. [ ¶19: At stage F, control gains 121 are selected from the control gain lookup table 120 based on the drilling operation parameters measurements….Drilling operation parameters measurements can include…rate of penetration (“ROP”)].
Regarding claim 18:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, wherein the steering command comprises a hold inclination and azimuth steering command, an automated inclination hold steering command, or another autonomous control feature steering command. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the limitations separated by “or” and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
As described below, TASOUJIAN discloses, hold inclination and azimuth steering command.
¶20 FIG. 2 is a flowchart including examples of operations to generate steering inputs with a model-based controller. The example operations in FIG. 2 are described with reference to a curvature cruise controller, which can be implemented as a subsystem of the drilling system or in communication with a drilling system….in a two-dimensional scenario, the controller can hold a constant azimuth and build the curve (increasing the inclination) or drop the curve (decreasing the inclination) according to a specified curvature setpoint in the inclination plane…the curvature cruise controller can be implemented both on the surface and downhole, using surface and/or downhole data…
Examiner notes the claim rejections under 35 USC 112(a) due to specification not having disclosure for the limitation “another autonomous control feature steering command”].
Regarding claim 19:
TASOUJIAN further discloses, receive a tolerance value identifying an allowed deviation from a desired drill path via downlinking. [¶27: where K is the optimal control gain vector. A control gain matrix is computed and/or designed in advance that correlates control gain vectors with different combinations of values for drilling operation parameters (i.e., different system operating conditions). The correlations of control gain vector can be with combinations of individual values of drilling operation parameters or ranges. This allows gain changes to be limited to those in response to changes in system operating conditions outside of ranges (e.g., tolerating small changes in system operating conditions)…
¶29: the steering inputs can be downlinked to the BHA through a telemetry system to carry out the drilling process.].
Regarding claim 21:
TASOUJIAN discloses, A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions, which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the following operations: [¶9: systems, methods, techniques, and program flows...this disclosure refers to maintaining a curvature of a curve section of a wellbore based on a curvature setpoint until an attitude setpoint is achieved…
¶52: FIG. 4 depicts an example computer system with a curvature cruise controller. The computer system includes a processor 401…memory 407 may be system…or any one or more of the above already described possible realizations of machine-readable media…
¶47: Any combination of one or more machine readable medium(s) may be utilized. The machine-readable medium may be a machine-readable signal medium or a machine-readable storage medium.];
identify a rate of penetration value for a downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered,…
¶36: Drilling operation parameters feedback includes,…ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.
Examiner notes the claim objections set forth in this office action.];
identify a gain value based on the rate of penetration; [¶36: ROP which are used to determine the control gains via a lookup table.];
implement the gain value in a steering operation of the downhole drilling tool; [¶16: After the BHA 113 produces drilling operation parameters feedback 119, the selection of control gains is triggered, and the new control gains are incorporated into the computation of the steering inputs 111…
Examiner notes that, for an ROP a gain value is selected and input for further steering];
measure at least one of inclination angle and azimuth based on readings from one or more sensors in the downhole drilling tool; [¶18: attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶12: Measurements taken by sensors placed on the BHA 113, after the steering inputs 111 have been implemented, can be communicated to the two feedback loops asynchronously];
adjusting gain settings for future steering operations using an error feedback loop that considers the identified gain value and the at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth. [Examiner notes that claim requires at least one of the inclination angle and the azimuth such that only one of inclination angle or the azimuth is required and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
¶18: At stages E1 and E2, a curvature estimator 115 and an attitude processor 116 respectively generate estimated curvature 117 (depicted as stage E1) and process estimated attitude 118 (depicted as stage E2) based on attitude feedback measurement 114. For FIG. 1 , attitude feedback 114 includes components of attitude (e.g., inclination and azimuthal measurements)…
¶15: After attitude feedback 114 is received, the outputs of estimated curvature 117 and estimated attitude 118 are communicated to error calculator 103. Curvature error 104 and attitude error 105 (“errors”) are calculated by error calculator 103…These errors 104, 105 represent the current system state to the LQR controller 106.
¶38: At block 300, the curvature cruise controller detects if there has been a change in drilling operation parameters feedback from the previous drilling operation parameters feedback…
Examiner notes that, as described above and as shown in figure 1; after the first steering operation (e.g.; after the first iteration), the attitude feedback measurement 114 that includes measured inclination angel and azimuth are used by error controller 103 (error feedback loop, in the second iteration) to input adjusted gain settings for LQR controller (gain adjustment, in the second iteration) to adjust the next steering command/input 111
Examiner notes that, the limitation error feedback loop is broad and in broadest reasonable interpretation, it can be any feedback loop to determine an error from the feedback loop or any feedback loop that incorporates an error.
Examiner further notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation gain settings for future steering operations means gain settings for any steering operations that happens after the first steering operation.];
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASOUJIAN, and further in view of Sugiura (US20150167392A1) [hereinafter Sugiura].
Regarding claim 10:
TASOUJIAN discloses, The method of claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly discloses, and
SUGIURA discloses, the error feedback loop comprises a proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to [¶24: the one or more controllers may include a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller;….
¶23: the one or more controllers may be configured to implement the Inclination Hold (IH) mode and the Hold Inclination and Azimuth (HIA) mode. These steering modes are automated closed-loop functions that allow the RSS to automatically target and maintain operator-defined inclination and azimuth settings.];
the error feedback loop comprises a proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to mitigate undershoot or overshoot in at least one of a desired inclination angle and a desired azimuth when implementing the adjusted gain settings for the future steering operations. [¶84: the determined drilling state related to the current drilling speed (e.g., ROP) may be provided to or calculated in the downhole processor to allow for the adjustment of the gain of the proportional controller used for the Inclination and/or Azimuth Hold algorithm….the proportional gain of the…PID controller may be reduced at the on-bottom high ROP drilling state from the nominal, medium-ROP gain. Conversely, the proportional gain of the…PID controller may be increased at the on-bottom high ROP drilling state from the nominal, medium-ROP gain….the integral gain and/or derivative gain may be adjusted in the same manner as the proportional gain based on the determined drilling state related to the ROP range. Adjusting various controller gains during active drilling based on the classified ROP range may provide improved trajectory control of the downhole tool.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the error feedback loop comprises a proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to mitigate undershoot or overshoot in at least one of a desired inclination angle and a desired azimuth when implementing the adjusted gain settings for the future steering operations in order to achieve improved trajectory control of the downhole tool by compensating for any overshoot/undershoot by the PID controller taught by Sugiura with the method taught by TASOUJIAN as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to achieve improved trajectory control of the downhole tool by compensating for any overshoot/undershoot by the PID controller [Sugiura, ¶84: Adjusting various controller gains during active drilling based on the classified ROP range may provide improved trajectory control of the downhole tool.].
Regarding claim 20:
TASOUJIAN discloses, The system of claim 11, but doesn’t explicitly discloses, and
SUGIURA discloses, the error feedback loop comprises a proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to [¶24: the one or more controllers may include a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller;….
¶23: the one or more controllers may be configured to implement the Inclination Hold (IH) mode and the Hold Inclination and Azimuth (HIA) mode. These steering modes are automated closed-loop functions that allow the RSS to automatically target and maintain operator-defined inclination and azimuth settings.];
the error feedback loop comprises a proportional-integral-derivative controller configured to mitigate undershoot or overshoot in at least one of a desired inclination angle and a desired azimuth when implementing the adjusted gain settings for the future steering operations. [¶84: the determined drilling state related to the current drilling speed (e.g., ROP) may be provided to or calculated in the downhole processor to allow for the adjustment of the gain of the proportional controller used for the Inclination and/or Azimuth Hold algorithm….the proportional gain of the…PID controller may be reduced at the on-bottom high ROP drilling state from the nominal, medium-ROP gain. Conversely, the proportional gain of the…PID controller may be increased at the on-bottom high ROP drilling state from the nominal, medium-ROP gain….the integral gain and/or derivative gain may be adjusted in the same manner as the proportional gain based on the determined drilling state related to the ROP range. Adjusting various controller gains during active drilling based on the classified ROP range may provide improved trajectory control of the downhole tool.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of taught by Sugiura with the system taught by TASOUJIAN as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Bayliss et al. (US20150218887A1) - Closed Loop Model Predictive Control of Directional Drilling Attitude
¶6: receiving a demand attitude (e.g., demand inclination and azimuth values) as well as a measured attitude (e.g., measured inclination and azimuth values). The received values are processed using a closed loop MPC scheme to obtain an attitude error (e.g., inclination and azimuth errors) that may be further processed to obtain a corrective setting for a directional drilling tool (e.g., a steering tool). The corrective setting is then applied to alter the direction of drilling. The process of measuring the attitude, processing via the model predictive control scheme, and applying a corrective setting may be repeated continuously while drilling.
Hornblower et al. (US20150377004A1) - Closed Loop Control of Drilling Toolface:
¶5: receiving reference and measured attitudes of the subterranean borehole while drilling with the reference attitude being measured…The reference attitude and the measured attitude are processed downhole while drilling (using a downhole processor) to compute an angle change…The computed angle change is compared with a predetermined threshold. This process may be continuously repeated while the angle change is less than the threshold. The reference attitude and the measured attitude are further processed downhole to compute a toolface angle when the angle change of the subterranean borehole is greater than or equal to the threshold. The toolface angle may then be further processed to control a direction of drilling of the subterranean borehole.
McClard (US20080314641A1) - Directional Drilling System and Software Method:
¶46: variables may be inputted to the software on a continuing basis comprising a measured angular position of the drill string at a surface position…and/or azimuth and inclination taken at the nonmagnetic measurement portion….then outputs an adjusted angular position, an adjusted sliding mode drill string tension, and an adjusted mud flow rate to maintain a tool face of the bit wherein a projected direction of drilling may be determined utilizing the distance between the bit and the nonmagnetic measurement portion of the bottom hole assembly and the desired trajectory.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116