DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 31 March 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1 and 3-27 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 21-23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2022/0098491) in view of Marker (US 2008/0035528) and Kiiski (US 2021/0054297).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-5, Abbott teaches sending pyrolysis oil to fluidized catalytic cracking to produce ethylene [0060], [0198-0199], [0337], [00341], followed by oligomerization to produce c4-30 normal alpha olefins [0273], [0342], see figure.
Abbott does not explicitly disclose used oil feeds including group i-v base stocks.
However, Marker teaches a similar process for fluidized catalytic cracking of pyrolysis oils to produce c2-5 olefins [0008] Marker teaches that pyrolysis oil and petroleum oil feedstocks can be mixed with various used oil feeds including vegetable oils, greases, sewage oil, and tall oil [0008].
Further, Kiiski teaches a similar process for catalytic cracking using alternative feedstocks [0001-0016]. Kiiski teaches tall oils, greases, and used lubricating oils [0022]. Examiner notes that used lubricating oils would encompass group i-v base stocks, as these are the individual types of lubricating oils.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill int eh art to have used mixtures of the Marker and Kiiski feeds with the Abbott pyrolysis oils, since they are both known for the same purpose as feedstocks to FCC to produce ethylene.
Regarding claim 3, Examiner considers the marker “grease” composition to read on the claimed circular/bio-circular claim limitations, since it is recycled material and of biological material.
Regarding claims 6-7, Marker teaches the same mixture of used oil (grease) composition with pyrolysis oil. Further, Kiiski teaches the same lubricating oil (base stocks 1-v), and thus is expected to obtain the same or similar results. Therefore, it is expected that the same or similar improvements would result. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claim 8, Abbott teaches sending ethylene to polymerization unit with 1-hexene (alpha olefin).
Regarding claims 9-10, Abbott teaches the oligomer product comprises C4-30 normal alpha olefins, 1-hexene, or 1-octene [0206], [0262], [0269], see figure 2.
Regarding claim 21, Abbott teaches certifying any one or more products with ISCC standards based upon the weight of fraction attributable to pyrolysis oil or waste plastic [0068].
Regarding claims 22-23 and 25-26, as discussed above, the prior art combination teaches the same grease/and lubricating oil (group i-v basestocks) feeds. Therefore, it is expected that the feeds would have the same or similar properties, and that the same or similar results would be achieved.
Claims 11-20, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott (US 2022/0098491) in view of Marker (US 2008/0035528) and Kiiski (US 2021/0054297) as applied to claims 1, 22, and 25 above, and further in view of Small (US 2010/0317904).
Regarding claims 11-20, 24, and 27, Abbottt teaches primary unit can be a cracker [0087] and secondary, tertiary, and subsequent can include polymerization and oligomerization units [0087] c4-30 olefins, in particular 1-decene, to produce poly alpha olefins with metallocene catalysts (figure 1), making polyalpha olefins that can be used as transmissinon fluids, in turbines, dielectric fluids, lube oils, etc [0561], [0256].
Further, Small teaches reacting alpha olefin monomers such as 1-decene [0016] with metallocene catalysts in oligomerization reactors to produce polyalpha olefin products [0003-0016]. Small teaches that feeds may include any single alpha olefin monomer alone or in mixtures with other olefins [0016]. In this regard, Examiner notes it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the amount of each monomer, based on availability and economics. Small teaches hydrogenating the polyalphaolefin with nickel catalyst [0522-0537] in order to obtain the desired products.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Small steps as the Abbott steps, in order to produce the desired poly alpha olefins from the 1-decene. It is further expected that the same or similar products having the same or similar properties would result, since the same process steps are applied to the same feeds, as applied to the claims above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771