Claims 1-20 filed on 04/25/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 05/03/2024 and 06/25/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference character(s) mentioned in the description: 400 is not mentioned in the detailed description.
The drawing of FIG.4 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show as mentioned in paragraph [0041] line 6 "...at step 412, may determine the air volume to be taken into the AOI (for step 414) as described in the detailed description. FIG.4 further shows as mentioned in paragraph [0040] line 9 “…may enable the…to circulate air from at least one of the good zones having the IAQ”. With this description in mind, the word “may” can be interpreted as an instance represented by the reference numbers 406 showing a flow diagram of when the “IAQ values” are “Good” or “Bad”. A similar explanation is given for the reference numbers 412 and 414 and therefore the structure of the flow diagram should be modified to mimic the flow chart of 406.
The same interpretation of the word “may” applies to FIG.3 mentioned in the drawings. Paragraph [0043] mentions “Further, when the IAQ of any of the… method 300 may include step 306”. The structure of the flow diagram must be in compliance with detailed description and therefore must be modified in a similar structure to reference number 406 of FIG. 4.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 AQI should read Air Quality Index (AQI).
Claim 8 mentions AQI should read Air Quality Index (AQI).
Claim 10 mentions AQI should read Air Quality Index (AQI).
Claim 12, 13, 14 mentions AQI should read Air Quality Index (AQI).
Claim 19, “AHI” should read “AHU”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6, 17,18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 mentions the existence of “the average AQI”. While the examiner acknowledges the term AQI, Claim 6 depends on Claim 5, and Claim 5 depends on Claim 1. Claim 5 and Claim 1 do not have any mention of “the average AQI”, which provides no antecedent basis of “the average AQI”.
Claim 17 mentions the existence of “the central damper” mentioned in claim 16. While the examiner acknowledges the existence of a central damper within the claim scope, Claim 17 depends on Claim 15, which provides no antecedent basis of “the central damper”.
Claim 18 is rejected based on the same antecedent basis of Claim 17.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches A system to control operation of an HVAC unit for conditioning indoor air quality in a multi-zone area (FIG.4; [0046] “The central control circuit in the apparatus may be configured to delineate occupant zones based on an electronic floor plan; instruct allocation or installation of at least one sensor array for or in each delineated occupant zone; after delineation of the occupant zones, delineating at least one boundary zone and at least one air handling zone based on the electronic floor plan and an electronic HVAC plan; identify overlapping zones including at least one combined boundary-occupant zone, combined air handling-occupant zone, or combined boundary-occupant-air handling zone; and instruct allocation or installation of at least one sensor array for or in the identified overlapping zones.”), the system comprising:
a controller adapted to be operatively connected to an air handling unit (AHU) associated with the HVAC unit (see FIG.1; “controller” is a “central control circuit” [0102] “Control circuit 141 may be communicatively coupled directly or indirectly to the air handling unit 130.”);
wherein the controller comprises
a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (see FIG. 1; processor is “processing units” and memory storing is “system memory” [0104] “The central control unit 200 may include one or more processing units 220, non-transitory system memories 222… that couples various system components including the system memory 22 to the processing unit(s) 220.”), the controller is configured to receive, from one or more sensors installed at a plurality of zones of an area of interest (AOI), a set of data packets pertaining to indoor air quality (IAQ) at each of the zones in real-time (“controller” is “central control circuit” and “AOI” is “first zone” “IAQ” is “first air parameter” [0021] includes a central control circuit configured to receive from the first sensor array a signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the first zone is currently being remediated; and if the air within the first zone is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the first and second zones until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”), and
wherein when the IAQ of any of the plurality of zones is detected to be above a first predefined level, the controller enables the AHU and the HVAC unit
(“controller” is “central control circuit” and “AOI” is “first zone” “IAQ” is “first air parameter” [0021] includes a central control circuit configured to receive from the first sensor array a signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the first zone is currently being remediated; and if the air within the first zone is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the first and second zones until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”, see also measured IAW of the external zone, see 0118, 0145 (e.g. clean or pollution measurement)
He does not explicitly teach to circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones but teaches a function of circulating air from an external zone (e.g. a remaining zone w/ fresh air having an IAQ below a threshold) to another zone having a higher IAQ threshold for remediation of a target zone having high IAQ levels (see also [0160])
Jackson teaches to circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones
(see FIG. 2, 3, 5; [0034] FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control operation of the HVAC unit of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones having the IAQ below the first predefined level to the zones having the IAQ above the first predefined level. He teaches a pertinent function of circulating air from an external zone to another zone based on air quality levels while Jackson teaches circulating air between zones while obtaining zone air quality levels. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art circulating air between adjacent zones based on relative air quality levels would achieve an expected and predictable result of remediating air quality levels between zones. Doing so would allow an effective way of managing air quality between zones (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He teaches wherein the controller is associated with the AHU (see FIG.1; “controller” is a “central control circuit” [0102] “Control circuit 141 may be communicatively coupled directly or indirectly to the air handling unit 130.”),
wherein the AHU is configured to:
receive and store the set of data packets pertaining to the IAQ at each of the zones in real-time (“signal indicative of a measurement” is “data packets pertaining the IAQ at each of the zones” [0011] “an air handling unit comprising a control circuit; and a central control circuit that includes at least one processor and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores at least one of processor-executable instructions or data … air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration”.
“for a first duration” is “real-time IAQ” [0011]The central controller is communicatively coupled to the sensor array and the air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the space is currently being remediated; and if the air within the space is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the space until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”);
and (“controller” is “central control circuit” and “AOI” is “first zone” “IAQ” is “first air parameter” [0021] includes a central control circuit configured to receive from the first sensor array a signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the first zone is currently being remediated; and if the air within the first zone is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the first and second zones until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”).
He doesn’t teach circulate the air between the zones but teaches a function of circulating air from an external zone (e.g. a remaining zone w/ fresh air having an IAQ below a threshold) to another zone having a higher IAQ threshold for remediation of a target zone having high IAQ levels (see also [0160])
Jackson teaches circulate the air between the zones (see FIG. 2, 3, 5; [0034] FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones having the IAQ below the first predefined level to the zones having the IAQ above the first predefined level. Doing so would allow an effective way of managing air quality between zones (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
Regarding claim 9, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He further teaches wherein the HVAC unit comprises ([0075] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary air remediation system 100 for improving air quality in a habitable environment or indoor space therein. In some approaches, the air remediation system 100 may be a standalone system for remediating air quality in a habitable environment. In other approaches, the air remediation system may form part of, or otherwise incorporate, one or more existing HVAC systems within a habitable environment.):
a plurality of zone dampers installed (FIG. 4 180 (a,b,c,d) is “zone dampers”; also see FIG.5 [0178] “ the central control circuit may (re)configure the dampers so that the damper in the polluted zone (e.g., damper 180a in zone 1) may be fully open, while the other dampers (e.g., damper 180b in zone 2) may be fully or partially closed.”);
wherein when the IAQ of any of the plurality of zones is detected to be above a first predefined level (“controller” is “central control circuit” and “AOI” is “first zone” “IAQ” is “first air parameter” [0021] includes a central control circuit configured to receive from the first sensor array a signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the first zone is currently being remediated; and if the air within the first zone is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the first and second zones until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”)
, the controller actuates at least one of the zone dampers to circulate the air from [0178] “ the central control circuit may (re)configure the dampers so that the damper in the polluted zone (e.g., damper 180a in zone 1) may be fully open, while the other dampers (e.g., damper 180b in zone 2) may be fully or partially closed.”), supra claim 1 rationale and mappings)
He doesn’t teach a supply air stream duct comprising a plurality of interconnected supply channels to facilitate inflow of a supply air into the plurality of zones of the AOI a return air duct comprising a plurality of interconnected return channels to facilitate outflow of a return air from each of the zones ; in the plurality of interconnected supply channels ; configured in each of the supply channels for individually regulating the flow of the supply air into each of the zones ; at least one of the remaining zones.
Jackson teaches a supply air stream duct comprising a plurality of interconnected supply channels to facilitate inflow of a supply air into the plurality of zones of the AOI (see FIG 2 “supply air channel is the channels connected to reference number 222, 224, 226”);
a return air duct comprising a plurality of interconnected return channels to facilitate outflow of a return air from each of the zones (“interconnected return channels” FIG.2 reference number 242, 244, 246);
in the plurality of interconnected supply channels (see FIG 2 “supply air channel is the channels connected to reference number 222, 224, 226”)
configured in each of the supply channels for individually regulating the flow of the supply air into each of the zones (see FIG 2 “supply air channel is the channels connected to reference number 222, 224, 226”);
at least one of the remaining zones (see FIG. 2, 3, 5; [0034] FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include the supply and return air ducts to include dampers. Doing so would allow the dampers to regulate the flow of supply air into teach of the zones (Jackson [0012] “desirable to independently control such variables in a plurality of controlled space compartments”).
Regarding claim 11, He teaches A method to control operation of an HVAC system for conditioning indoor air quality in a multi-zone area, the method comprising the steps of ([0075] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary air remediation system 100 for improving air quality in a habitable environment or indoor space therein. In some approaches, the air remediation system 100 may be a standalone system for remediating air quality in a habitable environment. In other approaches, the air remediation system may form part of, or otherwise incorporate, one or more existing HVAC systems within a habitable environment.):
receiving, by an air handling unit (AHU) associated with the HVAC unit, a set of data packets pertaining to indoor air quality (IAQ) at each of a plurality of zones at an area of interest ([0161] For example, the central control circuit communicatively coupled to sensor arrays 110a, 110b, 110c, and 110d and air handling units 130A and 130B receive a signal from sensor arrays 110a and 110b indicative measurements of an air parameter in zones 1 and 2, respectively, and determines if at least one of those measurements is above a first threshold value for a first duration for that given air parameter.);
monitoring the IAQ of the plurality of zones in real-time (“first parameter” is “IAQ” ; “first duration” is “in real time” [0011] “an air handling unit comprising a control circuit; and a central control circuit that includes at least one processor and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores at least one of processor-executable instructions or data … air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration”., supra claim 1 for receiving air quality measurements from multiple zones including fresh air intake zone and associated rooms, supra claim 1)
and when the IAQ of any of the plurality of zones is detected to be above a first predefined level( e.g. see “when” as providing fresh air from an external to another zone having a high IAQ level, 0016 (e.g. fresh air exchange) “first parameter” is “first predefined level” [0011] “an air handling unit comprising a control circuit; and a central control circuit that includes at least one processor and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores at least one of processor-executable instructions or data … air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration”.);, (central circuit is established it is within the AHU in [0011] ; [0016], [0160] If the measurement of the air parameter in zone 1 is above the first threshold value for the first duration for that given air parameter, the central control circuit determines if air within bundled area A is currently being remediated. If the air within bundled area A is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit 200 sends a signal to air handling unit 130A, directly or indirectly, to cause air handling unit 130A to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 1) and its adjacent zone (zone 2) in bundled area A until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 1) and the adjacent zone (zone 2) in bundled area A.).
He doesn’t explicitly teach circulating air between the zones from based on the IAQ levels but teaches providing fresh air exchange from an external zone based on relative IAQ levels. Jackson teaches this system as shown below.
Jackson teaches circulating air between the zones (see FIG. 2, 3, 5; [0034] FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control operation of the HVAC unit of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones having the IAQ below the first predefined level to the zones having the IAQ above the first predefined level. Doing so would allow an effective way of managing air quality between zones (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
Regarding claim 12, He in view of Jackson teaches the method of claim 11,
He teaches wherein the method comprises the step of
actuating at least one of a plurality of zone dampers associated with the zones of the AOI (FIG. 4 180 (a,b,c,d) is “zone dampers”; “actuate” is “reconfigure” [0178] “ the central control circuit may (re)configure the dampers so that the damper in the polluted zone (e.g., damper 180a in zone 1) may be fully open, while the other dampers (e.g., damper 180b in zone 2) may be fully or partially closed.”), see also 0022)
to circulate air from ([0160] If the measurement of the air parameter in zone 1 is above the first threshold value for the first duration for that given air parameter, the central control circuit determines if air within bundled area A is currently being remediated. If the air within bundled area A is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit 200 sends a signal to air handling unit 130A, directly or indirectly, to cause air handling unit 130A to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 1) and its adjacent zone (zone 2) in bundled area A until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 1) and the adjacent zone (zone 2) in bundled area A.).
He doesn’t teach using the dampers to circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones but teaches airflow circulation from a less polluted zone to a more polluted zone (as per the claim 1 modification). Jackson teaches airflow circulation from zone to zone.
Jackson teaches at least one of the remaining zones (FIG. 2,3 [0034], 0037 FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the adapt the zone dampers of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include circulate between zones based on air quality levels. Doing so would allow an effective way of managing air quality between zones via the dampers (Jackson [0012] “desirable to independently control such variables in a plurality of controlled space compartments”).
Claims 2, 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1) and in view of Douglas et al. (US202400200816 A1).
Regarding claim 2, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He further teaches wherein the controller is configured to (“for a first duration” is “real-time IAQ” [0011]The central controller is communicatively coupled to the sensor array and the air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the space is currently being remediated; and if the air within the space is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the space until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”).
He in view of Jackson doesn’t further teach determine a volume of the air to be circulated to each of the zones.
Douglas teaches determine a volume of the air to be circulated to each of the zones (“equivalent clear air” is “determine a volume of air” [0087] In some embodiments, the processing circuits can (1) monitor an amount of the infectious agent in the building, (2) determine controlling the amount of equivalent clear air and the plurality of guidelines or procedures decreased the amount of the infectious agent in the building, and (3) modify the selective control of the amount of equivalent clear air of the air flowing through the air handling unit of the HVAC system.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include the determining the volume of air. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of the controller determining the volume of air as taught by Jackson with the system of controlling the HVAC unit of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result the controller determining the volume of air.
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He teaches wherein the controller is configured to (“for a first duration” is “real-time IAQ” [0011]The central controller is communicatively coupled to the sensor array and the air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the space is currently being remediated; and if the air within the space is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the space until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”).
He doesn’t teach determine a volume of the outside air to be supplied into the AOI.
Douglas further teaches determine a volume of the outside air to be supplied into the AOI (“modify the selective control of the amount of equivalent clear air” is “determine a volume of air” [0087] “In some embodiments, the processing circuits can (1) monitor an amount of the infectious agent in the building, (2) determine controlling the amount of equivalent clear air and the plurality of guidelines or procedures decreased the amount of the infectious agent in the building, and (3) modify the selective control of the amount of equivalent clear air of the air flowing through the air handling unit of the HVAC system.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include configuring the volume of outside air. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of outside air volume configuration as taught by Douglas with the controller of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result the controller configuring the volume of outside air.
Regarding claim 7, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He teaches wherein the controller is associated with a server that is in communication with the one or more sensors and the AHU
wherein the server is configured to:
(“receive and store” is “permitting” [0107] “System memory 220 may also include communications programs 240, for example a server for permitting the central control circuit 200 to provide services and exchange data with the air remediation system 100”);
and (“controller” is “central control circuit” and “AOI” is “first zone” “IAQ” is “first air parameter” [0021] includes a central control circuit configured to receive from the first sensor array a signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the first zone is currently being remediated; and if the air within the first zone is not currently being remediated, cause the air handling unit to remediate the air within the first and second zones until a measurement of the first air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration.”).
He doesn’t teach the server to transmit a first set of actuation signals to the AHU and to circulate the air between the zones; receive and store the set of the data packets pertaining to the IAQ at each of the zones in real time.
Jackson teaches to circulate the air between the zones (see FIG. 2, 3, 5; [0034] FIG. 3 is a second embodiment of the elements used in the present invention wherein similar three zones are found within a dwelling. In this configuration, air is circulated through a controlled space divided into three zones 302, 304, 306. In this dwelling 110, as mentioned in regard to FIG. 2, there is some commingling of air between a first zone 302, a second zone 304, and a third zone 306 as shown by the arrows. Unlike the embodiment in FIG. 2, air flows counter-clockwise from an HVAC unit 340 through individual air passageways into each zone 302, 304, 306. Air circulated in this manner returns in separate air return lines to the HVAC unit 340 through individual return vents 342, 344, 346 in each room.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the server of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include the AHU to circulate the air between zones. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, it is obvious to try to incorporate the server, a known component in the field of art, from He to control various components in the teachings of Jackson.
He in view of Jackson do not teach the combination of the server transmitting and receiving.
Douglas teaches transmit a first set of actuation signals to the AHU receive and store the set of the data packets pertaining to the IAQ at each of the zones in real time (“transmit a set of actuation signals to the AHU” is “block 330 of FIG.3”; “method 300 can be performed by servers” is “server sending actuation signals”. [0065] “In broad overview of method 300, at block 310, the one or more processing circuits (e.g., AHU controller 130 and/or BMS controller 266 in FIG. 2) can receive, from a plurality of sensors disposed throughout a building, infectious agent data. At block 320, the one or more processing circuits can determine at least one area of the building exposed to the infectious agent. At block 330, the one or more processing circuits can control an airflow source of air flowing through an air handling unit of an HAC system based on an indication of the infectious agent. Additional, fewer, or different operations may be performed depending on the particular arrangement. In some embodiments, some, or all operations of method 300 may be performed by one or more processors executing on one or more computing devices, systems, or servers. In various embodiments, each operation may be re-ordered, added, removed, or repeated.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system/server of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings transmitting a set of actuation signals to the AHU. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of sending actuation signals to the AHU as taught in Douglas with the server of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result the server receiving data packets from the IAQ and transmit actuating signals to the AHU.
Claims 3, 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1) and in view of Deroschers et al. (US 20150004898 A1).
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He further teaches wherein the controller is configured to
wherein (“initiate operation” is “enables” [0018] “In some embodiments, the central control circuit may be further configured to initiate operation of the air handling unit.”
“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”), the controller enables the AHU to
He doesn’t teach determine an average air quality index (AQI) at an exhaust of the AHU and supply outside air into the AOI; when the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU
Jackson teaches supply outside air into the AOI ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include enabling outside air into the AOI based on IAQ levels. Doing so would allow (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
He in view of Jackson teaches a system of circulation airflow from a zone having a lower IAQ to a zone having a higher IAQ but does not explicitly teach the determining an average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU.
Deroschers teaches determine an average air quality index (AQI) at an exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2 ; “acquire air samples from exhaust air duct 118 using probes” would be monitor IAQ at an exhaust of the AHU [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include monitor or determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU for controlling airflow between zones having respective IAQ levels. He, as modified by Jackson, teaches circulating air between zones based on relative air quality measurements while Deroscher teaches determining average air quality of AHU exhaust. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art applying the teachings of He, as modified, for controlling airflow between zones based on air quality levels to the teachings of Deroscher for measuring a zone air quality would achieve an expected and predictable result of remediating a target zone air quality based on average air quality index levels at the AHU exhaust.
Regarding claim 6, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 5,
He teaches wherein when the (“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”), the AHU is configured to supply ( “initiate operation” is “configured” [0018] “In some embodiments, the central control circuit may be further configured to initiate operation of the air handling unit.”)
He doesn’t teach the outside air into the AOI; when the average AQI at the exhaust.
Jackson teaches the outside air into the AOI ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include enabling outside air into the AOI. Doing so would allow (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
He in view of Jackson He in view of Jackson teaches a system of circulation airflow from a zone having a lower IAQ to a zone having a higher IAQ but does not teach wherein the average AQI at the exhaust; when the average AQI at the exhaust.
Deroschers further teaches wherein when the average AQI at the exhaust (see FIG.2; “acquire air samples from exhaust air duct 118 using probes” would be monitor IAQ at an exhaust of the AHU [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include a sensor to monitor and determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU for controlling airflow between zones.. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of monitoring the AQI at the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of the claimed system.
Regarding claim 13, He in view of Jackson teaches the method of claim 11,
He teaches wherein the method comprises the steps of:
monitoring an
and enabling the AHU to ( “initiate operation” is “enables” [0018] “In some embodiments, the central control circuit may be further configured to initiate operation of the air handling unit.”
“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”).
He doesn’t teach average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU; supply outside air into the AOI.
Jackson teaches to supply outside air into the AOI ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include enabling outside air into the AOI. Doing so would allow (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
Deroschers teaches monitoring an average air quality index (AQI) at an exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2; [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include monitor or determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of monitoring the AQI at the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of the controller enabling the AHU unit to supply outside air in the AOI under a predefined level of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of the claimed system.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of Douglas et al. (US202400200816 A1), and in view of Deroschers et al. (US 20150004898 A1).
Regarding claim 8, He in view of Jackson and Douglas teaches the system of claim 7,
He teaches wherein when the “Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”), the server is (“second value” is a second set [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”)
He doesn’t explicitly teach the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU; to transmit of actuation signals; outside air into the AOI.
Jackson teaches outside air into the AOI ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include enabling outside air into the AOI. Doing so would allow (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
Douglas teaches to transmit of actuation signals (see Douglas “transmit a set of actuation signals to the AHU” is “block 330 of FIG.3” [0065] “In broad overview of method 300, at block 310, the one or more processing circuits (e.g., AHU controller 130 and/or BMS controller 266 in FIG. 2) can receive, from a plurality of sensors disposed throughout a building, infectious agent data. At block 320, the one or more processing circuits can determine at least one area of the building exposed to the infectious agent. At block 330, the one or more processing circuits can control an airflow source of air flowing through an air handling unit of an HAC system based on an indication of the infectious agent. Additional, fewer, or different operations may be performed depending on the particular arrangement. In some embodiments, some, or all operations of method 300 may be performed by one or more processors executing on one or more computing devices, systems, or servers. In various embodiments, each operation may be re-ordered, added, removed, or repeated.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas to include transmitting a set of actuation signal via adapting the server of He with the pertinent control functions. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of sending actuation signals as taught in Douglas with the controller of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of sending the actuation signals to the AHU via the controller.
Deroschers teaches the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2; “acquire air samples from exhaust air duct 118 using probes” would be monitor IAQ at an exhaust of the AHU [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of He in view of Jackson and in view of Douglas to incorporate the teachings of Deroschers so as to include a sensor near the exhaust of the AHU. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of the sensor installed near the exhaust of the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of He in view of Jackson and in view of Douglas, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of sending outside air into the AOI based on the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of Deroschers et al. (US 20150004898 A1), and in view of Bujak et al. (EP 0710804 A2).
Regarding claim 10, He in view of Jackson teaches the system of claim 1,
He teaches wherein the HVAC unit comprises ([0075] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary air remediation system 100 for improving air quality in a habitable environment or indoor space therein. In some approaches, the air remediation system 100 may be a standalone system for remediating air quality in a habitable environment. In other approaches, the air remediation system may form part of, or otherwise incorporate, one or more existing HVAC systems within a habitable environment.):
wherein when (“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”)
, the controller enables
He in view of Jackson doesn’t teach a central damper configured between the AHU and the supply air stream duct, wherein the central damper is configured to regulate the flow of the supply air comprising any or a mixture of the outside air and the return air into the supply airstream duct; the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU; outside air into the AOI or the supply air stream duct.
Jackson teaches outside air into the AOI or the supply air stream duct (see Jackson [0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the controller of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include enabling outside air into the AOI based on air quality. Doing so would allow (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
He in view of Jackson teaches the HVAC unit regulating airflow when the second threshold is met but does not explicitly teach when the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU.
Deroschers teaches the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2 ; “acquire air samples from exhaust air duct 118 using probes” would be monitor IAQ at an exhaust of the AHU [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.) The obviousness of the combination of the references is already mentioned in claim 3 and claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include monitor or determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of monitoring the AQI at the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of the controller enabling the AHU unit to supply outside air in the AOI under a predefined level of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result the controller enabling the AHU unit to supply outside air into the AOI when the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU is above a second predefined level.
The combination of He in view of Jackson in view of Deroschers do not teach the existence of a central damper.
Bujak teaches wherein the HVAC unit comprises
a central damper configured between the AHU and the supply air stream duct wherein the central damper is configured to regulate the flow of the supply air comprising any or a mixture of the outside air and the return air into the supply airstream duct, and (see FIG. 1 [page 3, third paragraph] “a control system that includes: a central controller, a central damper, a supply air stream duct, a return air duct, a plurality of zone controllers, a plurality of zone dampers, a plurality of air quality sensors, and a plurality of temperature sensors. The central controller provides air quality control of a supply air stream which flows to the zones. The central damper is modulated by the central controller for regulating a mixture of outside air and return air into the supply air stream. The supply air stream duct provides a plurality of interconnected supply channels through which the supply air flows to the zones. The return air duct provides a plurality of interconnected return channels through which the return air from each zone recirculates. The plurality of zone controllers, each in communication with the central controller, provide air quality control for the plurality of zones. The plurality of zone dampers are each appended to one of the supply channels and modulated by the associated zone controller for individually regulating the flow of supply air into each zone. The plurality of air quality sensors, one located in each zone and each continuously monitored by the associated zone controller, provide an air quality output value for each zone.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of He in view of Jackson and Deroschers to incorporate the teachings of Bujak so as to include a central damper. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of a central damper as taught by Bujak with the system of He in view of Jackson and Deroschers, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of the HVAC system having a central damper to regulate airflow when the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU is above a second predefined level.
Regarding claim 14, He in view of Jackson teaches the method of claim 11,
He teaches wherein the method comprises the step of
(“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”).
He does not teach enabling a central damper at the exhaust of the AHU; supply the outside air into the AOI; when the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU.
He, as modified, teaches circulating air between zones based on relative IAQ levels, supra claim 11.
Jackson teaches to supply the outside air into the AOI ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the control operation of the HVAC unit of He to incorporate the teachings of Jackson so as to include circulate air from at least one of the remaining zones having the IAQ below the first predefined level to the zones having the IAQ above the first predefined level. Doing so would allow an effective way of managing air quality between zones (Jackson [0013] an improved method and system for controlling an HVAC system for managing multiple indoor air quality parameters.”).
The combination does not teach when the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU
Deroschers teaches when the average AQI at the exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2 [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of He in view of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of Douglas so as to include monitor or determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of monitoring the AQI at the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of the controller enabling the AHU unit to supply outside air in the AOI of He in view of Jackson, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of monitoring the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU to see if it is above a second predefined level.
Bujak teaches enabling a central damper (see FIG. 1 [page 3, third paragraph] “a control system that includes: a central controller, a central damper, a supply air stream duct, a return air duct, a plurality of zone controllers, a plurality of zone dampers, a plurality of air quality sensors, and a plurality of temperature sensors. The central controller provides air quality control of a supply air stream which flows to the zones. The central damper is modulated by the central controller for regulating a mixture of outside air and return air into the supply air stream. The supply air stream duct provides a plurality of interconnected supply channels through which the supply air flows to the zones. The return air duct provides a plurality of interconnected return channels through which the return air from each zone recirculates. The plurality of zone controllers, each in communication with the central controller, provide air quality control for the plurality of zones. The plurality of zone dampers are each appended to one of the supply channels and modulated by the associated zone controller for individually regulating the flow of supply air into each zone. The plurality of air quality sensors, one located in each zone and each continuously monitored by the associated zone controller, provide an air quality output value for each zone.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of He in view of Jackson and Deroschers to incorporate the teachings of Bujak so as to include a central damper at the AHU exhaust. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of a central damper as taught by Bujak with the system of He in view of Jackson and Deroschers, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result monitoring the exhaust of the AHU and when the air quality at the AHU reaches above a second predefined level, the central damper enabling outside air into the AOI.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Douglas et al. (US202400200816 A1), and in view of Bujak et al. (EP 0710804 A2).
Regarding claim 16, Jackson in view of He teaches the HVAC system of claim 15,
Jackson in view of He doesn’t teach wherein the HVAC system comprises a central damper configured to regulate the flow of the supply air comprising any or a mixture of outside air and the return air into the supply airstream duct.
Bujak teaches wherein the HVAC system comprises
a central damper configured to regulate the flow of the supply air comprising any or a mixture of outside air and the return air into the supply airstream duct (see FIG. 1 [page 3, third paragraph] “a control system that includes: a central controller, a central damper, a supply air stream duct, a return air duct, a plurality of zone controllers, a plurality of zone dampers, a plurality of air quality sensors, and a plurality of temperature sensors. The central controller provides air quality control of a supply air stream which flows to the zones. The central damper is modulated by the central controller for regulating a mixture of outside air and return air into the supply air stream. The supply air stream duct provides a plurality of interconnected supply channels through which the supply air flows to the zones. The return air duct provides a plurality of interconnected return channels through which the return air from each zone recirculates. The plurality of zone controllers, each in communication with the central controller, provide air quality control for the plurality of zones. The plurality of zone dampers are each appended to one of the supply channels and modulated by the associated zone controller for individually regulating the flow of supply air into each zone. The plurality of air quality sensors, one located in each zone and each continuously monitored by the associated zone controller, provide an air quality output value for each zone.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of claim 15 to incorporate the teachings of Bujak so as to include a central damper. Doing so would allow (FIG.1) for the central damper to control the amount of supply air comprising of outside air and return air.
Claim 15, 19, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of He et al. (US 20220042694 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Jackson teaches A heating ventilation and air conditioning system (HVAC) system for an area of interest (AOI) divided into a plurality of zones (See FIG.2, 3), the HVAC system comprising:
a supply air stream duct comprising:
a plurality of interconnected supply channels to facilitate supply of a supply air to the plurality of zones (FIG. 2 the air duct connected to reference number 222, 224, 226);
a return air duct for providing a plurality of interconnected return channels to facilitate recirculation of a return air from each of the zones (FIG.2 return air duct 242, 244, 246);
a
and an air handling unit (AHU) fluidically connected to the supply air stream duct and the return air stream duct (FIG.2),
wherein when the IAQ of any of the plurality of zones is detected to be ([0035] “For example, when the second sensor 214 detects an abnormally high level of VOCs, the HVAC system 340 responds by changing the airflow in the second zone 304 and possibly turning on a device within the system, which removes VOCs. Specifically, the HVAC system 340 increases the quantity of airflow entering and exiting the second zone 304. With individual air passages into each zone, the HVAC system 340 may blow recirculated air into the first zone 302 and the third zone 306, and may blow fresh outside air 150 into the second zone 304. The HVAC system 340 may blow heated air into the first zone 302 and third zone 306 and may blow cool air into the second zone 304 so as to further limit the diffusion of contaminant out of the second zone 304.”).
Jackson doesn’t teach plurality of zone dampers; one or more sensors installed at the plurality of zones, the sensors operable to monitor indoor air quality (IAQ) at each of the zones in real-time; wherein the AHU is in communication with the one or more sensors; above a first predefined level.
He teaches plurality of zone dampers (FIG.5 [0176] “FIG. 5 illustrates a multi-zone scenario with one air handling unit 130 and a plurality of dampers 180a and 180b. In this scenario, zoning is achieved by controlling the flow rate introduced to each of zones 1 and 2 zone through PID damper systems.”).
He further teaches the sensors operable to monitor indoor air quality (IAQ) at each of the zones in real-time ([0011] “an air handling unit comprising a control circuit; and a central control circuit that includes at least one processor and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores at least one of processor-executable instructions or data.” ; [0178] “A control circuit communicatively coupled to sensor arrays 110a and 110b and air handling unit 130 receives from a first sensor array (e.g., sensor array 110a in zone 1) a first signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the first zone. The central control circuit then determines if the measurement of the first air parameter in the first zone is above a first threshold value for a first duration, as described above with reference to FIG. 4.”).
He further teaches wherein the AHU is in communication with the one or more sensors ([0011] “Air handling unit is configured to receive from the sensor array”.)
He further teaches above a first predefined level ([0011] “air handling unit and is configured to receive from the sensor array a first signal indicative of a measurement of a first air parameter in the space; determine if the measurement of the first air parameter is above a first threshold value for a first duration; if the measurement of the first air parameter is above the first threshold value for the first duration, determine if air within the space is currently being remediated.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the elements of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of He in order to improve the air quality in indoor spaces ([0006] “New approaches for improving air quality in indoor spaces within habitable environments”).
Regarding claim 19, Jackson in view of He teaches the system of claim 15,
wherein the AHU comprises:
Jackson doesn’t teach a heat exchanger to facilitate heat exchange between one or more of the supply air, the outside air, and the return air while flowing through the AHI and one or more filters to clean the air flowing through the AHU.
He further teaches a heat exchanger to facilitate heat exchange between one or more of the supply air, the outside air, and the return air while flowing through the AHI ([0096] “The air handling unit 130 may include one or more heaters or heating systems 135 to heat air or provided heated air in one or more zones. The heaters 135 may take any of a large variety of forms. Heaters 135 may take the form of forced air heaters which typically include burners that burn a fuel such as natural gas or propane.”);
and one or more filters to clean the air flowing through the AHU ([0084] “
air handling unit 130 may include one or more mechanical air filters (e.g., mesh, screen, woven, or piled material) 131, through which air passes to remove larger particulate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the elements of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of He so as to include the HVAC unit having a heat exchanger system (see MPEP 2143 rationale C).
Regarding claim 20, Jackson in view of He teaches the system of claim 15,
Jackson doesn’t teach wherein the AHU comprises:a cooler configured to cool one or more of the return air, and the outside air while supplying as the supply air into the supply air stream duct, a heater configured to heat one or more of the return air, and the outside air while supplying as the supply air into the supply air stream duct, and a dehumidifier to remove moisture from the supply air before supplying into the supply air stream duct.
He further teaches wherein the AHU comprises:
a cooler configured to cool one or more of the return air, and the outside air while supplying as the supply air into the supply air stream duct ([0097] “The air handling unit 130 may include one or more compressors or other cooling systems 136 which may form part of an air conditioner cooling unit. The cooling systems 136 may be fluidly coupled to control pressure of a fluid, coupled with one or more coils or other heat exchangers, and may operate in a similar fashion to standard air conditioner units to remove heat from the air. In some embodiments, chilled water supplied from a cooling system or other chilled water source also may be included.”);
a heater configured to heat one or more of the return air, and the outside air while supplying as the supply air into the supply air stream duct ([0096] ”The air handling unit 130 may include one or more heaters or heating systems 135 to heat air or provided heated air in one or more zones. The heaters 135 may take any of a large variety of forms. Heaters 135 may take the form of forced air heaters which typically include burners that burn a fuel such as natural gas or propane.”);
and a dehumidifier to remove moisture from the supply air before supplying into the supply air stream duct ([0100] “Thus, the air handling unit may include a humidifier and/or dehumidifier 137 which may be used to control humidity in one or more zones or throughout the indoor habitable environment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the elements of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of He so as to include the HVAC unit having a cooler, heater, and a dehumidifier (see MPEP 2143 rationale C).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Deroschers et al. (US 20150004898 A1) and in view of Bujak et al. (EP 0710804 A2).
Regarding claim 17, Jackson in view of He teaches the system of claim 15,
Jackson further teaches wherein the AHU is configured to monitor an
wherein when the ([0030] “The HVAC system 240 accomplishes this change by partially or fully closing a second airflow baffle 224 and a third airflow baffle 226 leading to the second zone 204 and third zone 206, respectively. The HVAC system 240 also increases the opening of a first airflow baffle 222 leading to the first zone 202. Finally, the HVAC system maximizes the use of fresh or outside air 150 into the controlled space. In this way, the pollutant is flushed as quickly as possible from the controlled space and the first zone 202. This example assumes that the outside or fresh air is lower in concentration of the pollutant. With reference to FIG. 2, the HVAC system can make adjustments based upon a reading from an outdoor sensor 218 regarding the amount of pollutant in the outside air 150.”)
Jackson doesn’t teach average air quality index (AQI) at an exhaust of the AHU; above a second predefined level; the central damper.
He, as modified teaches controlling fresh air from an external zone to another zone above a second predefined level (“Second predefined level” is “second value for a second duration” [0163] “If the air bundled area B is not currently being remediated, the central control circuit sends a signal, directly or indirectly, to air handling unit 130B to cause air handling unit 130B to remediate the air within the positive zone (e.g., zone 3) and its adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B until a measurement of the air parameter is lower than a second value for a second duration in the positive zone (zone 3) and the adjacent zone (zone 4) in bundled area B.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the AHU of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of He so as to include predefined level. Doing so would allow improved air quality for a wide range of factors ([0004] “Significant time in these indoor spaces exposes the occupant to a wide range of environmental factors, any of which may have either adverse or beneficial effects on the occupant's health.”)
Deroschers teaches monitor an average air quality index (AQI) at an exhaust of the AHU (see FIG.2 [0047] “The illustrated embodiment includes duct probe locations 208, 210 and, optionally, 209. The duct probes provide a way for the networked air sampling system to acquire air samples from supply air duct 117 and exhaust air ducts 118 and 119 using probes, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911, which is incorporated herein by reference.” The referenced U.S. Pat. No. 7,421,911 is a further explanation of the duct probe 208 and 210 which includes a sensor to measure air quality.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teachings of Jackson in view of He to incorporate the teachings of Deroschers so as to include monitor or determine the AQI at the exhaust of the AHU for allocating lower IAQ for a first zone to a higher IAQ of a second zone. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of monitoring the AQI at the AHU as taught by Deroschers with the system of the HVAC configuration known from Jackson in view of He, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of the system monitoring the AQI at the AHU then supplying outside air into the AOI.
Bujak teaches the central damper (see FIG. 1 [page 3, third paragraph] “a control system that includes: a central controller, a central damper, a supply air stream duct, a return air duct, a plurality of zone controllers, a plurality of zone dampers, a plurality of air quality sensors, and a plurality of temperature sensors. The central controller provides air quality control of a supply air stream which flows to the zones. The central damper is modulated by the central controller for regulating a mixture of outside air and return air into the supply air stream. The supply air stream duct provides a plurality of interconnected supply channels through which the supply air flows to the zones. The return air duct provides a plurality of interconnected return channels through which the return air from each zone recirculates. The plurality of zone controllers, each in communication with the central controller, provide air quality control for the plurality of zones. The plurality of zone dampers are each appended to one of the supply channels and modulated by the associated zone controller for individually regulating the flow of supply air into each zone. The plurality of air quality sensors, one located in each zone and each continuously monitored by the associated zone controller, provide an air quality output value for each zone.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Jackson in view of He and Deroschers to incorporate the teachings of Bujak so as to include a central damper for supplying fresh air based on average IAQ levels at the AHU exhaust. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of a central damper as taught by Bujak with the HVAC of Jackson in view of He and Deroschers, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result a central damper in an HVAC system supplying outside air into the AOI when the AQI near the exhaust of the AHU is beneath a predefined threshold.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 20080182506 A1), in view of He et al. (US 20220042694 A1), in view of Douglas et al. (US202400200816 A1). and in view of Bujak et al. (EP 0710804 A2).
Regarding claim 18, Jackson in view of He teaches the system of claim 15,
Jackson teaches wherein (FIG. 3, [0035] “sensors 212, 214, 216 in each of the zones 302, 304, 306 provide an electronic feedback signal to the controller in the HVAC unit 340”.)
, (FIG.5 [0176] “FIG. 5 illustrates a multi-zone scenario with one air handling unit 130 and a plurality of dampers 180a and 180b. In this scenario, zoning is achieved by controlling the flow rate introduced to each of zones 1 and 2 zone through PID damper systems.”), ([0107] “System memory 220 may also include communications programs 240, for example a server for permitting the central control circuit 200 to provide services and exchange data with the air remediation system 100”).
Jackson doesn’t teach the AHU in communication with; zone dampers; the central damper through a server.
He teaches the AHU in communication with (see FIG.1; “controller” is a “central control circuit” [0102] “Control circuit 141 may be communicatively coupled directly or indirectly to the air handling unit 130.”
[0046] “The central control circuit in the apparatus may be configured to delineate occupant zones based on an electronic floor plan; instruct allocation or installation of at least one sensor array for or in each delineated occupant zone; after delineation of the occupant zones, delineating at least one boundary zone and at least one air handling zone based on the electronic floor plan and an electronic HVAC plan” This illustrates the AHU unit is in communication with the HVAC.).
He further teaches zone dampers (FIG.5 [0176] “FIG. 5 illustrates a multi-zone scenario with one air handling unit 130 and a plurality of dampers 180a and 180b. In this scenario, zoning is achieved by controlling the flow rate introduced to each of zones 1 and 2 zone through PID damper systems.”),
He further teaches ([0107] “System memory 220 may also include communications programs 240, for example a server for permitting the central control circuit 200 to provide services and exchange data with the air remediation system 100,” see “permitting the central control circuit …” as reading on “through a server.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the elements of Jackson to incorporate the teachings of He so as to include the server and dampers to communicate with the AHU.
Bujak teaches the central damper (see FIG. 1 [page 3, third paragraph] “a control system that includes: a central controller, a central damper, a supply air stream duct, a return air duct, a plurality of zone controllers, a plurality of zone dampers, a plurality of air quality sensors, and a plurality of temperature sensors. The central controller provides air quality control of a supply air stream which flows to the zones. The central damper is modulated by the central controller for regulating a mixture of outside air and return air into the supply air stream. The supply air stream duct provides a plurality of interconnected supply channels through which the supply air flows to the zones. The return air duct provides a plurality of interconnected return channels through which the return air from each zone recirculates. The plurality of zone controllers, each in communication with the central controller, provide air quality control for the plurality of zones. The plurality of zone dampers are each appended to one of the supply channels and modulated by the associated zone controller for individually regulating the flow of supply air into each zone. The plurality of air quality sensors, one located in each zone and each continuously monitored by the associated zone controller, provide an air quality output value for each zone.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the system of Jackson in view of He to incorporate the teachings of Bujak so as to include a central damper. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of a central damper as taught by Bujak with the system of Jackson in view of He, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of the AHU unit being in communication with the sensor, zone damper, the central damper through a server.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240418381 A1 – System and method for detecting low indoor air quality and enabling ventilation in a multi-zone environment (system for detecting IAQ in a multi zone environment).
US 20090126382 A1 – Electronic Indoor Air Quality Board For Air Conditioner Controller (controller system to control air to improve IAQ)
US 20190310831 A1 – Testing systems and methods for performing HVAC zone airflow adjustments (HVAC for building units including improving air quality for each room [zone])
US 20080182506 A1 – Method for controlling multiple indoor air quality parameters (HVAC unit for circulating air between zones – see claim 1)
US 20150004898 A1 – Air sampling system providing compound discrimination via comparative pid approach (System for improving air quality using a sensor near the exhaust of the AHU duct – see claim 3)
US 20220042694 A1 – System and methods for air remediation (AHU system in an HVAC controlling multi zone system – see claim 1)
EP 0710804 A2 – System for providing integrated zone indoor air quality control (HVAC system with a central damper – see claim 10)
US 20220011731 A1 – HVAC system with sustainability and emission controls (HVAC system controlling carbon emissions in a building)
/J.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117