DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, The terms "external top waif' and an "internal bottom wall" are confusing and leave the reader in doubt about the technical feature to which they refer, rendering claim 1 unclear. The description only discloses that the "interior bottom wall extends outward from the internal side 102 at a 90-degree angle" [paragraph 0016] and that the "connection plate 118 extends away from the internal side 102 and the external side 104 at a 90-degree angle relative to the exterior top wall" [paragraph 0019], which does not explain the terms "external" or "internal".
It shall also be noted that the description refers to elements 108, 110 as both "exterior/external' top wall and "interior/internal' bottom wall, whereas the claims only refer to "internal bottom waif' and "external bottom waif'. This contradicting terminology should also be corrected.
Regarding claim 5, Although it is apparent from Fig.1, Fig.2 and Fig.6 what the applicant means with the expression "diamond shaped' used in claim 5, this definition is unclear since, strictly speaking, diamonds can be shaped in many different ways. This term should be updated with a more precise technical definition
Independent claim 1, dependent claim 5 and their respective dependent claims have been rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cavities of at least claim 3, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "26 " and "36a" have both been used to designate side wall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Groner et al. (hereinafter Groner) (US10236665).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Groner a polycarbonate barrier (20); Figure 1; Column 3, lines 38-41) for isolation of electrical components (55; Figures 5-7), the polycarbonate barrier comprising: a rectangular shield plate (11; Figure 2) comprising: an internal side (Figure 2); an external side (24)(Figure 2); an external top wall (Figure 2); an internal bottom wall (Figure 2); and at least one side wall (26; Figure 2); a connection plate (15; Figure 2) extending upwardly from the external top wall (Figure 7), the connection plate comprising: a left connection piece (Figure 2 – bent side flanges); a right connection piece (Figure 2 – bent side flanges); at least one connection tab (Figure 2: see tabs on the bottom part of the plate); and at least one adapter piece (17) (Figure 2); wherein the adapter piece is removable to accommodate an electrical component (Fig.2: the adapter piece 17 is fixed to the connection plate 15 through screws 19, washers 21 and wingnuts 23, and can therefore be removed to accommodate an electrical component).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 1, wherein the side wall (24 is a side) defines a plurality of hooks (22).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 1, wherein the side wall defines a plurality of cavities extending from the internal side to the external side (Figure 4);.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 2, wherein the hooks are configured to securely fit on a casing of an electrical component. (aforementioned figure 7)
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 1, wherein the electrical component is a power distribution unit (55).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 1, wherein the connection plate further comprises mating points configured to secure the barrier (aforementioned Figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 10, wherein the mating points are located distally on the left and right connection pieces (aforementioned Figure 7).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gretz (US7304236).
Regarding claim 12, Gretz discloses an electrical component isolation system (314) comprising: a high voltage area (26); a low voltage area (24); and a polycarbonate barrier (Column 10, Lines 30-33), wherein the polycarbonate barrier is configured to provide a physical barrier between the high voltage area and the low voltage area.
Regarding claim 13, Gretz discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the polycarbonate barrier includes at least one adapter piece that can be removed to allow passage of an electrical component from the high voltage area to the low voltage area. (42)
Regarding claim 14, Gretz discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the electrical component is a busbar (26, Figures 22 and 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groner et al. (hereinafter Groner) (US10236665) in view of Tremaine et al. (hereinafter Tremaine) (US20160241007).
Regarding claim 4, Groner in view of Tremaine discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim .
Groner does not expressly disclose at least one airflow opening extending through the barrier from the internal side to the external side.
Tremaine discloses at least one airflow opening (54) extending through the barrier from the internal side to the external side.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the airflow opening of Tremaine into the polycarbonate barrier of Groner.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to create airflow for electrical component(s) associates with the polycarbonate barrier.
Regarding claim 5, Groner in view of Tremaine, discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 4
Groner in view of Tremaine does not expressly disclose wherein each airflow opening is diamond shaped with an approximate length of 5mm.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the claimed diamond shape into the polycarbonate barrier.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as changing the shape of an element is obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groner et al. (hereinafter Groner) (US10236665) in view of CN218850159.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Groner discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 1.
Groner does not expressly disclose wherein the connection plate further defines a void between the left connection piece and the right connection piece, wherein the adapter piece, when removed, enlarges the void by a distance extending away from the connector plate.
CN218850159 discloses a void and “may be arranged and designed in a wide variety of different configurations”
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the void of CN218850159 into the housing of Groner.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to accommodate a myriad of electronic devices.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Groner in view of CN218850159 discloses the polycarbonate barrier of claim 7, wherein the said polycarbonate barrier can be configured to accommodate electrical components of varying sizes.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218850159 in view of Gretz (US7304236).
Regarding claim 15, CN218850159 discloses a method for isolating electrical components within a cabinet (100), the method comprising: providing a polycarbonate barrier (120); attaching the barrier to a housing (111) of the cabinet to separate a high voltage area and a low voltage area (see Examiner’s Note); and adjusting an adapter piece (may be arranged and designed in a wide variety of different configurations) of the barrier to accommodate different sizes of an electrical component.
CN218850159 does not expressly disclose a polycarbonate barrier.
Gretz discloses a polycarbonate barrier (22).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate polycarbonate of Gretz into the barrier of CN218850159.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this polycarbonate material is an insulator.
Examiner’s Note: Referring to fig. 1 and fig. 2 in combination, an embodiment of the present application provides a high-voltage and low-voltage power distribution cabinet 100, which includes a cabinet 111, and a first partition 120, a high-voltage device, and a low-voltage device that are disposed in the cabinet 111, where the first partition 120 partitions a first cabin and a second cabin in the cabinet 111, the high-voltage device is located in the first cabin, and the low-voltage device is located in the second cabinet
Regarding claim 16, CN218850159 in view of Gretz discloses the method of claim 15, wherein adjusting the adapter piece further comprises removing the adapter piece to enlarge a void embedded in the polycarbonate barrier.
Claim interpretation: The examiner interprets the claimed subject matter to disclose the adapter plate creates multiple configurations by removing an adapter piece to allow a myriad of arrangements for a myriad of [related] electrotonic components within voids. CN218850159 discloses “may be arranged and designed in a wide variety of different configurations.” Removing a piece to expose and alter a void only requires ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, CN218850159 in view of Gretz discloses the method of claim 15, wherein attaching the polycarbonate barrier to a housing of the cabinet further comprises using a hook (22) that can engage with the housing.
Regarding claim 18, CN218850159 in view of Gretz discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the electrical component is a single busbar. (CN218850159 – high-voltage device includes the busbar)
Regarding claim 19, CN218850159 in view of Gretz discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the electrical component is a double stacked busbar.
Claim interpretation: The examiner interprets the claimed subject matter to disclose stacking busbar. Stacking busbar only requires ordinary skill in the art as stacking the busbar can be used for space efficiency, improved heat dissipation and reducing the maintenance of the busbar.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN218850159 in view of Gretz (US7304236) as applied to claims 15-19 above, and further in view of Tremaine et al. (hereinafter Tremaine) (US20160241007).
Regarding claim 20, CN218850159 in view of Gretz discloses the method of claim 15.
CN218850159 in view of Gretz does not expressly disclose further including providing an airflow through at least one opening in the polycarbonate barrier to reduce the temperature of the electrical component.
Tremaine discloses at least an airflow through (54) at least one opening in the polycarbonate barrier to reduce the temperature of the electrical component.
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the airflow opening of Tremaine into the polycarbonate barrier of Groner in view of Gretz.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to create airflow for electrical component(s) associates with the polycarbonate barrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US8476525.
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
24 January 2026